Old and New
n^- — f
For Library Use On
""I NOT CIRCUU
dC A ' J^OJJd
r ^ ,; >f
Digitized by the Internet Archive
GLADYS MELLOR SINCLAIR
OLD AND NEW
THE CITY OF DIVERSIFIED
7 /i'Av to see a man proud the place%m
zi'hich he lives, *~-
"1 like to see a man live so "cell tlinJJ^his place
will be proud of him," ^\x\
156 Fifth Ave. - New York City
F "« Emtio,. „
**>** ana bound
"•» r»r k oZ *""■ *«•
To My Beloved Father Whose Constant and Out-
standing Civic Pride Has Always Been An Inspira-
tion, and For His Sympathetic Help In IV riling
This History of Bayonne Old and New, This
Book Is Affectionately Dedicated.
Gladys Mellor Sinclair
Introduction, by Mayor James J. Donovan xi
Author's Preface Xl11
Bayonne's Early Settlers l 5
Bayonne in the Colonial Days 21
Bayonne in the War of 18 12 25
Excellent Fish and Oyster Enterprise— Natives Live Quietly: The
Irish Come To Town.
Captain Robert Fish 31
Pre-Civil War Days and the La Tourette Hotel, Prominent Families.
Bayonne During the Civil War 37
Bayonne in the Reconstruction Days 41
Bayonne Becomes a City 1869 45
First Board of Education; First Board of Health; German Advance;
Fire Department Organized 1870; Items Taken from Newspapers
1869 to 1873.
The Glorious 8o's in Bayonne - 1880- 1890 57
Oil and Other Industries Bring People From All Parts of the World
to Bayonne; Contract for City Water; Avenue D Macadamized; Stage
Coaches Bought from New York 1883; Horse Cars in 1885; First
Apartments and First Bank; Streets and Houses Numbered; Electric
Lighting; Free Delivery of Mails; Bayonne Hospital.
CONTENT S— (continued)
Bayonne in the Gay Nineties - 1890-1900 67
New City Hall; The Musical Till Family and Rockaphone;
Shorehouses; Craft & Company Established, now Creighton; Eddy's
World Record Kite; Mayor Farr re-elected Without Opposition;
Contract for Pure Drinking Water; Egbert Seymour Elected Mayor;
Berry Guard Formed; Social Events; Arlington Park; First Ther-
mometer Factory; Dr. Bert Daly a Leader in Baseball; Sports.
The Beginning of a New Century - 1900-1908 77
Historical Hook Fire; Democratic Clubhouse; Drakes Business
College Started; First Automobiles; Thomas Brady Elected Mayor;
First Police Trial Board Created; Pierre Garven Elected Mayor;
David Horsley's Film Studio; Early Theatres; Gus Suckow, Jr. and
Melville Hussey, Juvenile Entertainers; Volunteers Supplanted by
Paid Fire Department; Melville Park; William Jennings Bryan Visits
City; Republican Club.
John J. Cain Elected Mayor - 1909-1914 85
Bergoff, the Strikebreaker Comes to the City; S. J. Harwi, City
Engineer; Matthew T. Cronin Elected Mayor; William P. Lee
Succeeds William Hamilton as City Clerk; Fire Department's First
Steps in Motorizing; City Visited by Theodore Roosevelt, William
Howard Taft and Woodrow Wilson; Lyceum Theatre; A Municipal
A New Century of Progress - 1914-1918 89
Commission Government Adopted; Jitney Bus Service Inaugurated;
Hudson County Park Completed in 1916; Two Platoon System
Inaugurated in Fire Department; Mrs. William M. Wauters Praised
for Executive Ability; Bayonne Day Nursery Founded by Henry
Wilson in 1917; License Granted to Bayonne Athletic Association
for Boxing Bouts.
World War Period to 1923 93
James J. Donovan and Cornelius Gallagher Received Croix De
Guerre; Homer Axford Elected Mayor; Eamonn De Valera
Welcomed to City; Alpha C. Jarvis Appointed Sub-Registrar;
Transportation Improved; Robert Talbot Elected Mayor; De Witt
Theatre Premiere Performance in 1923; "A Poem of Early
Bayonne", By Peggy Guest.
CONTENT S— (continued)
1 924- 1 930 - Garden Apartments Built in Campaign for
Industrial Housing 101
Hermanean-Rogow Stadium Built in 1925; Vincent Lopez in
Bayonne; Walter Clarkson City Engineer; Standard Oil Company
Won Suit over Burial Ground At Hook; Goldman Band Presented
by Kiwanis Club; Dr. Bert Daly Elected Mayor; Bayonne's New
Post-office; Fire in Old City Hotel; Frank McPherson Chief
Engineer of Commander Byrd's Antarctic Expedition; Charles A.
Lindbergh Visited Elco Works; Bus Line Operated Between New
York City And Bayonne; Dr. George W. Mellor Honored at
1931-1933 - Dr. Lucius F. Donohoe Elected Mayor 107
Bayonne Symphony Orchestra Makes Debut; Kill van Kull Bridge;
Captain Gibson, W T ho Towed Statue of Liberty into Harbor,
Passes; General Josef Haller, Polish Military Leader Visited City.
1934-1935 - Mechanics Bank Closed Doors 109
Reminiscing With C. J. O'Neill; Poem by Mary W. Boyd; Taxable
Property Values Declined; Record-breaking Number of Students
Received Diplomas From High School; First P. W. A. Loan Granted
to City; Bayonne Celebrated 66th Birthday; Miss Hannah J. Shafer
Honored; Bayonne Boasts of Two Women Physicians; Mrs. Shaw
Celebrated 100th Birthday; Public Institutions.
CHAPTER XVII. i
1936-1938 - Firemen Discontinue Old-Time Uniforms for New 115
President Franklin D. Roosevelt Visits Bayonne; Statue of Liberty
Ceremonies; John F. Lee Becomes City Clerk; Mrs. E. C. Woodward
Gives Illustrated Talk on California and Mexcio; Reinald Werrenrath
Presented by Teachers Association; Lady Drummond Hay Visits
City; Memorial to Gustav F. Ruh, Unveiled; Federal Housing
Authority Grants Money to City; Port Terminal Started; Captain
Betsworth's Family Remembered; Mr. and Mrs. George Bayne
Celebrate Golden Wedding; Last Trolley Rumbles Out Into History;
Paul Wandelt Constructs Modern Radio System for Police
1939 - Lieut. Commander Edward Ellsberg Gives Talk at
Ehssa Landi Presented by Teachers Association; New Fire House
and Drill Tower; Bayonne Substitutes As Birthplace of Grandson
of Mayor of Bayonne, France; First Cargo Discharged at Port
Terminal; Historical Society Holds Dinner; Poem of Old Bayonne
by Peggy Guest; Hobby Show Held by Womans Club.
CONTENT S— (continued)
1 939- 1 940 - Reproduction of Washington's Journey from
Mt. Vernon to New York for Inauguration 125
Election of Commissioners May 9, 1939; Old Car Barns Razed;
Exempt Firemen with Women's Auxiliary Maintain Laurels for
Bayonne in State Parade; First Freight Cars Shunted Over Spur
at Port Terminal; New Public Address System for Fire Head-
quarters; Boy Scouts Hold Camporee; John Armstrong Receives
Patent on Golf Ball Holder; Bayonne Times Carriers Vacation at
Camp; Shooters Island; Arline B. Cassidy Wins Contest in New
York University School of Commerce; Ukrainians at World's Fair;
New Super-Highway Along Newark Bay Shore; Benmore Develop-
ment Dedicated; Mrs. George W. Mellor Directs Successful Garden
Party for Woman's Club; Port Terminal Fishermen's Paradise.
The Churches, Parochial Schools, Holy Family Academy. . . . 135
The Public Schools in Bayonne from the Early Days to the
Present Time: The Bayonne Public Library 159
1812 to 1940 - Bayonne as an Industrial City 167
Organizations and Clubs in Bayonne 201
Local Personalities Who Made Good 235
The Famous Firsts; Lighthouses; Landmarks; Oldtimers; The
Governor Parker Pen; Dr. George W. Mellor Sets Example for
Patriotism; The Old Safe in the City Hall; The Passing of the
Hooper-Coopers; City Officials of the City of Bayonne for 1940.
By JAMES J. DONOVAN, Mayor
As Mayor of the City of Bayonne, I wish to contribute a word of
recognition of the able and devoted efforts which have made this work
The scholarly task, performed so painstakingly by Mrs. Gladys
Mellor Sinclair, can be properly evaluated only by realizing that the
author had to trace the development of this municipality back through
more than four centuries of constant change and growth with but
few sources of direct information available.
I feel, after having read this volume, that Mrs. Sinclair has not
only succeeded in having written an engrossing book but has rendered
her native City a distinguished service. I compliment her upon the
strong spirit of civic mindedness which prompted her in this under-
taking and I commend the reading of this historical document to every
resident of our community.
James J. Donovan.
Mayor's Office, April i, 1940.
Nothing has been written about the City of Bayonne since
Mr. Royden Page Whitcomb wrote, "History of Bayonne,
New Jersey" in 1904. That the real story of Bayonne should
be put into permanent form, no citizen will question.
Accordingly after a great deal of research, consulting numerous
histories, archives, genealogies, ordinances, reports, maps, documents,
files of old newspapers, and of interviews with old citizens and past
and present city officials — we decided to write a real story, romance
and history of our own beautiful Bayonne.
The author of Bayonne Old and New feels justified in saying that
she has always sought the most reliable sources of information, striving
to give as accurate, concise and interesting an account of the past as
Although much labor has been spent in sifting statements in our
search for inaccuracies, it is to be hoped that errors, if any, are very
The task of writing Bayonne Old and New, while agreeable and
interesting, has been no light or superficial one. The author wishes to
thank all those who have assisted her in the long jand tedious work.
She feels especially indebted to the following: Mr. and Mrs. S. J.
Harwi, Miss Harriet Fish, Mr. and Mrs. Robert C. Henne, William
F. Hogan, John McCabe, John J. Ryan, City Treasurer, Dr. Harriet
T. Dexter, Miss Rhoda Walborn, Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Sanford,
Miss Jennie Diamond, Miss Mary G. Peters, Librarian, Mr. William
Mann, Mr. Francis K. Strohoefer and Mrs. Anna Golding. Informa-
tion was obtained through the History of the Municipalities of Hudson
County; Winfield's History of Hudson County; Industrial Directory
of New Jersey; History of Bayonne, New Jersey by Royden Page
Whitcomb ; The Catholic Church in New Jersey by Joseph M. Flynn ;
The Bayonne Historical Society; The Bayonne Times; City Hall
Records ; The Public Library and Personal records and scrapbooks.
The work of writing an authentic history and a thrilling story of
Bayonne has been long and has called for infinite patience, tact and
care. And yet it has been a labor of love.
My reward will be in the appreciation of all the people of our own
City whom I have tried earnestly to serve.
G. M. S.
899 Avenue C, Bayonne, N. J.
Old and New
BAYONNE'S EARLY SETTLERS
Bayonne, New Jersey stands out as one of the distinctive cities
of America. One may address a letter to Bayonne, no state
designation, and it will be delivered to Bayonne, New Jersey.
While 6,138 duplications in city names puzzle postal clerks, Bayonne
has the distinction of being the only city of that name in the United
States large enough to have a post office.
Bayonne is a peninsula located south of Jersey City between
New York and Newark Bays and Kill van Kull on the south. Staten
Island lies just across the Kills, Elizabeth and Newark across Newark
Bay and New York City and Brooklyn across New York Bay.
The area of Bayonne is very small, being only three miles long and
the widest part of the peninsula is one mile. It is shaped somewhat
like a boot, Constable Hook being the foot part.
History tells us that Jean de Verrazzano, a Florentine in the service
of francis I, King of France, sailed into New York Harbor as early
as 1524. He was, therefore, the first white person to gaze on the east
shore of what is now the City of Bayonne.
Bayonne was named, according to tradition, after Bayonne in
France, pronounced as Ba yon. It is said that French Huguenots
settled here before New Amsterdam was settled. There is a tradition
which seems to be without historical foundation that Bayonne got its
name from the fact that it is located on the shores of two bays,
Newark and New York — Bay-on or on the bays.
On September 3, 1609 Henry Hudson in "De Halve Maan" (Half
Moon) cast anchor inside of what is now Sandy Hook. Two days
later five of his crew were sent to explore the river opening to the
south. Passing through the Narrows, they found a swift-flowing
river to the westward between two islands, the shores of which they
described as being a place of beauty, with many lovely trees and flowers.
This was Kill van Kull or "Het Kill van het Cull" meaning the
creek of the bay. They went through the Kills to see Newark Bay.
Upon reaching the mouth of the Kills on their return they were
attacked by twenty-six Indians in two canoes, who were probably from
Manhattan, and one of the seamen, John Coleman, was shot through
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
the throat by an arrow and killed. This appears to be the nearest
approach to Bayonne shores by the whites at that time. A few days
later Hudson passed through the Narrows and anchored at Constable's
Hook. There is no record of his landing, although the natives between
Bergen Point and Weehawken were very friendly and extended to
him many acts of kindness. They visited his vessel daily, bringing
furs, oysters, corn, beans, pumpkins, grapes and apples, to trade. The
following day he continued north and entered the river which today
bears his name — The Hudson River.
The tribe of Indians here at this time was called the Raritans and
belonged to the stock of the Delawares called the Sanrikans. The re-
mains of an Indian Cemetery, arrow heads, stone axe and beads
through the Bergen Point Section indicate a permanent settlement of
the Indian at one time.
During the early days Bayonne was covered with thick woods.
Bears, panthers, wolves, wild cats, foxes, rattlesnakes, red deer,
beavers, hares and squirrels were plentiful and afforded an excellent
hunting ground for the Indians. The bays on both sides furnished
fine fish and oysters.
The States General of Holland passed an act about this time, giv-
ing to certain merchants of Amsterdam the exclusive right to trade
and establish settlements within the limits of the country explored by
Hudson. Not long after this a fleet of five small trading vessels arrived
at Manhattan Island. There were a few small rude huts already built
here by former Indian Traders but now a fort for the defense of the
place was erected and the settlement named New Amsterdam. As
early as 1618 a feeble trading station had been established at Bergen
but it was several years later before permanent dwellings were built in
In June 1629 the States General granted a bill of "Freedom and
Exemptions" to all such private persons as would plant any colonies in
any part of New Netherland, except Manhattan Island. The members
of the West India Company were also granted special privileges and
whoever of its members would plant a colony of 50 persons should be
a fuedal lord or "Patroon" of a tract "sixteen miles in length fronting
on a navigable river, and reaching eight miles back."
Up to this time only exploring parties wishing to trade with the
Indians had visited what is now Hobokcn, Jersey City and Bayonne.
No one had ventured to "take up" any lands. However, under the
stimulus of the bill of "Freedoms and Exemptions," a man by the name
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
of Michael Pauw, then burgomaster of New Amsterdam, was impelled
for speculative purposes in 1630 to obtain from the Director General
of New Netherland grants of two large tracts, one called "Hoboken
Haching" (land of the tobacco pipe), and the other "Ahasimus."
Both of these tracts were parts of what is now known as Jersey City.
The grantee gave one place the name of "Pavonia." Pauw failed to
comply with the conditions set forth in his deeds, and was obliged,
after three years of controversy with the West India Company, to
convey his plantation back to that Company.
An official of the Company, Michael Paulesen, was placed in charge
of the plantations in and around Pavonia as superintendent and it is
said he built and occupied a hut at Paulus Hook as early as 1633,
therefore being the earliest known White person in what is now Hud-
son County. He was followed by more settlers and in a few years
quite a number of plantations were established.
During these early days a member of the Van Vorst family in this
settlement was shot and killed supposedly by an Indian. This resulted
in the Massacre of Pavonia on the night of February 25, 1643.
Soldiers from Manhattan Island crossed the Hudson River and at-
tacked the Indians at Communipaw, slaughtering nearly one hundred.
The northern tribes took to the warpath and burned and destroyed
this settlement. The settlers, who survived, fled across the river to
New Amsterdam and for a number of years no white settlers lived
The first available record pertaining to the Bayonne section is
dated March 1646 when Jacob J.Roy, a gunner of Fort Amsterdam,
received a grant of land at Constable Hook.
The place was formerly called Nipnichsen by the Indians but was
later called Constapel's Hoock, deriving its name from the occupation
of its first European owner. The Dutch word for gunner is konstapel ;
hence Konstapel's Hoock, or Gunner's Point. It is not known for
certain whether Roy settled here or not, but the possibilities are that
he did not.
The Van Buskirk family settled on Constable's Hook and their
homestead which was built of brownstone was said to be the first
dwelling built here. This was approximately in 1646 and the old
house stood until 19 10. The Van Buskirk family had a farm where
it was said the finest watermelons in the country were grown and there
were also fine orchards. They had their own burying ground, the re-
mains of which is still marked although there are no bodies there now,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
the last was removed in 1905. Sand and dirt has drifted over the plot
so that today it has very little resemblance to a cemetery as it is
entirely surrounded by oil tanks. This cemetery was located at White's
Lane where a Mr. White lived in a very large house adjoining the
Patents were issued for land in the southerly part of Jersey City
and Bayonne about the year 1654. Most of these were for twenty-
five morgens lying within the district afterwards known as Pembrepogh
Grants were issued to : Jacob Wallingen, Jan Cornelissen Buys,
Jan Lubbertsen, Jan Cornelissen Schoenmaker, Garrit Piertersen, Lub-
bert Gysbertsen, Jan Cornelissen Crynnen, Bysbert Lubbertsen and
Hendrick Jansen Van Schalckivyck.
Most of these were owners of land in Pamrapo and in the spring
of 1655 sailed from New Amsterdam and erected rude huts on their
new possessions. Here they opened up extensive trade with the In-
dians and cleared some of the land in order to build suitable homes
for their families. These were said to be the first white settlers and
founders of Bayonne.
Their stay was short because once more the Indians attacked the
settlement and the survivors fled to New Amsterdam.
Some years later settlers came to these shores, this time to stay
and it is believed that most of them settled close to the New York Bay
shore between 43rd Street and the Morris Canal where it was easy
access to New Amsterdam by water. The settlement grew slowly at
first but new settlers stimulated the growth and prosperity was every-
The first municipality within the limits of New Jersey was erected
by order of Director-General Stuyvesant and his council on September
5, 1 66 1 and christened '"The Village of Bergen."
New Netherlands was captured by the English from the Dutch
under Colonel Richard Nicolls about 1664 but the citizens of Bergen
Neck were not disturbed. Constable's Hook was practically unoccu-
pied at this time. Governor Nicolls gave a patent, October 26, 1664
to Samuel Edsall and Nicholas Johnson "for a Neck of land called
Nip Nickon lying at the mouth of Kil van Kul." This grant was for
five hundred acres and included part of Bergen Point, at that time
called Constable's Hook.
In 1668 Pemerpoch was applied to that section which lies between
the Morris Canal and 33rd Street. The word "Pemerpoch" comes
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
from Indian words meaning "Big Rock." No doubt the Indians re-
ferred to the massive rock on which a great portion of Pamrapo and
Greenville rests, and which is visible in the vicinity of Avenue C and
the Canal. This rock, the foundation of the Palisades, is the foothills
of the Catskills.
Johnson sold his interest on Constable's Hook to Edsall in 1670
for 4,620 guilders, wampum value. Edsall is supposed to have erected
a log house at the Hook, cleared and tilled the land and in a short
time had a flourishing plantation.
Edsall is credited with being the first white settler of Bayonne by
George Scott, in a brochure entitled, "The Model of the Government
of the Province of East Jersey in America," published in Edinburgh
It is estimated that at this time there were about thirty families in
Pamrapo and Greenville. Pamrapo was considered quite a settlement.
The Dutch settlers were thrifty and they carried on an extensive trade
with the Indians. Money was almost unknown and they traded for
beaver skins, bits of clam and periwinkle shells deftly cut and polished.
They were honorable and gave and received fair values. These people
were slow to form new friendships but when really well known were
very firm friends. About once a week, in the early morning, it was
a common occurence to see a group of Dutchmen with their sugar-
loaf hats and leather breeches with their wives in their petticoats and
other paraphernalia, entering skiffs on the New York Bay shore going
to New Amsterdam, where they would spend the day trading their
fruit, vegetables, oysters and fish for clothing, beer, tools and other
things and where they gossiped with their friends. Their homes were
built of logs and stone with mud filled in the cracks. The people were
contented for the most part, not asking a great deal. As long as they
had a fire to sit by, a pipe to smoke, a bed to sleep in and plenty of
clams to eat, they were perfectly satisfied.
Among the pioneer settlers were Joost Van der Linde who owned
property and lived in Pembrepogh in 1674, and William Douglas who
was elected to represent Bergen in the General Assembly of New
Jersey in 1680 but who was ruled out of that body because of his being
a Roman Catholic. Gerrit Gerritse (Garretson van"Wagenen) an
Associate Justice of the Court of Bergen in 168 1, also lived here at
this time. In 1696 Cornelius Jansen (Vreeland) purchased William
Douglas's land where he afterwards lived. Other early settlers at
Bergen, Pavonia, Pamrapo and Bergen Neck were : Van Voorst,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Jansen (Vreeland), Andriessen (Van Buskirk), Tomassen (Van
Riper) Cornelissen (Van Horn), Van Niewkircke (Newkirk), Har-
mense, Claesen (Garrabrant), Brinckerhoef (Brinkerhoff, Van Schuy-
ler, Planck, Sip, Gautier, Deidrick (Cadmus, Jacobse (Van Winkle).
A great majority of these early settlers were emigrants from Holland.
The rest were English, French, German and Scandanavian.
The recapture of Xew York by the Dutch in 1673 and the final
surrender to the English the following year, affected this territory
Around this time a charter was granted to the town of Bergen.
The Charter granted that the keeping of a free school be maintained
for the education of youth, and liberty regarding the worshipping of
God in their own way.
In 1682 the school taught the girls to sew and read — needlework
in those days being more important than the three R's which came a
(As a guide to the reader many names appearing herein have variable ways of
spelling in the early chapters of the book).
BAYONNE IN THE COLONIAL DAYS
Bayonxe's oldest house (Cadmus Homestead) was her first
dressed brownstone homestead. The Southwest wing was built
by Joris Cadmus about 1730 and the main part which was two
and one-half stories high was built later. Some of the fireplace brick
came from Holland and on the front of the fireplace was a coat-of-
arms. The house was situated on the shorefront of Xew York Bay
at 41st Street and was the first Bayonne home for the Pavonia Yacht
Club. The building was demolished in 1939. A good farm sur-
rounded the home from which supplies were provided for the soldiers
in 1776. Fine celery, cabbages so large they were called the Gover-
nor's Head, and oysters for the same reason were known as the
Governor's Foot. Justin McCarthy, whose son wrote, "If I Were
King," leased the property in 1864 an d lived in the house two years.
In 1750 a public ferry between Bergen Point and Staten Island
was established by Jacob Corsen. The boat was a small open scow
and was propelled by oars. The ferry location has not been changed
unto this day.
In 1764 a Jersey City Ferry was established as an important part
of the new stage route to Philadelphia via a road connecting Jersey
City and Bergen Point called the Kings Highway, thence across the
Kills. This was said to be a short, safe, easy and convenient way for
all travellers passing to the City of Xew York from any of the southern
governments. These stages were first set up in 1764 and did a thriving
business. The vehicles used were covered Jersey wagons without
springs. A trip to Philadelphia required three clays only and for
that reason was proudly referred to as the "Flying [Machine." By
1772 the time for the trip had been reduced to one and one half days.
BERGEN NECK DURING THE REVOLUTION
Bergen Xeck was important territory during the Revolutionary
War. In the spring of 1776 it was learned that the British were pre-
paring to sail for Xew York. Lord Sterling was in command of the
American forces at Bergen and he undertook the defense of Bergen and
Bergen Xeck. Defenses were erected to prevent invasion from Staten
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Island at which place Colonel Ford was stationed. He had about three
hundred men. The British fleet with General Howe arrived and cast
anchor off the mouth of the Kill van Kull and landed troops on
Staten Island. Later General Mercer was ordered to place five
hundred men at Bergen Neck. At this time troops were occupying
Fort Delancey which was situated on a high piece of property be-
tween what is now 51st and 52nd Street and a short distance from the
old Speedway. This fort was named in honor of Oliver Delancey, the
great Tory of Westchester. It was the scene of several severe attacks,
both when in control of the Americans and the British. The Fort was
burned and evacuated by the Refugees in September 1782.
GROUP GATHERS TO SEE GEORGE WASHINGTON
In April 1789 when George Washington journeyed to New York
on the occasion of his inauguration as first president of the United
States, he traveled through New Jersey to Elizabethport and then on
through the Kill van Kull and New York Bay to New York City. The
local inhabitants and those in Bergen weren't much different than
people are today and early in the day began to arrive at Bergen Point
so as not to miss the opportunity of seeing their beloved leader and
cheer him on his way. This was a day of triumph and his reception
here was enthusiastic and gay. The barge used by General Washing-
ton was beautifully decorated. He was royally received. Music filled
the air. As he entered the Kills between Staten Island and Bergen
Point the procession was met by other boats from the shores, all gay
with bunting. He was greeted with the booming of cannons, waving"
of flags and loud applause of the people.
In the summer of 1796 another road was built which entered
Bayonne at what is now Avenue C and the Morris Canal. This road
led on to Bergen Point. The old Vanderbilt Stage Coach line used
this route to Staten Island.
In 1798 homeseekers from different parts of the State began to
locate at Bayonne and farms greatly increased in number. Grounds
were cleared of timber, fields were cultivated and a thriving section
The wise old Dutchmen and Englishmen were not slow to realize
that their children needed education and those near Bergen Town sent
their children to the rude school house erected there while those in
Pembrepogh and along Bergen Neck taught their children the best
they knew at home.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
In the early 1800's Pamrapo had a district schoolhouse. It was
erected at Avenue D (now Broadway) on a triangle formed by the
intersection of Grand and Center Streets, two thoroughfares which
have long since passed away.
The old sandstone house, which is still standing on West 48th
Street between Avenue C and B was built by David Salter in honor
of whom Saltersville was named later on. This house was built about
1 810 and was the home of David Salter for many years. Afterward
the folks of retired Captain William Keegan of the Police Force,
lived in the house.
BAYONNE IN THE WAR OF 1812
Excellent Fish and Oyster Enterprise — Natives Live Quietly.
The war of 1812 disturbed the settlers in this section very little.
There were no burial grounds in Hudson County in 1812.
Private burial grounds on the farms were used. Those who
were buried in a cemetery were taken across the Kills in a rowboat
to Staten Island where they were buried in St. Peter's Cemetery.
In 182 1 there was an extremely cold wave and New York and
Newark Bays froze solid and many persons crossed on the ice from
New York. Good skating was enjoyed. Newark Bay at that time
was called Oyster Bay, named so because of its abundant supply of
Came 1830 which found the people well established on flourishing-
farms. There were many small farmhouses along the shore. Con-
stable's Hook was Van Buskirk property and several farms were
cultivated there. Fruit growing flourished. Terhune's grist mill was
at the Hook and the farmers in the neighboring country took their
grain to the mill to be ground. There was a general store at Bergen
Point kept by Frank Miller where groceries and tobacco were sold.
All mail had to be gotten from Jersey City as no post office had been
established in Bayonne. When someone went to town and returned
with a New York newspaper, that person was usually surrounded by
a group, eager to learn the news, as news was scarce, although the
citizens gossiped about local affairs.
Hartman Yreeland's Tavern was situated at about 49th Street.
Abraham Van Buskirk and Colonel Cadmus each kept a few slaves
and John Van Buskirk, of the Hook, kept about a dozen slaves.
The livelihood of the settlers at that time was chiefly agriculture,
although shad fisheries were the finest in the country and the oyster
grounds furnished fields for busy enterprise and a profitable employ-
The folks of those early days enjoyed life, too. Currie's Woods
was the picnic ground where gay occasions were entered into with
great zest and pleasure.
During the 1830's this section was swept by an epidemic of Cholera
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
and many deaths resulted. Tradition attributes the scourge to the
fact that bedding and other material, which had been in some ship
infested with Cholera, lying in the harbor, had been thrown over-
board and had drifted to the shores of Bayonne. The scourge swept
over the entire neck and left devastation in its path.
By an act of Congress in 1834 the boundary line between New
Jersey and New York was settled. This gave New York exclusive
control over the waters of New York Bay, Bedloe's and Ellis Islands
and the waters of Kill van Kull, while to New Jersey was given land
under the waters west of the middle of the bay and Hudson River.
In 1835 John Carragan, who conducted a little school somewhere
around Avenue D and 24th Street, started a store known as a general
store and it was patronized freely. This store was located in the
vicinity of Broadway and 22nd Street, as it is known today.
In 1836 the Morris Canal, bounding Bayonne on the north, was
put through and for many years it served as a means of transportation
and shipping. There were two section boats drawn by horses used
at that time and while it was slow, was in keeping with the tempo of
early (lavs. The Indians used the Morris Canal as a canoe portage and
a part of a canoe was found on it as late as 1908.
In the Colonial Days it was a favorite skating pond. Refresh-
ment resorts abounded. The surrounding area was known as Currie's
Woods. Fidler's Elbow is on the eastern side of the canal and was so
named because the engineers did not have blasting facilities and thus
followed the old Indian trail rather than straightening it. The last
canal boat (with mule) to pass through the canal was in 1902.
The building known today as the Old Stone Hotel at 33rd Street
and Avenue E with E. B. Baxter, as proprietor, was the Vreeland
house, originally built by Cornelius Van Buskirk in 1839. When the
Central Railroad of New Jersey extended its tracks to the Jersey City
Terminal, it was thought the house would have to be demolished, but
instead, it was raised off its foundation, the foundation moved stone
by stone, and then after being turned around so that it faced west
instead of east, was placed on the reconstructed foundation.
The first steamboats to dock at Bergen Point were the Richard
Stockton, Wyoming, Kill van Kull and Red Jacket, renamed the
Chancellor. The dock was in front of the LaTourette Hotel. The
boats were in the service of the Central Railroad Company of New
Jersey and ran from Elizabeth port to New York. This mode of travel
began in the year 1840 and was the railroad extension to New York
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
until 1865 when railroad bridged Newark Bay and continued through
Bayonne to New York. In the meantime the Central Railroad had
built a dock at the foot of Avenue C where the Bergen Point Ferry to
Port Richmond, Staten Island, is located. The Kill van Kull and the
Chancellor continued to dock here until the year 1896. This dock
extended out to the channel and was known as the Chancellor Dock.
There was a large waiting room and freight shed. The boys used the
dock as a recreation pier for swimming, fishing and boating in the
good old summertime. The boats from Bayonne to New York took
In 1840, with the creation of Hudson County by an act of the
Legislature, the inhabitants of the peninsula began to take more in-
terest in organized government, but it was not until 1861 that the
movement came to fruitation in the election of township committee-
men. The first school house was built in 1840 and was known as the
little red school house located on the Plank Road which is now Broad-
way between 27th and 28th Streets, where Engine Company Fire
House now stands. In 1855 Brooks, father of Police Inspector Brooks
of New York was the teacher. John E. Andrus, later Mayor of
Yonkers, taught this school a few years later. Air. Andrus was known
in New York in later years as the Millionaire Strap Hanger, as he
rode in the subways to and from business. He owned a large drug
business in New York and it is said that he was the means of bringing
the Standard Oil Company to the Hook which made 21st Street the
business street for some time.
Before the Civil War the present 22nd Street was a residental
street. All the way back to Newark Bay at the shore on Avenue A
lay Captain Behline's Estate, one of the show places, afterwards owned
by Conrad Muller who built the first large brick apartments at Broad-
way and 7th Street in Bergen Point. The Close Estate was located
at 19th Street adjoining Air. Andrew Cadmus's Farm. The first
artisian well was driven on the Knoll or terrace upon which stood the
Close Homestead. The Carteret Gun Club was on the Cadmus Farm
in Centerville. The Club was enclosed by an eight foot fence and was
located north of 16th Street to 19th Street, a row of trees dividing
the Close Farm from the Cadmus Farm between Avenue C and A
surrounded by trees. Shoots for live birds (Pigeons) were held here
twice a week and on holidays to the delight of Pot Hunters and small
boys, who with sawed-off muskets and even revolvers crowded about
the fence waiting for a bird to escape. After a protest from the public,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
due to accidents, the club house was moved to First Street, and Center-
ville lost its shooting grounds.
John Goodheart, who lived on the shore, ferried people across the
Kills in a skiff, for considerable time, and Nicholas Cubberly also
conveyed passengers over whenever required. A horse boat was in
operation between 1840-50.
THE IRISH COME TO TOWN
The vigorous, jolly Irish began to invade Bayonne after 1840.
And of course, they made themselves powerfully felt as wide awake
and progressive citizens.
At that time Bergen County extended as far south as Constable's
Hook. By Legislature enactment, part of Bergen County, including
the Bergen Neck was changed to the County of Hudson, named in
honor of Henry Hudson.
Bayswater Yacht Club at the foot of East 44th Street and New
York Bay shore was another occupant of quarters that are of historical
interest to the city.
A few years before the Civil War Captain William B. Elsworth
resided, when not at sea, in South Jersey near Freehold, making
Barnegat his port. The trip home was made by stage coach and the
road leading through woods over fallen trees and other obstructions
thus making his home-coming rather difficult. Captain Elsworth com-
missioned David B. Salter, a builder of those days and grandfather of
Counsellor William D. Salter, to secure a site somewhere in Pamrapo
and erect a residence thereon for him and his family. Neither Cap-
tain Elsworth nor his wife saw the building before it was finished.
When the Captain, returning from a trip at sea, came with his wife to
inspect their new home, it was said by a .surviving member of the
family that they were not pleased with the selection of the site, as Mr.
Salter apparently thought Captain Elsworth loved the sea, built the
house as close to the water as he dared ; in fact, the water came within
a few feet of the kitchen door at high tide and during storms it washed
into the house many a time. This building is the left hand portion of
the four buildings composing Bayswater Yacht Club. Captain Elsworth
owned the lot next door to his own residence and he had a boon com-
panion, Captain Kramer by name, who wanted to be near his friend,
Elsworth, and so had Mr. Salter duplicate the first structure on the
north of the Elsworth property and these two families resided there
for many years. To hold back the sea, Captain Elsworth constructed
the wall which still stands.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Soon after reaching the age of sixty years, Captain Elsworth
retired from the sea, expressing his belief that no man over sixty
should sail the seas. It was then that he started some of his sons at
farming and with others he started what had grown to be the great
Elsworth oyster business.
Afterwards, Captain Elsworth and his family removed to the
building which stood until a few years ago at the foot of East 36th
Street and New York Bay. Later on Bob Fish purchased the lot be-
tween the Elsworth and Kramer residences and constructed thereon a
boat shop in which he manufactured a type of boat which he made
famous called "The Smoothing Iron." He had as his partner in this
venture, Edward Morton, who a few years later lost his life by drown-
ing, owing to an accident on a boat. The history of this building then
consisted of three units and it lacked further interest until about the
year 1880 when Dorrington & Hogan who came over to New York
from England with a theatrical troop, took over the property and con-
ducted a public hall or hotel erecting a dining room on the north of the
Kramer home thus making the fourth section of the building. Here
many dances and entertainments were held and some of the best talent
in vaudeville of those days appeared.
In 1908 David Allen and others incorporated the Bayswater Yacht
Club and after conducting it for two years, surrendered the steward-
ship in 19 10 to Fred Lumbreyer. He resigned later on and passed
the stewardship over to Fred Ulrich.
During the stewardship, Lumbreyer who did gilding at Barnegat
during the winter months, provided the clubhouse with many tro-
phies of the hunt, both on land and water. Canvasback duck, English
pheasants and many others of the feathery tribe were at the club-
house as well as a mermaid from the Indian Ocean, porcupine fish,
swordfish and a large dolphin which he shot in front of the club-
house. This finny monster measured over eight feet and was one
of the sights of the clubhhouse.
Cholera broke out again in 1849 an d there were so many deaths,
that James Van Buskirk of the Hook, laid out new burial grounds
on Constable's Hook, East 22nd Street and Avenue I.
About 1850 a stage route was established by George Anderson
and was operated by him from Centerville, at the Mansion House,
corner of the Hook Road and the Plankroad to Jersey City and New
York. This was the only means of public conveyance between these
sections in use until the construction of the "Dummy Railroad" by
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
the Jersey City and Bergen Point Railroad Company in i860. This
two-horse stage brought mail from Jersey City to Mullaney's Post
Office in Pamrapo.
Around 1850 pleasure boats sailed on the Kills and a ferry from
Elizabethport, which stopped at Bayonne and then proceeded to
Xew York, Pier 14, Washington Market, were in existence.
White's Hotel stood where Wigdor's Jewelry store now stands.
The rear of the present store is part of the hotel and can still be
seen. This hotel was the scene of many dances and minstrel shows.
Stage coaches left from this corner. The hotel was later known as
Fitzpatrick's, Charles Fitzpatrick a southerner acquiring it. He built
an addition to the building in the early 8o's for rollerskating which
was the rage at that time.
Bayonne was the first place in the United States to manufacture
artificial teeth. The first person to introduce the process of enameling
teeth was Dr. Jahiel Parmley in 1850. Dr. Parmley's windmill stood
at 40 Avenue C at the corner of Second Street.
In 1853 there were only four or five New York families in Bergen
Point and the lower portion of the Plank Road from Third Street
to the post office was occupied entirely by oystermen and boatmen, who
had but limited ideas of improvements. They styled New Yorkers
At the annual town meeting in the spring of 1855, it was decided
to hold the spring and fall elections at Egbert Wauters' hotel on the
Plank Road, to elect three constables and to raise $3,300 for support
of schools, $500 for repairs to roads and $300 for the poor. James
H. Farrant, George Anderson and Aaron Y. P. Jones were elected
as Town Constables.
In 1857 an act was passed by the Legislature authorizing the
appointment of commissioners for the laying out of streets and
avenues in that part of Bergen Township south of the Morris Canal
in Hudson County and the Commissioners thus appointed were :
Andrew D. Mellick, Jacob A. Van Horn, Jacob M. Vreeland, Hartman
Vreeland and Egbert Wauters who were required to complete their
work within two years from the passage of this act. By a supple-
ment to this act, approved April 7, 1868 Hiram Van Buskirk, Solon
Humphreys, Henry Meigs, Jr., John Combes and Erastus Randall
were appointed Commissioners and their powers were prescribed "to
cease on the first day of May, 1873."
CAPTAIN ROBERT FISH
Pre-Civil War Days and the La Tourette Hotel, Prominent Families.
Captain robert fish, a yacht modeler and designer, came to
Bayonne from New York in i860. His original home at 98
East Forty- fourth Street is still standing. Fish's Lane, named
in honor of Captain Fish is located in Pamrapo in the vicinity of
Forty- fourth Street and New York Bay. It was a pretty little settle-
ment at the shore in those days. Some of the houses located here
were the O'Brien house (since moved and taken over by the Bays-
water Yacht Club), the Taylor home; Mrs. A. S. Hatch lived in the
Gunther place which was where the American Radiator plant now
stands. Mr. Spates, who was a New York official used to land at
the waterfront coming to Bayonne in a boat. Pat McGiehan was a
boat-builder here and John Lang had a boat-yard.
New York Bay, during this era, was said by world travelers, to
be more beautiful than the Bay of Naples. The people living here
had their own docks and private boats and bathed on the beach all
along the shore.
Captain Fish later built the Tower house which is still standing.
Some say he built the tower on the house to get away from the mos-
quitoes while others say his wife liked to sit up there and look over
the Bay. He built a couple of other tower houses, one of which was
occupied by the Chamberlain family. Miss Harriet Fish, his only
surviving daughter, is still living in Bayonne although she has trav-
eled extensively and spends most of her summers in California and
she can tell many interesting stories about the growth of Bayonne.
She enjoys telling stories about Bayonne when it was a pretty little
suburban village. She lived on the Isle of Wight for three or four
years while her father was designing some yachts.
Mr. J. F. Loubat, an American gentleman who made his home
abroad, bought the yacht "Enchantress" from George Lorillard who
had had her built in this country after a model used by Robert Fish.
At the close of the yachting season of 1873 in American waters, Mr.
Loubat went abroad, his yacht having preceded him. He engaged
the services of Mr. Fish who went to England to superintend and
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
direct the alterations he proposed making on her. She was length-
ened and otherwise improved at an expense of more than twenty
thousand dollars. During the long cruisings of the "Enchantress,"
she visited the principal ports and capitals of the Old World and
wherever she anchored she was received with "all honors" her gen-
erous owner receiving and dispensing unstinted hospitalities and cour-
tesies. She was sailed by Captain Fish whose handling of the
"Sappho," to whom England's best lowered their colors, is a matter
of yachting history. The "Enchantress" it is believed, was the first
American yacht to visit Stockholm.
Captain Fish lived on the Isle of Wight with his family for about
three years. He also designed other yachts, among them were the
"Challenge," built from one of his models and Louis Lorillard's yacht,
"Wanderer" which was built at Greenpoint. Among the famous
open boats built or modeled by Mr. Fish were the "Fulton" and the
"Bob Fish." The Fulton won in the famous races of New Jersey
against New York. The "Bob Fish" was built for Bergen Point
owners but afterward she became the property of Colonel Varian of
this city. She won a number of races.
TAKEN FROM "THE SUN," NEW YORK, JANUARY 20, 1883
At Captain Robert Fish's Funeral, "The Snow was falling yester-
day when Captain Fish the yacht-builder, was buried in New York
Bay Cemetery, Pamrapo, New Jersey. "We were sailing," said the
Rev. R. M. Alysworth, who conducted the services in the Pamrapo
Methodist Church, "over the troubled ocean from which Captain
Fish has landed. His life, filled with activity, was a romance. Trav-
elling in many lands, in different classes of society, he made friends
wherever he went." He was 70 years old.
On the coffin lay a wreath and an anchor of white flowers, one of
which was the gift of J. F. Loubat, formerly the owner of the schooner
"Enchantress" which Captain Fish modelled for Mr. Lorillard. Cap-
tain Fish sailed with Mr. Loubat for three years. The pall-bearers
were Captain Joe Ellsworth, owner of the sloops "Admiral" and
"Captain" and other yachts; William Ellsworth, E. C. Allaire, Jr.,
Daniel and Jasper Cadmus of Pamrapo and Peter Stewart, sailmaker
of New York. Present were Messrs. J. F. Loubat, Samuel H. Pine,
shipbuilder of Brooklyn; \V. J. Jones of Jones & Dobb, ship painters
in New York ; James Stewart of New York ; Phillip Ellsworth, who
modelled the yacht "Montauk," A. Cary Smith, yacht designer; Elia
Morton, W. Bishop, of New York and W. B. Nichols of East 74th
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Street in New York for whom Captain Fish built the "Julia," the
"Summing" and other yachts and for whom at the time of his death
he was about to build a yacht of which he has left the model.
In April 1887 Mr. J. F. Loubat compiled a scrap-book of his
cruises and races in the "Enchantress" and he dedicated it to the
memory of her designer and sailing master, the late Captain Robert
Captain Fish is survived by a daughter, Harriet, who for the
past twenty years has lived at 6 Avenue B with her niece Rhoda
Walborn who is a granddaughter of his and who is a Librarian in
the Public Library. Another granddaughter, Mrs. G. Alfred Esty
lives at 14 Wesley Court and also has a very beautiful home in
Uplands, California, where she spends most of her summers. Edward
Walborn is a grandson who resides in Plainfield, New Jersey.
PRE-CIVIL WAR DAYS
In i860 a Lyceum and Lecture Hall was built at the foot of
Newman Avenue and First Street, on the Mackie Estate.
In 1 86 1, by an act of Legislature, the township of Bayonne was
set off from the town of Bergen. This same year Albert M. Za-
briskie was appointed the first Chosen Freeholder of Bayonne.
The first elected Committeemen of the Township of Bayonne held
their first meeting for the transaction of business April 13, 1861 at
the home of H. B. Beaty in Centerville, named so by reason of its
being in a central location. Mr. Beaty was a former Sheriff of Hudson
At this time Bayonne was composed of Saltersville, which is now
known as the Third Ward ; Centerville, Bergen Point and Constable's
Hook. There were only three stores in this entire section. One was
kept by Michael Mullaney at Saltersville. Another was in Center-
ville and kept by Hansan Carragan. Robert A. Ansart was the pro-
prietor of the third which was located at Bergen Point. Later
G. D. L. Zabriskie opened a country store on the Old Plank Road
opposite the La Tourette House stables. These stores kept a supply
of everything from wooden buttons, to hardware, tinware, dry goods,
boots, shoes, clothing and tobacco. A post office was in most of these
stores and the folks would congregate for their mail and gossip about
the oyster war. A two horse express operated by Jacob Mersalle
carried the mail to and from New York each dav and was the only
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
public conveyance to Jersey City and New York at that time. The
ride on the stage was a rather long and tiresome one and very bleak
in winter. In the summer, however, it was most delightful, espe-
cially along the old Plank Road, which wound around and through
the woods most of the way.
Hess Sharrett erected the building in 1830 which was later sold
to Mullaney and where the post office was located.
"Mike" Mullaney, who was the proprietor of the general store in
Pamrapo was usually a very jolly Irishman joking and telling stories
with those who came into the store but there were times when he
became angry, too. The old-timers tell how soda crackers were kept
in a barrel and usually when a customer wanted some, the cat had to
be chased off the barrel to get to the crackers. Some of the town
sports often dropped into the store and Mullaney kept whiskey in
the back shed and had a glass tube to get into it and often times
when these sports got together and had a few drinks they would
wind up by racing on the old Speedway and bet on the races.
THE LA TOURETTE HOTEL
The La Tourette Hotel, which stood at the foot of First Street
and Kill van Kull, was built at the close of the Revolutionary War
by the founder of the Du Pont Family and named (Bon Se Jouis)
or "Good Stay." The Center building was the original and this was the
chateau where the Admiral Francis S. DuPont of the United States
Navy was born. The DuPont family made their home here until
1806 when it was sold to Raphael Duplanty and in turn Duplanty sold
it to Elias Burger in 1808. Burger, by will dated March 1, 18 16,
proved March 17, 1827 gave the property to his daughter, Maria, wife
of James R. Mullaney, and it was sold by her heirs to David La
Tourette in 1845. La Tourette added the north and west wings to the
old chateau and in 1857 he replaced the original name by the center
structure and afterward built the east wing and called it "The La
Tourette Hotel." For over a century New York's oldest and
wealthiest residents enjoyed many pleasant sojourns at this famous
resort which for years was the center of social life.
The fame of the old La Tourette spread far beyond Bayonne.
In 1840 it was visited by President Chester A. Arthur, General Sher-
man, Garibaldi, U. S. Grant, Mark Twain, Mrs. Leslie Carter and
The La Tourette was a highlight in the 6o's. It was the first
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
large hotel on the Jersey coast in the 19th Century having more than
200 rooms. There was a small house located back of the hotel which
was the home of the slaves who served the hotel before Civil War
days. Slavery was accepted in Bayonne at that time. Abraham
Lincoln had not arrived on the scene. Back of the hotel were car-
riage sheds where pre-Civil War dandies helped their bustled ladies
from their carriages. A road to the hotel grounds led from Avenue
D, now called Broadway.
At that time the shore front of Newark Bay was dotted with
beautiful estates which were occupied by very wealthy people. They
had their coachmen and teams of horses and all the luxuries that
go with wealth. They had their individual boat houses and pleasure
boats and bathed from their own grounds. The setting was pic-
turesque. The lower end of Bayonne was one of the choicest of
New York's environs. It was sometimes called, "The Newport of
New York." Society folk from New York, Jersey City, Staten
Island and Elizabeth were guests at the La Tourette for the summer
and many men commuted to their places of business in New York by
boat, "The Red Jacket," which left about nine in the morning and
brought them back about five in the afternoon. Bayonne ranked with
Saratoga as a watering place.
High black hansoms, drawn by fine thoroughbred horses and driven
by fat-beer-drinking coachmen were used by fine gentlemen who came
home on the ferry weary, from a hard day at the Stock Exchange.
Among these eminent gentlemen who "commuted" to New York in the
good old days was the president of the Stock Exchange himself. He
lived in the fine old La Tourette Hotel, which was regarded as the
swankiest place to be found. The Kills provided the finest resort
places to be found in that era. Magnificent old houses lined the
shore with their beautifully kept green lawns which slipped down
to the water. The Winants place stood at the end of Lexington
Many social events were held under the La Tourette roof. Balls,
regattas, musicals were amusements of Bayonne Society when large
mansions occupied much of the peninsula up to what is now Sixteenth
Street. Nearly every home had its private ballroom and affairs too
large to be held in private residences were given at the famed hotel
overlooking the Kills or at one of the aristocratic clubs of those days.
Quite a number of millionaires have been residents of Bayonne during
the last century.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Many notable families who made noteworthy contributions to
America as well as Bayonne made their homes in our healthful city
in the early days. Among others were: George B. Spearin, Jr., Avenue
A at Eighth Street called "Crow's Nest" ; Solon Humphreys "Pep-
peridge"; T. Y. Brown; M. R. Cook; Geo. Spearin, Sr., on Third
Street between Lord and Lexington Avenues; Bainbridge Smith Six-
teenth Street and Avenue A; Mayor Stephen K. Lane's mansion was
between Fourteenth and Fifteenth Streets on Avenue A; Captain
LaTourette had property on the Kills near Rabineau Street; Benjamin
T. Kissam of the Vanderbilt family of Manhattan ; Daly's Point op-
posite the lighthouse, old mansion with orchards all around; Charles
Beach ; E. S. White lived at First Street and Avenue C which became
Meister's shorehouse; T. R. Jennings; Mose Van Horn; Gunther's
Point (who are the New York fur people) where Babcock dock now
is; Col. Doubleday lived at 94 Avenue C. He was the originator of
baseball in America.
General William L. Morris, who served in the Mexican War
(1846-48) and also later in the Civil War, had his home on Newark
Bay between Eighth and Ninth Streets.
Rufus Story, a New York importer, came to Bayonne in 1850
and built a mansion on First Street and Broadway. He was the
father of four daughters and the house was the social center for many
activities of the Post Civil War period.
Jacob R. Schuyler came to Bayonne in i860 and lived in one
of the show places of the Newark Bay shore front at Eleventh Street.
The Schuyler family were direct descendants of General Philip Ed-
ward Schuyler who helped General Gates win the battle of Saratoga,
in the Revolutionary War. Philip Schuyler was the father-in-law
of Alexander Hamilton. It was in this home that the wedding of
Susanna Edwards Schuyler and Nicholas Murray Butler, then of
Elizabeth, and now President of Columbia University, took place.
P. Cran, local florist furnished the decorations for the wedding.
BAYONNE DURING THE CIVIL WAR
The coming of the Civil War greatly disturbed the citizens of
Bayonne. Everywhere the war was the one topic for discussion ;
in the fields, at the meeting houses, by the fireside at home. The
excitement was so intense that farming and other business was ne-
glected. Finally in the spring of 1861 war broke out and so high
was the public feeling that every young man in the community was
either enlisted or was in training to enlist as a soldier or sailor. Only
old men and boys remained at home to work the farms.
For some years previous to the outbreak of the war of the
Rebellion, there was a military organization known as the Close Light
Guards named in honor of Joseph Bailey Close who organized and
outfitted the Company at his own personal expense. James B. Close
was a son of Joseph Bailey Close by a first marriage. The Close
Light Guards were a well-trained outfit and when news was received
of the bombardment of Fort Sumter, its ranks were doubled with
patriotic recruits and on May 1, 1861 the organization was mustered
into service as Company E, of the Second Infantry, New Jersey
The Close Light Guards drilled at the Mansion House which was
then located on Fifty-third Street and the Plank Road now Avenue B
owned and managed by Thomas Churchill. Mr. Churchill then gave
this up and it was occupied by John Mitchell and his family. Mr.
Churchill then opened a Mansion House at Avenue D and Forty-
seventh Street which he ran for some time. This building stands
today and it looks just as it looked then with the exception of the
removal of the shed over the sidewalk. It is now a tavern owned
by Henry Muller.
Captain John T. Van Buskirk, who had been in charge of training
the Light Guards was soon after to become a Major with his cousin
Hiram Van Buskirk becoming officer of Company E. Joseph B.
Close was included in the roll of those who enlisted for service at the
start of the hosilities.
The command left for the south almost immediately, being trans-
ported by canal boats and barges to Annapolis. Later the Company
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
was moved to Washington, D. C. The Command was returned to
Trenton at the end of three months, the period for which the men
had first enlisted, but most of the members soon re-enlisted in the
Twenty-first Infantry and again were sent to Washington. They
took part in the Battle of Antietam and later served with distinction
in the bloody battles that were fought at Fredericksburg, Chancel-
lorsville, Salem Heights and Franklin's Crossing.
Many of the Bayonne soldiers were singled out for exceptional
bravery and courage in battle. The unexpected lengthening of the
war called for longer enlistments. Bayonne men re-enlisted for the
duration of the conflict and participated in other major battles that
were fought before General Robert E. Lee surrendered in 1865. The
story of the patriotism and bravery displayed by Bayonne's veterans
in the Civil War will always remain a bright spot in the City's history.
It is estimated that Bayonne sent 500 of its finest and best to
the battlefields during the four years of strife in the Civil War. The
passing years have taken their toll of those who survived the con-
flict and the veterans of the Grand Army of the Republic have gone
to join the Great Emancipator.
There was only one Bayonne officer in the Confederate Army,
Major Alexander Redwood who lived at 23 Schuyler Court. Serv-
ing as officers of the North were Abney Doubleday, Colonel Hiram
Van Buskirk, Captain John Van Buskirk, Lieutenant Alexander Law-
son, Captain Andrew Van Buskirk. Some of the privates were : John
Carragan, Hanson Cadmus, George W. Odell, Charles B. Salter,
Peter Garrabrandt, Thomas J. "Sharott, John R. Tuttle, Samuel M.
Odell, Lawrence Gill, Richard McT3onald, John O. Vreeland, Archie
G. Welsh, Richard Chaffer, Andrew Ford and others.
Food prices soared during the war; milk was sold at 30 cents a
quart, yeast as high as 20 cents and tea was $1.50 per pound.
For several years following the Civil W r ar, the veterans of the
Close Light Guard held an annual "rally round the flag pole" on the
Close Estate. Open house was kept upon such occasions and refresh-
ments flowed freely. These consisted of sandwiches and home baked
foods, prepared by the ladies of the Close family.
A Military Company, wearing the French uniform, called the
Wilson Zouaves, camped for nearly a year on the property which
later became a picnic grove on the Newark Bay shore in Pamrapo.
This Company was not composed of local men. They were full of
fun and tricks and always in mischief. The French Company never
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
did any real harm but they did seem to have a great liking for
chickens which they appropriated whenever a chicken house was avail-
able. Anyone ever having the opportunity of seeing the Zouaves
drill will never forget it, and the writer had this opportunity at the
Seventy-fifth Anniversary of the Blues and the Grays at Gettysburg
July 4, 1938.
BAYONNE IN THE RECONSTRUCTION DAYS
In 1865 Bayonne boasted of 1,700 population. The Jersey City
and Bergen Point Railroad Company operated a line which was
called the "Dummy Line" which consisted of a combination engine
and passenger car, something on the order of the old steam cars famed
in New York City legend. This line began just west of the La Tourette
House in Bergen Point and ran through private property between
Avenue C and D to where Garrett's Hotel now stands at 32nd Street
and Broadway from which place it crossed the old Plank Road and
continued north, close to what is now Broadway, thence to the Junction
in Greenville. At that point passengers for Jersey City and New York
changed to horse cars for the ferry. The time of travel was from one
and one-half hours one way, according to how the engine felt, and the
fare was 25 cents. The passengers were often obliged to walk in mud
owing to the fact that the engine was always breaking down. By
ordinances passed by the Town Council of both Jersey City and Ber-
gen the steam dummy was forbidden to operate. The Jersey City
ordinance went so far as to direct police to enforce the rule by taking
the dummy from the track and extinguishing the fires. The Dummy
Road ceased operation in 1872.
"retired sea captains"
Bayonne was a popular residence for retired sea Captains. Among
these were Captain Winant who settled at Bergen Point, Captain Ward
who built a home on Avenue D between 2nd and 3rd Streets and
Captain Bailey, who had a very beautiful home on 25th Street and
Newark Bay shore.
"the first submarine"
The first submarine was tried out in the Kills historic waters. It
was invented by an Irishman named John Patrick Holland. At first
it would not work. It was built in Elizabethport secretly and was first
tried out in Newark Bay. Holland tried to sell the patent to the
United States Government but they wouldn't buy it and later the Ger-
man Government bought it. The first time it went through the Kills,
crowds of people gathered along the shore and watched that funny
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
cigar-shaped thing with the tube projection, out of which Holland
stuck his head, as the crowds stared and cheered. In one of the first
tests a hen and a dog were put into the submarine and it was lowered
under the water for 15 minutes and when it came up the hen and the
dog were still alive, so it was pronounced safe. The original sub-
marine is now in a park in Paterson, New Jersey.
Bayonne's first public hall, was Derby's Hall. It was a frame
building constructed in the 6o's. Dr. Derby, who was an old army
surgeon had his office in the building. It also housed Ayer's Drug
Store. Mr. Ayer would never sell anything but drugs in his store. He
believed that a druggist was a druggist and a merchant a merchant.
His store was believed to be one of the most typical drug stores in the
country. It was a monument to an idea as far removed from the
modern idea of a drug store as it is possibe to be.
The first coal dock at Port Johnston on the Kills was completed
and in operation in July of 1866. This place became one of the prin-
cipal coal depots in the country. It was named in honor of the Presi-
dent of the Central Railroad Company of New Jersey at that time.
Today it is a graveyard for discarded vessels and because it is such,
artists are seen there frequently with their easels.
Squire Miller, Justice of the Peace, was a familiar character in
the 1880's. He rode a white horse and wore a plug hat and was
always ready to try a case on the street. He was a dignitary of the
The Bergen Point and Staten Island Ferry Company came into
existence in 1868. There were various managements and old-timers
will recall the "Seneca," "West Point" (later the Bergen Point), the
"Lark" and the "Shanley" as some of the boats that plied between
Bergen Point and Port Richmond.
Alfred W. Booth and Brother transacted a general lumber, timber
and coal business including the manufacturing of doors, sash, mould-
ings and all kinds of mill work. The business was started by William
K. Smith in 1868. He was succeeded by the firm of Barney and
Booth and subsequently in 1877 by A. \Y. Booth and Brother. The
concern was the oldest of its kind in Bayonne or in the County of
Hudson. In June 19 12 a new and larger mill was erected which
contained the most modern machinery and has been described as the
finest, most complete and up-to-date plant of its kind in eastern New
Jersev. The trade was not confined to Bayonne but extended to all
parts of Hudson County and other parts of the state and Staten
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Island. The plant included a dock located at tide water, where lumber
and timber were received and shipped. By this method, material
passed from the manufacturer to the consumer with only one hand-
Emmett Smith was a native of Hudson County. While in his
'teens, he entered the office of Mallory and Muller a firm 'of Jersey
City civil engineers as a junior assistant surveyor and engineer. Pie
went into business for himself while still a young man establishing
an office in the Greenville section of Jersey City in 1866. After com-
ing to Bayonne he built the brick building which still stands on Avenue
E and the corner of 30th Street across from the present City Hall,
the first or ground floor of which served as the offices of Smith and
He became City Surveyor in 1868 and thoroughly revised the
plans for laying out and mapping the prospective streets, avenues and
squares of Bayonne Township. He was named City Surveyor and
Engineer by the councilmen and with the exception of several short
intermissions, he held the position until his death. He was one of the
organizing directors and President of the Bayonne Trust Company, a
director of the Bayonne City Hospital and Dispensary, one of the
founders of the Democratic Club, a member of the Newark Bay Boat
Club, the Bayonne Rowing Association and New Jersey Athletic
Club and Bayonne Lodge F. & A. M. No. 99. At the time of his
death John J. Cain was the Mayor.
BAYONNE BECOMES A CITY 1869
First Board of Education; First Board of Health; Fire Department Organized
Bayonne was incorporated a City March 19, 1869 by an
overwhelming vote of the citizenry. At this time the popula-
tion was 4,000. The new Charter provided for the election of
a Mayor and Aldermen every two years.
The first election, under the city charter took place Tuesday,
April 13, 1869 when Henry Meigs, Jr., of the First Ward, a wealthy
business man in New York, was elected Mayor. He served for five
terms from 1869 to 1879. Rufus Story, William L. Beaumont,
Charles C. Hough, Jacob R. Schuyler, John Combes and Joe Elsworth
were elected members of the Common Council. William Meyers,
Principal of one of the Public Schools was elected Recorder. The
initial meeting of the Common Council took place Monday, April 26,
1869 in Carragan's Hall, Broadway and Twenty-second Street. This
later became the City Hall. Jacob R. Schuyler was elected President
of the Council, Francis T. Smith, City Clerk ; Samuel T. Brown, who
was a rich merchant doing business in New York, was elected Treas-
urer; John H. Carragan was Collector of Revenue; Col. Hiram Van
Buskirk, Street Commissioner ; Emmett Smith was City Surveyor
and City Engineer; William H. H. Johnson, City Attorney; Leon
Abbott, later to be elected twice as Governor, was City Council ;
Edward Perry, Overseer of the Poor.
Members of the Board of Education appointed by the Council
were : Dr. Frederick G. Payn, who served for ten years ; David C.
Halstead, Charles Davis, Nathan Bartlett, John W. Russell, William
D. Meyers, Secretary ; John Van Buskirk, Jr. ; Cornelius V. H.
Vreeland, and Joshua H. Jones.
Horseracing was one of the chief sports during that period and
the Plank Road was the scene of many a lively contest.
The last meeting of the Board of Committeemen for the Township
was held April 26, 1869.
The first Bayonne newspaper published was the Bayonne Herald
and Greenville Register established December 25, 1869, a weekly pub-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
lication with Russell Graves, Editor, and who was succeeded by Col.
On August 31, 1869 an ordnance was passed to establish and
regulate a Police Department and ordered that this should be ap-
pointed by the Council of the City of Bayonne. It should be com-
posed of one person from each ward to be called Policemen, one of
whom should be designated or called Chief of Police. George B.
Whitney was appointed the first chief. He was the man who for
years campaigned to get the railroad through Bayonne. Michael
Connolly and C. Van Dorn were the first policemen, being appointed
by Mayor Meigs.
On December 7, 1869 an ordnance was passed to grade Avenue D
from the Morris Canal to Cottage Street and on June 22nd of the
same year, the first Board of Health was created in the City.
Harry Meigs, son of Bayonne's first Mayor was a member of the
first Board of Plealth. In those days women's skirts were long, drag-
ging the ground and there were no pavements. Purely from a sanitary
standpoint, Harry Meigs advocated short skirts. His campaign for
this innovation gained nation-wide notoriety and newspapers both
complimented him and condemned him for his project. The -New
York Times gave a whole page to the subject in one issue.
Taken from Bayonne Herald and Greenville Register, 1869
3rd Ward is quite a place of resort and entertainment.
Every Week Something Going On.
The enterprising proprietor on Sept. 1, 1869 presented
Benjamin's Variety and Minstrel Troupe
Which Gave Much Satisfaction.
(August 14, 1869)
Prop., Mr. A. Salter
Picnic Grounds Dancing Platform
Music Every Wednesday Evening
The Most Glorious Woodland of New York
Tents, Swings, and Every Moral and Physical Enjoyment Are to Be
Found in These Grounds of This Family Hotel
Preaching in the Woods Every Sunday Afternoon
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
WILLOW HAVEN HOTEL
Overlooks Newark Bay
Presents A Range of View That Takes in Large Picturesque Territory
Building Surrounded by Ancient Willow Trees
(There were 50 guests at hotel at this time)
DR. DERBY'S DRUG STORE
Paints and BrusJies
Rice, Flour, Spices, Soda, Cornstarch, Oatmeal, Mustard, etc.
TOM TAYLOR'S SHOREHOUSE
On December 14, 1869 the Council moved to new quarters in the
City Hall room (Hendrickson's Building) on Avenue D corner of
Maple Avenue (now 31st Street and Broadway) and they continued
to hold their meetings at that place for the next five years.
Hansen Carragan built the building where Llendrickson's now
stands where there was a grocery store and two floors above. The
City Council met on the second floor. Egbert Mellick ran a grocery
store after Carragan and in 1878 Peter Wolff opened a saloon there,
which he ran until around 1887 when he sold out to Charles Hendrick-
son. The building was completely renovated a few years ago and con-
verted into a modern one where man}' activities take place.
Taken from Bayonne Herald and Greenville Register, March 23, 1870
M. E. Sabbath School Exhibition
Door Opens 7 P. M.
Exercises to Commence at 7 1/2 P. M.
Tickets 25 Cents
Saturday, August 13, 1870
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Is Now Open for the Entertainment of Guests
Will Keep Constantly on Hand
LITTLE NECK CLAMS AND OYSTERS, STEAMED TO ORDER ,
Meals Got Up to Order at All Hours Soft Crabs Served to Order
G. W. White, Prop.
Ice Cream, Ices, Soda and Mineral Water, etc.
Opp. Bergen Point Railroad Depot
The subscriber respectfully announces to the public that he keeps on
hand the best quality of
ICE CREAM, LEMON ICES, SODA AND CONGRESS WATERS
also that he has fitted and furnished the new building throughout in the
most complete manner with all the conveniences and comforts of a
home for travelers or regular boarders
Ice Cream Supplied Promptly to Order to Families or to
Parties Upon Notice
J. Stringham, Proprietor
Sessions September 15th to June 20th
For Particulars Apply to Mrs. W. Tozvnsend Ford
Taken from ''Local Items"
April 16, 1870
An old negro named Uncle Joe, once a slave of the Van Buskirk
family of New Jersey, voted last Tuesday under the 15th Amendment
for the first time.
Mrs. Robert Lewis was electioneering last Tuesday on an Inde-
pendent Woman's Rights ticket. She anticipates the 16th Amendment.
The new North Shore boat "Staten Island" will not be completed
before August. In the meantime the "Pomona" "Hunt" and "Hugue-
not" will make ten trips each way daily.
Taken from "Local 1 1 cms" August 13, 1870
Mr. G. H. White of the Mansion Mouse at Centcrville, has pur-
chased the Van Horn Estate at the extreme end of Bergen Point and
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
will open this week a first-class retreat for fishing, boating, bathing, etc.
the facilities for which are excellent.
In August 1870 the Hudson County Times Weekly was established
by Edward Gardner and published at Bergen Point by the Times Print-
ing Company of Jersey City.
The first annual tax assessment under City Charter was fixed by an
ordinance passed in September of this year and amounted to $31,620.
On August 30, 1870 an ordinance was passed to regulate swimming
and bathing within the limits of Bayonne, that no person, unless
clothed from the neck and armpits to the knees shall bathe or swim
within 400 yards of the shore front.
The Bayonne Times was established in 1870.
An ordinance was passed to establish, regulate and control a fire
department and the first one was organized November 15, 1870 in
Pamrapo with a membership of about 35 and this was called the
Bayonne Hook and Ladder Company. Other companies followed and
every ambitious citizen identified himself with some one of the volun-
teer fire department companies and the membership lists contain the
names of Mayor, councilmen, school trustees, health commissioners,
county freeholders, etc. In 1870 there were three equipments with a
total of about one hundred and twenty men. Fire alarms were
sounded bv the church bells. Steel locomotive tires, cut and hunp - bv
chains were struck with sledge hammers just as one still sees in the
rural sections of the country today.
A match factory known as the Standard Match and Sulphur Works
was located here under leadership of C. T. White.
There was a saloon in the Fifth Ward owned by William Early
and later run by McGeehan. Dick Dorsey who was known as the
"Mayor of the Sixth Ward" took it over at a later date. John Trollan
ran a saloon known as "The Mad House."
The firm of William Laubenheimer & Bros, was established in the
city in 1870 and is still serving the city with the best anthracite coal,
coke, fuel oil, charcoal, fertilizers, etc.
The fares charged on the Dummy Road in 1870 in Bayonne to or
from Jersey City was 14 cents or 9 tickets for $1.00. Bergen Point to
Jersey City 15 cents or 7 tickets for $1.00.
The Chemical Works and Reynolds Paint Works were established
here and reported good business.
Donnell's Shorehouse was well known and yachting parties often
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
had dinners in this famous place which specialized in oysters and
clams. It was in Bayonne that clams were first cooked by steaming.
The shorehouse was located on the Kills where it operated from 1850
on. There was a large turtle here for years. It had been caught in
Staten Island. The date carved on its shell indicated that it was 60
years old when picked up at Donnell's. Mr. Frank Dobson was the
last owner of the shorehouse.
The first sewer main known as the Cottage Street sewer was built
in 1 870- 1.
The Mollineux Paint Works located in Bayonne in the year 1871
at the Hook and the small brick building which was their office is still
The cost of living in 1870 may be indicated by the following:
Oolong tea 70 cents per lb., Roasting beef 19 cents per lb. and potatoes
$1.02 per bushel.
James Brady's Sons Company dealers in masons supplies for whole-
sale and retail trade was established in 1872 by Mr. James Brady and
in 1907 was incorporated as James Brady's Sons Company. The
company has two docks, one at the foot of Lexington Avenue on the
Kills and one at the foot of West 23rd Street and Newark Bay. It
also has a yard on the Central Railroad at Avenue C and 7th Street.
In 1872 a revised charter was approved which provided that all the
powers and authority vested in the so-called Map and Grade Commis-
sioners, upon the expiration of their term should then be vested in the
Mayor and Council. Their terms expired in 1873.
This same year the first street gas lamp for public use was lighted
and a number of the streets in the first ward were lighted by gas, under
contract. It was a great occasion for Bayonne and was the subject of
a great deal of favorable comment.
The Port Richmond and Bergen Point Ferry Company came into
existence during the year 1873 and the "long dock" was filled in.
Alvin C. Schroeter was the first florist in Bayonne having come
here in 1873. He had his own green houses and raised his own flowers
but as manufacturing came along the gasses killed the flowers and
he had to discontinue this part of the business. His son, F. W. O.
Schroeter has been carrying on the business popularly and successfully
for many years.
"Local Items" taken from Bayonne Herald Kind Greenville Re-
gister June 14, 1873: "Donnell's Bayonne Shore House is dailv the
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
visiting point for hundreds of Jersey City people who come to eat
clams and enjoy the pure air."
Bayonne Herald and Greenville Register, Saturday June 14, 1873 :
"Hereafter the license fee of an Inn or Travern will be $15.00;
for a hotel $30.00 per year. The former fees were $20.00 and $40.00
Brady's Hall was erected in 1873 at Cottage and Orient Streets.
It thrilled the residents and many activities were held in this hall.
Early after the Prussian War, many Germans came to America.
Quite a large number adopted Bayonne as their new home and they
were soon known as the most progressive and forceful builders of the
The first Jewelry store in Bayonne was established by a Jersey City
man at Avenue D opposite Dodge Street.
BAYONNE AND GREENVILLE
GAS LIGHT CO.
Oak Street corner Hobart Avenue
A. B. Warner, President
J. R. Schuyler, Vice-President
A. C. Humphreys, Secretary.
Parties wishing to connect with the Company's Mains, will please
make application at the office or notify the Secretary by letter. Where
grounds have to be opened to make connections, the company agrees to
leave everything in as good condition as found.
Bayonne Herald and Greenvile Register Saturday October 11, 1873:
OLD MANSION HOUSE
ON PLANK ROAD
IS STILL STANDING
Wm. Martin, the proprietor is still on hand.
The Squire always makes it a point to be at home. He belongs
to the Point and makes a point of serving up all the delicacies of the
season in such a pointed way that when you come to "point up" you are
surprised that you have made such a "point of it :" but that is nothing
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
for everybody "smiles" when Martin leads off. Call and see for you
know how it is yourself. Martin has always been just there at Sal-
Saturday, November 8, 1873
At Mankins' Hotel last Wednesday a large sale of valuable har-
ness took place. The horsemen were largely represented and bidding-
Hope Hose Company No. 2 was the second volunteer fire com-
pany in the city and was organized in 1873 on Avenue D at 27th
Street and later moved its quarters to West 34th Street. This com-
pany was named after Colonel Hope of the Central Railroad Company
of New Jersey. Other companies which followed were :
Bayonne Engine Co. No. 1 organized May 25, 1875 at West 7th
Independence Fire Association organized June 26, 1876 at Broad-
way between 6th and 7th Streets.
American Engine Co. No. 2 organized June 29, 1882 with quarters
on 22nd Street.
Columbia Hook and Ladder Co. No. 3 organized December n,
1882 and was located on Orient Street.
Enterprise Hose Co. No. 1 was organized September 4, 1883 at
East 22nd Street near Avenue I.
Hudson Engine Co. N0.3 organized June 25, 1884 between 27th
and 28th Streets on Broadway.
Protection Engine Co. No. 5 organized March 1, 1892 Broadway
near 50th Streets.
Washington Engine Co. No. 6 organized 1893 had neither house
nor apparatus but met at Enterprise headquarters.
These ten companies participated in extinguishing some of the
greatest conflagrations the city has ever seen. Among its memorable
fires were the great Standard Oil Company blaze in July 1900; the
Standard barrel factory fire and the Reformed Church fire on Lord
Avenue in 1902.
The force of 600 men with its hand drawn machinery gave way to
professionals and to horses, as in 1906 the city took over the depart-
ment and made it a paid institution. Steam replaced hand pumps and
buckets and the old volunteers yielded to professionals. However, spirit
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
of the volunteers lives on. They are with us today and will be re-
membered. Among those who did a great deal for the volunteers
were: W. K. Smeaton, John McAdie, Edward Mullaney, John J.
Gardner, W. Sembler, James Keegan, Charles Dougherty, James
Hickey, Hugh McGeehan, William Barnes, William F. Hogan, James
Gleeson, Joseph Stillger, William F. Roberts, George Mellindick, Chris
J. Schmidt, William B. Scofield, Chris Rickett, Jesse Coles, George
Deubert, William Keegan, Mortimer Clark, John P. Clark, Fred Bow-
man, Henry Harris, S. L. Osborn, William T. Ford, Joseph B. Heraty,
George W. Mellor, John Cubberly, Ex-Chief Alfred Varian, John
McCabe, John Byers, Richard Darcy, Robert Scott who served 8 years
as President and many others too numerous to mention.
The Association of Exempt Firemen of Bayonne was organized
September 23, 1892 with 16 charter members as follows :
Jesse K. Vreeland Alvin C. Schroeter Wolfram Flugel
Ebenezer C. Earl Bloomfleld Gardner Jas. W. Laughlin
Henry Winkle Wm. H. La Tourette Thos. J. Clark
Elijah S. Dowe Wm. H. Frevert Wesley Salter
P. S. MacGillivary Joseph B. Slaight Z. F. Donnell
Edward M. Griffin who was first detective of police and is now
retired ex-police Captain is the only surviving charter member of
the association. Jesse K. Vreeland was one of the Chief Engineers
of the Volunteer Department and was named the first president. The
membership is confined to men who served seven years with the old
volunteer fire department which was abolished September 3, 1902
when the paid department was established.
The Exempts first quarters, after organization in 1892 were in the
old building located on the southeast corner of Boardway and 30th
Street and when they were relieved from service, the city provided
quarters on West 34th Street which they occupied for many years.
Much credit is due Dr. George W. Mellor and his committee,
consisting of Ex-Captain W'illiam Keegan a Trustee and to Samuel
Odell, John Byers and George Deubert, building committee, for ac-
quiring from the city in 1929 the present quarters for the Exempt
Firemen. The new house on West 47th Street is a favorite gathering
place of oldtimers for social times. Its walls are a vertible art gal-
lery of rare and valuable photographs of many fires fought by the
volunteers many years ago, of parades they have participated in and
of other historic events. Also adorning the walls are helmets form-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
erly worn by departed chiefs and foremen of the volunteers, memorials
and tribute to fire fighters who were heroes of another day.
In 1884 the Bayonne Volunteer Fire Department came into
possession of the carriage which today stands on exhibition in their
headquarters of which the members are very proud. It is the oldest
carriage in the state and is used only on special occasions. It was in
service in 1862 at the Lady Washington Hose Company on Cedar
Street, New York City, and in 1885 was sent to Georgia. The Bay-
onne Fire Department paid $48.76 for it and it is all hand made. It
saw active service in the Hope Hose Company No. 2 on West 34th
Street until 1897 and many times the volunteers trundled the carriage
to fires in the Bergen Point area and the Constable Hook Oil Yards.
This was quite a trip in those days since it was rushed along the streets
by man power. At the fires the men attached the hose to a steamer
which pumped the water.
In the center of the main lower hall in the headquarters stands
the old hose cart, painted cream color in recent years and trimmed
with goldleaf. This vehicle contains about 600 feet of hose, steel tires,
and carries axes and crowbars among its equipment.
There are billard and card tables around which the men gather
every day of the week. Upstairs in the meeting room is a massive
showcase well filled with cups and trophies won by the association.
The Exempts have many social affairs and reunions and toda\
have a Ladies Auxilliary headed by Mrs. Kathryn Welcher. The
members assemble there and live old times again and there's a lot of
smoke in the headquarters that isn't due to a fire. Chief James G.
Hogan is the present head of the city department, and William F.
Hogan who was a second Asst-Chief of the volunteers in 1903, are
active members. Chief Hogan had been a member of Columbia Truck
and William Hogan was with Engine No. I.
Other active members were : William N. Hutchinson, prominent
local real estate dealer who had served with Independence Fire Com-
pany, William Laubenheimer who was with Protection Engine Co.
No. 5, Frank Dobson, who served with Independence and John
P. Byers who served with Enterprise Hose Company No. 1.
The volunteers were very loyal to their duties in the old days. A
story is told about Foreman Samuel Goldenhorn of the Bayonne Hook
and Ladder Company, who conducted one of the local dry good stores.
He was in the chair of Dr. Mellor's office having his teeth looked after.
A fire alarm was sounded. He sprang from the chair and ran to the
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
firehouse. The dentist did not have time to finish his work and as a
result Goldenhorn could not close his mouth all night. Many stories
similar to this are told daily at the headquarters.
In 1873 the city purchased Carragan's building for $10,000. On
June 30, 1874 the Council first met in the new City Hall.
The Woodbine Tavern and picnic grounds flourished at that time.
The tavern was a small old-fashioned frame house and was operated
by John Salter. There was a large grove with swings and a dancing
pavillion where many jolly parties took place.
Willow Haven was a large hotel located near the Woodbine. This
building was removed, divided into two parts, one of which became a
tenement house at 48th Street and Broadway and the other went to
Salters Hall at Center Street.
In 1875 an assessment was collected for support and maintenance
of public schools, street repairs, salaries of city officials and for the
lighting of streets.
In this same year the first chief engineer. E. Berry of the Fire De-
partment was appointed.
Chestnutting was popular pastime at this time and many came from
neighboring towns to enjoy the sport. There was an abundance of
chestnuts grown in Bayonne.
Taken from Bayonne Herald and Greenville Register 1879
ENGLISH CLASSICAL AND ART
Boarding and Day School
For Young Ladies
Alfred E. Sloan, M. A. formerly President of the Kentucky College
at Pewee Valley near Louisville
La Tourette Building
September 18, 1879
Day Scholars S40. a half year
Advanced Course $50. a half year
Modern Languages, Music, Drawing and Painting, extra
A. E. Sloan, M.A. Lepha X. Clark, A.B.
Principal Lady Principal
Constable Hook Cemetery advertises lots for sale
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
P. W. CONNELLY
1 6th Street near the Depot
Hearses and carriages to let. Bodies laid out and preserved
FROM A MINIATURE GROUP BY NED J. BURNS IN THE
MUSEUM OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK.
THE GLORIOUS 80's IN BAYONNE - 1880-1890
Oil and Other Industries Bring People From All Parts of the World to Bayonne:
Contract for City Water; Avenue D Macadamized: Stage Coaches Bought
From New York 1883; Horse Cars in 1885; First Apartments and First
Bank; Streets and Houses Numbered; Electric Lighting; Free Delivery of
Mails; Bayonne Hospital.
Stephen K. Lane was elected Mayor in 1879 succeeding Henry
Meigs. Mr. Lane served two terms, 1879 to 1883.
The Police Headquarters and Prison occupied the basement of
the former Library, then the City Hall. The Fourth Ward Police Sta-
tion occupied the old Xo. 4 school on Dodge Street.
Bayonne was divided into four wards and there were five public
and three private schools. The Central Railroad of Xew Jersey had
four depots and train service was adequate. Real Estate was on a
boom and there was a remarkable increase in business. Many large
manufacturing concerns were located at the Hook which gave employ-
ment to hundreds of men.
The oil works and industries at the Hook brought people from all
parts of the United States and Europe. Ships from every nation be-
gan to arrive at Constable Hook. Ruhlman established a flourishing
butcher business and served the surrounding territory. Cottage Street
was the business street in the 8o's. Charles Worth and Frank Ernst
kept the first bakeries on this street and later Becker's and O'Neill's
Bakeries were popular. Moloney's and Mahnken's Butcher Shops
were located on this street. John C. Gibson and Otto Rasch had hard-
ware stores. Adam Kunsman ran the first express to Xew York. This
was called ''Adams" express. It was taken over by O'Brien's Express
and later became Masterson's Express. There were such dry goods
stores as Rouses' and Brown's, the later being kept by Edward G.
Brown's mother. Kreck, the shoemaker and Mahnken's Saloon flour-
ished on Hobart Avenue. Mahnken was the City's leading pump
dealer. One of the popular lawyers in town was Tom Clemens, who
was a drummer boy in the Civil War. Dr. Fred Payne had a fine
residence on 4th Street and Broadway and Dr. Hickman lived be-
tween 4th and 5th Streets on Broadway.
Bayonne became almost over night an Industrial City. The woods
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
and orchards began to disappear. New streets were laid out and
shaded lanes and drives were cut away and Centerville grew to be the
business center as it still remains today.
Oliver's Express boasted of the largest and best truck in the city.
The Post Offices within the boundary of the city were located at
Bergen Point, Bayonne, Pamrapo and Van Buskirk's (Constable's
Hook). The first named was on 16th Street, now 8th Street opposite
the Central Railroad Station and C. T. Munn was the Postmaster. The
second was on Avenue E, corner of Bayonne Avenue, now 33rd Street,
with J. Murphy, Jr. as Postmaster. The third was the Saltersville
Postoffice of years past, with M. Mullaney as Postmaster. The 4th
was at Constable's Hook with G. Christians as Postmaster.
In 1879 the Police Department consisted of one Chief who was
John Van Buskirk, and there were eight patrolmen.
Two weekly newspapers, the Herald and Times supplied the local
Proubsky's Hall was located at 22nd Street and John, which is now
a Power house of the Standard Oil Company.
Taken from Bayonne Herald and Greenville Register, 1880
CONRAD MULLER & SON
Fine Groceries and Provisions
At New York Prices - For Cash
Cottage Street Bergen Point
WM. D. ALPERS
Druggist and Chemist
Avenue D, Near City Hall
Deutsche Apotheke - Pharmacie Francaise
A Full Stock of
Drugs and Medicines
Imported and Domestic Cigars
Stationery - Fancy and Toilet Articles
Prescriptions Prepared at All Hours of the Day and Night
German and French Spoken
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Fine leas Wines and Groceries and Canned Fruits
Choice Liquors for Medicinal Use
Genuine Havana Cigars
Cor. Old Plank Road and Center Street
OYSTER & CHOP HOUSE
Cottage Street, near Avenue D
Oysters - Steaks - Chops - Etc.
Served to Order
Pickled Oysters a Specialty
Families Supplied with Oysters by the Quart or Hundred, Year Round
The Best the Market Affords
John S. Fowler
"Local Item March 1880"
A Democratic meeting was held in the 4th Ward at Tourneys Hall.
A Ward Club was formed. John Bull was elected President and John
Donohoe", Secretary. The club organized with 40 members and regular
meetings were held Monday and Thursday evenings.
At this time some of the following were located in the city :
Alfred Booth, Consumers Coal & Ice Co. ; C. D. Avers Drug Store ;
A. A. Smith ; Conrad Muller & Sons ; Alpers Drug Store ; Julius A.
Stegmair, Pharmacist, Cottage Street.
Taken from Bayonne Herald and Greenville Register, 1881
C. D. AYERS
Drugs and Medicines - Paints, Oils, Brushes
Perfnmery \and Fancy Articles
Prescriptions Prepared at All Hours
Confectionery Cigars Stationery
Avenue D, near Depot Bergen Point
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Ave. D, Opposite Dodge Street
Bergen Point, New Jersey
All Orders Will Receive Prompt Attention
Open Day and Night
Dealer in Men's - Ladies' and Children's Boots and Shoes
Rubbers and Rubber Boots A Specialty
Repairing of All Kinds Promptly Attended to
Cor. 27TH and William Streets, Constable Hook
JOHN A. SHEPNER
Tonsorial Artist, Etc., Etc., Etc.
27TH Street, near Lutheran Church
Cigars wid Tobacco
Wooden and Clay Pipes - Fancy Goods, Etc.
Avenue D Near 27TH Street
In 1 88 1 Bayonne made a contract with Jersey City for water
supply and in 1882 the first water main was laid at a cost of $61,860.50.
This water was unfit to drink but was used mostly for manufacturing-
Prior to 1880 Bayonne was mostly a fishing and agricultural center,
but at that time manufacturing took quite a spurt. Carr and Hobson,
located at Eirst Street and Boulevard, became very famous as manu-
facturers of agricultural implements. They employed as high as 500
people which was regarded as a very large business at the time.
The Coney Island steamboats plying between Newark and Coney
Island became the time pieces for the oystermen along Newark Bay
shore. The Magenta passed at 10:30; the General Sedgwick with a
steam calliope passed at 1 1 130 and the Thomas P. Way passed at
12:00. Some of the oystermen of that time were, Ed. Mullaney, John
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Cubberly, William Keegan, later Captain Keegan of the Police Force,
Tom and Sandy Keegan, Celus, Tom, Pete and Jim Van Buskirk,
whose ancestors were Van Buskirk slaves.
In 1883 Avenue D, from Cottage Street to the Morris Canal, was
macadamized at a cost of about $108,000.
David W. Oliver was elected Mayor on the Democratic ticket in
this same year and he served two terms, from 1883 to 1887.
The outstanding estate of this period was that of the Currie family.
It consisted of a large brownstone homestead, a beautiful drive, a large
acreage which extended from one bay to the other and lay just beyond
the Morris Canal in the Greenville section.
The Currie family was very wealthy at one time and every Sunday
the coachman took them to church in Greenville to services in the Re-
formed Church .
In 1883 when the old stage coach system on Broadway, New York,
was replaced by the electric cable, James Cassidy bought six of the
New York coaches from the New York Line. He also bought forty of
the New York horses. Thomas Brady also bought some and they ran
in competition to Greenville and return at regular intervals. Later
James Cassidy sold out to Brady who ran the route for some time
An ordinance for the better observance of the Christian Sabbath
was passed in October 1884. Public parades were prohibited, with the
exception that military organizations were permitted to parade with
appropriate sacred music on funeral occasions.
In 1884 Bayonne was honored by a visit of Grover Cleveland, who
delivered a campaign address two months before he was elected Presi-
dent of the United States.
Benjamin Franklin Butler, a General in the Federal Army, who
was one of the Presidential candidates who was defeated by Cleveland,
appeared in Bayonne on Dodge Street in a campaign address.
Some may recall : The Rosemont Cigar Store on Avenue D and
Center Street, Pamrapo, was one of those famous old time cigar stores
with the wooden Indian in front ; Van Natta's Grocery Store : Doyle's
Saloon; Harris' on Avenue D and 48th Street, a general store with
feed, etc. and a rendezvous for shoppers; Manken's Eagle Hotel where
many boarders were always on hand ; Frank Harris' town house on
Avenue D and 49th Street and Currie's Woods with its beautiful dog-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
wood and lovely trees, mostly locust. All through the woods along the
Xewark Bay shore were silver maples (never seen today) oak trees
and willow. Field's Coal Yards on Avenue D and the Morris Canal
where the coal came in on canal boats from Mauch Chunk and the
coal unloaded in buckets with derrick operated by horsepower ; and at
Bergen Point; the St. Charles Hotel opposite the railroad station,
Charles Munn ; the Bergen Point Athletic Club ; Alonzo Stagg ; Lovers
Bridge on Avenue A and Mose Van Horn fishing off Rabineau Avenue.
Klein's Tourist Agency, noted for its enjoyable cruises, has given
the people of Bayonne continuous service for 55 years, having been
established in 1884.
In 1885 the Jersey City Bergen Point Railway was authorized by
Bayonne to lay tracks on certain streets and to run horsecars thereon.
The main line extended on Avenue C to Kill van Kull. Work of lay-
ing tracks on Avenue C from 46th Street to Bergen Point was started
in the summer of 1886 and completed in November. On November
6th cars were operated between Bergen Point from whence they trans-
ferred by the Greenville stables to Jersey City Ferry. There was a
through five cent fare operated on a 30 minute headway. Mules were
used and the crew consisted of one man who acted as both conductor
and motorman. Horses later replaced the mules. The 5th Street line
was added in 1888. The service gradually improved as to rolling stock
and speed and in August 1893 a change to electricity propelled vehicle
was authorized. Double tracking for the electric cars was begun
through Avenue C to Jersey City from Greenville, in September 1893.
Electric cars to Constable Hook were installed February 1893.
There was a break in the line at the Central Railroad crossing as no
tracks had been laid over the railroad and transfer of passengers was
necessary ; however, this was remedied later.
The Jersey City Bergen Company leased its lines in 1893 to the
Consolidated Traction Company which continued the operation of
trolley line including those in Bayonne until the North Jersey Street
Railway Company took control in 1898. Public Service followed in
In 1885 the annual assessment included $25,597. for support and
maintenance of public schools; for salaries $11,200; for support of
Fire Department $3,000. and for street improvements $15,000.
Bayonne's first swank)- apartments were built during the year 1885
at 201 Avenue D at 7th Street. These apartments, known as the
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
"Florence Flats" were built by the late Conrad Muller, who was a
fashionable New York tailor as well as a resident of Bayonne.
On September 15, 1885 an ordinance was passed to authorize the
Jersey City and Bergen Point Railroad Company to lay tracks in cer-
tain streets and avenues of the city and to run horsecars thereon. Sec.
7 of the ordinance read : "It shall be the duty of said company to pro-
vide and keep upon their horses attached to cars, while in motion, suit-
able and proper bells, to give warning of their approach and they shall
not run their cars or suffer them to be run, at a greater speed than
eight miles per hour."
The Mechanics Trust Company, which was the first bank in
Bayonne, was organized in 1886 and was located at Bergen Point. It
was founded under charter obtained from Legislature in 1872. The
incorporators were Henry Meigs, Solon Humphreys, Jacob Schuyler,
Rufus Story, Francis I. Smith, Hiram Van Buskrirk, James W. Trask,
Erastus Randall and George Carragan. The bank opened for business
March 1, 1886. DeWitt Van Buskirk became Secretary and Treasurer
in 1902 and three years later became President, upon the resignation of
Charles S. Noe.
Julia Marlowe was trained by Ada Dowe of Bayonne. The Dowe
studio was near 33rd Street where they labored many hours each day
for a long time.
John Newman became Mayor in 1887. He was elected on the Re-
publicans Citizen's ticket and succeeded Mayor Oliver. He served two
terms, from 1887 to 1891.
Centerville needed a picnic ground and dance floor at this time.
Columbia Park was, therefore, built in a chestnut grove on Avenue C
and 23rd Street. It was an ideal spot. One Thanksgiving Day in
1889 or 9° an organization of target shooters came out to the park,
started an argument with the proprietor and wrecked the park and
beat up the police. The chief gathered up his reserves and some
deputies and drove them out of the city.
On April 2, 1888 a meeting was held at Schuyler Hall under the
joint auspices of the Land and Labor Club and the Bergen Point De-
bating Club for the establishing of a public library. Speeches were
made by prominent citizens and resolutions were adopted favoring the
establishment of a library under provision of an act of the Leigslature
passed in 1884.
In 1888 the great blizzard struck the east and Centerville was cut
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
off from the rest of the city for several days. All traffic was sus-
During that year an ordinance was passed to number the streets
consecutively from one to sixty-seven, many names of avenues being
changed to letters of the alphabet. Before this time and after, during
periods of rapid development, many streets were named for prominent
families of the city. Among them being Trask Avenue ; Humphreys
Avenue, Schuyler Court ; Story Court ; LaTourette Place, etc. For
convenience and identification, the houses were also numbered by con-
During this same year an ordinance was passed authorizing the
Bayonne Electric Company to erect and maintain a system of poles
and wires for electric lighting in the streets and public places in the
In February 1889 free delivery of the mails was established.
Thomas Brady was postmaster and the city took on the name of
Bayonne throughout ; the names of Pamrapo, Bergen Point, were per-
Wigdor's Jewelry store was established in 1889. The store is lo-
cated on Broadway and 21st Street and is managed by Isaac Wigdor
and Dr. Louis Wigdor and is now serving the third generation.
The firm of J. M. Johnson & Co., Real Estate and Insurance, was
established in Bayonne in 1890 and is stlill serving the people.
C. Haggerty & Sons grocery store was established on Broadway
and 14th Street in the early 90's and is still doing a flourishing busi-
ness with a branch store at Broadway and 41st Street.
The Bayonne Hospital and Dispensary was incorporated in 1888 and
opened March 3, 1890 in the building on East 30th Street which was
donated to the institution by Airs. Alice Story Rowland and Mrs.
Abbey Story Marshall in memory of their father, Rufus Story, with
accommodations for forty patients. No restrictions as to age, sex,
race or religious belief were imposed. It was to be supported by con-
tributions, endowments, etc.
Mrs. J. Herrick was the first president of the auxiliary board. Mrs.
Luther S. Cadugan and Mrs. Anna Van Tine were among the charter
The new hospital building, erected in 1927, has been enlarged in
the past decade to meet the needs of the city. The main building is six
A new brick fireproof building to be used as a home for Nurses was
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
also added. There are twenty-five graduate nurses and eighty-four
students nurses in the personnel in addition to a large staff of doctors.
Two dieticians daily prepare the meals for the many patients. The
institution maintains two ambulances which are in service twenty-four
hours a day.
The population of the city in 189 1 was 19,035. A contract for a
new City Hall was awarded December 2, 1890 and a large two story
and basement brick building was built at the corner of Avenue E and
30th Street for $46,999. This is the same building which is being used
today as the City Hall.
BAYONNE IN THE GAY NINETIES - 1890-1900
New City Hall: The Musical Till Family and Rockaphone: Shorehouses: Craft &
Company Established, Now Creighton: Eddy's World Record Kite: Mayor
Farr Reelected Without Opposition: Contract for Pure Drinking Water:
Egbert Seymour Elected Mayor: Berry Guard Formed: Social Events:
Arlington Park: First Thermometer Factory: Dr. Bert Daly A Leader in
Baseball: Sports. . . .
One evidence of real progress in the "Gay Nineties" is the fact
that in 1891 garbage was first removed by the city by ordinance.
"William C. Farr was elected Mayor in the same year and the
Board of Trade was organized.
In 1892 the railway spur which was operated between Constable
Hook and Communipaw for the purpose of carrying oil and other
products from the Hook, was completed.
In the Fall of that year the new City Hall was completed at a
cost of $55,236.15. The grounds, however, costing $9,046.43 brought
the total cost to $64,282.58. The building was occupied on October
2 1 st. That was a great day for the city and the citizens celebrated
the event as a gala day. Churches, schools, stores and dwellings were
tastefully decorated with flags and bunting. A large military, civic and
trade union parade was staged. The Fire Department and 4,000 school
children participated in the event. The following day the City Hall
was thrown open for inspection. Police Headquarters was transferred
from the old City Hall to the new and additional patrolmen were added
to the force. The citizens were aglow with civic pride and Bayonne
was on its way to big and better things.
The Till family of Bayonne were very prominent in musical circles
both here and abroad in the gay nineties.
In 1868, when William Till was 13 years old, his father returning
from work as an engineer on a reservoir told him of the musical tones
produced by striking the rocks with the picks of the laborers. The next
day the father and son went into the mountains and hewed great slabs
which they carried seven miles to their home in Derwentwater, Eng-
land. These stones were sorted and chiseled to proper size. About
one in every twenty carried into the village, proved satisfactory for
their purpose and the Tills trudged up and down the mountains until
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
more than 50 satisfactory stones were found. William and his father
labored in that lake district of England, where he was born, for twelve
years in the manufacture of a musical instrument called the Rocka-
phone. This instrument consisted of a gigantic pianoforte keyboard
of hand chiseled stone mounted on a wooden stand from which the
keys are insulated by straw. The instrument has a scale of five octaves.
In 1 88 1 the father with his two sons, William and Daniel, Jr.
started on a concert tour of Europe. The first time the Rockaphone
was heard in the Crystal Palace in London, the concert was attended
by John Ruskin, the critic, who later sent Mr. Till a letter commending
it. William Till was hailed everywhere with his instrument and his
"stand" at the Crystal Palace consisted of 156 concerts. He gave 108
concerts at the Royal Polytechnic in London, 4,000 heard him at the
Town Hall in Birmingham; 4,500 attended at the City Hall in Glasgow
and 5,000 crowded into St. George's Hall in Liverpool to attend the
concert. He gave 300 concerts in Ontario, Nova Scotia and New
Brunswick, Canada. Before the World War he made a concert tour
of this country. In later years his daughters, Esther and Mildred,
toured with him. One sang contralto and the other soprano. For a
time, Mr. Till conducted a music school in Bayonne and for 27 years he
was organist at the Reformed Church on Avenue C and 33rd Street.
The Till family left Bayonne several years ago and now reside at 101
Park Street, East Orange, N. J. Mr. Till still has his Rockaphone in
During the 90's the shorefront was dotted with Shorehouses.
Among the popular ones were Wheeler's, The Two Pines, McDonalds
and Meisters. Every winter, when there was a blizzard, one of these
shorehouses would put up a bottle of champagne as a prize for the
first cutter arriving at the shorehouse.
The Two Pines was a large roomy house with a French roof,
which was formerly owned by Mrs. Annette and located at the Boule-
vard and the Kills. It was operated at one time by Al Beling of the
five corners in Jersey City and it later changed management and was
called "Wheeler's," being run by a Mr. Wheeler.
McDonald's Shorehouse was located on Avenue C and the Kills,
on one side of the Public Service Ferry and Meister's was on the other
These shorehouses were rendezvous for people who liked shore
dinners and sea food. Chowder parties were popular entertainment
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
The lower end of Bayonne was a beautiful spot in the mid-nineties.
Tallyhoes and other equipages were driven along the Jersey shore,
their occupants enjoyed a gay luncheon at the La Tourette or the River-
side Casino or one of the shorehouses. They watched the boating from
the porches and drove home again. The Kills, spotted all day with tiny
white triangle of sails, with rowboats and puffing little tugs and
steamers, was an interesting spot. Beyond its churning tide lay Port
Richmond and the green rolling expanse of Staten Island, with one
lovely home adjoining another, surrounded by gardens, lawns and
graceful trees, was a picturesque sight. Bayonne in those days had a
quality of peaceful beauty, of trees and shady roads, of flowers and
bees, of "countryness," of lovely gardens and serenity.
Prosperity produces leisure and leisure produces social, sports and
enjoyable life. The Newark. Bay Rowing Association and the New
Jersey Athletic Club, which later became the Knickerbocker Club of
New York, sprung into existence in the 90's. The latter club house
stood where the "Best Foods" plant now stands, and was used by the
very best people. Ray Ewry, the great high jumper (he was Olympic
champion) and Willie Day, the champion runner of the world, were
Even though prosperity prevailed there were social upheavals,
labor agitations and trouble. The Great Bayonne strike occurred, at
which time the strikers marched. Their slogan was "22^/2 cents an
hour or no surrender."
An insurance business was established in 1892 by Elijah R. Craft
under the firm name of Craft & Co. They were identified with a New
York house but set up the Bayonne office in order to handle the real
estate business of the late Solon Humphreys. From a sideline business
this was built up by the efforts of Louis N. Creighton, who became
associated with Mr. Craft in 1893 to what is now said to be the largest
real estate and general insurance business in Bayonne. This office
conducts a general real estate business which specializes in factory
property. They are active and outstandingly popular and reliable.
Through the efforts of Mr. Creighton, large concerns have located
here, among them were :
Taintor Mfg. Co.
Bayonne Steel Casting Co.
Walter F. Sykes & Co.
Bayonne Casting Co.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Flour Waste & Packing Co.
Crane Motor Car Co.
In March 1893 the Common Council granted the Board of Trus-
tees of the Public Library a ten-year lease of the old building (which
was Council Hall) at a nominal rent, with the privilege of removing.
eddy's world record kite
Mr. William A. Eddy, whose residence was at 32 East 3rd Street,
invented what is known as the box type of kite. The highest altitude
reported was 5,595 feet which was made November 7, 1893. This was
a world record. On December 5, 1895 a telephone and telegraph mes-
sage was sent by wires attached to his kites up in the air. Because of
this outstanding fete, the United States Government (Military) com-
mandeered him and his kites as a signaling medium. Mr. Eddy died
The City Dock was built at the foot of Ingraham Avenue at a cost
of $9,000. in 1893.
Mr. M. F. Freel edited and published a weekly newspaper called
"The Democrat" during this year.
A franchise authorizing the Jersey City and Bergen Point Railroad
Company to use electric motors as the propelling power of their cars,
to erect poles and string the necessary wires therefrom, was granted
August 16, 1893. Horse cars were abandoned and an electric trolley
Mayor Farr was re-elected being the first Mayor ever elected with
out opposition as he was endorsed by both Republican and Democratic
During Mayor Farr's administration the city obtained the property
at the Boulevard and Newark Bay and from 14th to 16th Streets to be
used as a public park at some future time.
In 1894 the reading room of the Public Library was opened to the
public and a short time later the circulating department was opened
with nearly 4,000 volumes on the shelves.
During this year a contract was made for Bayonne to receive water
from the New York and New Jersey Water Company for pure drink-
On February 28, 1895 the Charity Organization Society was
There was a fire in the old Combs Homestead on New York Bay,
later occupied by the Pavonia Yacht Club. Mrs. Claffy, a music
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
teacher in New York, was living in the homestead for the summer.
She later made her home in the city occupying a red brick double house
on Avenue C and 38th Street where she conducted a music school.
Taken from Bayonne Herald and Greenville Register, 1895
"Mr. W. B. Fisk of Plainfield purchased the stock of the A. A.
Smith Company and in addition has bought the property on Evergreen
Street and Linnet Street, formerly occupied as a coal yard by Mr. W.
J. Haver, consisting of 16 lots, coal trestle and feed building.
A new trestle and buildings will be erected on the property. Mr.
A. A. Smith who established the business in 1876 will retain the man-
agement and his twenty years experience together with ample working-
capital will, no doubt, give the firm the success it deserves and which
Mr. Smith's friends wish."
O'LEARY'S OWL INN
5 1 st Street and Avenue D
Large Hall for Lodge Meetings
PROFESSOR HOFFMAN'S DANCING CLASS
Hall of B. R. A.
Tuition in all classes will embrace the latest and most fashionable
dancing, deportment, etiquette, physical culture, cotillion practice, de-
veloping grace in pose, walk and carriage and the German..
Inquire Brown s Music Store for Information
747 Avenue D
ROWSES DRY GOODS STORE
JERRY LISK — FISH STORE
ROBERT GUY & SONS
Livery and Boarding Stables
803 Avenue D
Coaches to Let for All Occasions
March 23, 1895
PROF. S. J. LOWELL
Lowell's Military and Orchestra
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Music of Every Description Furnished on Application
Also Pupils Taken
36-38 W. Grand Street - near Ave. C and 50TH St.
J. HERMAN MAHNKEN
21 Cottage Street
SUNDERMAN'S DRUG STORE
March 23, 1895
"No fires in the trolley cars on Thursday and the mercury was in the
vicinity of the freezing point ; even the conductors kicked while some
The Postal force of Bayonne in 1895 consisted of :
Postmaster Edward O'Farrell.
Chief Clerk E. H. Whitney.
Clerks, William H. Hinchman, Nellie O'Farrell and Effie Donnelly.
Carriers, William Mann, Thomas Reilly, Charles H. Westendorf,
James M. Ryan, Thomas McGinnis, C. B. Mettler, T. E. Sloat, John
W. CardufT, Fred Schmidt, Arthur Butcher, Wm. J. Denton and
During Mayor Farr's administration, more than $350,000 was paid
for street improvements alone, for which bonds were issued and sold as
high as $110.
The completion of the labors of the "Martin Act" Commission and
its discharge by the Circuit Court occurred during Farr's term of office.
This was the means of saving an expenditure of about $12,000 per year
in fees and salaries.
The organization of the detective bureau, the adoption of the
fire alarm signal system and the paving of East 22nd Street from
Avenues D to I, making it fit for public travel were also accomplished.
Egbert Seymour was elected Mayor on the Democratic ticket in
1895 and he served 4 terms and 8 months from 1895 to 1904.
In May of 1895 tne Bayonne section of the Hudson County Boul-
evard was completed at no expense to the city. At this time electric
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
lights were placed on every corner of Avenue D illuminating the city
from one end to the other.
In 1895 a Militia Company was formed mostly from the Center-
ville section. This was called Company I, 4th New Jersey. The first
Captain was Wilcox from 24th Street. Other officers were Lieut.
McFarland from Greenville and 2nd Lieut. George C. Rhoderick from
Bergen Point. This Company was known as the "Berry Guard" named
in honor of Ed Berry, assemblyman from Bayonne, and followed in the
footsteps of the Close Light Guards by going to the Spanish War in
1898, the Mexican Border in 1912 and to the World War in 1918
when it and the Fourth Regiment were merged into the 113th.
BAINBRIDGE SMITH ENTERTAINS GRANDDAUGHTER
A notable event of 1896 was a Costume Ball at which Bainbridge
Smith was host at his home on the Newark Bay shore front. The home
and surrounding grounds were purchased by the city in later years and
finally became a part of the City Park.
The guest of honor at Mr. Smith's Ball was his granddaughter, a
daughter of the French Count ParafY. Many distinguished men and
women from New York and other cities attended in costumes repre-
sentative of every part of the East. Rich Turkish, Chinese and Mal-
ayan outfits were seen at the affair and Stephen Massey, famed music
critic, William H. Savage, writer, and George Law, Millionaire Rail-
road man were among those present.
Colorful Japase lanterns were along the driveway on the spacious
piazza which extended around the entire house.
The ballroom was 50 feet in lenth and 20 feet in width and had
a beautiful corniced ceiling about 12 feet high. There were two orna-
mental fireplaces in the room and on the north side were four wind-
ows extending to the floor. The ballroom had three entrances, two on
the main hallway and one on the piazza which dancers often used as
a promenade. A library, reception room and cloak room also were on
the first floor, with the family's living rooms uptairs.
SOLON HUMPHREYS ENTERTAINS
Another famous social event of the season was given by Solon
Humphreys at his estate, "Pepperidge," which was on Avenue A be-
tween 10th and nth Streets. This was an outdoor garden party and
was a beautiful affair. An international motif marked the function, at
which tents were erected on the grounds. The different pavilions were
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
reserved for guest of various nationalities. English, Irish. German and
Bayonne was a farmer's paradise in the cjo's. Flourishing farms
were in evidence everywhere. Cows in the pasture, fields waving with
corn, the birds singing merrily in the woods, the occasional bark of a
dog, the neigh of a horse, the crow of the rooster and "Gee-up" and
"Ho" ; these were the things that were familiar to all traveling along
the Old Plank Road in the days of yore. Bergen Point was "the town"
and all north of 14th Street was two-thirds woods; it was called "The
country" with just a few scattered settlements here and there.
OTHER ACTIVITIES OF THIS PERIOD
A lecture hall was located on 1st Street. For many years it served
as a school. The Bergen Point Lyceum met at this hall for several
seasons. The institution was organized to promote mutual instruction
among the members. The exercises consisted of debates and lectures.
Straw T rides, sleighing parties, corn husking parties and singing classes
occupied the time of the younger set, many of the events took place
at the La Tourette House, especially during the summer.
Brady's Hall on Cottage Street was a dancing center for the work-
ing people of the city. Affairs held there were often elaborate. A
fountain in the center of the floor which sprayed perfume on the
dancers throughout the evening was a feature of one gala event, and
the "order of the dance" or program was an expensive item, often cost-
ing as much as $2.50. Wax hands with a ring on a lady's finger,
ornamented the cover of one of the booklets.
Outdoor dances were held four or five times a year in the picnic
grounds on the property of Henry C. Meigs.. Two platforms were
erected there — one for modern dances and the other for folk numbers.
Water sports were of prime interest to a city surrounded by water.
Excellent fishing and boating were available to all.
William D. Salter built the Arlington Park Dancing Pavillion at
Xcwark Bay. During the summer of 1897-8 several baloon ascensions
There were remarkably few fires during the year 1896. The report
of Hyman Lazarus, Chief Engineer of the Fire Department for the
year ending January 6, 1897 showed a total of nineteen alarms in the
In 1897 there were 41 miles of streets and 14 miles of sewers in
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
1897-99 the first Thermometer factory in the State of New Jersey
and the City of Bayonne was opened. A. J. Tagliabue manufactured
thermometers, hydrometers and barometers at No. 1030 Avenue D.
On December 3, 1898 St. Luke's Hospital on East 22nd Street
When Mrs. Rowland, one of the Story girls, left the old home to
make her home elsewhere, she turned the house over to Professor
Sloan who used it as an annex to his school which he conducted in
the La Tourette Hotel. As late as 192 1 the house was used as a board-
ing house called, "The Homestead" for genteel old ladies. At this time
Miss Harriet Goddard was in charge. She died in Los Angeles in 1935.
DR. BERT DALY, A LEADER IN BASEBALL SPORTS
Dr. Bert Daly, one of the most popular leaders of the time, was
quite a baseball player. He was manager of the Connecticut League and
Captain of the team. His brother, Walter, played with the Baysides.
The West sides started where No. 12 school now stands and it was
here that boxers were also developed, among them Larry Baker, light-
weight champion. The Westsides had the best basketball team in the
The Centerville Athletic Club, which was a semi-professional base-
ball club, developed some first class players, among them were Jack
Dunn, who later became famous in the baseball world, being called
a styled utility player who played any position on the team and who
later managed the Baltimore team and became its owner and it was
from his camp that Babe Ruth came. Other players were Jim Fitz-
patrick who won a medley championship in the 90's at the New Jersey
Athletic Club on Avenue A. Morris Hickey was another outstanding
player in the baseball world.
THE BEGINNING OF A NEW CENTURY - 1900-1908
Historical Hook Fire; Democratic Clubhouse; Drakes Business College Started;
First Automobiles; Thomas Brady Elected Mayor; First Police Trial Board
Created; Pierre Garven Elected Mayor; David Horsley's Film Studio; Early
Theatres; Gus Suckow, Jr. and Melville Hussey Juvenile Entertainers;
Vounteers Supplanted By Paid Fire Department; Melville Park; William
Jennings Bryan Visits City; Republican Club.
The population of the city at the turn of the century was 32,722.
On July 4, 1900 a destructive fire started at the Hook. It raged
for five days consuming millions of gallons of oil. Several oil tanks
exploded. The homes in the vicinity, which were mostly poor, were
threatened and many took their household belongings and camped on
the meadows to escape danger. The local fire department worked heroic-
ally day and night, many being severely burned and taken to St. Luke's
Hospital. Fire tugs from Xew York assisted the local forces. The fire
was estimated to be the most devastating in the history of the nation.
In 1 901 the Democrats were holding meetings in Gallagher's Hall
on Avenue E and Twenty-first Street and also in Quinn's Hall located
at 418 Avenue D. They were planning to build their own clubhouse
and all wards were banding together to that end. The clubhouse, located
on Broadway and Twenty-seventh Street was erected in 1905.
Drakes Business College was started in Bayonne in 1901 with seven
day students and six night school students. Charles Dell was Principal
and Manager, aided by Mrs. Dell. The school was founded by William
Drake in Jersey City in 1886 and incorporated under management of
A. J. Gleason as President. This was the largest organization of its
kind in America and the biggest private school buyer of commercial
and text books.
In 1 90 1 Smallpox broke out in the city and there were over seventy
cases reported. Dr. Alvah Forman was the City Physician at the time
and several other doctors were kept busy night and day vaccinating
On January 1, 1902 Mayor Seymour began his fourth term as
Mayor. This year St. Luke's Hospital was totally destroyed by fire
Avenue C, from Fifty-fourth to Twenty-fifth Street was a dirt road
and the contract was awarded to have this section asphalted witli the
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
result that this improvement was made by the winter of 1902-3 at
the cost of $88,661.65.
When phonographs were in their early stage and a rare novelty.
Dr. George W. Mellor, who had one of the first, was invited to Wake's
Hall to give a demonstration. The people marveled at the new wonder
as much as we of recent years have marveled at radio and television.
Automobiles were also in their infancy at this time and about the
newest things in town. William D. Salter, was, no doubt, the first one
to be seen riding around in this new gasoline contraption of which
all the horses and people were afraid. One got into the first automobiles
through a door in the rear and they were very noisy. The majority
of people vowed and declared they never would ride in one and felt
pretty much about automobiles as some do today about flying. Dr.
Lucius F. Donohoe was also one of the first automobile owners.
The City Park was laid out during 1903 on the Boulevard and
New r ark Bay from Sixteenth to Nineteenth Streets.
Thomas Brady was elected Mayor in 1903 on the Democratic
By an ordinance passed "January 19th and approved January 20th
1903 the first Police Trial Board was created. Egbert Seymour, Sa-
muel Graham and John J. Cain were appointed a Police Trial Board
to hear, try and determine charges preferred against members of the
The Public Service Company took over the operation of the North
Jersey Street Railway Company and ran trolleys from Bayonne thru
to the Jersey City Ferry.
At the end of January 1904 Miss Phoebe Ketcham, Librarian,
reported that the Public Library had a total of 12,898 volumes with
7,027 registered borrowers.
John J. Rooney, Clerk of the County Board of Health, reported
that the population had increased from 32,722 in 1900 to 43,014 in
On the evening of October 29, 1904 the new Carnegie Library
building was formally opened with appropriate ceremonies, the event
being recorded as a most notable one in the history of the city.
Owing to the increase in population and the business at the City
Hall, the City Fathers held a meeting in the early part of August
for the purpose of obtaining a new building for Police Headquarters
and a site was selected at the northeast corner of Avenue C and
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Twenty-sixth Street where a four-story brick building was erected and
which is used today.
In 1904 there were twenty-six churches representing many deno-
minations viz : seventeen Protestant, seven Catholic and two Hebrew
and two Sisterhoods..
One of the first moving picture theatres in the city was located
at 467 Broadway. John Bvers, Jr. equipped the building as a mov-
ing picture showhouse but it was unsuccessful and was operated only
a short time.
In 1905 Pierre Garven was elected Mayor and served two terms,
from 1905 to 1909.
David Horsley, who ran a bicycle shop on Avenue C and First
Street with his brother, William, opened the first and only film studio
that Bayonne ever had. Their studio was located at 686 Avenue E.
They were the originators of the Universal Moving Pictures of the
silent days. They also had a moving picture theatre on Broadway be-
tween Forty-second and Forty-third Streets, where the City Market
Horsley 's studio operated from 1905 to 1910 and Fatty Arbuckle's
first pictures were taken here.
Mr. Horsley directed camera and filming about town. Many of
his pictures were taken where the Hudson County Park now stands
which was at that time mostly woods which were enjoyed for their
beautiful rural scenery. The first Universal pictures were Western.
Francis X. Bushman was often the leading man in the pictures of the
silent picture days. Mr. Horsley often used someone's home to take
scenes. The neighbors were thrilled. Sometimes the pictures were of
Indians and Cowboys. This added to the interest. The fake fires often
frightened people as smoke could be seen coming out of the doors and
windows of homes which he obtained permission to use for scenery.
The studio on Avenue E actually burned and many lives were lost as a
result. Later Mr. Horsley became a prominent producer in Holly-
wood, when in 19 12 with his brother he went to the coast and opened
the first film studio there with a capital of $2,500. They made such
a success that many other studios were opened and made Hollywood
what it is today.
David Horsley later bought the Hagenback Animal Show and he
anticipated using the animals in movies but this was never successful.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Mr. Horsley made a great success in his adventure but, like many
other over-ambitious men, he died broke a few years later.
The Bijou Theatre was built on Broadway and Twenty-third
Street, where the Hudson County National Bank building now stands.
For a while Xew York shows were produced. Rose Coughlin of
Broadway, New York, fame played at this theatre, in "The Red
Feather" and "The Ninety and Nine" was a feature advertised as
coming direct from the New York Academy of Music. During the
season of 1908, Manager Rusk arranged the best bills that could be
secured with novelties in vaudeville. Neil Farley was booked as an
illustrated Song Artist.
WASHINGTON PARK THEATRE
On First Street at the foot of Avenue C, which was known as the
Apple Orchard owned by the Dempsey Estate, the Washington Park
Theatre was located. Washington Park, an amusement park was also
located there. The opening of this theatre was in May of 1905 under
the management of Mr. E. A. Schiller. The theatre was a small,
peaked roof, frame building. To this little theatre, many leading-
lights from New York came, among them were Jim Corbett, famous
heavyweight champion of the world ; Maggie Gline of "Throw'em
down, McClusky" fame; Harry and John Kernell ; Lottie Gilson,
Dorothy Russell, the beautiful and gifted daughter of Lillian Russell;
Pat Rooney and his fifteen Street Urchins in singing and dancing
specialties; Louis Granat, the world's greatest finger whistler and
many others. The Park Gardens opened at this time also.
Little Gus Suckow, Jr., son of Mr. and Mrs. Gustav Suckow of the
uptown section, was making quite a hit as a juvenile actor. He
appeared in Arlington Park where vaudeville was shown as well as
Edison's newest moving pictures and where dancing was enjoyed to
the strains of Prof. Siefert's music. He also appeared many times
at the Park Casino where a weekly series of amateur nights, innovated
by Manager Schiller, proved to be an attractive sideline. Little Gus
gave impersonations of George M. Cohan, the song and dance man,
with his high hat and cane. He was as much at ease behind the foot-
lights as a veteran and his catchy songs of the day, interspersed with
topical hits, never failed to tickle the fancy and excite the enthusiasm
of his hearers. He was a drawing card at various entertainments at
clubs and social affairs. Dorothy Purely dancing the Cake Walk,
accompanied him often.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Theodore Roberts, who played, "The Squaw Man" on Broadway
several seasons and also toured on the road in the play, lived on Avenue
E and Forty-first Street for many years. He owned a boat the "Toby-
wanna" at the Pavonia Yacht Club and participated in the activities
of the club. He later went to Hollywood, where he was a great suc-
cess playing character parts in the movies.
During 1905, Samuel H. Guy, a prominent citizen about town for
several years, branched out in the Undertaking business. He secured
offices formerly occupied by Undertaker N. B. Lockwood on Broadway
and Thirty-third Street. He had been in the livery business many
years at which time he furnished Mr. Lockwood with coaches and
hearses and otherwise assisted him in funeral work. Mr. Guy later
erected the building on Thirty-seventh Street and Broadway which is
now the home of the Bennett Auto Sales Co.
VOLUNTEERS SUPPLANTED BY PAID FIRE DEPARTMENT
The paid Fire Department supplanted the Volunteer Department
on September 3, 1906 with Captain Sherwin as Acting Chief until
January, 1907 when Alfred Davis was appointed Chief.
The Department consisted of five Engine Companies and two
The manuel force was five permanent men and five call men to a
company including a Captain to each Company.
Christ Presbyterian Church became interested in outdoor life and
sports and obtained permission in 1907 from the owners of the prop-
erty at Avenue C and Forty-first Street to make a tennis court where
for several seasons tournaments were enjoyed.
BAYONNE OPERA HOUSE
The Bayonne Opera House building was erected in 1907 and was
considered a very fine theatre. E. A. Schiller was manager for several
seasons and stock companies were popular with the people of the city.
Some may recall when Irene Timmons and (Franklin Munnell were
the leading actors at this theatre and some years later Lorna Eliott and
Robert Le Seuer. Another prominent leading man was Roger Prior,
the bandmaster's son, who has since those days made a success in
the movies in Hollywood.
In the early spring of 1907 Otto Meister's Bergen Point Casino
opened for the season with its usual fine cuisine. An orchestra of
young ladies, whose playing was a feature of the previous season, con-
tinued to be a feature.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
In 1907 Melville Hussey delighted hundreds by his singing at enter-
tainments. He is remembered by many as wearing long curls and kilts
as he sang, "I Love a Lassie." He was popular and was loved like
Shirley Temple is today. In 1909 he played all the larger cities on
At a meeting held at the home of Mrs. Solon Humphreys the
officers for the ensuing year were elected for the Bergen Point Lawn
Tennis Club as follows :
Miss Humphreys, President; Mr. Janeway, Vice-President; Percy
Borough, Secretary; Edna Brown, Treasurer.
The Ground Committee was composed of : Harry Eddy, Chairman,
Roy Mulford, Austin Meigs, Margaret Winants and Margaret Meigs.
Another theatre of the early i90o's was the Bayonne Theatre. In
December 1907 fire broke out in the theatre while a show was going on
and the actors remained on the stage until all were out of the house.
The damage was estimated at $6,000.
At that time Donnell's Dancing Class, under the direction of Prof.
Z. F. Donnell, was held at the La Tourette Hotel on Tuesday evenings.
Frank Melville took over the proprietorship of Arlington Park
from Frank Kimmerly and called it "Melville Park." There were
amusements, dance floor and restaurant and it was a popular center
during the summers and free displays of fireworks were frequent. One
of the features in the advertisements of the park was "30,000 electric
Taken from Bayonne Herald, Saturday Morning, Nov. 16, 1907
BAYONNE BUSINESS BREVITIES
S. J. Weidenhamer is selling not only pure drugs but pure Huylers
A. E. Harris has put in a complete new stock of wall paper and
A. D. Woodruff is selling roast beef of unusual quality for 18 cents
E. G. Brown's Pianos are the joy of music loving people of
J. B. Gartley is selling a great many pairs of La France shoes for
women. They come at $3.00 and $3.50.
Strauss Bros, are putting in a fine line of Christmas holiday
W. C. Oliver is a busy man and lucky enough to be busy always.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
In 1908 Bayonne again had the honor of having a Candidate for
President of the United States visit the city. This time it was William
Jennings Bryan who spoke at the Bijou Theatre on Broadway and
During this year the office of Assistant Chief of the Fire Depart-
ment was created and Lewis S. Bonney was appointed.
On July 1, 1908 the call system was abolished in the Fire Depart-
ment and a full paid department established, 15 men being appointed
to make the change, making 8 men to Engine Company and 6 men to
The Republican Club held the formal opening of their new club-
house on Broadway and 29th Street with a dance on December 16,
Mr. Preston H. Smith was principal of the High School in 1908
and James H. Christie was Superintendent of Schools.
A new bridge over the Morris Canal was completed in December
of 1908. While the bridge was being built, passengers had to change
cars and walk across the old bridge at all hours of the day and night
and in all kinds of weather. The old bridge had been condemned as
Taken from Evening Journal, Jersey City, Saturday Dec. 12, 1908
CAR DOOR BALKS AT MERRY WIDOW HAT
"A lady wearing a wide brimmed "Merry Widow Hat" attempted
to enter by the narrow door leading into the pay-as-you-enter-car, when
hat became wedged in door barring her entrance and holding up several
other passengers. The incident occurred in front of Police Head-
quarters. Lawyer James McCabe who was getting off the car, came
to the young lady's rescue."
1909 TO 1914
John J. Cain Elected Mayor: Bergoff, The Strikebreaker Comes to the City;
S. J. Harwi, City Engineer: Matthew T. Cronin Elected Mayor: William P.
Lee Succeeded William Hamilton As City Clerk: Fire Department's First
Steps in Motorizing: City Visited By Theodore Roosevelt, William Howard
Taft and Woodrow Wilson: Lyceum Theatre: A Municipal Flag Adopted.
John J. Cain was elected Mayor succeeding Pierre Garven and he
served one term, 1909 to 191 1.
Pearl Bergoff was the third and reigning ''King of Strikebreak-
ers" who started life as a private detective and bodyguard for the late
Stanford White. He accumulated a fortune by breaking strikes as a
business. Probably no other man has influenced the fate of American
labor more during the last quarter of a century. In three weeks "King
Bergoff" earned $700,000. from the Brooklyn Rapid Transit Com-
pany ; from the Erie Railroad he collected more than a million. He
came to Bayonne in 1909 with the fruits of his earnings as a strike-
breaker. The Red Demon, as he was called, started to build a place
for himself in the community. He built a three-story, gabled roof,
sixteen room house on the Boulevard. His place had the atmosphere
and surroundings of plenty. He hired servants, and as the sun
of prosperity continued to shine upon him, these were supplemented
by a chauffeur and a part-time gardener. With his accumulated for-
tune, Bergoff began to feel the need for greater recognition than a big
city like New York would afford him. Bayonne offered a better oppor-
tunity for display than the metropolis. He assumed the role of a lead-
ing citizen soon after his arrival in the city. He mixed with politicians
of such prominence as the city could afford. Sporting circles began to
know him. Imitative and gifted with a flare for the spectacular, he
adopted Jim Farley's habit of patronizing the races. When golf be-
came the proper pastime of the newly rich, he appeared on the links
and played for stakes of a hundred and live hundred dollars. He golfed
at the various Golf Clubs with Floyd Ramsay and Louis Creighton, the
town's wealthiest realtors, and with Edward I. Edwards, Governor of
New Jersey and United States Senator.
Bergoff built some residential houses in 19 14 for the purpose of
identifying himself as a local business man. He bought the old
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Schumaker farm in Greenville and made it ridiculous by placing upon
it one hundred and six, two and three family houses. They were so
poorly constructed that within three years they were an eye sore. As
the crowning achievement of this building episode, he erected the
Bergoff Building, which still bears his name at Twenty-second Street
and Broadway. This was a convential four-story office building, and
was at the time, the largest in the County. It was the height of
modernity, with marble and terrazzo walls in its lobby, and a terra-
cotta exterior. Eleven stones at the top of the building bear in large
Gothic, gilt letters, the insignia "P.L.B." He gave the Red Cross nine
rooms in the Building when it was new and untenanted and Mrs.
Bergoff raised a Red Cross flag on the roof in the presence of Mayor
Pierre Garven, a Standard Oil Lawyer and two hundred militiamen.
Bergoff Bros. & Waddell with a $2,500. gift led the list of contributors
to the Red Cross in 19 16. He gave several hundred dollars a year to
the Democratic and Republican parties, on the principal that it was best
to be friendly with both.
Bayonne accepted Bergoff with no serious questions asked. He
was a dashing, active, glad hand about town. With his marriage, he
had cut the slender strands that bound him to Judaism and had joined
the Catholic Church. Religious and charitable drives of all denomina-
tions called upon him and received help. Thus he passed across the
Bayonne horizon, a blazing meteor. But his star went down and he
quietly disappeared from the scene. On the Boulevard, where the
Bergoff family once announced its advanced social and financial status,
is now the ornate but depressing mortuary, Snell's Funeral Home.
Under the Cain administration, Mr. S. J. Harwi was appointed
City Engineer, which he held under the administrations of Mayors
Cronin and Daly. He succeeded Mr. Dalrymple who served as City
Engineer under the administrations of Mayors Brady and Garven.
In May of 19 10 Bayonne Park, formerly Melville Park, opened for
the season under the management of Mr. William Strelsin. In addi-
tion to the amusements already in the park, new attractions were added.
The open air theatre, Chinese Restaurant and roller skating rink were
new features. Other stirring features were Mile. La Belle and "Dare
Devil" Hurley. The park ran for a few years until a Jewish Hospital
group bought the property. The hospital enterprise, however, failed to
During this year Ed Mason's Vaudeville and Picture theatre which
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
occupied the Arcade Building on Avenue C near Twenty-third Street,
was totally destroyed by fire of mysterious origin.
The Cavaliers Fortnightly Dances at the La Tourette Hotel were
very popular with the younger set for several years and during this
winter they had a Shirtwaist Dance, their usual Masquerade and a
Cotillion at the end of the season.
Siegel Seeman, one of the brothers of Seeman's White Rose fame,
disposed of his home on West Thirty-third, after the death of his wife,
and with his three children left Bayonne. He moved to Riverside
Drive, New York City. In later years, William Seeman, the son, mar-
ried Phyllis Haver of movie fame and the daughter, Irma Seeman,
married Rube Goldberg, the famous cartoonist.
Matthew T. Cronin was elected Mayor in 191 1 and served for
William P. Lee succeeded William Hamilton as City Clerk. Mr.
Lee was first named an Assistant City Clerk on June 1, 1895 and served
for eleven years. On October 10, 191 1 he became City Clerk which
office he held until his death. He was also Custodian of the flag and
seal of the City of Bayonne.
In 19 1 2 steps were taken to motorize the Fire Department. The
Chief's automobile was purchased and placed in service on November
During that year Teddy Roosevelt made a campaign speech at West
Eighth Street. The station resounded to great cheers of Bull Moose
followers, the ticket on which "Teddy" was waging his fight for elec-
tion to the presidency.
The Lyceum Theatre was built on Broadway and Thirty-eighth
Street about this time and it was indeed a thrill to the uptown residents
to have a theatre in their midst. This theatre was very attractive when
new. The walls and ceiling were trellis work painted white with pink
roses entwined around about and enriched by pink lights. It was re-
garded as a sort of rose paradise. One of the first serials offered was
"The Perils of Pauline" with Pearl White. Young and old alike were
fascinated with it as serials were a new thing at that time.
William Howard Taft, who was President of the United States
from 1909 to 19 1 3 visited Bayonne while running for re-election on
the Republican ticket and made a speech in Constable Hook near the
Standard Oil Company gates. This was near the"Chinese Wall." He
was welcomed enthusiastically by the people.
Woodrow Wilson, Democratic candidate for president of the
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
United States, visited Bayonne at this time and delivered an address at
the Bayonne City Democratic Club. He was given a very cordial
welcome by the people of the city.
Up to 19 1 4, Bayonne had no municipal flag. Accordingly Mayor
M. T. Cronin, wishing to correct the oversight, requested Mr. T. F.
Parker, then Chairman of the Library Board, to furnish some suitable
flag designs for the city. Mr. Parker submitted one, a tricolor, red,
white and blue, with a sailing vessel on the white space. William Mann
presented a design showing a white flag with a deep blue border con-
verging on each corner. In the center a Schooner-rigged sailing craft,
emblematic of the fishing and oyster industry that once flourished in
the waters that ebbed and flowed along the shores of our city. The
tricolor design by Mr. Parker was adopted and so became the flag of
Joseph NeidorfT has served the city by providing excellent electric
equipment during the past twenty-five years, having set up in business
in 1914. The store is located on Broadway between Twenty-fourth
and Twenty-fifth Streets and carries a large assortment of the finest
variety of lamps, lighting fixtures and appliances.
A NEW CENTURY OF PROGRESS 1914-1918
Commission Government Adopted: Jitney Bus Service Inaugurated: Hudson
County Park Completed in 1916: Two Platoon System Inaugurated in Fire
.Department: Mrs. William M. Wauters Praised for Executive Ability:
Bayonne Day Nursery Founded By Henry Wilson in 1917: License Granted
to Bayonne Athletic Association for Boxing Bouts.
DR. Bert Daly was elected Mayor and served from January i,
1 9 14 to April 21, 19 1 5. In 191 5, by popular vote the city
adopted a Commission form of Government. The first five
Commissioners elected were : Mayor Pierre P. Garven, Hugh H.
Mara, Henry Wilson, Matthew T. Cronin and Horace Roberson.
William C. Hamilton served as City Clerk for more than forty
years — April 1869 to May 1915. His signature appeared on thousands
of official documents. Beside drafting the City Charter, Mr. Hamilton
prepared numerous laws pertaining to municipalities and institutions
of Bayonne and other cities. He was the custodian of records and the
directing power in the municipal machinery for two score years.
Jitney Bus service was inaugurated in 191 5. The first buses, Ford
touring cars with elongated bodies, were operated in rather a slip shod
manner. They rattled along in a very shakey way operating between
Bergen Point and Fifty- fourth Street and Broadway. They were
amusing sights, especially when jammed with passengers so that the
bodies rested on the axles. They were of great service to the people,
however. The Hook lines were a source of considerable confusion and
complaint. The jitneys carried people from the Hook as far as Avenue
E where the driver shouted, "All out." An ordinance was finally
passed whereby both jitney bus operators and the public were benefitted.
In 191 5 Mrs. William M. Wauters wrote the words of the Con-
vention song, "New Jersey's Daughters'' and she was made ''National
Flower" Chairman for the General Federation.
Dr. William W. Brooke was appointed Health Officer by Commis-
sioner Henry Wilson, and served until the time of his death in Decem-
Bernard McPhail, a sort of hermit, lived in a shack near Dressig's
Grove at that time. He was a painter when he worked and became a
sort of neighborhood character or curiosity before his death.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
The Hudson County Park, with entrance on Avenue C between
Fortieth and Forty-first Streets and extending to Newark Bay, was
completed in 19 16. This is one of the beautiful garden spots of the
city. Its beauty is enhanced by the fact that it is a natural park with
lovely old trees. At the time the park was laid out, several homes were
removed but the fruit trees, such as cherry, apple and peach, make the
park a thing of rare beauty in the spring. There was a farm called
Wyman's on Avenue C before the park was laid out. The large farm-
house stood far back from the street and the apples were an attraction
to boys who could not resist a desire for fruit even though the landlord
seriously objected. Bender's Farm was adjoining this and extended
to Thirty-eighth Street. The park has a fine playground for the
children and a wading pool with sandy beach. It has fine tennis courts
and a baseball diamond. During the summer months, some of the
churches band together and hold union services in the park on Sunday
In 19 16 a dancing class for married people, of which Miss Geneva
Walker was the instructress, was inaugurated at Geibel's Hall and was
August Kress made a reputation as a monologist and entertainer
and was especially popular with the younger set.
On August 24, 191 7, the two platoon system was inaugurated by
the Fire Department and thirty-eight men were appointed to the De-
partment to make the change and the Department was divided into
two platoons. The working period was from ten to fourteen hours.
Changes were made every fourth day. The office of Lieutenant was
abolished and all Lieutenants were made Captains, thus creating uni-
On March 31, 191 7 in an open letter to the members of the State
Federation of Woman's Clubs, Mrs. William M. Wauters was praised
for the wonderful work accomplished by her. She was highly praised
for her executive ability, her poetic and literary skill. She was en-
dorsed by the six Federated Clubs of Bayonne (The Athena, Music
and Literary Study Club, City Betterment Club, Woman's Club, Poli-
tical Study Club and the Alpha Literary and Musical Club) for the
office of Vice-President at large of the New Jersey Federation.
The Bayonne Day Nursery was founded October 191 7 at Forty-
one West Twenty-third Street by Director of Public Safety, Henry
Wilson. Mrs. Luther S. Cadugan was the first President. Mr. Wilson,
who died during his term of office, had charge of the City's Welfare
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Department at the time of its organization. Miss Lillian Buisson has
been Matron since the opening of the Nursery. Only one child was en-
tered on the opening day but attendance increased and a larger build-
ing was needed. Accordingly by 19 19 the aggregate attendance was,
for the month of November, six hundred fifty-eight children with an
average daily attendance of twenty-five. The Day Nursery dedicated
a bronze tablet memorial to Mr. Henry Wilson on October 20, 1933.
The officers at that time were :
Mrs. Luther Cadugan, President ; Mary J. Donohoe, Vice-Presi-
dent; Margaret Dennison, Secretary; Minnie C. Anderson, Treasurer;
Mary A. Brooks, Corresponding Secretary ; Mary T. Kavanagh,
Maude V. Brady, Sophia A. Jozwiak, Frances G. Keenan, Anna
Rubine, Rachael G. Smith, Marguerite Woodruff.
In August 19 18 the office of Lieutenant in the Fire Department was
restored. Provision was made for one Lieutenant for each Company
and also for an additional twelve men.
At a meeting of the New Jersey Boxing Commission in 1918 held
in the State House in Trenton a license to conduct boxing bouts was
granted to the Bayonne Athletic Association. This news was welcomed
by many Bayonne fistic enthusiasts who had patiently awaited for some
action towards the establishment of an up to date boxing club in the
city. Otto Levy, proprietor of a local meat market, Henry Grossman,
who owned a successful moving picture house here as well as others
throughout the State, and Stanley McCullough, Secretary of the
Department of Public Safety, were named in the incorporation papers
of the organization. Plans were made for bouts to take place at the
pavilion in Bayonne Park, Fifty-first Street and the Boulevard, which
had been leased by the Bayonne Athletic Association. The seating
capacity was approximately eighteen hundred and this was enlarged to
accommodate about five hundred more..
1917 TO 1923
Bayonne Plays Part in the World War: James J. Donovan and Cornelius
Gallagher Received Croix De Guerre: Homer Axford Elected Mayor:
Eamonn De Valera Welcomed to City: Alpha C. Jarvis Appointed Sub-
Registrar: Transportation Improved: Robert Talbot Elected Mayor: De Witt
Theatre Premiere Performance in 1923: "A Poem of Early Bayonne," By
The call to arms for the World War was heard in 191 7 and once
again the citizens of Bayonne answered it and marched away to
fight to save democracy. Some joined the Army and some
joined the Navy. Train load after train load went through Bayonne
to be transported to boats for overseas. The people cheered them as
they went and it wasn't until the meatless days, heatless days, and
lightless days came that they realized they were in war.
Naval boats often landed in Bayonne waters and the fair maidens
of the town did everything they could to make the stay of the officers
and sailors as pleasant as possible by giving parties and dances. They
were glad to do this as their own boy friends were away at camps or
overseas. Mrs. Lynn Jennison was a fairy godmother to the girls and
chaperoned them from place to place as they were often invited aboard
the boats for entertainment. The girls furnished home-made cakes
and coffee to treat the boys who were away from home.
Bayonne's part in the World War was one in which every
citizen should take pride. In addition to giving over 4,000 of her
sons, nearly two hundred of whom made the supreme sacrifice,
Bayonne over-subscribed the Liberty Loans by about $6,000,000 and
went over the top in every other war "Drive." The city contributed
refined nickel in such vast quantities that they were practically able to
equip the armies of the United States and the allies and also the navies
of Great Britain and the United States. Bayonne boilers, to the vast
total of 1,845,000 horse power, were used by the United States Army,
Navy, Merchant Marine, Shipping Board and other Government
agencies. Over 25,000,000 barrels of gasoline, kerosene, fuel and gas
oil used by the United States and her Allies during the war were sent
from Bayonne. Hundreds of ships were supplied with Naval guns,
made in Bayonne, as protection against submarines. Nearly 11,000
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
miles of wire cable for communication, field, mine and outpost were
manufactured in Bayonne. We also sent out seven hundred and
twenty-three finished submarine chasers, a total greater than all other
yards of the world combined. Nearly seven thousand tons of steel
castings and eight thousand tons of iron and steel rivets were made in
Bayonne and used for war purposes. Silk for gas masks, many articles
used for sanitation purposes, a constitutent part of TNT, chemicals
used in the manufacture of bombs, poison gas shells, and heavy pro-
jectiles, as well as doors for hangers, torpedo boat parts, refrigeration
plants, and materials for the United States Ordinance Department
were also "Made in Bayonne."
On July i, 191 7 wartime prohibition went into effect.
On July 3rd, Lieut. Col. Lucius F. Donohoe was welcomed home
from the war by 10,000 citizens.
On July 4th the entire populace turned out to welcome local ex-
service men in a big fourth of July parade.
An entertainment given at Opera House Hall for returned service
men was attended by 1,500 people.
THREE LOCAL GIRLS GIVE WELCOME HOME DANCE
A pretty welcome home dance was given at the Pavonia Yacht
Club, foot of nth Street and Newark Bay, by the Misses Dorothy and
Gladys Mellor and Lillian Gillespie. The ballroom was tastefully
decorated with signal flags, flags of all nations and American flags. It
was a gala occasion. There were forty-five couples present and Prof.
Roach's band of five-pieces furnished the music.
Among those present were :
Emma Applegate, Mildred Applegate, Ruth Darvell, Katherine
Ince, Anna Grazing, Margaret Raichlen, Gladys Kern, Florence
Sheehan, Helen Woodward, Evelyn Marley, Clara Nichols, Olive
Loschnitz, Marion Dennis, Clara Tiering, Helen Hagen, Hazel
Thatcher, Rhoda Woodward, Lillian Geery, Mildred Rowe.
May Balfore of New York; Belle Harris of Freeport, L. I.;
Madeline Nicholson of Brooklyn; Frances Kelly of Jersey City; Hilda
and Helen Renbold of Jersey City; Alice Young of Jersey City; Mollie
Begans of Jersey City ; Laurette Begans of Jersey City; Laura Morgan
of Pittsburgh, Pa., and the Messrs: Elmer Woodward, Junior Raphael,
Harry Hayfield, Bert Stephens, Albert Urie, Earl Kenny, Lester Kern,
Victor Conklin, Arthur Shaw, Lester Robertson, Griffin Pharo,
William Morton, Chris Smith, Kenneth Foster, Edgar Collier, Chas.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Fulshaw, James Doran, Raymond Hovell, William Burchell, H. B.
Woodward, John Lowry, Luther Bunn, Alex. MacAdie, Ted Hagen.
Joe Harris of Freeport, L. I. ; Chas. Stephens of New York ; C.
Rockwell of New York; Chas. Kinsel of New York; Jack Morrison,
Westfield, N. J. ; Clarence B. Maguire, Brooklyn, N. Y. ; Dr. and Mrs.
George W. Mellor; Air. and Mrs. Harry Price; Mr. and Mrs. Frank
Tillou; Mr. and Mrs. John Gillespie; William McGovern of Jersey
City; Frank Bonner of Jersey City; Arthur Muller of Jersey City;
Warren Rhinhart Merril of Jersey City; G. Anderson of Jersey City;
B. McCabe of Jersey City.
A Memorial dedicating the Portraits of Our Boys who gave their
lives for their Country in the World War took place in the Bayonne
Public Library June 27, 1925. Those who made the supreme sacrifice
John H. Ah f eld, Harold T. Andrews, Florence Athay, John
Alexander, Stanislaw Barcyk, Roy A. Beach, Walter Branscombe,
Dennis V. Boyle, James Boyle, Timothy Coughlin, John Chulu,
Theodore Cadmus, Wadislaw Chrzamowski, Edward Cronin, Anthony
Cirbus, James Cuff, Harry Connolly, William Carner, Constantino
Cavallo, William De Carnis, Harry Deering, Thomas Degnan, Colin R.
Doane, Dennis F. Donovan, John J. Esker, James Egan, John G.
Erwin, Morris Epstein, Frank Freeman, Patrick J. Fitzpatrick,
Michael Forfe, George F. Freader, Amos R. Gonder, Samuel Green-
stein, Stanley Gebrosky, Joseph Golzaboski, George Gross, Alfred T.
Germond, Joseph Heidelback, John Hinners, John Hardier, John A.
Harz, Frank W. Higgins, William Herbert, Michael Holmes, Joseph
Honan, Timothy Harrington, Jeremiah Haggerty, Thomas M.
Hayden, Howard Humphrey, Martin Joyce, Thomas Johnson, Patrick
Kearney, James Joseph Keating, P. J. Kane, Peter Edward Leddy,
William A. Lauenstein, Thomas J. Lynch, Michael C. Lefante, Max
Levine, Joseph Musante, Fred A. Mackenzie, Joseph Mangialomini,
Walter McCormick, Michael Micklosh, Ralph Cushing Morse, Edward
Macklin, Joseph Macisecko, Joseph Leonard, Matteson, Joseph
McCarthy, Carmino Mazzullo, Jack McGrath, John G. Nagengast,
George A. Neal, Michael Nickolos, Andrew Orlando, Charles
O'Donnell, Walter Orlek, Joseph J. Passuth, William J. Pauser, John
Rearden, William C. Ring, John J. Reilly, Felix Ramatowski, John
Ransa, Frank Richards, Howard Suckow, .Abraham Staller, Edward
F. Syrop, John Shellhorn, Charlton Suydam, Michael Sullivan, Martin
Stanton, John Spavin, Edward Service, Jesus Sanchez, George H.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Saunders, Jr., John Edward Vanca, William Wauters, Joseph Wade,
Joseph A. Walsh, William Westlake, James Ward and Joseph Tkac.
AN OUTSTANDING GOLD STAR MOTHER
Mrs. Josephine Harz of 894 Avenue C is a very active Gold Star
Mother. She had the honor of being the State President in 1939 of
the American Gold Star Mothers of the World War.
Mayor James J. Donovan is the only living man in Bayonne who
received the Croix de Guerre in the World War. He was also dec-
orated by the Italian Government for bravery. Cornelius Gallagher
also received the Croix de Guerre but he has since passed away.
Bayonne Post No. 19 American Legion honored twenty-six vet-
erans at a meeting on February 12, 1940 when they were presented
with 15 and 20 year Legion star cards indicating length of time of
affilation with local post. Among those honored were Mayor James J.
Donovan ; former Mayor, Dr. L. F. Donohoe ; District Court Judge
Aaron A. Melniker; Francis K. Strohoefer; Dr. M. J. Weiss; Dr. Leo
Cooper ; Counselor Bart R. Boyle ; Dr. Sidney Chaves, John F. Doolan,
Harold E. McCullough ; Harrison S. Nichols ; Andrew F. Pavlick ;
John M. Lang; John E. Schroder, Harry Rockmaker, Edwin W,
Johnson, Thos. M. Hamilton, John Calverley, Jr., Theodore Winter-
halter; A. V. Ripps, W. F. Johansson, Samuel Lipschitz, Edward B.
Sweeney, Daniel J. Vasser ; Demetrio Foti and Joseph Rutkowski.
On February 24, 1940 F. A. Mackenzie Post No. 165 celebrated its
twentieth anniversary with a dinner-dance in St. Joseph's Hall. A
feature of the program was the reading of the history of the Post by
W. Homer Axford was Mayor of the City until May 14, 1923.
Eamonn De Valera was welcomed to the City and spoke at the
High School where he was given a big ovation.
At this time a four-story storage warehouse of the Southern Cotton
Seed Oil Company at the Hook was destroyed by spectacular fire.
Captain Sunstedt made a trial flight in Hydroplane "Sunrise" from
the Pavonia Yacht Club.
On October 4, 1919 Commissioner Talbot urged fire inspection of
all factories, halls and houses. He also urged Chief Alfred Davis to
get in touch with Supt. of Schools and ask him to instruct the Prin-
cipals of the several schools to talk to the children on the subject.
The Police Force in 1919 consisted of:
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
One Chief; i Inspector; 14 Lieutenants; 6 Detective Bureau men;
no Patrolmen; 1 Captain; 1 Superintendent.
During the year the complete motorization of the Fire Department
was accomplished by the purchase of the last required piece of motor
apparatus replacing all horse drawn apparatus. Fourteen men were
added to the department.
In 1 9 19 the Jitney bus line split into two routes pushing into
Jersey City making it possible to reach Summit Avenue (now Journal
Square) on the buses of the same line by changing at the city line
from Broadway buses to the newly instituted Boulevard bus.
A $20,000 bonus was distributed among the employees of the
Mechanics Bank in January 1920.
The old house at Constable Hook was torn down to make room
for Standard Oil extension.
During January a glue pot in a barrel factory of the Standard Oil
exploded resulting in the death of one man and injury to two others.
The plant of the Flower Waste and Packing Company was wiped
out by a $60,000. blaze.
Alpha C. Jarvis was appointed Sub-Registrar on May 25, 1920, a
post he held until his death in 1939.
On Decoration Day 1920 veterans of three wars took part in an
impressive Memorial Day parade.
During the year a special train bearing foreign born residents left
Bayonne on a two day Americanization excursion to Washington, D. C.
In 1920 the Broadway and Boulevard bus lines divided under a
gentlemen's agreement to adhere to their own particular routes. From
that time on splendid service was enjoyed between Eighth Street and
Journal Square. The Bus terminal has since then been shifted to
Second Street, and the Boulevard. The ever-growing popularity of
bus travel boosted the industry from the use of seventeen seat buses in
1923 to thirty-three and thirty-nine seat buses, while the number of
vehicles has been greatly increased.
The South Hudson County Boulevard Bus Owner's Association
was organized in 1922 and is composed of private bus owners who
have banded together for uniformity in service and other advantages.
All night service was inaugurated in 1922, buses running every
half hour on week days and Saturday night every 15 minutes after
2 A. M.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
During the year 1921 the famous Old La Tourette Hotel, which
played such a spectacular role in Bayonne history, was condemned and
torn down and the land was converted into what is now known as
La Tourette Park as a sort of a memorial to the old shrine.
An ordinance for the purchase of land and the construction of a
Junior Vocational High School costing $1,200,000 was passed during
the Axford administration, 1919-1923.
Old Jim Jackson, as he came to be familiarly known, a negro who
lived in a hut on the New York Bay shore at the foot of 41st Street
was a character that all fishermen knew. He lived in an abandoned
boat locker for 40 years. It was covered with tar paper on the outside
and looked like a big packing box, much the worse for wear. From
the lean tin chimney on the roof, a thin stream of smoke was the only
sign of life and the stinging, howling wind that came tearing across the
bay made the shack seem frail indeed, as a shelter of a human being.
But Jim Jackson, who never could remember how old he was, thought
perhaps he was 85, sat at his stove contented because he was in no-
body's way. He was born in Bergen Point. For the first 40 years of
his life he worked at various jobs from farming to driving a coal
wagon. He was a fisherman, too. He earned his livelihood catching
oysters, eels and crabs in the bay. The fisherman were kind to him
and always remembered him at Christmas. When asked about what
he would like, he always said he would just like something good to
eat and maybe a little chewin' tobacco.
May 15, 1923 Robert Talbot was elected Mayor to serve until
May 17, 1927.
At this time the Jewish population in the city was estimated to be
During this year nine men were added to the Fire Department.
In 1923 the City Commissioners were:
Mayor Robert Talbot, Dr. Bert Daly, Homer Axford, Patrick
O'Connell, Harry Hosford.
On Thursday, December 20, 1923 the De Witt Theatre gave its
premiere performance, with the finest motion pictures that could be
had and vaudeville (6 acts) supplied by B. F. Keith. A very fine
$35,000. Wurlitzer organ was installed in the theatre and the patrons
were entertained with a combination of organ and orchestra. The
managing director was David Keizerstein.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
A POEM OF EARLY BAYONNE
I often heard Old Grandad relate
Of old Bayonne in its infancy state.
Seems not so long ago, but I have no date,
Pioneered before mv davs at any rate.
Changed are the scenes on thy verdant shore,
Spacious homes of wealth are seen no more,
Nor the La Tourette House, where society reigned,
And with pompous splendor entertained.
Changed are the paths we used to know
From Bergen Point to Pamrapo,
Gone are the gardens and shady trees
That filled the air with scented breeze.
Gone Lover's Bridge where oft were told
Sweet tales of love that never grow old.
The farmer's cottage in summer time
Was decked with climbing roses and columbine.
Gone are the Apple trees which added joys
To climbing spirit of daring boys.
And luscious berries we used to seek
Along the banks of Patty-Kill-Creek.
The steamer ''Red Jacket" is seen no more
Tooting its merry whistle on reaching shore. .
No fishing now from convenient rock,
Or the better place at Humphrey's dock.
Now all is changed to hustle and toil,
Sounds of factories and smells of oils,
With rushing cars and hurrying feet
Along each busy well paved street.
1924 TO 1930
Garden Apartments Built in Campaign for Industrial Housing: Hermaneau-
Rogow Stadium Built in 1925: Vincent Lopez in Bayonne: Walter Clarkson,
City Engineer: Standard Oil Company Won Suit Over Burial Grounds at
Hook: Goldman Band Presented By Kiwanis Club: Dr. Bert Daly Elected
Mayor: Bayonne's New Postoffice: Fire in Old City Hotel: Frank McPheivon,
Chief Engineer of Commander Byrd's Antarctic Expedition: Charles A.
Lindbergh Visited Elco Works: Bus Line Operated Between New York City
and Bayonne: Dr. George W. Mellor Honored at Smoker.
The Board of Commissioners passed three separate ordinances
on August 20, 1924, to borrow money for the Board of Educa-
tion. One of the ordinances provided for $1,614,000 for the
Junior High School; a second for $192,780. for the grading of the
grounds and equipment of the Junior High School and a third for
$45,000. for the purchase of additional land for playground pur-
poses for the Mary J. Donohoe School. This unusual educational
activity was evidence of keen interest along those lines.
Mrs. John D. Rockefeller supplied the money for live apartment
houses called the Garden Apartments. The first building was com-
pleted in 1924. These apartments were erected in a campaign for
Industrial Housing and the last of the buildings was completed in
February 1925. John D. Rockefeller, Jr. and his wife both visited the
city to inspect the apartments.
During the 1925 season the Bayonne Players Stock Company put
on many very fine attractions and plays at the Opera House. The
leading lady was Dagmar Linnette and the leading man was Walter
Greaza, who a few years later appeared in Xew York plays. Others
in the company were William Green, Hal Munnis, Hazel Hilliard, Joan
Kroy, William Marr, Joseph Lawrence and one of our local girls, Miss
Florence Stillwell, daughter of former District Court Judge Peter
Stillwell, who joined the company and was a great hit. She was espe-
cially good in, "The Trial of Mary Dugan." Miss Stillwell is a
graduate of the Boston Conservatory of Music and displayed great
talent for the stage.
A new stadium, the Hermaneau-Rogow Stadium, which was at
that time the second largest open air arena in Xew Jersey and located
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
at Bayonne Pleasure Park on West First Street, had its formal opening
with a set of boxing bouts on May 8, 1925. It was estimated that the
stadium had seating capacity of 12,000. This made it twice the size
of any open air club in the State with the exception of Boyle's thirty
acres in Jersey City.
Vincent Lopez and his symphonic orchestra, composed of twenty-
five soloists, played before a capacity audience at Bayonne High School
on October 13, 1925. The Kiwanis Club brought the Monarch of
Jazz to Bayonne. "Good Evening Folks, this is Lopez speaking" and
with the same salutation that thousands of radio listeners have heard,
he raised his baton, and saxophones and trombones, piano and fiddle
joined in a musical outburst which even grand opera patrons have come
to acclaim as the folk music of the land.
Sally O'Neill appeared in person at the De Witt Theatre on Janu-
ary 22, 1926. Sally O'Neill is the stage name for Virginia Noonan,
daughter of the late Judge Thomas F. Noonan. After leaving Bayonne,
Miss O'Neill became a Hollywood star.
The population of the city was estimated to be 91,000 in 1926, an
increase of about 14,000 in six years.
Walter Clarkson served as City Engineer with some intermission
from 1926 to his death in 1938.
During 1926 forty men were added to the Fire Department.
Drakes Business College grew with great rapidity to three hundred
students and occupied the entire floor of a large brick building on
Broadway and Thirty-third Street. Charles Dell was principal and
was ably assisted by a corpse of efficient teachers.
The Standard Oil Company won a suit over the Van Buskirk
Cemetery located at Constable Hook in October 1926. It was said that
the last interment was made in the old cemetery in 1866 and that all
bodies had been removed by 1905. The court said that the family vault
had disappeared and that sand and dirt drifted over the plot until it
bore no resemblance to a cemetery. The court held that the two hun-
dred year old plot lost aspects of a burying ground since it was sur-
rounded by oil tanks which barred the family from visiting the
The Bayonne Kiwanis Club presented the famous Goldman Band
of sixty musicians led by the eminent conductor, Edwin Franko Gold-
man in person, for a concert in the Junior High School, October 21,
Mayor Robert Talbot, Director of Revenue and Finance, Harry
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Hosford, Lieut. -Col. Lucius F.. Donohoe, Major A. A. Melniker and
Recorder Eugene T. Sharkey were speakers at exercises held for Arm-
istice Day in front of Washington School in connection with the un-
veiling of Memorial Name Plates placed on the Memorial Trees planted
along Avenue B in memory of Bayonne's War dead on November 5,
1926. Services consisted of musical selections, recitations of '"Flanders
Field" by Commander Neil Gallagher of Leddy Post, Salute to the
dead by the Municipal Firing Squad, Sounding of Taps by Bugler
Franklyn Steckert and addresses by the prominent men mentioned
Bayonne's oldest woman died on February 16, 1927 at the ripe
old age of one hundred and two, after a long illness. She was Mrs.
Margaret Appleton of 15 Avenue B. She was also the oldest member
of St. Thomas' Protestant Episcopal Church in New York City, and
lived in Bayonne for many years.
Dr. Bert Daly was elected Mayor on May 17, 1927 and served to
May 19, 1931.
The cornerstone for Bayonne's new postoffice was laid in 1927.
The building is located on Broadway and Twenty-sixth Street. In
addition to handling mails destined for all parts of the world, it also
conducts various other departments affiliated with the postal service
and has other government offices.
Fire broke out in the old City Hotel on Broadway and Thirty-
second Street on February 2, 1928. The loss was estimated to be
$30,000. The City Hotel, which was managed for many years by the
late Thomas F. Garrett, was one of the foremost gathering places in
Bayonne. It was here that many social functions were held and the
first political meetings were held. The passing of Bayonne from a
residential city to a great industrial center was the doom of the old
landmark as a hotel. It was converted into a manufacturing plant.
April 7, 1928 a twenty-four hour fire destroyed the Bolt and Nut
Factory with a $300,000. damage and a loss of jobs for one hundred
When Commander Richard E. Byrd's Antarctic expedition sailed
aboard the "Eleanor Boling," named in honor of the Commander's
mother, on September II, 1928, Frank McPherson of 247 Avenue E
was the Chief Engineer. Mr. McPherson was recommended by Mr.
George Hooks, Assistant Superintendent of the Dollar Steamship Line.
Mr. McPherson served on the Standard Oil Company and Vacuum Oil
Company boats from the west coast of Chile to Buenos Aires and
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
traveled around the Horn and spent four years in China and the
An outdoor swimming pool and open-air gymnasium on the Boule-
vard and Sixty-third Street was constructed in the spring of 1929 at
an estimated cost of $65,000..
Charles A. Lindbergh visited Bayonne in 1929 for the purpose of
obtaining a boat from the Elco Works for his wedding trip. Many of
the employees had the opportunity of speaking to him and he im-
pressed everyone as being a "regular fellow."
In the early part of 1929 The Owners Association formed a cor-
poration to operate a bus line between Bayonne and New York City
at lower rates than charged by the Commuters Coach Corp. Fifteen
new buses were purchased. The new company was known as the
Boulevard Transit Company. They cut the price to thirty-five cents
one way to New York.
The personal effects of the late Mrs. Lydia A. Elsworth, last mem-
ber of a family that had been in Bayonne for one hundred years, were
sold at auction in 1929. The old home, located at Avenue C and
Thirty-third Street was sold at auction. One of the pioneer families of
the Peninsula, the Elsworths came to Bayonne before 1830 from West-
creek, Ocean County, and were engaged in seacoast fisheries. The late
Joseph E.. Elsworth, brother-in-law of Lydia, had great yacht racing
ability and raced against the internationally known British sportsman,
Sir Thomas Lipton.
William C. Smith was elected president of the New Jersey branch
of the United National Association of Post Office Clerks at the 29th
Annual convention held at the Wood row Wilson Hotel, New Bruns-
wick, N. J. on June 1, 1929. It was the first time a Bayonne man held
On June 3, 1929 four Bayonne women were listed on the first en-
rollment of prospective jurors open for women to serve in Hudson
County Courts. They were Mrs. Mary Boyd, Mrs. Agnes D. Germond,
Mrs. Amile Du Bois and Mrs. Cecelia M. Pritchard.
State Commander August H. Bahr of this city, presided at the 31st
annual encampment of the Department of New Jersey, United Spanish
War Veterans, held in Camden on June 5, 1929.
Announcement was made, that for the first time in four hundred
years, since the Society of Jesus came into existence, twins were or-
dained as Jesuit priests. The twins were Charles A. and Albert C.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Roth, thirty-two years old, the sons of Conrad Roth of 79 West Fourth
Street. They were ordained on June 23, 1929.
A freak thunderstorm lashed Bayonne and the entire metropolitan
district with a fury of hail stones as big as marbles on June 15, 1929.
At the annual convention held in Atlantic City on June 15, 1929,
Dr. Lucius F. Donohoe, Commissioner of Parks and Public Property
at that time, was unanimously elected Chairman of the Board of
Trustees of the Medical Society of New Jersey.
On June 26th of that same year, detectives from Prosecutor John
Drewen's office, descended on West First Street and confiscated a
truck load of wheels and other alleged gambling devices, besides plac-
ing thirteen men, eleven of them Japanese, who were operating the
stands, under arrest.
Bayonne does not own its own water supply system. It does own
the pipe line from Arlington to Bayonne and the piping stations that
give us the necessary water pressure. The water is from the Passaic
River and is taken in at Little Falls, N. J. The East Jersey Water
Company has a dam and reservoir at Little Falls and the water is
filtered at that point. We buy the water from the East Jersey Water
Company on contract and Bayonne enjoys very fine drinking water.
On Decoration Day 1930 very few Civil War Veterans took part.
William Turbett, one of the three remaining members of Mansfield
Post G.A.R. was grand marshal. All the survivors rode in carriages.
Many organizations of veterans of the Spanish-American and World
Wars were in line along with other organizations, Boy and Girl Scouts
and school children.
Michael Donnelly, former steward of the Democratic Club, rode
in a carriage. James Fitzpatrick, of Camp Gerardin, Spanish War
Veterans, was chief of staff and active head of the procession. A good
number of members of the Exempt Firemen's Association were in line,
each in the regulation parade attire. William H. Keegan, was Grand
Marshal. The old hose cart was pulled along in front. Dr. George W.
Mellor, President, marched at the head of the line.
Other organizations whose members took part included Peter E.
Leddy and Fred A. Mackenzie Posts, American Legion ; Joyce Herbert
Post, Veterans of Foreign W T ars, Jewish War Veterans of Foreign
Wars and the Bayonne Life Saving Corps. A party of Red Cross
workers were also in line.
Grand Marshal Turbett and Chief of Staff Fitzpatrick and City
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Officials reviewed the marchers from the steps of School No. 3. Sub-
sequently, graves in Jersey City cemeteries were decorated.
On November 10, 1930 Dr. George W. Mellor, retiring president of
the Association of Exempt Firemen, was honored by more than two
hundred members at a smoker and entertainment held at the Associa-
tion headquarters on West 47th Street.
Five three-round boxing bouts featuring local pugilists was the out-
standing feature on the program. The combatants included Johnny
Toye vs. Young Adams ; Carman Roman vs. Tony Carcelli ; Fireman
James Guarine vs. Harry Crosby; Young Shifty vs. Dave Sarg and
Mickey Ross vs. Joey Girard.
Timothy J. Brosnan, the new president at that time, on behalf of
the members of the Association, presented Dr. Mellor with a solid gold
regulation Exempt badge. Mr. Brosnan reviewed the record of the
retiring president and told of the latter's unselfish efforts in behalf of
Dr. Mellor told the gathering that he would continue to render his
services for the local association.
The entertainment program included vocal selections by the Bay-
onne Elks Quartet : William Scully recited many humorous stories and
Daniel Kelly sang several of the latest song hits and recited a poem
which he composed for the Association.
The entertainment committee included George Mellendick, Chair-
man, Daniel Laverty, Henry Harris, John McCabe and Mortimer
1931 TO 1933
Dr. Lucius F. Donohoe Elected Mayor: Bayonne Symphony Orchestra Makes
Debut: Kill van Kull Bridge: Captain Gibson, Who Towed Statue of Liberty
into Harbor, Passes. General Joseph Haller, Polish Military Leader Visited
City. < , i
Dr. lucius f. donohoe was elected Mayor of the city May 19,
193 1 and served for two terms, his time ending May 16, 1939.
In 193 1 there were 41 churches in the city, viz:
Baptist 4, Christian Science 1, Episcopal 3, Jewish 8, Lutheran 5,
Methodist 4, Presbyterian 1, Reformed 3, Roman Catholic 9, Greek
Catholic 2, Roman Orthodox 1, Salvation Army Post 1.
There were 8 banks, 9 Building & Loan Associations with assets
March 10, 193 1 The Bayonne Symphony Orchestra made its debut
at a concert in the Auditorium of the Junior High Vocational School
before a large and appreciative representation of Bayonne people.
Nunzio Pintauro was the founder and director. Miss Doris Boden
was the Assistant Soloist and was called back to the footlights several
times. Some of the members of the orchestra were : Harry Perlman,
Pearl Abraham, Theresa Abramson, Peter Bernaducci, Raymond
Blanc, Jos. Cali, Jos. Garretta, Mildred B. Cathers, Sidney Dauer,
Floyd Denton, Sadie Halpin, Elizabeth Hoagland, Richard Johnson,
Edw. Levine, Frank Livi, Vincent Nieli, Leopold Malinowski, John
Olenik, Jas. Orrico, Albert Pasquini, Wm. J. Paulsen, Erna B. Rooney,
Sigmund Sakowski, Catherine Smith, Jos. Smith, Sarah Solomon,
Miram Tepper, P. Troisano, Madeleine and Marie Eddie, Wm. Hlad,
Stephen Powell, Chas. S. Havens, Alphonso Massarelli, Alphonse
Orrico, Anthony Pintauro, Wm. Burbella, Clara Gardner, Louis W.
Lenk, Edw. R. Sage, Boyer Allen, Sam Cordosta, Paul Britt, Michael
Gabrian, John Gebrhardt, Wm.. Gotch, Edw. Amend, Harry Elly, A.
Gehrhardt, Jos. Morris, Chas. Young, Stephen Kramer, Silvia
Tannenbaum and Fanny H. Morganstein.
The Kill van Kull Bridge across the Kills from Bergen Point to
Staten Island was built by the Port of New York Authority. This is
the largest bridge of its kind in the world. The main span of the
bridge is approximately 700 feet longer than that of the famous Hell
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Gate arch and slightly longer than the Sydney Harbor Bridge in
Australia. It was completed and dedicated November 14, 1931 with
proper ceremonies. The Governors of New York and New Jersey
greeted each other, the city was decorated with bunting and flags and
hundreds turned out in a parade.
Mrs. Virginia Richards, well known soprano of the city, appeared
in a recital in the Salon de Musique in 1932 in the Barbazon Plaza in
New York City. She is Choir Director of the Westminster Presby-
terian Church in Jersey City and she and her husband conduct a
school on Thirty-third Street, Vere Richards being located in New
The Inaugural Ball, which marked the Anniversay of Washing-
tons' inauguration as First President of the United States, took place
in the ballroom of the Knights of Columbus Victory Memorial Build-
ing on May 3, 1932. This was an important part of the celebration of
the city's observance of the Washington Bicentennial.
Old Tug Captain, John C. Gibson, for many years a familiar figure
in marine circles, passed away on August 13, 1932 after sixty years
residence in the city. His sturdy tug boat, "Jersey Boy," towed the
Statue of Liberty into New York Harbor, June 1885, aboard the
French steamer, "Isere," which arrived here from Rouen, France.
Captain Gibson did a large portion of the towing work for the
Standard Oil Company for a long time.
In 1933 the Manual force of the Fire Department was as follows:
One Chief, 1 First Deputy Chief, 1 Second Deputy Chief, 1 Super-
intendent Fire Alarm, 2 Chaplains, 1 Secretary, 1 Superintendent of
Apparatus, 1 Master Mechanic, 25 Captains, 3 Mechanics, 33 Chauf-
feurs, 2 Engineers and 127 Firemen.
On December 9, 1933 General Josef Haller, one of Poland's most
brilliant military leaders, visited the city as the guest of local Polish
Societies. Bayonne officialdom, military groups and more than 40
Polish organizations joined in welcoming the distinguished army
1934 TO 1935
Mechanics Bank Closed Doors: Reminiscing With C. J. O'Neill: Poem By Mary
W. Boyd: Taxable Property Values Declined: Record-Breaking Number of
Students Received Diplomas From High School: First P.W.A. Loan Granted
to City: Bayonne Celebrated 66th Birthday: Miss Hannah J. Shafer Hon-
ored: Bayonne Boasts of Two Women Physicians: Mrs. Shaw Celebrated
100th Birthday: Public Institutions.
On January 2, 1934 The Mechanics Bank closed its doors. About
six million dollars of funds of approximately 17,000 depositors
and mortgage certificate holders were tied up. This was a
severe blow to the business activities and interests of Bayonne. How-
ever, as evidence of the great recuperative powers of the city, the
shock was soon overcome and business went on as usual. The Bank,
which was never opened, paid dividends from time to time to probably
fifty per cent.
January 19, 1934, (from clipping in Bayonne Times by Cornelius
J. O'Neill) :
HOW MANY REMEMBER?
The strike on the coal docks in the early eighties ? Slogan :
"Twenty-two and a half cents an hour or no surrender? Compare
this with later day demands.
Dan Moran reading the Argus, newspaper of that day, to the
assembled strikers? Father Killeen's activities in settlement of the
The recent heavy snow recalled many queer incidents of storms of
other years. None so queer as the experience of Captain Tom
McGrath, who had his eyelids frozen together while carrying dinners
to the Hook in the early nineties.
Time was when Bayonne and Saratoga were the only watering
places in the East. Bayonne actually led such places as Atlantic City
and Coney Island.
E. A. Schiller got his start in the Big Time Vaudeville at Apple
Grove, Avenue C and First Street and today he is a Vice-President of
a big theatrical firm.
Some of the old-time saloon keepers who stood out as unusual citi-
zens and of whom it should be said, no one ever apologized for them,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
were: Dick Flood, Jack Reilly, Mike Freyder, Paul Suchorski, Patsy
Dillon, Charlie Hendrickson, John McCarty, Adam Nuller, Ben
Eggers, Paul Norwich and Din Herlihy. The present day fellows
could easily profit by their example.
Harry Mainhard, manager of Bayonne's first showhouse, the
Bayonne's famous eating places, McDonald's, Wheeler's and the
Two Pines . . .Meister's came later . . . Eddy, the Kite Flyer, taking
weather observations . . . Bayonne's first Excise Board, Doc Mellor,
Tom Meaney, Frank McCue, Val Bernhardt and Con O'Neill . . . All
Democrats and Organization men.
Doc Mitchell answering all fire alarms before the organization of
the paid department . . . Stage coach line along Avenue D from Bergen
Point to Saltersville. Street planked entire length . . . Mayor
Donohoe's horse and buggy. Some stepper !
Doc Hickman and Doc Payne. Stepping stone was in front of
Payne residence, Broadway and Fourth Street until a year ago. . . .
O'Brien's Express between Bayonne and New York. Goods called
for and delivered. Tom Masterson carried on with equal fame and
vigor! Barney Burn's hack stand at West Eighth Street Station.
None but the real aristocratic could ride. . . .Dick Sunderman's Drug
Store, Avenue D and Eighth Street. Worthy successor is present
proprietor, Max Strauss. . . . Talking about horses, how many today
remember Dick Butler and his thoroughbreds ?
Fine horses call for fine blacksmiths and shoers, Bayonne had both.
The expert shoers were Con Desmond and Pat Payton. . . . Veterinar-
ians were also necessary, Joe Hooker, Man or Beast. . . .
St. Charles Hotel on Eighth Street was the gathering place for
those in the limelight . . . long before Al Smith introduced his brown
derby Mike Freel of Bayonne had glorified his brown derby. Do you
remember the spectacular Colonel Page of the Bayonne Herald hurry-
ing to the pressroom with copy. Bayonne in retrospect presents an
absorbing and interesting spectacle.
William W. Turbett died at his home at the age of 87, on March
20, 1934. He was a pioneer in the oil industry in the city. His going
left only one Civil War Veteran, Michael J. Donnelly, who has since
also passed to the great beyond.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
April 23, 1934 the Chairman of the Legislative Department of the
Bayonne Woman's Club submitted the following report for the year
1933-4.. In making the report she said, "Apologies are made to the
great poet, Longfellow, who wrote, "The Midnight Ride of Paul
Listen, fellow members, and you shall hear
Of the Legislative Department's wonderful year,
A tale it will be, as far as I know
Just as things happened each month, as they go.
The opening of the School of Politics,
Was full of sincerity and no political tricks.
Our purpose was of only one endeavor —
To give our women a chance to be more clever. .
City affairs were brought to us
By Judge Horace K. Roberson, who is so just,
Workings of our city government he did tell
Which made us feel that all is well.
County affairs were also discussed
By Supervisor John O'Neill, so august.
He told of the doings of the C. W. A.
How to get a new high school without any pay,
Not only that, but he gave us a treat,
A trip of interest hard to beat.
Thirty-two by bus did go
To visit our county institutions we all should know.
In December, Miss Maloney of State Fame,
Spoke of the legislative game,
And invited us to be her guests,
At Trenton, where some legislators feather their nests.
In January no speaker arrived
But the chairman spoke and made a drive
For the 29th an interest to create
As the Trenton luncheon was on the slate.
By bus was gaily started off
With freezing temperature and wind from the North,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
But when reaching the capital, Oh, what fun !
With lots of good eats and more to come,
Through the city we did drive,
Waiting for the clock to point half past five.
To Hilderbrecht's we did go
To entertain our assemblywoman, who is not so slow.
In the evening, we saw the workings,
Of the Legislature and its jokings,
The chairman was given the right to speak,
And what she said was not so weak.
In February the program was great,
Two clergymen furnishing a suffrage debate.
One for us, the other against
Made us feel we were of some consequence.
The annual luncheon served to one hundred twenty-five
Demonstrated the group was well and alive,
The menu served by the women of the Y.W.C.A.
Was one we'll not forget for many a day.
With Dr. Fitzgerald, Mrs. Piatt and Keith
True and Harlan gave words of belief
That we, as a group, count for a lot
In making the club worthwhile or not.
Rumors afloat, so Mr. Decker arrived
And discussed the county consolidation drive.
We listened and thought, and if we take care
We know the plan won't get anywhere.
In April at the Raynor home,
A white elephant card party was all our own,
With a little help here and a little there
We were able to meet our financial share.
And now that you've listened and heard our tale
Come next year and make the department your avail.
And now for a time we'll close the door
On the season of 1933 and '34.
(Mrs. Jas. D.) Mary W. Boyd.
ij f s old Post Office
Inset — William Mann, Bayonne's Letter Carrier No. 1 (By courtesy of
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Airs. Anna M. Sanford, aged 87, a member of one of Bayonne's
oldest families, died at her home 691 Avenue E on June 10, 1934. She
was born in Bayonne in 1847.
Thirty-one students from Bayonne were awarded degrees at the
102nd commencement exercises held at New York University on
Tune 13, 1934.
Taxable property values in Bayonne declined $2,936,228. from
1933 to 1934. Values in the County as a whole declined $16,577,203.
A survey of total 1934 ratables in the various municipalities disclosed
the above figures.
Local retail stores displayed the Code Eagle on June 16, 1934 in
observance of the first anniversary of the N.R.A.
July 1, 1934 Bayonne was granted its first loan from the Public
Works Administration — a grant of $600,000. with which to replace
four miles of old and leaky water mains running from Arlington to
The Twilight League All-Stars walloped the Meadow-Brook Club
by a twelve to four score before four thousand fans at the City Park
Stadium. The proceeds were turned over to the family of the late
Robert McCusker, founder and President of the Twilight League
which was responsible for the most successful athletic programs the
city ever had.
The population of the city in 1935 had grown to 88,979.
Mayor Lucius F. Donohoe, Bayonne's sixteenth Mayor, at a cele-
bration of the sixty-sixth birthday as a city, greeted Henry Meigs, the
fourteen year old great grandson of Bayonne's first Mayor, Henry
Meigs. Bayonne became a city in 1869. The boy was accompanied
by his father, Willis N. Meigs, grandson of the first executive.
Miss Hannah J. Shafer, former Vice-Principal of Henry E. Harris
School, was honored on May 24, 1935 by the Fifth Street Reformed
Church for her sixty years of outstanding service. Miss Shafer had
taught in the Fifth Street Reformed Sunday School for more than half
On May 27, 1935 the management of the three New Jersey re-
fineries of the Standard Oil Company announced, at joint conference,
that the employees would receive a 5 % bonus, beginning with the first
June 3, 1935 Miss Juliana C. Swiney, daughter of Dr. Merrill A.
Swiney, well known local physician who operates the popular Swiney
Sanitarium at 325 Avenue C, was awarded the degree of Doctor of
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Medicne at the 181st graduation exercises of Columbia University.
Only one other Bayonne woman, Dr. Harriet Tracey Dexter, whose
office is located at 903 Avenue C, it is believed, has ever been awarded
an M. D. Degree.
Mrs. Rossa W. Shaw celebrated her one hundredth birthday at the
home of her grandson, Louis W. Shaw of 66 West 35th Street on
December 28, 1935. Governor A. Harry Moore sent a telegram
reading : "Congratulations upon your hundredth birthday. New Jersey
is proud of you and I hope you will be with us many more." The
family had a dinner party and Mrs. Shaw received many gifts, flowers
and congratulations. There was a twenty-five pound birthday cake
with one hundred candles. Mrs. Shaw, at the celebration, said she en-
joyed good health, never having had a severe illness, that she read
without glasses, never danced, had never been to a movie and that the
younger generation met with her approval.
In 1935 Bayonne ranked fourth among the manufacturing cities in
New Jersey, the chief industry being oil refining.
PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS IN I935
Bayonne is amply provided with public institutions, both secular
and religious, of which she is justly proud. Among these are :
Fourteen Elementary Schools, i Binet, I Junior High, i Senior
High, 6 Parochial, Police Department of 172, Fire Department of 199,
41 Churches, 1 Hospital, 1 Private Sanitarium, 1 Large Library with
several Branches, 750 School Teachers, 125 Acres of Public Parks and
Playgrounds, 115 Clubs and Organizations.
1936 TO 1938
Firemen Discontinue Old-Time Uniforms For New: President Franklin D. Roose-
velt Visits Bayonne: Statue of Liberty Ceremonies: John F. Lee Becomes
City Clerk: Mrs. E. C. Woodward Gives Illustrated Talk On California and
Mexico: Reinald Werrenrath Presented By Teachers Association: Lady
Drummond Hay Visits City: Memorial To Gustav F. Ruh Unveiled: Federal
Housing Authority Grants Money to City: Port Terminal Started: Captain
Betsworth's Family Remembered: Mr. and Mrs. George Bayne Celebrate
Golden Wedding: Last Trolley Rumbles Out Into History: Paul Wandelt
Constructs Modern Radio System for Police Department.
Old-fashioned uniforms were used by the Fire Department until
1936 at which time a beautiful, new design was created and
adopted. The old uniforms had the peculiar distinction of
being decorated in the back by an array of brass buttons. Chief
Hogan said he never could figure out what purpose they served and
said he thought they may have been a hold-over from uniforms worn
by Generals in the Civil War clays.
October 28, 1936 will long be remembered in Bayonne as the day
when we were honored for the first time in twenty-four years by a
visit of a President of the United States. On the above date, President
Franklin D. Roosevelt paid Bayonne a visit. The event was held at
Avenue C and Eighth Street. The occasion witnessed one of the
greatest popular demonstrations in the history of the city. The people
came to pay tribute to President Roosevelt, who, at that time, was ex-
tremely popular with Bayonne citizens. The city spared neither money
nor pains in the effort to make the occasion one long to be remembered.
Eighth Street and the entire vicinity was a mass of color adorned with
flags and bunting and thousands of pictures of the President looked out
upon the crowds from windows everywhere. A twenty-five piece
American Legion Band played at the railroad station to entertain the
crowd while waiting. A grandstand and bleachers, which in all, seated
about eight hundred people, bordered the railroad grounds. President
Roosevelt stepped from his train, coming from Washington, and got
into his automobile and the machine drew up before the grandstand
where a microphone was set up. The President delivered a brief
adddress and then proceeded over the Bayonne Bridge to Staten Island,
accompanied by Mrs. Roosevelt.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
After leaving Bayonne the President drove through Staten Island
and then took a boat to Bedloe Island to participate in the ceremonies
of the Fiftieth Birthday of the giving of the Statue of Liberty to
America by France. There were radio hookups connecting France and
the Statue of Liberty and Dr. Donohoe of Bayonne greeted Mayor
Simonet by radio in Bayonne, France. Both American and French
National Anthems were played. The Statue of Liberty, designed by
Bartholdi, was made entirely by hand, and stands one hundred and
fifty-one feet in height measuring from base to torch. The foundation
of pedestal to torch is three hundred and five feet ; the length of right
arm is forty-two feet. There is a spiral stairway inside the Statue
which is twenty-two stories high.
Miss Gleason, daughter of the founder of Drake's Business College,
which closed its doors upon the death of the founder, organized
Drake's Secretarial College and started a branch of the Journal Square
school in the De Witt Theatre Building on Broadway and Twenty-
fifth Street, of which Mr. Kipp of Jersey City is the Principal.
During the year 1937, John F. Lee, son of the late William P. Lee,
succeeded his father as City Clerk. He was the youngest man ever to
fill this office, being only 32 years of age.
In 1937 Former City Attorney, James Benny, a resident of the city
for sixty-seven years and who served as Lamp Lighter boy, died at
his home at the age of 81. He was long one of New Jersey's foremost
lawyers. He was admitted to the bar of the State of New Jersey at
the November term of Supreme Court in 1879. He became a partner
of Thomas Clemens, who was related to Mark Twain and who was
father of Miss Lillian Clemens, Vice-Principal of the Bayonne High
School. Their law office was located on the south side of Cottage
Street. Mr. Benny served as City Attorney under the administrations
of Mayors Farr, Seymour, Garven, Talbot, Daly and Donohoe.
Mrs. Mollie Allaire, wife of the late Edward Allaire died at the
age of 97, on July 18, 1937 having been a resident of the city 75 years,
65 years of which she spent at the last address 88 West 46th Street.
She was a member of the 46th Street Methodist Church.
On October 22, 1937, at a meeting of the Art Department of the
Woman's Club, Mrs. Elmer C. Woodward gave an illustrated talk on
her recent trip to the Pacific Coast. She had a splendid exhibit of
Indian and Pacific potteries, in which she had become particularly in-
terested. The rare quality of the collection elicited a great deal of
local interest and praise. Mrs. Woodward visited the Pasadena Bridge
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
and some famous old Missions including the "Wee Kirk o'er the
Heather," a description of which was appreciated as the)" were inform-
ing. She compared Western life and opportunities with those of the
In October of 1937 the Teachers Association sponsored a lecture-
forum course at the Senior High School at which time the noted Ameri-
can Baritone Reinald Werrenrath was presented in a lecture- recital
"Story of American Song." Mr. Werrenrath, in tracing its history
from earliest Negro and Indian Folk Songs, through the first Colonial
settlers to the music of today, presented a romantic story.
On November 4, 1937 Lady Drummond Hay was presented by
the Bayonne Teachers Association at the High School at which time
she gave a talk on, "Dictators I Have Met." Lady Hay, a very
charming personality, also told of some of her experiences as an
Also in November of 1937 a bronze tablet, in memory of the late
Gustav F. Ruh, who served as Clerk of the Bayonne District Court for
thirty years, was unveiled in the new Court on West 22nd Street with
appropriate ceremonies. He was appointed clerk of the Court in
January of 1907 by the then Judge, Frederic E. Chamberlain.
In May 1938 Mrs. Louis Knecht, Mrs. George W. Mellor and
Mrs. Samuel Hackett were representatives and delegates of the
Woman's Club to the spring convention of the New Jersey State Fed-
eration of Woman's Clubs which met at Haddon Hall, Atlantic City.
May 2j, 1938, Frank S. Turbett of 816 Avenue A and James
Halleran of 123 West Third Street were honored at a luncheon held
in New York by Edward L. Shea, Executive Vice-President of the
Tide Water Associated Oil Company, for completing fifty years of
service each at the Bayonne plant.
On the eighth of June the Federal Housing Authority through its
state office in Newark, earmarked $1,800,000. for Bayonne's use in
construction of low-cost dwellings in the city. The local housing board,
named by Mayor L. F. Donohoe, consisted of Frank C. Davis,
Cornelius Haggerty, Richard Vreeland, Joseph Topoleski and Joseph
On the 12th of June President Roosevelt approved a WPA appro-
priation of $27,946.00 for the completion of the north Bayonne Park
City officials conducted patriotic ceremonies in the stadium of Vet-
erans' Park, West 26th Street and Newark Bay on the 15th of June,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
marking the unveiling of a bronze plaque which commemorated the
150th Anniversary of the signing of the Constitution. Two thousand
high school students assembled at the stadium to witness the school's
Flag day meet, cheered as an American flag was lifted from the Tablet
by Director of Parks, Michael J. Griffin.
The Bayonne Medical Society held its annual outing at the Blue
Hills Golf and Country Club at Orangeburg, N. Y. or June 16, 1938.
Dr. George H. Sexsmith was the winner of a silver loving cup for
winning the "blind handicap" at golf.
On June 26, 1938 Bayonne Merchants and business houses held an
intensified "Sales Mean Jobs" campaign to increase employment. The
opening of the campaign took place at a luncheon sponsored by the
Chamber of Commerce at the Industrial Y. M. C. A.
In July of the year 1938 the population of Bayonne was estimated
by the Hudson County Board of Health to be 94,397.
On July 1, 1938 employes of the Tide Water Oil Company, who
are members of the Employes' Association, re-elected six men as em-
ploye representatives for six of the twelve divisions at the plant. Those
renamed were Edward Foerst, who is chairman of the trustees employe
representatives, George Tenety, Patrick Gallagher, George Rawden,
John May and Bernard Wood.
On July 3, 1938 President Roosevelt approved a Works Progress
Administration allotment of $61,083 for the improvement of the storm
sewer system in Bayonne.
On July 11, 1938 the excavating work in preparation of the new
Port Terminal was started by the Naples Excavating Company of
Passaic. This work took five and one half months to complete and in
addition to the excavating work, the Naples concern did the grading
at the terminal.
On August 2, 1938 Miss Laura Betsworth, said to be the oldest
native of Bayonne, died at her home. Her nephew, Mr. Harry Beltz
of 161 Broadway, has photographs of the Old Dutch Reformed
Church on Lord Avenue as it was burning. His grandmother's house,
which stood at 56th Street and Broadway, for 120 years and known as
"The Homestead" was torn down about two years ago. Mrs. Betsworth
also has a facsimile of the Declaration of Independence printed in
i860 and a note written during the Civil War telling his grandmother
of the death of her husband at sea. The note reads in part : "Eears are
entertained for the safety of the schooner Mary Wesley of Deal Island,
Chesapeake Bay. Stephen Betsworth, Master, cleared at Baltimore
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
about December 21st with a cargo of 3,500 bushels of corn and 50
barrels of flour for Mr. Seth Adams, Jr. of Provicence — Captain
Betsworth belonged to Bergen Point, New Jersey, where he leaves a
wife and four children."
Mrs. Marguerite Sopher, who is now eighty-four years old and
who was born six months after her father's death in 1856, is another
daughter who survives Captain Betsworth. She is a remarkably well-
preserved woman. Her home is a treasure-house of old relics, books,
odd pieces of china, souvenirs of bygone days. Her intellect is still
very clear and she remembers Bergen Point, where she was born, as a
little suburban village. Her most interesting recollections, however,
are of Old Bayonne — the Bayonne of the Gay Nineties. Among some
of the experiences of her career, Mrs. Sopher performed in early mo-
tion pictures at Studios located at Fort Lee, N. J. She played with
Mary Pickford, Lionel Barrymore and many other famed stars who
made pictures there. She married William Sopher, a conductor on
the Central Railroad of New Jersey in 1879. He died in 1908 after
a long illness. Mrs. Sopher, is no doubt, one of the oldest natives or
one who has lived here uninterruptedly for so long a time.
Mr. and Mrs. George Bayne of 863 Avenue C, celebrated their
Golden Wedding at a family dinner at the home of their son-in-law
and daughter, Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Broome of West New Brighton,
Staten Island on October 8, 1938. They were married in New York
City, the birthplace of Mrs. Bayne, in 1888 and spent their honeymoon
in Newburgh, N. Y., the birthplace of Mr. Bayne. They have lived
in Bayonne for forty- four years and have two daughters, Mrs. Broome
and Mrs. Marjorie Taylor and two sons, George of Bayonne and
Howard of Roselle and three grandchildren, Mrs. Bert Starlin of
Staten Island, Dorothy Bayne and Evelyn Taylor of Bayonne.
The last trolley car rumbled out into history for Bayonne on
October 23, 1938 as rubber tired buses supplanted them on the Public
Service route along Avenue C. This route has been one of the city's
principal avenues of transportation, antedating the advent of the bus
lines on Broadway. A solitary figure cast a professional eye on the
passing of the old and the advent of the new — he was William Silberg
of 84 West Tenth Street, who has been the Public Service road super-
visor in Bayonne for thirty years.
The most modern two-way radio communication system in the
world went into operation at Bayonne Police Headquarters on Decem-
ber 29, 1938. The new system supplants what was first municipal two-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
way system in the nation installed here June 15, 1933. Operation of
the new set began as it was formally turned over to Chief of Police,
Cornelius O'Neill, by Paul Wandelt, Bayonne radio expert, who has
grown up with radio and was the manufacturer's supervisor during
its installation. Beaming with pride, Mr. Wandelt proclaimed the sys-
tem further advanced than any hereto installed in any city on the face
of the globe. The new system was purchased by the city at the cost
of $7,600. through the Sheppard Supply Company of Bayonne and was
installed by the Fred M. Link Company of New York City, the manu-
facturer. Mr. Wandelt, an employee of the Link concern constructed
every part of the system himself. In addition to the main station at
Police Headquarters mobile units were installed in a dozen police auto-
mobiles. Reception units are also installed in the Chief's office and in
the desk of the Lieutenant's room so that they may be in touch with all
alarms and other conversations at all times.
Lieut. Commander Edward Ellsberg Gives Talk at High School: Elissa Landi
Presented By Teachers Association: New Fire House and Drill Tower:
Bayonne Substitutes As Birthplace of Grandson of Mayor of Bayonne,
France: First Cargo Discharged at Port Terminal: Historical Society Holds
Dinner: Poem of Old Bayonne By Peggy Guest: Hobby Show Held By
During the winter of 1939 Lieutenant Commander Edward
Ellsberg made an appearance at the Bayonne High School spon-
sored by the Teachers Association to deliver an address on the
problems of war and peace. Lieut. Commander Ellsberg, who was
Chief Engineer at the Bayonne plant of the Tide Water Oil Company
for nine years, is the man under whose direction the S-51 was raised
after it had sunk in a collision with the steamer, City of Rome, Sep-
tember 26, 1925. He is also the author of several books, among them
being: "Hell on Ice," "On the Bottom," "Thirty Fathoms Deep," "Pig-
In the spring of 1939 the Teachers Association presented Elissa
Landi who gave a talk on "The Difference Between Stage and Screen
Acting." She is also an author and some of her books are : "The
Helmers," "House for Sale" and "The Ancestors."
On March 8, 1939, by approval of President Roosevelt, an addi-
tional grant of $64,247.00 was given the W.P.A. for construction of
Bayonne's new firehouse and drill tower, report of which was given on
this date by United States Senator William Smathers. The project
has been completed on City property at Sixteenth Street and Avenue
A. The firehouse is two stories high and the tower five stories and is
of brick construction.
On March 12, 1939 Bayonne, Xew Jersey substituted for Bayonne,
France, as the birthplace of the grandson of the French City's Mayor.
The child, a boy, was born at 2 P. M. at Bayonne Hospital to Mrs.
Marie Simonet Pelanne, daughter of Mayor Pierre Simonet of
Bayonne, France. The couple live on Tenth Street, New York City and
Mrs. Pelanne explained that she chose Bayonne as the birthplace of her
child because she was born in Bayonne, France, and since she was un-
able to return there, decided to come here. To make the kinship of
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
the two Bayonnes complete, Mayor Lucius F. Donohoe, Medical Direc-
tor of the Hospital and a Chevalier of the French Legion of Honor,
brought the newcomer into the world. Immediately after the baby
was born, Mayor Donohoe sent a cable to Mayor Simonet, reading :
"Bayonne welcomes your grandson. Congratulations and best wishes."
vive la France!
Although hundreds of babies have been born at Bayonne Hospital,
the arrival of this one had the institution astir. Some of the nurses
strongly advocated raising the French Tricolor over the building to
honor the event.
The Pelannes of Bayonne, France and Dr. Donohoe of New
Jersey's Bayonne met upon the occasion of the Statue of Liberty
birthday celebration at Bedloe Island. Mr. and Mrs. Pelanne were
the Mayor's guests here in 1937 at the dedication of the new Senior
High School, Mrs. Pelanne bringing her father's greeting from across
the sea for the occasion. She was her father's secretary up to the time
of her marriage.
On March 13, 1939 the first cargo destined for use in a local in-
dustry to be received at the new Port Terminal was fifty thousand bags
of Castor Oil beans consigned to the Baker Castor Oil Company at 35
Avenue A. The S. S. Ayuroca of the Brazilian Steamship Company
was the cargo ship. The vessel was a ship of 6,872 gross tons. She
flew the Brazilian flag and makes regular trips between New York
harbor and Santos, Brazil.
The Southern Cross and the Western World were tied up at the
Port Terminal for some time. They were formerly operated by the
Munson Line and have been turned over to the War Department by
the Maritime Commission and will be used for Army transport service.
On March 21, 1939 the Bayonne Historical Society held its fourth
annual dinner at the Industrial Y.M.C.A. at which time it com-
memorated the seventieth anniversary of the incorporation of Bayonne
as a city. Approximately one hundred guests, including former
Bayonne residents now living in nearby cities, were present at the affair
which was marked by informality and good fellowship. The occasion
turned out to be a delightful event characterized by pleasant reminis-
censes. Much laughter and fun was provoked by Royden Page Whit-
comb of Westfield, who while living in Bayonne about thirty years ago
wrote the book, "History of Bayonne" which is now out of print and
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Mr. Whitcomb paid tribute to the Historical Society for its work
and especially commended John L. Collins, its president, who presided
at the dinner. Arthur L. Hahn, Secretary-Treasurer of the organiza-
tion presented a leaflet written for the occasion, entitled, ''Historical
Tour of Bayonne," and served as narrator while forty-six slides of his-
toric local spots were shown on a screen. Arthur Houtz, instructor in
visual education in Bayonne operated the machine in the place of Dr.
Walter F. Robinson, Principal of Roosevelt School, who was present at
the dinner but was called away. In addition to Mr. Collins, President
of the society, other officers are William S. Donnelly, Vice-President,
Mr. Hahn, Secretary and Treasurer, William Mann, Librarian, and
Andrew Walsh, Charles Kelly and Mrs. Charles Dell, Trustees.
Mr. Walsh had on display Bayonne maps which he constructed.
He and Miss Mary Walsh provided the decorations for the affair. Mrs.
Sydney Chayes and Miss Walsh were members of the dinner com-
mittee. A musical program was presented by the Royal Grenadiers.
Old Bayonne (Abracadabra)
Said Mike to Jim, let's spin a yarn
Down at the Old Trolley barn.
So on they went about Mrs. McGree,
Trying with one fare to ride her whole family.
There was Mrs. Mulligan on the Old Plank Road
Whom we heard with her flock using a code
She'd the finest of geese and ducks in town,
With nary a goat to run one down.
Then our loyal friend Miss Donohoe,
Who has always kept No. 4 in view,
With a heart as big as a barn,
Who watched o'er us to keep us from harm.
There were the Brady's and Cronins of might,
Who "soap-boxed" the corners at night,
To show how to run the town,
And keep the Republicans down.
I saw old Doc Donohoe there too,
He helped care me when I was two,
I heard he is quite a politician,
Can he care those ills too — here's wishin' !
March 21, 1939. Peggy guest
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Family heirlooms, handicraft exhibits and arts of all kinds were
seen at the Hobby Show which the Art Department of the Woman's
Club held at the Masonic Temple on March 24, 1939 under the direc-
tion of the Art Chairman, Mrs. Henry Allan Snow. Outstanding
among the displays were a number of Batiks and other items from
Java, Japan and China collected by Mrs. Snow while living in the Far
East some eight years.
A fine collection of old photographs and paintings was displayed
by Mrs. George Elterich of Jersey City. Some of the paintings were
by her father, August Will, and were of such scenes as Morris Canal,
Currie's Woods, Old Bergen Road and other local scenes as they ap-
peared in 1895.
Mrs. Charles Sumner Havens displayed 1850 black walnut chairs.
These chairs were covered in needlepoint done by her.
Two other antique chairs each 150 years old were exhibited by
Mrs. S. J. Harwi and Mrs. John Gallagher.
Mrs. Harry Dunlap exhibited a quilt sixty years old and Mrs.
Frank A. Beardsley showed a China Tea Pot, a family possession for
the past one hundred years.
Mrs. Jesse Nielson exhibited a one hundred year old doll's head
from Denmark, and Mrs. John Holding displayed two shawls, one
worn in 1836 and another of the Civil War period. Mrs. A. C. Smith
displayed silver spoons seventy-five years old and Mrs. William P.
Stuart showed a hundred and fifty year old plate.
Mrs. Wayne Sinclair displayed Irish Lace from Dublin, an em-
broidered shawl from Havana, a Nightgown Sachet from England and
other objects collected abroad as well as favors, nutcups and place
cards which she made herself.
Mrs. Leidy R. Shellenberger showed a painting which she had done
in 1889. Some original paintings were shown by Mrs. Frances Tingle,
Mrs. Walter Gregory and Mrs. Meta Nielson.
Mrs. Percy Haring exhibited a 175 year old kettle, Mrs. Edgar
Snell showed a 100 year old quilt.
Mrs. William M. Wauters showed a collection of original songs,
one entitled, "Herbert Hoover" written in 1928 and also an American
Flag made by her grandmother, Mrs. Garret Wauters, before the Civil
War, and a silver dish 120 years old.
Tea was served during the afternoon with Mrs. Robert Lindsley in
charge and Mrs. Silas Morse presided at a home-made candy hobby
booth assisted by Mrs. Augustus Hargan.
Reproduction of Washington's Journey From Mt. Vernon to New York for
Inauguration: Election of Commissioners May 9, 1939: Old Car Barns
Razed: Exempt Firemen with Women's Auxiliary Maintain Laurels for
Bayonne in State Parade: First Freight Cars Shunted Over Spur at Port
Terminal: New Public Address System for Fire Headquarters: Boy Scouts
Hold Camporee: John Armstrong Receives Patent on Golf Ball Holder:
Bayonne Times Carriers Vacation at Camp: Shooters Island: Arline B.
Cassidy Wins Contest in New York University School of Commerce:
Ukrainians at World's Fair: New Super-Highway Along Newark Bay
Shore: Benmore Development Dedicated: Mrs. George W. Mellor Directs
Successful Garden Party for Woman's Club: Port Terminal Fishermen's
George Washington passed through Kill van Kull on his way to
New York for his inauguration on April 30, 1789. The event
was re-enacted on April 23, 1939 when Denys Wortman, Car-
toonist, played the role of Washington in a very remarkable drama
which will be long remembered. He traveled by stage coach and four
and upon his arrival in Elizabeth received the most noisy and colorful
welcome of his 235 mile journey. He boarded a forty-foot barge and
thirteen oarsmen rowed him fourteen miles through Arthur Kill,
Newark Bay, Kill van Kull and the New York Harbor to the Battery.
Cannon salutes, harbor craft whistles and display of flags and pennants
hailed the "President elect" as his barge put in at the Battery at Pier 1
shortly before noon. There he was met by "Governor De Witt Clin-
ton" played by Austin Strong, and General Henry Knox, Secretary of
War." The impersonator of Washington took part in a ticker tape
parade up Broadway to City Hall where Mayor F. H. LaGuardia re-
ceived him. A luncheon followed at one P. M. at the Metropolitan Club,
Fifth Avenue and Sixtieth Street. Mr. Wortman, as Washington,
wore a white wig, boots, scarlet lined cape and other Eighteenth Cen-
tury equippage all the way from Mount Vernon. The actual inaugura-
tion re-enactment took place April 30th at the opening of the New York
During his journey, Mr. Wortman, impersonating Washington,
was more impressed by the welcomers in the little towns and at rural
crossroads than the larger cities, where committees worked for success-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
ful receptions. People waited in the rain at side roads, farmers ran
across fields from their work just to catch a glimpse of the coach and
bare their heads in unashamed reverence for the memory of Washing-
ton. Children fought to touch his cloak or to grasp his hand. Behind
the scenes aspects of the long coach ride were tedious. Captain A. R.
Willey of the 112th Field Artillery at Trenton, the coachman, was
sunburned and windburned to the point of physical pain upon arrival
and he said that hard modern highways and such hazards as street car
tracks made the trip just as hard on the horses as it was in 1789 when
mud bogs and other inconveniences abounded.
New Commissioners for Bayonne were elected on May 9, 1939.
For the first time in the history of the city, there were twenty-seven
candidates and everyone in the city seemed to be intersted in the race.
Speeches were broadcast nightly on the radio and the Elks Quartette
composed of Amos Harker, Jazz Johnson, Frank Arlington and Frank
Kelly sang. Their theme song was, "Lend a Helping Hand."
With the heaviest vote ever cast in a municipal election in Bayonne,
James J. Donovan, James A. Mullanaphy, Henry W. Murphy, Horace
K. Roberson and Joseph J. Topoleski, candidates on the Home Rule
ticket scored the most decisive victory ever registered in a Bayonne
City Commission election. The margin of victory was overwhelming,
with the winners leading their opponents by an average of 9,000 votes.
For the first time since 19 19, the voters of Bayonne put into office as
City Commissioners, five men who ran on the same bracket. Joseph J.
Topoleski was the first Polish citizen to be elected to the City Commis-
Fourteen firemen were hurt and one narrowly escaped death on
May 11, 1939 when a fire engine was destroyed at a $75,000. three
alarm fire at the plant of the Woodward Lumber and Coal Company
at Orient and Oak Streets. Thousands of spectators were attracted to
the scene as the flames ate their way through piles of lumber and the
wooden buildings. The throng jammed the streets and hampered the
firemen as they strove to confine the flames to the yard.
Among the Bayonne delegates to the Convention of the New Jersey
State Federation of Woman's Clubs at Haddon Hall, Atlantic City
May 17th to 20th were Mrs. Louis Knecht, President of the Bayonne
Woman's Club, Mrs. Percy F. Haring, Mrs. Wayne Sinclair and Mrs.
Oliver C. Klinger. Mrs. Jerome G. Stabile and Mrs. Theodore Kerner
represented the Bayonne Municipal Christmas Tree Association.
The old car barns, built in 1863, when the Jersey City and Bergen
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Point Railroad Company received a franchise to run from the ferry to
the Canal, were razed in May 1939. Thus another of the old land-
marks disappeared. The only reminder left are the old tracks along
Avenue C which remain as a reminder of the old trolley car days. The
Public Service office in Newark had no further use for these old barns
since the trolleys are gone. It is supposed that prior to the building of
the barns in 1863, Dr. J. Parmley, the first dentist to make artificial
teeth in the country, had his office and a small factory on this site.
Members of the Association of Exempt Firemen of Bayonne and
the members of the Women's Auxiliary maintained the laurels for the
city when they marched in Irvington in the annual parade of the New
Jersey State Exempt Firemen's Association. There were 100 of the
old volunteers in the local delegation and they accomplished just what
they said they would. They won two trophies, one donated by former
Governor Harold G. Hoffman to the Association having the largest
number of men in line and presenting the finest appearance, and the
other tendered by the Order of Moose of Irvington to the Association
having the oldest hose-carriage in line. The Bayonne Exempts readily
won this prize because they paraded with their old carriage which they
value very highly. The Exempts make a fine appearance in their red
shirts, blue trousers and white gloves as they pull the old carriage
painted cream color with gold trimmings. Former volunteer Chief
Alfred Varian, who with his distinguished looking snow-white beard,
never fails to march with his companions. He came down from his
home in Connecticut for the parade.
Leading the delegation of Auxiliary members were Mrs. Kathryn
V. Welcher, the President. The F. A. Mackenzie Squadron Drum
Corps, Sons of American Legion, Post No. 165 served at the band
unit for the Exempt Firemen while a girl's corps from Union City
appeared with the Auxiliary.
On May 26, 1939 a new phase of activity of the port terminal be-
gan when the first freight cars were shunted over the spur along the
causeway and out to the transit shed to load the 50,000 sacks of castor
beans which arrived here on the Brazilian vessel Auyuroca last March
14th. The beans, consigned to the Baker Castor Oil Company had
been stored in the transit shed since arrival. As shipping at the ter-
minal increases, both trucking and railroad operations will be called
into use for the handling of cargo. Spurs along the sides of the transit
shed will permit the discharge of cargo directly from the vessels into
freight cars when rapid handling is necessary.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
A new public address system which will enable officers at fire
headquarters to maintain a two-way conversation with all fire houses in
the city was installed in May 1939, under the direction of Chief
James G. Hogan and Joseph A. Geiger, Superintendent of Police and
Fire Alarm systems.
The two-way system provides for better coordination in moving
apparatus from one station to the other to protect the city in the event
of a general fire alarm.
May 31, 1939 was said to be the hottest day of the year. Unofficial
readings in factories and at public buildings in various parts of the
city recorded the heat as high as 96 degrees, as the unseasonable
weather wilted everyone from school children to workers in the Con-
stable Hook industries.
On June 2nd Captain Charles Swanson of 46 East 46th Street,
skipper of the Lehigh Valley Railroad tugboat "Athens," saved a
Jersey City woman who attempted to commit suicide by leaping from
a ferry boat in Jersey City.
June 3rd and 4th, 1939 were dates set aside for "Camporee" to be
held by the Bayonne Boy Scouts at the County Park. It was estimated
that approximately 400 scouts participated. The Camporee was held
on the bulkhead at the foot of 46th Street. Officials of the Scout
council and scoutmasters were in charge of the boys.
A labor saving device for golfers is really one for the books. John
Armstrong of Bayonne has received a- patent on a golf ball holder that
should eliminate a lot of bending and stooping. His invention is a tube
mounted at a 45-degree angle on a pole. The golf ball is placed in the
tube from which it rolls to the ground, where it is held in driving posi-
tion by means of a hangar. As the golfer drives, the hangar is lifted
from the ball, leaving it free. Armstrong's invention involves five
new ideas. He filed the patent application in 1938.
Industry was rewarded in 1939 when sixteen carriers of the
Bayonne Times enjoyed a week's vacation as guests of the newspaper
at a camp in the Pennsylvania mountains. The vacation with all ex-
penses paid was arranged through the circulation department of the
paper to those boys who rated highest in building up their routes.
Divided into two groups, the carriers reaped rewards for their
labors in fishing, boating, swimming, playing tennis and baseball.
Campfire rallies and other typical camp life activities were on the vaca-
tion program. The camp, which was reserved for the exclusive use of
the carrier boys, is about a hundred and sixty miles from the city.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Little more than a good stone's throw from the southwest tip of
Bayonne, sprawls a gray, rotting hulk of an island. Only two people
brave the situation to make it their home. It is all that remains of
what was once the center of shipbuilding and shipping activity of
Bayonne. It was the scene in bygone days of many political har-
rangues at election time. The place is known as "Shooters Island"
part of which belongs to the City of Bayonne.
Like a sore toe, it has been a nuisance for a long time. There are
but few who have seen more of it than the bird's eye view afforded
from Bayonne Bridge.
Only the fishermen and the followers of the yachting and boating-
sport, passing its stub of a skyline on trips through Kill van Kull, know
it for the God- forsaken spot it has come to be.
No buildings that may be called such remain on Shooters Island —
eighteen years after its desertion in 192 1. Only the splintered heaps
of the old buildings remain.
The eight old buildings, which have stubbornly resisted time and
the winds, look with cavernous eyes on the remains of their companion
structures. Crookedly, they still stand through the years, which have
gnawed away their roofs, eaten into the foundations and dug hollows
where windows once were.
It is not only through them that a dead era of bygone prosperous
and busy days sighs for the past. The ghost of good times also whis-
pers through the tall, shriveled grass and in the forlorn slap of water
against the crumbling mass of decayed wood that are the piers. Tech-
nically, no living being inhabits Shooters Island for the two remaining
residents make their home on the water, one in an abandoned barge and
the other in a craft tied to one of the many scarecrows surrounding
the island's edge.
The more comfortable of the two recluses seems to be an Indian
woman, whose home is in a boat that might have seen life as a yacht-
ing vessel, tethered to a pier in the shadow of a wooden tramp steamer
riding its last at anchor a few hundred feet away.
A frequent visitor to the shores of Staten Island, she has grown
into a legendary figure for Bayonne boating folk who have seen her
as she pilots her rowboat on her rare shopping excursions. Despite her
contacts with the outside world, according to shore workers, she re-
mains a recluse giving few a chance to engage in conversation with
her. She is said to be a magazine writer, but none were found along
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
the water's edge who know her name or who have read her works.
The "Squaw," as they call her, guards her solitude fiercely, visitors to
the island are warned. The "Squaw" is a woman about thirty-five,
heavy set, with black hair and a skin that might pass for a heavy sun-
burn. She clings tenaciously to Indian ancestry, former residents of
Shooters Island say and she furnishes her quarters with articles such
as tourists buy. Even an Indian bark, it is said, graces the interior of
her domain. Her English, is perfect and faultless and it gives no clue
to her identity. No one knows her anticedents or forebears. Though
the Indian woman has grown to be part of the Island legendry, the
other inhabitant is an older resident than she and qualifies for the title
of Citizen No. I. He is Al Anderson, sixty-three, grizzled veteran of
literage boats and scows, who has been watchman at Shooters Island
for the past twelve years with a snarling watchdog named, Mickey, as
his only companion. "Old Al" as they call him lives in a barge near a
catacomb of crumbling shipping sheds within calling distance of his
neighbor. His job is to keep an eye on the scows of the firm of Edward
McAllister of New York which anchor there between runs.
Another firm having much to do with the fading history of
Shooters Island is the Tide Water Associated Oil Company which
nightly sends a man over to light danger lights on the piers as guides
for passing ships. The same man has been doing the job for sixteen
years and has seen the Island sink from its prime to its present haunt
for bats, owls and other nocturnal creatures.
Years ago, before the World War set into motion feverish ship-
building operations, the land on the Island was rich and fertile and
truck farmers tilled the soil and made their livelihood by gardening.
Industry however made inroads, and gardeners and farmers retreated.
Shipbuilders took advantage of the surrounding water facilities for
the construction of boats. During the war twenty-eight ships were
built on the Island.
With the close of the war, the shipping business was transferred
to more metropolitan centers and decline marked the spot. The official
end to the Island's era of prosperity was proclaimed in 192 1 when the
Island was shut down industrially.
Shooters Island was made a campaign issue here in 1927 and again
in 193 1 when Dr. Donohoe, as a candidate for the City Commission
attacked what he called "fake ratables." The property at that time
was assessed at $1,121,065 and carried on the administration's books
as an asset to the city.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
The effect of such a listing was a decrease in the tax rate although
taxes on the property were not collected. Dr. Bert Daly is credited
with having discovered long ago that a part of Shooters Island be-
longed to Bayonne.
ARLINE B. CASSIDY WINS CONTEST
Miss Arline B. Cassidy, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Cassidy
of 67 West 41st Street was selected as one of the most beautiful girls
at the New York University School of Commerce in a contest con-
ducted by the 1939 "Violet" the school yearbook. Cecil B. DeMille,
moving picture producer-director was the judge in the contest. Miss
Cassidy, who is a junior at the School of Commerce, was elected to
Sigma Eta Phi, junior honorary fraternity, and also to the Violet
Scroll Honorary Society. She is Vice-President of Phi Omega Phi,
national social sorority, sorority editor of the Commerce Violet, a
member of the staff of Commerce Bulletin, school newspaper and a
member of the Newman Club, Management Club, Christian Associa-
tion and Psychology Club.
On June 12th the German freighter, "Hein Hoyer" completed its
second voyage from Europe docking at the Bayonne Port Terminal.
The ship brought in 10,000 tons of Swedish wood pulp. The Hein
Hoyer, a coal burning ship, averages twelve knots an hour and usually
trades between Germany and South America. She called at Norfolk
for coal before returning to Europe.
On June 18th, hundreds of Bayonne Ukrainians attended the fes-
tival of Americans of Ukrainian descent in the Court of Peace Build-
ing at the New York World's Fair. The Bayonne Boyan Choir of St.
Mary's Ukrainian Catholic Church took part in the musical program
given by the United Ukrainian Folk Choruses of the Metropolitan
area consisting of 500 voices. The mass chorus was under the direc-
tion of the Ukrainian composer, Professor Alexander Koshetz.
Over 400 young dancers under the direction of Audrey Kist, former
ballet master from the state school of folk dances in Carpathe-Ukraine,
presented a memorable program of Ukrainian dances, some of .which
were more than a thousand years old.
SUPER-HIGHWAY ALONG NEWARK BAY SHORE
A new super-highway is being constructed along the Newark Bay
shore. A bridge is being planned opening the way to Elizabethport.
This will take care of a great deal of the traffic leading to points in
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
South Jersey. This highway is a continuation of the Jersey City
Route ioo which connects with the Skyway.
Route ioo will yield many benefits to this city and far-seeing resi-
dents regard it as one of the most important highways to be con-
structed for the benefit of Bayonne traffic in many years.
Among the foremost benefits, it has been pointed out, will be the
creation of a new residental area for the city, which in turn, is ex-
pected to inspire renewed home building activity.
The new home section, it is believed, would be created through the
fill that would be deposited along the Newark Bay shore front, between
the marginal highway and the present shore line. Under present plans,
the extensive new acreage would be landscaped with lawns, trees and
walks and made a most attractive section for new r building.
woman's club garden party
On June 21st the Woman's Club gave a very successful Garden
Party with cards on the lawn of Mrs. Thomas F. O'Brien's home on
the Boulevard and Thirty-sixth Street. Umbrellas and attractive garden
furniture decorated the lawn as well as a large American flag loaned
by Dr. Mellor for the occasion. One of the features of the party was
the presence of a Gypsy Fortune Teller dressed in costume. Mrs.
Percy F. Haring and Mrs. Silas L. Morse were in charge of the re-
freshment booth which was prettily decorated with crepe paper, and
from which, during the afternoon ice cream, cake and punch were
served. The occasion was one long to be remembered. Prizes in the
form of Ice Box Corsages were given. Another surprise of the after-
noon was the door prize which was a seven-piece shell Toilet Set
donated by the Chairman, Mrs. George W. Mellor and which was won
by Mrs. James B. Brooks.
BEN MORE DEVELOPMENT DEDICATED
Mayor James J. Donovan, members of the City Commission, and
other prominent leaders attended the dedication ceremonies held at the
Benmore Development, Avenue A between 34th and 36th Streets on
Two new streets, Roosevelt Terrace and Benmore Terrace, which
have been run through the property formerly owned by Edwin Bennett,
the Singer Sewing Machine executive, was dedicated and turned over
to the city by the syndicate which has been developing the five and one-
quarter acre tract for the past year. The development was open to
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
public inspection and large numbers visited Bayonne's newest home
The land was acquired from the Bennett heirs last August and
during the Fall and Spring work on the grading of the two new streets
progressed. Construction of houses began in the late Spring and
brought work to many carpenters, plumbers, brick layers and other
Gas mains, electric facilities, water mains and sewers are already
completely installed so that the lots will be sold to home builders free
of all assessments. All houses built in the development will have a
uniform set-back of twenty-five feet from the curb, thus insuring front
lawns for every home. Considerable landscaping is planned to make
the site an attractive one. The lots which will be sold to the public are
thirty-six by ninety-eight feet, the size of the lots allowing ample room
for about forty dwellings, all of which will be one family houses.
The Benmore development is the first such project here in more
than ten years. The syndicate is headed by Harry Levy as President,
Harris Boorstein, Vice-President, Julius A. Rose, Treasurer and
Abraham Turtletaub, Secretary.
PORT TERMINAL FISHERMEN'S PARADISE
Bayonne's new port terminal is a fisherman's paradise with many
varieties of fish running. Sand sharks (one man caught nine large
ones in one afternoon) ling, fluke, whiting, eels and crabs are caught
daily. Nice catches of striped bass are to be had off the end of the
terminal but a boat is needed as these fish are caught by trolling.
When the tide is in, the water averages forty to fifty feet depth and
fishermen casting from the edge of the terminal bulkheads allow their
lines to go to the bottom for eels.
The bow of the whaler, Frango, which was tied up at the terminal
for some months, furnished a sheltered spot where boys swim. A
ladder has been rigged over the bulkhead so that they may climb up
again after a dive. The lads have christened this swimming hole
On the north side of the causeway about midway out to the ter-
minal proper, a stretch of sand has been converted into a beach. Here
both boys and girls bathe and play various beach games every bright
day throughout the season.
It is reported that since New York City is burning refuse instead
of dumping it at sea as once was done, the water is much cleaner than
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
it has been in the past. Certainly at Frango Strait it looks clean,
although a chemical analysis might disclose another story.
Anyway, fishing is good, and the boys say that the swimming is
"swell !" So come on in, boys the last one in is a monkey's uncle !
THE CHURCHES, PAROCHIAL SCHOOLS,
HOLY FAMILY ACADEMY
The Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of Bergen Neck, New Jersey — The First
Church in Bayonne.
The Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of Bergen Neck, New
Jersey was the first church to be formed in Bayonne. It was or-
ganized December 9, 1828. One of the founders of the church
was Mrs. Penelope Post Wauters, great grandmother of the late
Mr. William M. Wauters of 820 Avenue A. The church building was
erected on land donated by Mr. Richard Cadmus, at Twenty-ninth
Street, East of Broadway (then [Middle or Plank Road) and was a
one-story frame building with a small bell tower. The first building
stood where the present Republican Club is now located. It was moved
at a later date near the Boulevard and Twenty-ninth Street and became
part of the edifice of the Eleanora Swedish Church. The present
church edifice is located on Avenue C and Thirty-third Street where it
has been since 1866. This church has made a very fine contribution to
the life and culture of the city.
Mrs. Alexander Dallas, wife of Dr. Dallas, launched a Mission of
the first church in the Centerville section in a one-story wooden store.
The land where the building was erected was donated by Mr. Close,
father of Mrs. Close-Sleesman and grandfather of Mrs. George S.
Syme, now of Staten Island. A Fair was held for the benefit of the
Mission at the Church on one occasion and Alice Roosevelt was asked
to name a doll. The person guessing the name of the doll was to win
it. The doll was named "Margaretta" and since no one guessed the
name, the doll was sold to Mr. William Till for his little girl, Greta.
The church is now known as, 'The First Reformed Church" and
the present pastor is Rev. George J. Becker.
THE FIRST METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH
This church was organized in 183 1 when Rev. Thomas G. Stewart
was appointed pastor of the Bergen Neck Mission. For one hundred
and seven years work has been carried on. On June 22, 1844 the
society was incorporated as Bergen Neck Methodist Episcopal Church.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Father McDonald and Father Garrett Vreeland, as they were affec-
tionately called, were the founders and main supporters. The early
house of worship was located on the west side of Avenue D (now
Broadway) at Twenty-fourth Street. This was once known as the
"Bee Hive" the name arising from the fact that honey bees had lived
in the peak of the building-. Several pounds of fine honey were re-
moved each year and sold for the benefit of the church treasury. In
1854 the "Bee Hive" was sold and the cornerstone of a new building
for worship was laid at Broadway near Twenty-ninth Street. The
Bergen Neck Church was then on a circuit, the pastor of Greenville
preaching there also. After twelve years the Society moved to a new
location, this time to the southwest corner of Avenue D and Oakland
Avenue, known now as Broadway and Thirty-second Street. In 1866
the name of this Society was changed to the Mattison Methodist Epis-
copal Church, named after Dr. Hiram Mattison, the pastor. Upon
the erection of the present building, the name was changed to "First
Methodist Episcopal Church." The tower and other improvements
were added by Rev. Alexander Craig's capable management who put
the church on a paying basis.
Old time workers in the church were George Cozine, John Rowland,
Father Abraham Simmonds, Mother Ruth Bristed and Thomas
Cubberly, W. C. Vivash and W. E. Hollingshead.
James Coward was appointed Superintendent of the Sunday School
on January 1, 1886 and was an active worker until his death. He came
to Bayonne a young man and had a shoemaking shop on Greenwich
Street, New York. As time went on the Coward Shoes became famous.
John Coward, a son, entered into business with his father. James
Coward's home, which was located on Avenue C between Thirty-
second and Thirty-third Streets was torn down only a few years ago.
In the early days Mr. Coward could be seen daily driving to the Thirty-
third Street Station of the Central Railroad of New Jersey in the
mornings and returning in the evenings from New York, with his
colored coachman and fine team of horses. When he died he left a
fortune of eight million dollars. The people of the city were very
much surprised. He had been quoted as wealthy and some ventured
to say that he was worth nearly a million. He left his fortune to his
son who carried on the shoe business with his grandson, Mortimer,
and his daughter, Harriet who is Mrs. Alfred D. Woodruff now of
Hillside, N. J. The home of the late John Coward is now occupied by
the family of the late former Mayor John J. Cain.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
The present pastor of the First Methodist Episcopal Church is
Rev. Norman F. Champlin.
THE ORGANIZING OF THE FORTY-SIXTH STREET METHODIST CHURCH
In 1853 Saltersville Methodist Episcopal Sunday School was or-
ganized with John Elderson as Superintendent. The first meeting
place was in a small building occupied by the Advent Church, next
door to the firehouse now occupied by the Exempt Firemen. Meetings
were also held over a grocery store at Forty-ninth Street and Avenue
D, now Broadway, afterwards Flannery's Saloon, then at Harris' Hall
(L'Estrange Drug Store) and they later built the church on East
Forty-sixth Street which they sold to the present Angelic Baptist
Church. A new church was then built on Forty-fourth Street and
Avenue D which was known as the Monroe Church of which Rev.
Grant was the preacher and after they bought a site on Avenue C and
Forty-sixth Street and moved the building from Avenue D and re-
modelled it. It is known now as the Forty-sixth Street Methodist
Mrs. Philip Allaire, who came to the city in 1876 deserves much
credit for this church organization.
The first Board of Trustees elected June 25, 1877, were : President,
Edgar Wilson; Clerk, R. H. Freer; Treasurer, Philip Allaire and
George W. Connell, David B. San ford, Benjamin Duryee and Simon
EPISCOPAL CHURCHES ORGANIZED
Trinity Church was organized in 1859. A porch conversation on
a Sunday afternoon in July 1859 resulted in the organization of the
parish. The discussion took place on the porch of "Pepperidge" the
home of Solon Humphreys, who was a member of E. D. Morgan &
Co., Wall Street Brokers and for whom the downtown street is said to
be named. Sessions were first held in the district school, then the old
No. 4 on what is now Dodge and Fifth Streets. They secured a
supply preacher for the following Sunday and issued a call to residents
of Bergen Point for a meeting at the La Tourette Hotel for further
consideration of the project. A Staten Island clergyman, whom the
records identify as the Rev. French, conducted the first service. The
details were the outgrowth of the porch conversation. David La
Tourette and Mr. Humphreys both donated land on which Trinity
Church was built. On the list of the first subscribers are David
La Tourette, Solon Humphreys, John Van Buskirk, A. L. Rowe, J.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Van Saun, John Watson, S. T. Brown, T. Y. Brown, Robert Mackie,
Henry Meigs, Henry Paret, Charles Davis, Joseph Hewlett and the
Dobson and Earle families.
In 1879 the church was destroyed by fire. Immediate plans for a
new church were drawn and in 1881 a new church was opened for
public services. The bell of the old church which was totally damaged,
was buried on the grounds. The altar, pulpit and chancel chairs were
gifts of Solon Humphreys.
The memorial windows in the Baptistry were given by Mrs.
Lavinia La Tourette. The Litany Desk is a memorial to D. W. Van
Natta, given by his son D. Alden. The pulpit light is a memorial to
Dr. Thomas Dobson given by the family. The altar cross is a me-
morial to Henry Meigs given by his widow. The light over the font
is in memory of Cas. W. Cutting. The vases for the altar are me-
morials for Georgia E. and Catherine C. Schuyler, Anna C. Cook,
Myrtella N. Dan and R. P. Arrowsmith. The corona is a memorial to
Rev. Dr. George Walsh.
The present pastor of Trinity Episcopal Church is Rev. George L.
Crambs who came to the church in the early part of 1940. He re-
placed Rev. William C. Kernan who took charge from 1935 to 1940.
Rev. Kernan came from Washington, D. C. where he had completed
a fellowship at the College of Preachers in Washington Cathedral.
CALVARY IS ORGANIZED
Calvary Episcopal Church was founded in 1859 when the upper
part of Bayonne was known as Saltersville. The first service con-
ducted in this parish was on August 24, 1859 by the Rev. Robert F.
Travis, Rector of what is now St. Mark's Church in Jersey City but
what was then known as Trinity Church. Since August 24th is St.
Bartholemew's Day, the Mission was called St. Bartholemew's Mis-
sion. Trinity Church in Bergen Point was a very wealthy parish and
gave the new Mission considerable help. In April 1866 Mr. Hartman
Vreeland presented a plot of ground for the erection of a church in
Saltersville. The building was a small frame structure and was first
located on Avenue D and 51st Street. In 1899 the building was moved
to Avenue C and 45th Street where it now stands. The church was
erected with money supplied by Trinity parish. The cornerstone was
laid November 3, 1866 and the building opened for services on June 29,
1867. The first couple married in Calvary Church was Mr. William
San ford and Miss Anna Vreeland. The property was later conveyed
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
to the Rector, Wardens and Vestry of Calvary Church of Bayonne. A
great deal of credit is due to Mr. George Wevill who was Superintend-
ent of the Sunday School and to whom much of its present prosperity
is indebted. This church did not succeed in clearing itself of debt
until 1 92 1 when it was consecrated, although it had secured much
property now valued at approximately $50,000. St. John's Episcopal
Church merged with Calvary in 1935. Since Calvary was free of debt,
it was decided to sell St. John's property which is located on Avenue C
and 34th Street and continue services in Calvary Church. The oldest
living member of Calvary in 1940 is Mrs. Edward M. Griffin who has
been a very faithful parishioner. The present pastor is the Rev.
st. mary's star of the sea, the first catholic church
The memory of the oldest parishioners goes back to the year 1852,
when Mass was celebrated in the home of John Welsh, on Lord Ave-
nue, by the Rev. John Kelly, of St. Peter's Church in Jersey City. Be-
fore that time Catholic residents of the peninsula made the journey to
St. Peter's Church in New Brighton, Staten Island.
Airs. Phoebe Adams Gibson of 24 Cottage Street, who will mark
her eighty-third birthday in August, claims to have been the first
Catholic child to be confirmed in Bayonne, having been the youngest
in the initial group of confirmants.
Rev. John Kelly was succeeded in his semi-monthly visitations by
the Rev. Benjamin F. Allaire and the Rev. James Callan, of St. James's
Church, Newark, the latter erecting the first St. Mary's Church in
Evergreen Street in i860.
Shortly after that date the spiritual interests of the Catholics of
Bergen Point were entrusted to the Passionist Fathers from the Hobo-
ken Monastery, Fathers Vincent Nagler, Timothy and Thomas O'Con-
nor making weekly visitations from January 1862 until August 1,
1865, when the growing mission was made a parish by the Rt. Rev.
Bishop Bayley, who named Rev. Peter P. Neiderhauser its first Rector.
Father Neiderhauser had been a Redemptionist and was admitted into
the diocese December 13, 1862. He assisted Father Rogers in New
Brunswick, looking after the Germans, until he was chosen first pastor
of Bergen Point, July 17, 1865. He labored with great fruit among
the Catholics of this mission until he was transferred to St. John- the
Baptist's German Church, New Brunswick August 1871. The Rev.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
P. McGovern was the second pastor serving from 187 1 to 1876 when
he was succeeded by Rev. James Dalton. Rev. Dalton, who was in
poor health, collapsed while celebrating his first mass and was re-
placed by Rev. Thomas M. Killeen of Newark who remained until he
retired from active duties.
In 1880 Father Killeen erected the present church on Fourteenth
Street and Avenue C and built the Sisters' house on Fourteenth Street
as well as the old frame school, which in 1898 was removed to make
room for the present commodious brick structure erected by his suc-
cessor, the Rev. Isaac P. Whelan under whose guidance St. Mary's was
one of the best-equipped and most flourishing parishes in the Diocese
of Newark. In 1905 Rt. Rev. Msgr. Andrew M. Egan became rector
of St. Mary's. The church was consecrated July 17, 1909 during
Msgr. Egan's pastorate and the Convent of St. Joseph's on Fourteenth
Street was erected.
Msgr. Lawlor came to the local church in 1929 after Msgr. Egan's
death. Complete renovation and redecoration of both the upper and
lower churches were completed in 1933. The Gothic beauty of the
two places of worship has won admiration from many.
Outstanding among new additions to the church are two mosaic
altar shrines and a hand-carved polychrome wooden Crucifixion group,
given by Miss Helen Dennehy in memory of her parents.
Msgr. Lawlor was ordained at Immaculate Conception Seminary,
Seton Hall, June 1, 191 2 and shortly thereafter was drafted to assist
the Rev. John A. Dillion, LL.D. then diocesan superintendent of
schools. He succeeded Rev. Dr. Dillion seven years later and now is
senior in service of all Catholic Diocesan school superintendents of the
United States. He has offices in the Chancery Building of the Arch-
diocese at 33 Mulberry Street, Newark.
THE GERMAN EVANGELICAL AND REFORMED CHURCH
The German Evangelical and Reformed Church was organized
December 1, 1871. At that time the group met in a private dwelling
on Lord Avenue between 2nd and 3rd Streets. The property on which
the church now stands was purchased from Ann M. Zabriskie which
was deeded in 1873. It was said that "one dollar and a pledge to
work for the welfare of the church of Christ" bought part of the land
at Lord Avenue and 4th Street. In 1888 the congregation split, the
majority establishing the Third Reformed Church at West 25th Street
and the minority remaining in possession of the downtown property.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
About a year later the church was incorporated. One great change
recorded in the church's history occurred only last year when the de-
nomination which had originally been Evangelical was united with the
The fifty-first year in the ministry of the pastor, the Rev. Carl
Schauer, finds the church free of all debt and with a membership of
about 150. The Rev. Schauer began services here in 1903 when he led
the congregation of St. Paul's Evangelical Church as well as the
Bergen group. Illness forced his retirement in 1909 but in 1910 he
resumed his pastoral duties solely at the German Evangelical and Re-
formed Church and has been in that pulpit ever since. His assistant
for the past year has been the Rev. Walter Fuhrman.
Gifts to the church include an organ presented by Gail and Louise
Suhl in memory of their mother; a lectern and baptismal fountain
from the estate of Mrs. Theobald Happ and a painting by J. J. Kuder
in memory of his wife.
The Trustees are Mr. Albert Beck, Jr., Emil Schauer, son of the
pastor who is also Sunday School Superintendent ; Mr. August Engle-
hardt, Adolph Gurka, Alfred Filsinger and Carl Schauer. Honorary
trustees are Albert Beck, Sr. and Rudolph Voigt.
st. paul's Lutheran church is organized
In 1872 a group of Lutherans crossed the Kills to worship in Port
Richmond, Staten Island, as there was no Lutheran Church in the
Peninsula. Sometimes in the winter months they had to face severe
snow storms which delayed them a great deal. On January 1, 1877
they were forced to return to their homes due to a storm and it was
not possible for them to attend church, so they decided to build a
church of their own. A meeting was held to discuss the matter. Those
present were: William C. Farr, John Hollenbach, Sr., G. Kullich,
John Lange, D. Osbahr, Jacob Rausher, Charles Reimers, Jacob
Scholz, William Scholz, Christopher Schmidt, Jacob Schmidt and H.
Two lots were secured on 22nd Street between Avenue H and I
and on May 27, 1877 the church was dedicated under the guidance of
Rev. C. J. F. Frinke, pastor of the mother church in Port Richmond,
Staten Island. The first pastor to take charge here was Rev. A. T.
Pechtold, who began work on August 4, 1878.
In 1889 the church was sold to the Hungarian- Slavish Catholic
Church and property was then secured on East 25th Street near Ave-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
nue E where a new church was begun. The Ladies Aid and Sunday
School and Junior Class were organized in 1899.
In 1 9 18 the church was sold, this time to the Ukrainian Catholic
Church. The Lutherans were homeless so they conducted services in
the Swedish Church on 29th Street until the present church was built
on the Boulevard and 31st Street. The present pastor is Rev. Irwin
THE THIRD REFORMED CHURCH (GERMAN)
The Third Reformed Church was organized in 1872. The first
pastor was Rev. Gottlieb Andrew of Jersey City. The first church
stood at West 21st Street and Avenue C and was removed to another
site after being sold to a Hebrew Congregation. The present church
is on the northerly side of West 25th Street near Broadway and was
erected in 191 1. The pastor is Rev. William Bailey Horvath.
SECOND ADVENTIST CHURCH, ALSO CALLED THE MILLERITE CHURCH
The Second Adventist Church, also known as the Millerite Church,
financed by Davey Salter, was located on Forty-seventh Street between
Avenue C and Broadway. The preacher was Jasper A. Cadmus. Old-
timers still tell us of occasions when the Adventists, full of faith and
great zeal, would get out on the roofs and give all their belongings
away and declare the end of the world was coming.
THE FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH
The First Baptist Church, which is now located on Avenue C and
Thirty-third Street was organized October 22, 1882 with about twenty-
five members. Rev. J. N. Folwell was the first minister. The
Mission Chapel started at Twenty-eighth Street and Avenue D was
dedicated July 25, 1883. The present building on Avenue C and
Thirty-third Street was made possible by the generosity of Mrs. M. A.
Sirrell. In 1892 the Sunday School building was completed and in
1906 the parsonage purchased. The present pastor is Rev. John
POVERTY AND INCONVENIENCES OF EARLY CHURCHES
In the early days, home-made candles were used in all churches for
many years. Then followed oil lamps. The churches were heated by
Gothic stoves that at times filled the churches with smoke. Reed or-
gans were used. A collection above a dollar and a half was con-
sidered very substantial. The minister's salary averaged from Four
hundred to Nine hundred dollars per year. This was augmented by
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
gifts of vegetables, wood and other necessities donated by members of
The Salvation Army opened new quarters at 926 Broadway in
1920. Prior to this establishment of a permanent home, the Army met
in rented stores in various parts of the city. At one time it occupied
a building on East 22nd Street donated for its use by the Standard Oil
The Bayonne branch of the Salvation Army is one of the first to be
organized in this country. It followed by two years the New
York Corps which was formed March 10, 1880. The movement in
America was fostered by seven Salvation lassies who journeyed from
England to that first meeting to spread the gospel of the organization.
Newark followed the New York group and the Bayonne organization
was third. In 1903 Commander Ballington Booth, national head of the
Salvation Army, lived in Bayonne. Adjutant and Mrs. Howard Fritz
who replaced Captain Thusa Martine in November of 1938 are now
directing the Army work in this city.
BAYONNE' S FIRST SYNAGOGUE ORGANIZED
Beth Abraham Synagogue, center of worship for more than 700
Jews during special holidays, is the oldest of the Jewish Congregations
in the City. Chartered in 1886 it celebrated its golden anniversary in
1936, and finally burned its mortgage Sunday, March 31, 1940.
About a dozen worshippers, most of whom left marks of achieve-
ment in the city, were responsible for its organization. Among them
were the late Hyman Lazarus, police recorder and publisher of
The Bayonne Times; his father, Louis Lazarus; Herman Klein,
founder of the Travel Agency ; Jacob Cohen, father of Harry Cohen,
the furniture merchant and Solomon Newman. Of the handful of
men, David Grossman of 146 Prospect Avenue is the sole survivor.
The first meeting was held at the home of Jacob Cohen, then located
on 72 Cottage Street.
The present synagogue, located on the south side of West 21st
Street between Avenue C and Broadway, was built 42 years ago after
a small frame building, which had been its predecessor, was razed. The
total outlay was $40,000. Hyman Lazarus was first president. Harry
Levy is present head.
Services were held three times daily under the leadership of Rabbi
Aaron R. Charney, who is also chaplain of the police and fire depart-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
ments of Bayonne. Rabbi Charney came here in 1924 from a small
town near Boston. Born in Poland, in territory which had once been
a part of Russia, Rabbi Charney received his education in European
rabbinical colleges, among them the Kovno Slabodky Seminary, one
of the oldest institutions of its kind. Before he assumed duties in
Massachusetts, Rabbi Charney led congregations in London and Bir-
mingham, England, where he wrote for British newspapers.
He is also the author of three books, "Lectures from Life and
Nature," published six years ago. "Visions of an Elder" was written
two years later. Both deal with religious, moral and social problems.
His latest book is titled, "Rosuf Ahava," released a short time ago and
published through the efforts of friends, officers of which were Harris
Boorstein, Harry Levy, Harry Cohen, Isaac Wigdor and David Ber-
The Hebrew Free School at 17 West 23rd Street is but one of the
congregations' activities for the education of Jewish youth of which
Harris Boorstein is President.
BERGEN POINT BAPTIST CHURCH ORGANIZED IN 1887
The Bergen Point Baptist Church was organized in January 1887
and was an offspring of the Baptist Society of Bergen Point. The first
service was held February 1, 1887 in the German Church, Lord Ave-
nue and 3rd Street with the Rev. Robert E. Farrier preaching. The
late E. R. Craft, father of Lula Craft, Missionary at Rangoon, Bur-
mah, was one of the founders.
ANGELIC BAPTIST CHURCH
the angelic baptist church, a colored church, was founded in
1887 and was organized by the late Rev. John T. Thornton. The or-
ganizing took place at the home of Deacon Harry Thompson and as
the membership grew, larger quarters were needed. Salters Hall was
the second place of worship which was used until tlie present church
building at 9-1 1 East 46th Street was purchased. In 1912 it was re-
modelled and a basement installed. The present pastor is Rev. T. L.
BERGEN POINT METHODIST CHURCH
Frank M. Reynolds as class leader of the First Methodist Episcopal
Church on 31st Street and Avenue C organized a class in Bergen Point
section and on August 5, 1888 a Sunday School was formed which
later became the Bergen Point Methodist Church. It was incorporated
in May 1890. The first pastors were Rev. A. C. Turrell and Rev. W.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
A. Deaton. A new building was erected in 1892 and the old building
became the Sunday School Chapel. The first officers of the school
were Mr. Reynolds, Supt. ; Mrs. L. W. Thompson, Asst. Supt. ; F. E.
Thompson, Secretary ; Miss Anne Proctor, Treasurer ; John H. Hurley
was another early leader of the group. This group incorporated the
Sunday School into a church and called it the Bergen Point Methodist
Episcopal Church of Bayonne. The present pastor is Rev. Richard C.
st. Joseph's church
St. Joseph's Church is the second oldest Catholic congregation in
the City. The first church was bought from a Lutheran congregation
in 1888 for the sum of $7,500. to be used for the Catholic Slovaks of
Bayonne. The first pastor was the Rev. Samuel Bela who remained
until 1895 when Rev. John Hlebik became his successor. On Christ-
mas morning of 1908, with the Rev. Father George Szikora, the first
mass in the new edifice on Avenue E and 25th Street was celebrated.
The new church was built at a cost of $54,000. and at that time was
the largest in the city having a congregation of 4,000. The old
church, which was located on East 22nd Street, was turned over for
use as a parochial school. The present pastor is Rev. A. L. Adizima.
THE ELEOXORA EVANGELICAL CHURCH
The Swedish Lutherans first held services in 1888 in Trinity Epis-
copal Church on 5th Street. They later met in St. John's Lutheran
Church on West 27th Street and later on in St. Paul's Lutheran
Church on 25th Street.
The building which is now the Eleonora Church was originally
constructed for the First Reformed Church, then sold to St. John's
Episcopal Church and then sold to the city after several years occu-
pancy. The city used the building for the first high school and later
used it as an annex to School No. 2. A contractor later bought it from
the city and sold it to the Bayonne Republican Club which occupied the
place for five years until the new clubhouse at Broadway and 29th
Street was entered.
In June of 1908 the Republican Club sold the building to the con-
gregation of the Eleonora Church and on July 2nd of that year, work
of removing it to its present site was started. It is now located on
West 29th Street near the Boulevard and the present pastor is Rev.
A. A. Wilfred.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
ST. HENRY'S ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH STARTED AS OFFSPRING OF
St. Henry's Parish was organized in 1889 by about fifty German
families. On December 8, 1889 the cornerstone of the frame church
was laid which was on the site of the present postoffice. Father
Shandle was in charge. The church was dedicated on April 2, 1890.
The first Pastor, Alloys Heller, was appointed May 1890. In the sum-
mer of 1 89 1 St. Thomas' Church on West Thirtieth Street (the present
site of St. Henry's School) was dedicated. This was used by those
who found it inconvenient to go to Fourteenth Street to St. Mary's
Church. In March 1895 the two churches merged with Father George
Meyer in charge and formed the present St. Henry's Parish.
The first child baptised in St. Henry's Church was Adam Fink on
May 13, 1890; the first funeral was a child of Isidore Rolling and the
first marriage was that of John Huber and Helena Hock on July 25,
On Decoration Day, 191 5 St. Henry's new church was dedicated.
The new edifice is located on Avenue C and Twenty-ninth Street.
St. Henry's Church is a modified treatment of the early decorated
English Gothic architecture and its general ground plan is Cruiciform,
consisting of Naves, Aisles and transepts. The exterior is Bedford
Indian Limestone. The structure is said to be one of the most beauti-
ful examples of church architecture in New Jersey. It is a permanent
monument to the energy and determination of the Rev. Peter E. Reilly,
who was in charge of the parish from October 20, 1905 until the time of
his death. In 1905 there were about sixty families in the parish.
Father Reilly purchased the present site for $27,000. and ground
was broken June 17, 191 1, the cornerstone was laid by Bishop O'Con-
nor on September 5, 1912 and the church was dedicated on Memorial
Day 191 5. Today the parish has 1,100 families and about 5,000
parishioners. Rev. Dr. Michael J. Mulligan is the present pastor.
St. Henry's school has an enrollment of four hundred. Sisters of
St. Benedict of New Jersey have charge.
St. Henry's Catholic Women's Association had a house-warming
in the new clubhouse 93 West Thirty-fifth Street in January of 1940.
Previous to this the headquarters was in the old Butter Smith home-
stead and before that on East Thirty-third Street. There is seldom
a day or night that passes without some social activity in the club-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST, GREEK CATHOLIC CHURCH
St. John the Baptist, Greek Catholic Church, was organized on
East 22nd Street in Constable Hook 1897. The present church is
located at 15 East 26th Street and the present pastor is Rev. Emil
people's baptist church
In 1897 a small band of worshippers met in open air meetings in
the neighborhood of Sixteenth Street, in cooperation with the Rev. S.
J. Betts, a Baptist minister from Raleigh, N. C. So zealous was the
handful of the faithful, that their ranks grew and a temporary home
was ultimately established in a small store at 310 Broadway and
then moved to a rented chapel at Twenty-first Street. After a year
of meeting here a Mrs. Serell turned over to the infant congregation
a Chapel on West Twenty-third Street. This was augmented by a
liberal financial contribution. Payment for the property was arranged
for in Mrs. Serell's Will. Thus with enthusiasm and assistance the
People's Baptist Church was organized and later united with the
regular New Jersey Baptist Association of Churches. Under the
leadership of Rev. Betts the church prospered and grew. After eight
years of service the first pastor retired in 1905 returning to his southern
home and his work was taken up by the Rev. J. H. Troy.
Three lots were secured at the present location on West 27th
Street during the Rev. Troy's pastorate, the move for a new building
receiving further impetus when the Rev. M. T. Shelford was called to
the pulpit in 1906.
The cornerstone for the present structure was laid December 2^,
1908 and dedicated in May 1909. The parsonage adjoining the church
building was erected during the pastorate of the Rev. John H. Clark,
who followed. The present membership of 250 men and women is
guided by the Rev. James Rowe, Jr. who came to Bayonne in August
1927 joining his parents after years of separation. The Rev. Rowe
began his schooling in Staten Island moving to Bayonne with the
family in 1898. Rev. Mr. Rowe is one of the most active and be-
loved ministers in Bayonne, everyone having a good word for him.
Not only does he say he wishes there were ten days in a week, but he
should have that many to attend to all his activities. Aside from his
pulpit and parish duties he periodically spreads the Gospel at the
Rahway Reformatory, the Trenton State Prison, the Middlesex County
workhouse and the Newark City Jail.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Pastors preceding him in addition to the pioneers named were the
Rev. Arthur Potter, the Rev. Gerard M. Case, the Rev. Charles Mer-
crong, the Rev. J. Williams and the Rev. Thompson.
THE SACRED HEART POLISH NATIONAL CATHOLIC CHURCH
ORGANIZED IN 1898
The Sacred Heart Polish National Catholic Church was a wooden
structure near what is now 17 East 22nd Street in 1898 when it was
built by a group of Polish immigrants shortly after their arrival in
Bayonne. The chapel was built by the hands of the parishioners after
working hours in the local industries. The same driving spirit which
was the forerunner of the present church would not call a halt when
several years later fire twice demolished their house of worship.
The church which supplanted the chapel was erected on the site of
the present edifice on October 15, 1903. The cornerstone was laid
January 1, 1903 with the Rev. Francis Hodue, organizer of the
Polish National Catholic movement, officiating.
Of the special church building committee of eight, Leon Pejkowski
is the only survivor. Others were John Szulc, Francis Pysz, Maxi-
milian Milkowski, Peter Gejza, Walter Benish, Dominic Kucharski
and Louis Kubizna.
Construction of a rectory followed that of the church and follow-
ing in turn was the purchase of a two-acre tract of land on Willow
Brook Road near Forrest Avenue in Staten Island for use as cemetery
During the pastorate of Rev. Anthony Korona the church building-
was destroyed by fire — December 12, 1912. Misfortune again visited
the church on May 30, 191 5 while Rev. Jos. L. Zawistowski was rec-
tor. The house of worship was destroyed by fire.
It wasnt long, however, before the Poles, imbued with religious
fervor, rebuilt the damaged building. Latest of the major additions to
the equipment is a new pipe organ installed in 1928 and blessed on
July 15th of that year by the late Most Rev. Walenty Gawrychowski,
Bishop of the New England Diocese and former rector of the Sacred
Guardian here of the beautiful and rich traditions, customs and
literature of the Polish people, the church uses the Polish language in-
stead of the Latin in its liturgy. Hence, the Holy Sacrifice of the
Mass, the administration of the seven sacraments, vespers and all
sacred liturgical functions are performed in the language of the
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Sacred Heart Parish comes under the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of
the Most Rev. Francis Hodue of Scranton, Pa., first Bishop of the
Polish National Catholic Church who was consecreated September 29,
1907 in St. Gertrude's Cathedral Utrecht, Holland by Archbishop
Gerard Gul of Ultrecht.' The present pastor is Father Tengowski, who
was ordained July 29, 1934 by the Most Rev. John Z. Jasinski, Bishop
of the Buffalo-Pittsburgh Diocese of the Polish National Catholic
Church and appointed as the latter's secretary for his initial duties as
Sacred Heart Church is the sponsor of many parish organizations,
among them the Echo Choir, described as one of the most prominent
Polish Choirs in the New Jersey metropolitan area.
st. john's evangelical Lutheran church
St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church was launched in 1898 by
representatives of a number of families of German nativity in a small
wooden house of worship at 26 West 27th Street between Avenue C
and D. The present house of worship was erected and dedicated that
year. Pastoral charge of the congregation was held for two years by
Rev. William San ft who was then minister of a church in Greenville.
The parsonage at 35 West 26th Street was purchased and occupied
and the meeting room addition to church was constructed during the
incumbency of Rev. Echumm who was succeeded by Rev. A. Hol-
thusen who served for five years. Rev. John H. Volk came next, being
installed January 8, 1906 and at this time the congregation numbered
201 communicants and almost 400 persons, the church being crowded
to capacity during services. The Sunday School had 115 pupils. The
present pastor is Rev. J. Frederick Boehling. A German service is
conducted at 9 A. M., English service at 11 A. M. and Sunday School
at 10 A. M. On July 3, 1939, the congregation celebrated the twenty-
fifth wedding anniversary of their pastor and his wife.
OUR LADY OF MT. CARMEL
our lady of mt. carmel, Polish Catholic Church located on West
22nd Street started in a wooden structure. Incorporated January 25,
1898 with 300 families, and blessed in 1899. It was the smallest in the
Diocese at the time but today the parish is one of the largest. Rev.
Sigismund Swider was appointed in 1900. In 1902 the school was
started in the upstairs of the building which was the church, then later
the new church was built and the old building was turned into a modern
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
school which at the. present time has approximately 1,100 students of
elementary and grammar grades. The present church is a handsome
brick edifice and also included in the church property is a commodious
auditorium which was built in 1926, a home for the Sisters and the
Rectory was built in 1930. The property was cleared of debt many
years ago and is worth over $200,000. The present pastor is Rev.
THE FIFTH STREET REFORMED CHURCH ORGANIZED IN I9OI
The Fifth Street Reformed Church of Bayonne, N. J. was or-
ganized in the Fall of 1901 by the South Classes of Bergen. It was a
result of the consolidation of the congregations of the Bergen Point
Reformed Church which stood on Lord Avenue which was organized
in 1854 and the First Presbyterian Church on 5th Street and Newman
Avenue which was organized in 1884. When the Reformed Church
building was destroyed by fire in the winter of 1901 a movement was
started in the interest of a union of the two churches. Rev. Ferdinand
Wilson began his duties in the church on December 2, 1902 and re-
mained until 1920.
The congregation erected a hall which was useful to the com-
munity as well as the congregation. The Neighborhood Club met in
this hall. The club had members of all denominations and was a very
active social center, having bowling teams, dances, minstrel shows and
many other affairs. Rev. Musty who came later called a meeting in
the church and while the meeting was being held, bowling was going
on also. He objected to this and also objected to having all denomina-
tions as members and finally after finding no suitable meeting place, the
club was broken up.
The present rector is Rev. John J. Van Strien.
CHRIST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
Sealed in the cornerstone of Christ Presbyterian Church, Avenue
C and 42nd Street is a little boy's nickel, the nucleus of the fund which
resulted in the church's construction in 1902. The history of the
present house of worship had its origin in a Sunday School taught by
Miss Mary E. Gardner, believed to be deceased, who one Sunday
morning suggested that her students bring in a small donation for a
new church promising at the same time that she would match their
contributions with a donation of her own. The following Sabbath she
called for the donations, but forgetfulness had taken its toll during the
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
week and no one remembered to bring a contribution except a little
boy sitting in the rear who after searching in his pockets produced a
five cent piece. Adding a nickel of her own, Miss Gardner sent the
youngster with the coins to the pastor, the Rev. Harry Nesbit, second
of the church's clergymen, who related the incident to his congregation
that morning with a strong plea for the construction of a new church.
This church was actually started in 1899 and the first prayer meeting
was held July 2, 1899 at Lowell's Hall located at Grand Street. The
meetings were conducted by Rev. Floyd L. Cornish. They later moved
to Avenue D and 40th Street.
The new church came into existence in March 1902 at which time
the little boy's nickel coupled with that of Miss Gardner's became his-
tory, the full story of which was placed in the cornerstone for pos-
terity. The Rev. Harry Nesbit was pastor for eleven years and when
he resigned, his post was filled by the late Rev. Alexander Terhune,
who in turn was followed by the Rev. William Pope. Next in succes-
sion were the Rev. William Kaufman, the Rev. Paul Wagner and the
Rev. Franklyn Artly. The present pastor, Rev. John A. Hutchison, is
the youngest clergyman in the city being only twenty-eight years old.
THE TALMUD TORAH, BAYONNE's SECOND SYNAGOGUE
ORGANIZED IN I902
The second Jewish congregation formed in Bayonne was organized
in 1902 and is the largest numerically in the city. The Synagogue is
named The Talmud Torah. It is a brick structure on West 20th Street
between Avenue D and Avenue C. The congregation has a Free Loan
Association and the Hebrew Sheltering Aid Society. It supports a
Hebrew Free School. The Rabbi is Jacob Danishefsky.
Ohav Sholom is the third congregation which was formed in the
city and was organized about 1902 and now owns the building on West
20th Street. Jacob Zwick and Samuel Baer, Gabis.
GRACE ENGLISH EVANGELICAL CHURCH
The Luthern Church now located on Avenue C and 37th Street
and called the Grace English Evangelical Church started in Cadugan's
Hall on Broadway and 33rd Street. On July 6, 1907 the congrega-
tion moved to a meeting place at 40th Street and Broadway. Here the
Ladies Aid was organized. Charter members were Mrs. Geo. Bur-
rows, Mrs. A. Davis, Mrs. Maria De Freitas, Mrs. Louise Gogel, Mrs.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
H. M. Gold, Mrs. Anna Hall, Mrs. Lerch, Mrs. Jacob Markey, Mrs.
K. Murphy, Mrs. Ida Schlegel, Mrs. John P. Smith, Mrs. Bertha Vree-
land and Mrs. Bernette.
In 1908 the present site was bought and ground was broken and
consecrated September 1909 and the church was dedicated April 25,
1910. The present pastor is Rev. F. Hampton Berwager.
A group of about twenty men met to form the nucleus of what is
now one of the larger Jewish Congregations in the city in the year
1 9 10. They were the pioneers in the move which resulted in the con-
struction of Temple Emanu'El and the office of the late Judge Hyman
Lazarus in the Opera House Building Avenue C and 26th Street, was
the scene of their first campaign plans.
Interest in fostering a move for a synagogue in the community
that would meet the needs of the second and third generation of Ameri-
can Jews, the men after a preliminary conference held their first regu-
lar session on April 25, 191 1. Two years later, in July, the cornerstone
for Temple Emanu'El was laid. Even before the structure was com-
pleted, however, worship was conducted there on the high holy days of
1913. The building is located at 735 Boulevard. A site at the south-
east ocrner of 28th Street and Avenue C had been the original choice
but was sold to the City of Bayonne at the municipality's request. The
architect for the Temple was Samuel Horowitz, who with Leon
Lazarus, lawyer and chairman of the building committee, supervised its
construction. The first Temple Emanu'El officers were the late Judge
Lazarus, publisher of The Bayonne Times, President ; Simon Elbaum,
First Vice-President ; Dr. Morris Tepper, Second Vice-President ; Dr.
Charles J. Larkey, Secretary and Max L. Solinsky, Treasurer. The
trustees were Judge Lazarus, Leon Lazarus, Dr. Tepper, Simon
Elbaum, Jacob Herman, Charles Grotsky, Morris Hirson, Jack Cohen
and Samuel Goodman. At the time of the first session a ladies auxi-
liary had already been organized under the presidency of Mrs. Simon
Elbaum and had its first social function, a bazaar at the Opera House.
The synagogue, established in accordance with the principals of
conservative Judaism, has been in charge of the following clergymen :
Rabbi Louis Berman, Rabbi Bernard Rosengard, Rabbi Louis Schwe-
fel, Rabbi Benjamin Plotkin and Rabbi Kohn. The membership of
the Temple Emanu'El is 150 at the present time. There are several
organizations affiliated with the Temple.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
CHRISTIAN SCIENCE CHURCH
The Bayonne branch of the Christian Science Church, or the First
Church of Christ, Scientist, was organized in June 1912, first services
being held in the Republican Clubhouse, Broadway and 29th Street.
Membership and attendance at meetings grew so steadily that the group
was regularly chartered as a church in April 19 19 and re-incorporated
in June 1925, under the New Jersey Religious Society Act.
With its expansion of membership and growth of interest, larger
quarters became necessary. This problem was solved in 1929 when
the Masonic Temple Association offered the use of its headquarters
for service and lectures and it is there that the congregation has been
meeting ever since.
A reading room is a part of the new home, use of which is avail-
able to all members desiring to read or study the Bible, the works of
Mary Baker Eddy, the Christian Science Monitor, or other authorized
Christian Science literature.
Mrs. William Soden is the church reader and Miss Dorothy Meyers
is the second reader. The Board of Trustees is composed of the fol-
Mrs. John Collins, chairman who also serves as Treasurer ; Mrs.
Val. Meyers, Mrs. Carl Tanzer, Mrs. Oris Eisenberg and Dr. Samuel
Eisenberg. Other trustees are Mrs. Mathilda Wychoff who is also
clerk and Sunday School Superintendent and Miss Mary C Coles, also
ST. NICHOLAS ORTHODOX RUSSIAN GREEK CATHOLIC CHURCH
St. Nicholas Orthodox Russian Greek Catholic Church on the
Boulevard and 24th Street is the home of Russian born parishioners
who were organized as a distinct parish in 19 13, the church being-
erected in 191 5. They also have their own parochial school. The
present pastor is Rev. Paul Bezkishkin.
st. Andrew's roman catholic church
St. Andrew's Roman Catholic Church was named in honor of
Monsignor Egan and was erected in 19 14. The Rev. Charles Doyle of
Roselle, a former Assistant to Monsignor Egan, at the latter's request,
was appointed the first pastor of St. Andrew's in December 19 15. The
cornerstone of the church on West 4th Street was laid in 1913. The
parish was incorporated in December of the same year. The parish
consisted of the southern section of St. Mary's Star of the Sea Parish,
the mother parish and church of the denomination in the city. A paro-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
chial school is attached to the church. The present pastor is Rev.
OHAB SHOLEM CONGREGATION OF UPTOWN
Ohab Sholem of Uptown is the most recently organized Jewish
congregation in the city. The Synagogue is at 48th Street and Avenue
C and was erected in 1920. Judah Alpert is the Canter. A Com-
munity Center Hall is also attached to this organization. All synago-
gues in Bayonne are chartered under the name of the United Hebrew
FRIENDSHIP BAPTIST CHURCH
Friendship Baptist Church started with five baptized believers who
formed the nucleus of the congregation on May 10, 1925. The quintet
met with the Rev. William J. Jones, Missionary secretary of the New
Jersey Baptist and Afro- American Baptist State Conventions, and the
Rev. F. W. Means, pastor of the Salem Baptist Church of Jersey City.
These five worshippers, organized as a regular Missionary Baptist
Church, and assumed its present name and rented, for worship,
quarters at 47 West 19th Street. The pastor was the Rev. J. W.
White, another of the group's first leaders. He resigned March 10,
1926 and at that time the congregation moved to 545 Boulevard where
Rev. D. G. Dunkins was pastor. Shortly after, he resigned on April
6, 1927, the church was incorporated as a legal religious institution
with former District Court Judge Horace Roberson drawing the
The next pastor was the Rev. Walter R. Burton under whose leader-
ship the church grew and they contracted and purchased premises at
90-92 West 20th Street. This property consisted of an old three-story
frame building, a small old brick house and a brick building in the
rear formerly used as a factory.
The cost price of $15,000 however proved too much for the young
church and the mortgage was ultimately foreclosed in 1934. Rev.
Burton resigned on February 22, 1934 and the future looked dismal.
Continuing to meet in the former factory building through rental a
group of forty-five members extended a call to the Rev. Tibbs a year
after Rev. Burton left. Having resigned from the Second Baptist
Church in Keyport, the Rev. Tibbs accepted and took charge March 2,
1935. With the arrival of the new pastor the affairs of the church
grew and new members joined and the congregation, in a short time,
boasted of 200 members.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
In line with the brightened outlook, the congregation purchased
the present church site in December 1935 at 22 West 20th Street the
ground breaking ceremonies followed June 21, 1936. The old build-
ing on the new site was razed leaving only parts of the two side walls
to serve as the nucleus for the present structure and the cornerstone
was laid October 16, 1937 by the then United States Senator A. Harry
Moore, when he was campaigning for the governorship. A host of city
and county officials as well as many Christian ministers from various
parts of the state attended. Although, incomplete, worship in the new
church was held for the first time on Christmas day 1937.
Estimated at a cost of more than $25,000 Friendship Baptist
Church was built by voluntary contributions of members, assisted by
friends and People's Baptist Church, First Reformed, First Baptist,
Fifth Street Reformed and Bergen Point Methodist Churches.
GLUCKMAN HEBREW HOME FOR THE AGED
In the early part of 1925 the Gluckman estate was donated for a
Jewish Home for Aged by Mrs. Rose Gluckman. The building is
located at 735 Avenue C. Joseph Penchansky-Gabi.
ST. VINCENT DE PAUL'S ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH
St. Vincent De Paul's parish was formed from the parishes of St.
Henry and St. Mary and incorporated June 16, 1894. Rev. Father
Meyer started St. Vincent's Mission in Salters Hall and the first Mass
was celebrated July 7, 1895. Bol Farrell and his wife were the first
The parish was attended from St. Henry's Church until the ap-
pointment of the Rev. Joseph Gately, July 2, 1900. The congregation
met from 1895 t0 l 9°& in the small frame building on West Centre
Street. In 1906 they moved to a wooden structure where the present
church stands. Father Joseph Dolan who became pastor in August
19 19 journeyed to Europe for ideas on the new building to be erected
and he visited all famous churches of the Old World for suggestions.
Ground was broken in 1927 for the new church at a cost of
$535,000. The new church structure, replica of St. Georges, Venice,
is of Lombardo Romanesque architecture, the tower is companile two
hundred feet high, the body of structure is of Plymouth Granite and
steel and the seating capacity of the church is 1,100. The Manual
organ is by the Hinners Company of Peking, 111. The stations of the
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
cross, of which there are fourteen, are of hammered bronze and in
The pews are carved in harmony with the circular Roman Windows
and the shield lights in the transept have been copied from the Hall of
Knights in Windsor Castle, England. Each bears the likeness of a
Coronet symbolizing as Father Dolan, pointed out, "that the church
is the house of Christ, King of Kings." The Altars are of Roman
design, the stained glass windows are the work of Clarke Bros, of
Dublin, Ireland and they represent progressively the story of the Mass.
This fine new granite edifice was completed in 1930.
St. Vincent's School was first organized on September 8, 19 19 with
250 students. In 1940 there are 501 students and a faculty of II.
ss peter's and Paul's Russian orthodox church
On April 11, 1938 SS Peter's and Paul's Russian Orthodox
Church on West 28th Street near the Boulevard was dedicated. The
congregation was organized in 1922 and the new church marks a high
point in the history of the church. Eastern architecture with three
cupolos facing the front, the church is the nearest approach to pure
Russia the city has ever had, although no part, either fixtures or mate-
rials were brought from abroad. It is a replica of St. Isaacs church in
Moscow. The Mosque from which a view can be had for miles around,
is faithfully copied.
Mr. Feldman, Brooklyn Artist, constructed the church in addition
to copying the architecture. He has painted a picture of a scene from
the Old Testament for the Altar. He was at one time, according to
information given by the Rev. John Kopistiansky, a professor of Arts
in a Petrograd Art Academy.
Funds for the structure of the church were obtained mainly from
the congregation with some donation from Russians not belonging to
the church. The church carries no mortgage, its debts are solely those
undertaken by members of the congregation who have provided the
money for it on a simple no interest basis.
The church seats about 250 with spacious aisles and roomy balcony
permitting 150 more. This church is known for its fine music.
The Parish Hall is back of the church and the property that joins
that of 95 West 27th Street is where the pastor makes his home.
ASSUMPTION ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH
The cornerstone of the Church of the Assumption on West 23rd
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Street was laid November 16, 1902 and the church dedicated in Decem-
ber 1902 by Bishop O'Connor.
In April 1939, ground was broken for a new parish school of the
Assumption Church, which is a dream come true for the Italian popu-
lation of Bayonne. From a tiny hall on West 24th Street where 39
years ago about 500 families came to pray, grew the Assumption
Roman Catholic Church and plans are now being made for expansion
to accommodate more than 5,000 families now in the congregation.
This church was started from a private dwelling and today 15,000
young and old come within the influence of the Assumption Church.
Other buildings to be erected in the $200,000 expansion program are
a convent building and an addition to the present church. Facilities
for recreation as well as education will be provided in the parish school
and an increase in seating capacity of 500 is planned for the church
addition. The school and the convent will be of fire-proof construc-
tion, equipment in plumbing, heating, ventilation and electrical sys-
tems. The floors and stairs will be of terrazzo and the walls of tile
and the school auditorium and convent chapel artistically decorated.
Rev. Michael Mercolino is pastor.
Other denominations in the city, not before mentioned are :
The New Zion, located at 60 West 22nd Street, which is a Baptist
Church with the Rev. B. J. Mainor as pastor.
First Slovak Church of Christ at 28 Andrew Street with the Rev.
M. S. Mateyka as pastor.
St. Mary's Ukrainian on East 25th Street with the Rev. Demeter
Gulyn as pastor.
Wallace Temple A. M. E. Zion, Avenue C and 17th Street with
the Rev. R. B. Frazier as pastor.
Italian Christian Pentecoastal at 131-33 West 24th Street.
Christ the King Church of Jersey City, Bayonne Branch meets at
K. of C. with Rev. Joseph A. Shovlin as pastor.
St. Michael's R. C. Church at 15 East 23rd Street with the Rev.
Joseph Petraitis, as pastor.
The non-denominational are : Church of God in Christ at 83 West
19th Street with the Rev. Gabbe Prunell, as pastor.
HOLY FAMILY ACADEMY
The Holy Family Academy which is located on West Eighth Street,
is the largest private school in the city. It opened on September 10,
1925 with a faculty of six the first year and 138 students. It started
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
as a commercial school, then developed into High School preparatory
for college. The teachers are Sisters of Mount St. Joseph's College in
Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia.
Diplomas were presented to fifty graduates at commencement ex-
ercises in 1934 which were held in St. Mary's Church. At that time,
Miss Kathryn Cronin, daughter of the late Matthew T. Cronin, one
time Mayor of the City, valedictorian, was awarded a scholarship to
Mount St. Joseph's College at Chestnut Hill, Pa.
At the present time there are twenty-two in the faculty and 518
THE PUBLIC SCHOOLS IN BAYONNE FROM THE
EARLY DAYS TO THE PRESENT TIME: THE
BAYONNE PUBLIC LIBRARY
In Bergen Point the district school was on Dodge Street and Broad-
way. At a later time the villagers of Bergen point completed ar-
rangements with Roswell Graves, a public spirited citizen, for the
purchase of a plot of ground for the site of a new school to be situated
more centrally. This ground was at Fifth Street and Dodge and it
contained about thirteen and three-quarter lots and was obtained May
25, 1857. A building committee was appointed and a school building
constructed. This was District School No. 5 and cost the sum of
$2,190.86 for building and furniture. The price paid for the site was
$831.50, the total expense being $3,025.36.
This old wooden structure, decapitated of its imposing square tur-
ret and altered into a two-story tenement house and so used for many
years, had a rather remarkable career for so small and insignificant
appearing a building. Abandoned for school purposes after the erec-
tion of Public School No. 4, the old frame building was utilized for
a long period as the police station for the Fourth Ward and was
finally sold to the late Thomas Tourney, who converted it into a public
During the administration of the first Mayor, there were five
brick school buildings constructed.
The winter of 1869-70 Public School No. 2 on Avenue D between
Twenty-fifth and Twenty-sixth Streets was completed at a cost of
$12,000. The opening of Public School No. 5 on East Twenty-second
Street, Constable Hook occurred in the autum of the year 1870. The
cornerstone for the new No. 5 Elementary and Binet School was laid
in 19 19. This school is located on 30th Street and Prospect Avenue
and is a large, modern fire-proof school with a capacity for eight hun-
dred students although there is an enrollment of approximately only
three hundred students at the present time. Miss Marguerite Cran is
No. 4 School on Fifth Street costing $16,000. was completed
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
shortly after No. 2 and was opened in September 1871. The old frame
schoolhouse on Dodge Street was then converted into an Engine House.
Xo. 3 School in Pamrapo, on Center Street, was completed at a cost
of $17,000. One thousand children attended the public schools at that
The first night school for the city was established by the Board of
Education during the winter of 1873-4 in Public School No. 4.
The seating capacities of the several public schools were: No. 1,
217 pupils; No. 2, 317 pupils; No. 3, 315 pupils; No. 4, 438 pupils and
No - 5, 155 PUP^s.
In 1876 No. 1 School, which was built on Fifth Street between
Avenue C and Newman Avenue was opened. The cost of this school
was $20,000. The school served for many years but finally outgrew
its usefulness and a new building was needed. The new building,
which is located on Avenue C and Fifth Street, at the laying of the
cornerstone October 27, 1920, was named the Henry E. Harris School,
in honor of Henry E. Harris, who was Principal of the old No. 1
School for forty-three years. School Trustee George Greenly was the
Chairman of the exercises. Charles S. Havens succeeded Mr. Harris
as Principal and Miss Anna J. Heibert was Acting Principal until No.
8 School closed its doors on February 1, 1940. Mr. Francis K.
Strohoefer, who had been Principal of No. 8 School since 192 1, as-
sumed the post as Principal. This is a Junior High School with
Kindergarten and first grade.
No. 6 School was completed on Thirty-eighth Street between Ave-
nue C and D in 1888 at a cost of $21,000. Mr. Ebenezer Earl was
Principal for many years and Miss Jessie Wheeler, later Mrs. Thomas
Agnew, and the Misses Helen and Josephine Ramsay were connected
with No. 6 for many years. Thomas Agnew became Principal after
Mr. Earl retired. The population increased in the uptown section so
that the school became over-crowded and in 1920 an addition in the
form of a new building adjoining the old one was completed. The
new building was called the Horace Mann School. The present Prin-
cipal of the school is Mr. Joseph T. McCormack.
The first High School was organized in a frame building in 1892.
The academic classes, which had previously been held in Schools Nos.
2 and 4 and 6 were transferred to the old church building on Avenue D
and 29th Street and termed the High School. Due to the increase in
the population the High School became cramped and on December 6,
1897 the school was transferred to Schuyler Hall at Bergen Point. In
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
19 io the first building for the High School was completed on Thirty-
first Street between Avenue C and the Boulevard. The administration
of School Superintendent, John W. Can* began September 1, 1909
when he succeeded James H. Christie who had been Superintendent of
Schools for several years. Preston H. Smith was Principal of the
High School at that time which position he held until Mr. Carr left
Bayonne to act as President of the Friend's School for Girls in Phila-
delphia. At the present time Mr. Carr is connected with Murray State
Teachers College in Murray, Ky. Mr. Smith thus became Super-
intendent of Schools on November 15, 191 5.
The new Senior High School, located on Avenue A and Twenty-
eighth Street was completed in April 1937. It is said to be one of
the finest schools in the State. The Library, one of the finest in the
country, gives one the feeling of being in the solarium of a fine hotel,
as it is beautifully located overlooking Newark Bay. The cafeteria is
second to none and the chemical laboratory is the last word in modern
improvement. Mr. Howard E. Merity is the Principal. The old
Senior High School on Thirty-first Street is now used as the High
School Annex and the principal is Mr. John J. Mullen.
In 1894 old No. 3 School in Pamrapo was condemned, having been
cracked in the process of moving it from Center Street to Forty-seventh
Street. A new No. 3 was completed on Avenue D between Forty-
ninth and Fiftieth Streets and was opened for use April 28, 1897. It
contained sixteen rooms. The land cost $6,400., building $44,888. Mr.
George A. Atwater was the first principle of the new No. 3 School.
During 1936 the school was torn down, having outgrown its usefulness.
On April 15, 1898 a contract was awarded for the erection of a
new twenty-room school, No. 7, on property between Seventeenth and
Andrew Streets; price of land was $12,400. building $71,300. This
school was opened for use September 5, 1899. The principal at the
present time is Mr. Harold Levy.
School No. 8 was built on Avenue C between 27th and 28th Streets
in 1903. Mr. Francis K. Strohoefer was the principal, until it closed
its doors February 1, 1940.
During 1909 Lincoln School was erected at East 26th Street. Miss
Catherine McGrath is the present principal.
In 19 1 2 Roosevelt School, located on West 23rd Street, was built
and at the present time Mr. Walter F. Robinson is the principal ; No.
12 School, located on West 10th Street was also erected that year and
Mr. Harry Schaul is the present principal.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Philip G. Vroom School on Broadway and 26th Street was com-
pleted in 191 5 and at the present time Mr. A. E. Lovett is the Principal.
On February 7, 19 19, at the recommendation of Supt. of Schools,
Mr. Preston H. Smith, all local teachers of public schools who had seen
service abroad, upon their return to duty, were to receive an increase
of $500. to their regular salary, providing the increase did not overstep
the maximum. Mr. Smith said that the increase was a just action
and richly deserved by the boys. The teachers who saw foreign service
were : Profs. Hookway, Burns, Tucker, Jacobs, Strohoefer and Brenen.
On June 12, 19 19 the new Washington School on the Boulevard
between 47th and 48th Streets was dedicated. The principal at the
present time is Mr. A. Thomas Hookway.
In January of 1920 lip reading classes were established in No. 12
School under the charge of Miss Agnes Lenox.
In 192 1 the Mary J. Donohoe School, named in honor of Miss
Mary J. Donohoe who for many years was principal, was erected on
5th Street. Mr. James H. Christie is the present principal, Mary
Donohoe having retired a few years ago.
During 1924 the Junior High School was completed and it was con-
sidered as fine a school as any in the State. The Junior High, with its
fine swimming pool and the Vocational with its modern machinery and
industrial outlook which gives a point toward a broader interpretation
of the meaning of the word "education." Miss Lucy McDermott is
Principal, of Junior High and Edward Berman is Principal of Voca-
The Superintendent of Schools, Preston H. Smith, submitted his
statistical report for the month of May to the Board of Education on
June 17, 1927 with an enrollment in the elementary schools of twelve
thousand, three hundred fifty-eight ; in the Junior High, one thousand
four hundred seventy-three; in the High School one thousand three
hundred fifty-four making the total of fifteen thousand, one hundred
eighty-five students in the day schools. There were 355 pupils in the
continuation classes and 168 in the evening high school.
On September 2, 1927 the Bayonne Public School Buildings, lands
and equipment were worth $6,560,330 according to the annual report
of the Secretary submitted to the Board of Education. Prepared by
Joseph Sklenar, Secretary to the Board, the report was complete, com-
prehensive and detailed containing a summary of the receipts and dis-
bursements for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1927.
The Bayonne High School Orchestra gave a highly commended
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
public concert in the High School Auditorium on June 16, 1929. More
than one hundred students made up the orchestra which was under the
direction of Ben Levy, instructor of music in the school.
The cornerstone for the YVoodrow Wilson School was laid October
1930. The impressive school is a model of its kind and represents,
with equipment, an investment of close to $1,000,000. The school was
formerly dedicated May 12, 1932 with impressive ceremonies in the
school's spacious first floor auditorium crowded to overflowing, with
members of local fraternal organizations, parents of pupils and the
general public. Miss Elizabeth Duffy is the principal.
The Board of Education initiated a movement in September 1932
calculated to bring about one hundred per cent local residence of
Bayonne teachers by influencing faculty members who live out of town
to move into the city or resign from their positions.
In 1933 Soup Kitchens were established in the city schools in an
effort to aid hundreds of school children, who because of conditions
at home, were probably suffering from malnutrition.
Because of the record-breaking number of students, (412) the
largest class in the school's history, 1934 attendance at the exercises at
High School were limited to families of the graduates.
Six hundred pupils of the Elementary and Junior High Schools of
Bayonne were heard in a music festival at the Junior High School
Auditorium on June 3, 1935. Miss Josephine G. Duke, director of
Music, was in charge.
On April 30, 1938 the memory of the late Emily A. Williams,
former principal of School No. 8 and first president of the Mt. Carmel
Guild, was perpetuated in a memorial presented by the Guild to the
Woodrow Wilson School. The Memorial, a shrine of the Constitution
of the United States was accepted on behalf of the school by the Prin-
cipal, Frank K. Strohoefer and on behalf of Miss Williams by Assistant
Superintendent of Schools, Anna J. Herbert.
On October 8, 1938 there were 14,083 students enrolled in the day
schools in the city and 6,593 of those students were in the Senior and
Junior High Schools.
On June 5, 1939 the date which would have been the birthday of
the late Principal Daniel P. Sweeney, was commemorated with the
dedication of the Bayonne Senior High School Library of the nucleus
of a memorial collection of books. In a simple, quiet ceremony, the
tribute was paid to the late educator in the presence of members of
Mr. Sweeney's family, former associates, faculty members and the
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
school's student participation committee. The shelves are adjacent to
the Library fireplace, where it was said Mr. Sweeney frequently stood
to gaze out into Newark Bay.
Vocational High School at Avenue A and 30th Street is a fine
The Vocational High School, for the first time in its history,
planned to issue a yearbook, 1939. The following staff members were
appointed: Joseph Bernstein, editor-in-chief; John Leight, Business
Manager ; Thadeus Oltarzewski and Donald Sharkey, associate editors.
Open house was also observed at the end of the season of 1939 at
the Vocational High School when the public was invited to witness
demonstrations of studies conducted in the classrooms. One of the
highlights was the science show at which time a demonstration was
given including exhibits of man-made lightning, the uses of the photo-
electric eye, new advances in gas and electric welding, pictures of the
human voice, reaction-time oil testing and numerous uses of auto-
matic controllers. Guests were invited to inspect all classrooms, shops
and laboratories. Among those which have won attention in previous
observances of open house are the electronic laboratory with its licensed
sending station, the material testing laboratory, air conditioning, refrig-
eration and beauty culture rooms, heating and oil burning laboratory,
machine and pattern shops, drafting rooms, electrical maintenance shop,
internal combustion engine laboratory, automotive shops, the printing
shop and the electrical laboratory.
As the population of the city grew, larger schools were built and
today our public schools, from an architectural and educational stand-
point, compare favorably with those in the largest cities of our country.
THE BAYONNE PUBLIC LIBRARY
The Bayonne Public Library came into existence April 8, 1890
when voters of the city, in an overwhelming majority, decided in favor
of a library for the city. On August 4th a Library Board was chosen
in accordance with the State Law. The first Library Board, appointed
by Mayor Newman was : Joseph H. Wright, Bartholomew R. Cahill,
William J. Morrison, John H. Bruns, William B. DuBois, the Mayor
himself and Nathaniel W. Trask, at that time President of the Board
of Education, being Trustees ex-officio.
Mrs. Solon Humphreys had started a library a few years previous
to the establishment of the city library for the workmen at the Hook
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
and when the city started the library the books of the Workmen's
Library were given to it. Thomas J. Parker, who was President of
the Workmen's Library became afterwards a trustee of the City
Andrew Carnegie presented Bayonne with $50,000. for a Public
Library in April of 1903. The site for this building had previously
been selected on Avenue C and 31st Street and work was started in the
Fall of that year.
An addition to the Public Library was completed in 1933 at a cost
of $300,000. Mary Peters, head Librarian, has been connected with
the library for nearly 32 years. She announced at that time that the
circulation of books for the year was 680,618.
Miss Peters attended the public, high and the Normal Schools of
New Jersey, the University of Pennsylvania, Amherst and the New
Jersey Public Library Commission Library schools. She taught eight
and one-half years in the public schools of the state. Leaving the
teaching profession, she reorganized several libraries, and later was
appointed librarian of the Bayonne Public Library.
Miss Peters then entered into the professional life of the library
profession, being an active member in three state, two special and
one national library associations ; for eight years was treasurer of the
New Jersey Library Association, also president of the Library Works'
Association for two terms, officially visited libraries and library con-
ferences throughout this country and abroad. Entering the life of the
community, Miss Peters served as president of the Woman's Club,
Athena Club, was a member of the Board of Trustees of the Y.W.C.A.,
of the Girl Scouts, Secretary of the Hudson County Tuberculosis
League, Chairman of the International Institute, and Secretary of the
Salvation Army Advisory Board and at the present time is one of the
officers of the Ex-President's Club of the New Jersey State Federation
of Woman's Clubs. During the war, Miss Peters was active on numer-
ous boards and committees, representing the American Library As-
sociation in the United War Work Drive. Miss Peters belongs to
numerous organizations in the state, including historical societies,
country clubs, etc.
1812 TO 1940
Bayonne As An Industrial City.
Prior to and during the Civil War Bayonne was the Newport, the
Atlantic City of the East, ranking with all the others as the most
fashionable and popular resort and fashion center of the East.
But nature had done a great thing for our City. Fine waters, rugged
coast line, accessibility to water and to the great metropolis presented
an irresistible lure to industry. Accordingly the great companies, the
leading industries of the nation found their way to Bayonne where fac-
tory after factory sprang into existence. Bayonne became a city of
beating hammers of industry, whirling wheels of machinery and quiv-
ering needles of trade. Thousands upon thousands of laboring people
followed industry. Population grew by leaps and bounds. And we
have the Bayonne of today. Before, it was a quiet and peaceful retreat
and rendezvous for leisure and plenty ; today it is a busy crossroads of
The Hazard Powder House was located at Allen's Point, Con-
stable Hook in 1812 and according to the records, it was the first
manufacturing concern in this locality. It supplied great quantities of
gun powder to ships and to Fort Jay on Governor's Island and forts on
Ellis and Bedloe Islands. After the building was discarded as a fac-
tory it was used for prize-fights, dog fights and general like sports.
Prior to 1848 the Bergen Point Copper Works was established and
White's Sulphur Works located in the city in 1850. These industries
preceded the oil industry by nearly twenty-five years.
Louis Cohn's Ship Chandlery Shop was located on Twenty-second
Street and Avenue I and it was torn down later for Standard Oil
The advent of the oil refineries stimulated Bayonne as a shipping-
center. The first plant was that of the Prentice Refining Company.
This was established on Constable Hook in 1875.
In 1876 Lombard & Ayers established a plant at the Hook and
about ten years later sold out to the Tide Water Oil Company.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
STANDARD OIL COMPANY
The Standard Oil Company erected an oil refinery on Constable
Hook in June 1877 and on May 30, 1887 took over the Prentice Re-
fining Company. Soon thereafter the longest oil pipe line in the world
was put down from Bayonne to Oklahoma and Texas. From that be-
ginning Bayonne has become a great oil centre with city proportions.
Many ships come into their docks daily and millions of gallons of gas-
oline, oil and derivative products are shipped to all parts of the world.
The 2,200 inflammable acres of stills, cracking units and storage
tanks at Bayonne and Bay way are the first glimpse that the immigrant
entering New York harbor receives of American Industry.
In 19 1 3 the Standard Oil Plant shipped 2,608,660 tons of oil and
oil products by water. There were received into this plant by water
797,240 tons making a total amount of business done by water over
their docks 3,405,907 tons. This does not include the materials used in
the preparation of oil and oil products, such as tinplate, boxes, steel
pipe machinery, etc.
The plant is equipped with four large docks capable of handling the
largest commercial vessels in the world. Fifteen large ships can be
accommodated at these docks at one time. To do this large business
496 ship loads were received and sent out, 410 being loaded and 86
brought in, laden with oil, 293 barges, oil laden, were also received
and 1,704 barges, an average of six a clay, released. The ships and
barges vary from a capacity of 3,000 to a capacity of 15,060 tons.
They go to all parts of the world, many cargoes reaching the far in-
terior of China, the Pacific Ocean and interior of Africa, Australia,
South America, Scandinavia and as far north as the Arctic Circle. Just
how well the company looks after its employees and their interests may
be gleaned from the fact that it maintains a private hospital and a corps
of physicians and surgeons with every modern convenience for the
treatment of the sick and first aid to the injured. Also a pension sys-
tem has been introduced by which a person having worked for the
company for twenty years and having reached the age of 60 years is
entitled to retirement on half pay for the remainder of his life. The
men are employed on eight hour basis, day and night shifts, the shifts
being so arranged that a man on nights gets on to day work every third
week, and no man works over six days without a day of rest.
The health and welfare of the men when inside the plant are looked
after in a most careful manner and in this respect it is one of the safest
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
industries in the country. George Mettam is the General Manager of
the Bayonne plant.
THE STANDARD OIL STRIKE IN I915
During the Standard Oil strike in 191 5, the New York Times car-
ried the following headline, ''Standard Oil's Aliens Strike." The
walkout started in mid-July when nine hunded coopers quit the barrel
department. A day or two later, the still-cleaners joined them, 6,000
men walking out at the Standard Oil Plant and 2,000 more at the Tide-
water Refinery. Wages were at the top of the list of grievances. The
barrel-makers had been earning $3.40 a day, while the still-cleaners
enjoyed a wage of $1.75.
Mayor Pierre Garven, a Fink executive, who acted as a Tidewater
attorney even while he occupied the mayor's chair, advised the com-
panies to import armed guards. John Ryan, a renegade union man em-
ployed as a pumpman by the Standard Oil, was the informant for Ber-
goff, the strike-breaker, called the "Red Demon." On the basis of his
reports, Bergoff received an order for five undercover men. The
workers, however, were making no secret of their dissatisfaction and
when Bergoff* came to George B. Gifford, General Manager of the
Standard Oil Refinery, he had nothing new to impart.
"Get me two hundred and fifty husky men who can swing clubs,"
Gifford told Bergoff. "If that's not enough, get a thousand or two
thousand. I want them to march up East 22nd Street through the
guts of Polacks."
East 22nd Street wound up at the fences and gates of both plants.
Here the strikers gathered for their picketing. Gifford's plan to
march the guards "through the guts of Polacks" was abandoned, it
seems, for the nobles were shipped on covered barges from New York
City to the bay entrances of the plants. First the rifles and ammuni-
tion were shipped in, making arsenals which, according to the Bayonne
Times, would suffice for a month of warfare. Waddell and Leo
Bergoff were in charge of the distribution of the nobles. Jack Eller
was made Captain of the Guard at the Tidewater Plant, while Jew
Stoney was given command over Standard Oil nobles. Several of
the nobles who had taken part in the Roosevelt, New Jersey, shooting
early in the year were among the guards. According to John J.
Rigney, detective in charge of the Bayonne Police Department's Bu-
reau of Identification, the guards included also a number of drug
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
addicts, "who were eager for the chance to fire their guns." The
United States Commission on Industrial Relations said that even
Alexander Simpson, attorney for Bergoff, had "referred to the guards
as a lot of thugs" and the commission added, "Their appearance amply
justified his use of the term."
The Bergoff guardsmen appeared on East 22nd Street on the
evening of July 20th. One striker was slugged on the head. In the
first disturbances, the police of Bayonne were also on hand. Police In-
spector, Daniel Cady, seated in a buggy, charged a strikers' meeting
and shot and killed a young striker, John Starachak, according to the
findings of a coroner's jury. Seven were wounded by police fire. Then
came the Bergoff nobles, and the police retired.
The guards were heavily armed and instructed to use their own
judgment. Early on July 21st they sallied forth to clean East 22nd
Street of strikers. The killing of Starachak and the slugging of the
striker had left the strikers in no mood to give way. With bricks and
stones and a dozen old revolvers, they forced the guards back into the
plant. At 10 A. M. one hundred of the nobles, Winchesters in their
hands, began the attack again; and again they were driven back.
Fifteen of them ran into the plant of the Tidewater Company while an-
other party led by one-armed Bush, took refuge in a firehouse. They
left twelve wounded strikers in the streets. A mob intent on revenge
surrounded the fire-house, and permitted the guards to leave only after
Sheriff Kinkead had arrived from Jersey City and placed them under
arrest for their attack on the strikers.
From July 22nd on, the nobles did their fighting from behind walls
that surrounded the plants. They sniped at strikers, poured shots into
windows and walls of homes opposite the plants, tried to shoot Kinkead
and did kill three strikers. Soon after eight o'clock on the 22nd, Tony
Bedlarski was walking on a dirt embankment that rose near the stock-
ade wall of the Standard Oil Plant. A shot came from within, and he
rolled down the incline, a bullet in his left side. The strikers saw
this incident and, as the New York Times said "realized the attack
had been unprovoked." Led by John Surgen, a former Austrian war
veteran, two hundred strikers rushed to hurl stones and sticks over the
parapet whence came volleys of gunshot. Surgen was wounded and
died later. Bullets rained into the upper stories of tenements across
the street from the plant. Newspaper reporters endangered their lives
by binding up the wounded and rushing them off in trucks. Again
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Shortly after, gunfire sputtered again from the Tidewater Plant,
aimed at a group of boys gathered on 22nd Street. As Kinkead urged
the boys to leave, he turned and saw a guard inside the plant with
a gun leveled at him. Kinkead dodged, but the shot took effect, killing
Vasil Merozekow. The boys and strikers retreated in haste and hid
behind buildings. While peering out from behind Mydosh's Hall
Mikolay Ewoski was killed by a sniper. Others in the Bergoff sharp-
shooters fired at newspaper men. One shot pierced the hat of a re-
porter, though he bore not the slightest resemblance to the strikers.
Kinkead, meanwhile, had telephoned the Tidewater office and demanded
that the shooting cease. His order was ignored and sniping continued
until interrupted by a downpour of rain. When the rain slackened, an
oil fire started in a swamp near the Tidewater Plant and crowds of
men, women and children rushed to watch the engines at work. The
Bergoff nobles poured a volley of shots into the crowd and then called
it a day.
On the 24th of July, the nobles at the Tidewater Plant under
command of Captain Jack Eller, sniped all night at the buildings across
the street, and tried to pick off strikers who ventured to stand in front
of Mydosh's Hall. Powerful searchlights from the plants flashed on
the streets, roofs and huge oil tanks to pick out possible targets. The
light in front of the union hall was smashed by a well-aimed shot.
Bergoff, in hushed tones of admiration, said that the best of his sharp-
shooters was Speiser, alias Stoney, who, according to the Red Demon,
was responsible for two of the four deaths.
The work of the Bergoff guards served but to intensify the strike,
and on the fifth day chances of breaking the walkout were iarther away
than ever. Sheriff Kinkead now outlined a new plan — one which the
companies were forced to adopt, and Bergoff was compelled to accept.
The central figure in the new strategy was to be Kinkead, a young,
tall and handsome Irishman. A former Congressman, had built up a
reputation as a friend of labor. He was an erratic but effective orator,
as impressive to the Polish strikers who did not understand him as he
was to others who could comprehend his language. He had made a
show of friendship for the strikers by his arrest (and rescue) of the
guards trapped in the firehouse, and by demanding that the Tidewater
guards cease their shooting. Now he was entrusted with the task
Bergoff had failed to accomplish. With great dramatic skill, he went
The Sheriff of Hudson County went to the Standard Oil stockade
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
and with loud oaths arrested the Red Demon, and eight of his nobles,
including Stoney. Piling them into a patrol wagon, the Sheriff then
went to the Tidewater plant, where he took Captain Eller, Supt. Samuel
H. Edwards and eighteen guards into custody on charges of inciting to
riot. With the newspapermen at his heels — they had been informed
hours before of the Sheriff's plan of action — he denounced ''paid
assassins in the employ of big business" and said their period of service
in Bayonne was at an end. Two days later, Kinkead arrested one
hundred more of the Bergoff nobles and denounced them as "gunmen"
and "assassins." He promised they would be prosecuted for murder.
Having won the confidence of the strikers, Kinkead proceeded to
demoralize them. First he attacked their leaders, Frank Tannen-
baum, an I. W. W. member, and Jeremiah Baly, a young Socialist
from Elizabeth, N. J. The Sheriff and his deputies, whom he had
sworn in willy-nilly throughout the city, carried Baly to the yard of
the Standard Oil Company and beat him so badly he was laid up for
weeks. Both Baly and Tannenbaum were thrown into jail, one as an
intruder and a Socialist, the other as an I. W. W. agitator. Kinkead
then tried to capture a strike meeting. When he was defeated by a
show of hands, he split the meeting into factions and forced the strike
committee to resign. He promised that the companies would give some
measure of increased pay.
Having jailed the strike leaders, split their ranks and sworn in
hundreds of local deputies, Kinkead announced that the strike was over
and the plants would be opened on the morrow. The next morning he
appeared on East 22nd Street hatless, coatless and without collar or tie.
He had planned his theatrics to the last act. The first two strikers who
appeared were hesitant about entering the plant. They were seized
and kicked by Kinkead, and thrown headlong into his car, which then
raced off while hundreds of astonished strikers looked on. In ten
minutes Kinkead was back on the scene, shouting to the strikers, as
they returned to work, his promises to prosecute the armed guards.
The conservative newspapers of the entire nation gloried in Kin-
kead's direct action. They had hailed him as "The Mad Sheriff" and
proposed him as a fitting candidate for Governor of New Jersey and
even as presidential timber.
Bergoff, Fink Mayor Garven, the courts and the oil companies gave
Kinkead complete cooperation. Under the circumstances it would not
have been wise to release the arrested guards at once. Several Bayonne
officials and the Red Demon, in conference at Police Headquarters,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
decided to play the tragi-comedy a while longer. But the hundred and
thirty-one nobles were beginning to resent their imprisonment. Bergoff
and the oil companies had refused to furnish bail for them.
While Recorder William J. Cain said, "there is evidence here of
murder and I can see no reason why the charge should not be changed
to that effect," one hundred and twenty-one nobles were released on
their own recognizance and left the city. Ten were held for the grand
jury on charges of inciting to riot. They included Captains of the
guard Eller and Stoney. Though Bergoff compelled, under the circum-
stances, to play the part of the sacrificial lamb and endure the tongue-
in cheek denunciation of Kinkead and Mayor Garven, the remaining
nobles were unwilling to stay in jail, and were finally admitted to bail.
Soon after the arraignments, a coroner's jury met. It found Police
Inspector Cady responsible for the killing of Staranchak. Peter Blake-
lee was identified by a witness as one of five guards who had fired
shots which caused two of the deaths. When the jury reconvened to
consider the deaths of Mikolay Ewoski and Vasil Merozekow, five per-
sons testified that the fatal shots had come from the Tidewater plant.
Fred Smart, a boy employed by the Tidewater Company to keep watch
for fires in the plant, testified that he heard Superintendent Edwards
give the orders to shoot. The coroner's jury came to the conclusion
that the two had been "killed by persons unknown." At the end of
September a new grand jury was sworn in and received the cases of the
ten guards. Justice Swayze instructed the jury that the parties re-
sponsible for the deaths were to be indicted for murder — "unless the
facts justified their acts." The grand jury duly inquired into the facts
and wound up its affairs with no indictments.
Meanwhile, Bayonne's upper strata had become a happy family
again. Simpson was urging Kinkead for governor, and Mayor Garven,
as counsel for Bergoff and the Tidewater Oil Company, successfully
fought a suit for $100,000 brought by the widow of John Surgen, an-
other of the slain strikers. Long before this the Rockefellers had
washed their hands of any responsibility by stating that neither of them
had any connection with the Standard Oil Company of New Jersey
except as owners of its stock.
When the United States Commission on Industrial Relations
studied the findings of its investigators, George P. West and C. L.
Chenery, the pulses of its chairman and a majority of its members beat
fast. They made public a report which branded the guards as criminals,
a statement which was predicated in part on direct word from Waddell.
BAYONNE old and new
"Waddell, the most experienced member of the firm," said the re-=
port, "admitted that he has no prejudice against ex-convicts, but, on the
contrary, finds many of them particularly valuable for the work in
The commission's investigators underscored Simpson's description
of the men he was defending as a "lot of thugs." "Most of them are
recruited from the scum and dregs of the city," said the United States
Commission. The riots, they said, had been caused by the arrival of
the strikebreakers. The strikers, it was found, "had armed themselves
with cheap and ineffectual revolvers which they futilely returned the
deadly fire of the Winchesters." Kinkead's full course of conduct,
Chairman Walsh said, had "the cordial approval of the Standard Oil
officials." The Sheriff broke the strike when he "overawed and dis-
couraged the strikers by assaulting their leaders." His attack on Baly
was not the one, swift punch reported in the newspapers, but a "vicious
beating" administered when the youthful strike leader was in no posi-
tion to defend himself or strike back. For the labor policy of the
Standard Oil Company the commission had unmeasured disapproval.
The ending of the strike "was a complete victory of the Standard
Oil Company as to its vital policies."
During the strike, one of the detective agencies in New York fur-
nished for the protection of the Tidewater Oil Company's plant, men
who were so vicious and unreliable that the officials of the company
themselves said that their presence was sufficient to incite a riot. These
men shot without provocation at anyone or everyone who came within
sight and the killing of at least three strikers in Bayonne and the
wounding of many more was directly chargeable to these guards.
The winter of 1916 brought a new oil strike to Bayonne and there
was more killing and bloodshed. Bergoff Bros. & Waddell, however,
were not called upon for their "expert" services.
The 19 1 6 strike brought Bergoff a changed situation in Bayonne.
He was erecting the Bergoff Building at the time, and employing union
labor, in complete disregard of the prescription he had always written
for his clients. But his employment of union men made no difference
to the oil workers. He was building just at the border line of the
foreign quarter, and a report got about and persisted that the Red
Demon was supplying guards in the T916 strike as he had done a year
before. Crowds of strikers menaced construction on his building.
Ignobly he was forced to insert a full-page advertisement in the Bay-
onne Times avowing that he had no connection whatever with the cur-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
rent disturbances at the oil refineries. When the strikers refused to be
convinced, the Red Demon was compelled to plead for police protec-
tion. Police were placed at the Bergoff house, as well as on the site of
the Bergoff building, but their presence was of no avail. The strikers
persisted in flocking about the construction in menacing numbers until
Bergoff was forced to discontinue work.
After the 1916 strike was over, the Bergoff Building was completed.
The letters "F.L.B." were duly chisled on eleven slabs of marble and
filled in with gold leaf. But instead of puffing with pride at the
thought of having "the largest building in Hudson County*' within
their fair city, the larger part of the populace took the name of Bergoff
in vain — it became a perpetual byword, cause for scorn and profanity.
Finally, Bergoff left what was to be a monument to his boasted, if
vain, achievements. A cowed and probably wiser man, he left Bayonne
to the pleasure of all.
TIDE WATER OIL COMPANY ORGANIZED IN 1878
The Tide Water Oil Company of Bayonne has played a very im-
portant part in the development and expansion of the city since its
organization in 1878. As it stands today it is a monument to that
courage and perseverance which has marked the progress of the petro-
leum business in Bayonne. The company derives its name from the
fact that its founders were the first to conceive the plan of piping crude
from the interior to tide water.
The Tide Water Oil Company pioneer six-inch trunk line from
Pennsylvania for the transportation of crude petroleum was started in
January 1879 and was the first to cross the Alleghanies and on May
23, 1887, after eight years of continuous righting, against competitors,
railroads and every conceivable obstacle the completed line reached
Bayonne. This underground system has been developed to such an ex-
tent that by this means there was delivered into the Company's ter-
minius in Bayonne 10,000 to 11,000 barrels of crude oil every twenty-
four hours during the year 1916. (In 1859 the world's output of
crude oil was only 1,977 barrels for the whole year.)
The great storage tanks, stills, filters, steam plants, coal bunkers,
laboratories and workshops of the company employed in storing the
crude oil and finishing the different products occupy more than 122
acres of land. The various parts of the works are connected by an in-
dustrial railway eight miles in length where, three switch engines and
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
two locomotive cranes are required to handle the freight on the four
miles of standard gauge track within the limits of the plant.
The property of the company includes more than one and one-half
miles of water front, included in which are the private docks, capable
of accommodating five or six ocean-going steamers drawing thirty
feet of water, from which a large percentage of the finished product is
shipped to every corner of the inhabited globe.
It would require more than a day to walk through and visit each
part of the refinery at Bayonne. It would take many days to follow
out the various complicated processes whereby the petroleum from its
crude state is transformed into the more than 350 different products
with which all civilization is familiar and in the producing of which a
permanent army of over 1,800 workers are daily employed.
In 19 1 6 there were 500 steel tanks with an aggregate capacity of
1,500,000 barrels. These tanks are required to store the crude oil, the
oils in process and the finished product. The steam plant, which fur-
nishes the power for the works and the steam used in distillation, has a
capacity of 5,400 horsepower. This plant and the oil stills consume
about 150,000 tons of fuel a year. The great pumping plant is capable
of drawing each day from the bay 40,000,000 gallons of water, for
use in the cooling condensers and in case of fire.
The refrigerating plant is equivalent to that required to make 300
tons of ice a day. The barrel factory turns out 3,000 hardwood oil
barrels a clay. The testing laboratory is devoted mainly to testing and
experimenting with automobile lubricating oils. By the means of
many ingenious machines with which it is equipped, every condition of
use for all standard types of motors is accurately ascertained. The
laboratories, where all products are tested through various stages of
refining and also just before shipment, are equipped with every device
known to modern science and in charge of chemists and engineers of
international reputation to insure their quality and uniformity.
The location of this great plant on New York harbor has played
an important part in its success and has justified the efforts of its
founders incident to reaching tide water by bringing the markets of
the world within its reach.
In Europe, Asia, Africa and Australia, on the Equator, within the
Arctic Circle, wherever man lias knowledge of the comforts and con-
veniences of civilization, some of the manufactured products of the
Tide Water Oil Company are found.
On April 20, 1939 the Tide Water Associated Oil Company pur-
1. Foot of West 38th Street near Newark Day. Taken in 1910 by John H. Dow.
2. Completing "Inaugural" Journey from Mt. Vernon, Denys Wortman, New York
cartoonist, in role of Washington, on trip of 150 years ago, arriving at Dattery,
3. Dayonne Dridge.
1. Mt. Carmel School (by courtesy of Rev. Anthony Tralka).
5. Dr. George W. Mellor with his flag (courtesy of Bayonne Times).
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
chased property on Old Hook Road, Central Avenue and East 22nd
Street which will be used for the refinery plant purposes of the Com-
pany. Elizabeth Cummings of Jersey City was the seller and the title
to the property was insured by the New Jersey Realty Title Insurance
Company of Newark. The company is planning a $15,000 addition
to its present boiler house. The Bayonne plant is in charge of Mr. H.
THE BAYOXXE CHEMICAL WORKS BUILT IN 1 879
The Bayonne Chemical Works was built in 1879 at the instance
of Martin Kalbfleisch's Sons at that time a prominent firm in the
chemical business in New York. They bought for that purpose the
old Van Buskirk Farm. The company began in a small way with
an output of 30 tons of oil of Vitrol per day which it soon increased to
60 tons and by 1899 to 100 tons. In addition to Sulphuric Acid the
following acids and chemicals were manufactured in volume ; Muriatic
Acid, Nitric Acid, Mixed Acid, Aqua Ammonia, Concentrated Am-
moniacal Liquor, Sulphate of Ammonia, Muriate of Ammonia, Potash
Alum, Aluminus Cake, Sulphate of Soda, Tin Crystals, Zinc Chloride,
Magnesium Choloride and some minor chemicals. The first production
of Alum commercially from Aluminite obtained from Italy was made
at these Works.
This very interesting mineral is now found in the west, and may be
a source of Potash as well as Aluminum Salts. The Zinc Chloride,
which burnetized the ties of the Southern Pacific Railroad in the
alkali desert through which their tracks pass, was made at these Works.
Some of these ties are in use today. The failure of Martin Kalbfleisch's
sons in 1886, did not injure this company. The company, through its
treasurer, and with the financial assistance of Mr. Alexander Gilbert,
then cashier of the Market & Fulton National Bank, successfully
financed the company through all the period of the firm's receivership.
Later on, through the able management of Mr. Charles Robinson
Smith, who incorporated the Martin Kalbfleisch Chemical Company,
this company continued successfully in operation up to its absorption
by the Martin Kalbfleisch Chemical Company. By the company, the
plant was thoroughly modernized in accordance with the chemical
knowledge of the day. About 1889 or 1890 Mr. T. J. Parker was
made President of the Bayonne Chemical Company and continued in
active charge of the manufacturing operations until 1896 when he be-
came connected with the business end in New York.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
In 1899 when the General Chemical Company, a New York Cor-
poration, whose offices were at 25 Broad Street, New York City was
formed, the Bayonne Chemical Works was one of the properties taken
over directly by it. Since that date the works have been practically
rebuilt from top to bottom and greatly enlarged and a variety of addi-
tional chemical products have been added to the manufacturing cap-
acity. This plant, now as it always has done, forms an important ele-
ment in the manufacturing life of New York harbor and the Metro-
politan district. 1 1
clark's iron foundry
Clark's Iron Foundry was founded in 1888 by William Mortimer
Clark. Moulding, range castings, manhole covers for the city, grates
for steamers, etc. are manufactured. After the death of William M.
Clark, his son, William Mortimer Clark, Jr. took over the Foundry and
it is still running today at 79 West Forty-fourth Street. The father
of the founder of the concern cast the first plow in Gilbertsville, N. Y.
THE BABCOCK & WILCOX COMPANY
The Babcock & Wilcox Company started construction work on
their Bayonne works in 1899 with Mr. S. J. Harwi as the Construction
Engineer who had entire charge of building the Babcock & Wilcox
Plant. The Plant was placed in operation on January 1, 1901, and
Mr. Harwi had charge of the Marine Department. Prior to that time
the plant of the Company was located in Elizabethport, N. J. When
originally built, the Bayonne plant consisted of forge, drum
and machine shops, stock and power plant buildings. The increased
demand for the products of this company necessitated the doubling of
the forge, drum and machine shops and stock and power plant buildings
and the building of new pattern, foundry, marine boiler and office
buildings. In 1916 the plant covered 47 acres of which floor space in
all buildings amounted to approximately 13 acres. One of the interest-
ing features of the plant was a fully equipped athletic field for the use
of Babcock & Wilcox employees. The first B. & W. boiler was built
in 1868. The present company was formed in 188 1 and up to 19 16,
19,000,000 horsepower boiler power had been installed in all parts of
the world! Of this over 3,500,000 horsepower had been installed in
the merchant marine service in the different navies. Approximately
1,000 men were employed in the Bayonne works. The general offices
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
of the company are located at 85 Liberty Street in New York City. A
few years ago the works left Bayonne for Barberton, Ohio.
THE ELECTRO DYNAMIC MOTOR COMPANY
The Electro Dynamic Motor Company at North Street and Avenue
A is furnishing auxiliary motors for practically every ship now in the
course of construction for the navy and is well equipped to handle
Navy specifications. So carefully are the motors constructed that they
may remain in the blueprint state for as long as two years before they
get the final O. K. Blueprints travel back and forth between Bayonne,
the shipyard where the vessels involved are under construction, and
the Navy Department in Washington for many months before a tap
of work is done on the actual motor itself. Checking, rechecking,
criticism and counter criticism over a long period of time make certain
that the equipment will do the work required of it and that it will be
sturdy and dependable.
When the United States aircraft carrier Wasp, launched at Quincy,
Mass. joined the battle fleet, she was fitted with a full complement of
electric motors designed to perform practically every kind of work
necessary on the big ship. These motors, 282 of them, were all built by
this local concern. The motors supplied for the Wasp range from
one horsepower to 450 horsepower, each ready to do a special job and
do it with maximum efficiency. This firm has been in Bayonne since
the turn of the century, completing its sixtieth year of growth. It is
the oldest electric motor company under one name in the country.
Located in Philadelphia, prior to 1900, the concern moved here after
a disastrous fire in the Pennsylvania city. The Bayonne concern is a
branch of a parent company, the Electric Boat Company of Groton,
Conn. The Elco Boat Works manufacturers of small boats, also a
Bayonne industry, is another branch of the parent company. The
Electric Boat Company builds submarines and has eight under sea
boats in construction at Groton at the present time. In this connection,
it is interesting to learn that the motors for the first successful electric
motor-driven submarine were built in Bayonne by the Electro Dynamic
Motor Co. This concern has supplied the motors for more than 200
American and foreign submarines. Other achievements of this local
industry include the development of the first interpole electric motor,
which revolutionizes adjustable speed motors ; and the first ball-bearing
type of electric motor. The ballbearing type, pioneered by the Bayonne
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
concern is an anti-friction motor which requires less lubrication than
the regular sleeve-bearing motors. Specimens of early models of both
of these motors are on display in the Ford Museum.
Electrical motors for the America, sister ship of the steamships
Manhattan and Washington, now under construction at Newport
News, Va. will be supplied by the E lectric Dynamic Motor Company
as will all electric motors used in the construction of the new Maritime
Commission fleet of ships, known as the C-2 and C-3 types.
The plants of the two concerns, Elco and Electric Dynamic, cover
some eight or ten acres with frontage on Newark Bay and branch
railroad spurs provide adequate shipping facilities. In late 1939 a
$5,000,000 contract for building a mosquito fleet of twenty-three
motor torpedo boats and submarine chasers for the United States
Navy was awarded the Electro Boat Company of which the Elco is a
subsidiary. On December 11, 1939 the Elco started plans for a one
story brick and steel boat building. In the plans there is also an office
building two stories in height. The Elco has an all year-round show-
room at Park Avenue and Forty-sixth Street, New York City.
Howard Johnson, noted restaurant owner recently purchased a
$40,000. 57-foot yacht and Major Edward Bowes, of the radio, is hav-
ing a boat built at the Elco Plant. New appointments recently made
at the plant are Irwin Chase, General Manager of the Elco Works has
been elevated to managing constructor in charge of both the cruiser
works and the new naval plant. Mr. Chase has been with the Bayonne
Plant thirty-five years. Mr. Preston L. Sutphen has been named gen-
eral manager of the plant while still retaining his position as sale man-
ager for Elco cruisers. Glenn S. Tremaine, naval architect, has been
appointed to the position of works manager. Harry Curtis is head of
the New York Showroom, Port Elco, and Charles Case is in charge of
the new Florida headquarters, Port Elco-Miami located at the Miami
Beach end of the Venetian Causeway.
The new addition to the plant is expected to start this Spring and
with this addition the Elco Works in Bayonne will be the largest
plant for wooden boat construction in the world.
THE GULF REFINING COMPANY
The Bayonne Terminal of the Gulf Refining Company is located
on Kill van Kull, east of Ingram Avenue and comprises 13 J/2 acres.
The property was formerly owned by the Gunthers of New York and
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
was favored for the beauty of its location, its large homestead, and an
orchard of the very choicest fruit trees. The homestead still stands,
its exterior little changed from old days but the interior has been
altered to suit the purposes of an office and within the firebanks that
surround several of the large oil tanks, still may be seen a tree or two
of the old orchard.
The Gulf Refining Company started to build on the property dur-
ing the early part of 1901 and from the few tanks and buildings of
that day, the plant has expanded to its present importation position as
one of the larger industries of the city. The wisdom shown in the
selection of this location for a terminal is today proven in many ways.
The deep waterway directly up to the wharf permits the larger ships
of the Gulf fleet to dock at any stage of the tide for the discharge of
their cargoes of oils from the refinery at Port Arthur, Texas; the
handling of the freight in and out of the plant by barges and the
lighters and the fact that the location is within the New York free
lighterage limits gives the advantage of New York freight rates with-
out the cramping and congestion consequent upon a location in that
city. The important waterway, Kill van Kull, in conjunction with the
four spurs of track running into and through the plant, makes its loca-
tion from a shipping point ideal.
THE SAFETY INSULATED WIRE AND CABLE COMPANY
The nature of the business of The Safety Insulated Wire and
Cable Company is stated in the Company name. The concern was
founded in 1888 and for 14 years its operations were conducted in a
factory in New York City. In 1902, however, the business had grown
to an extent which demanded larger space and the plant was moved to
Bayonne. The present property at First Street and Avenue A was
acquired and two buildings erected. As the business of the company
grew, new buildings were added until the present factory includes
over twenty buildings. In connection with its plant, the Safety Com-
pany owns and operates the Bayonne Terminal Railway and the
Bayonne and New Haven Transportation Company for the better
handling of its output by land and water. The Safety line includes
everything in the way of insulated conductors for electrical transmis-
sion — from the smallest telephone wire to the largest lead-encased
power cable and the longest submarine telegraph cable. The United
States Government in its various departments is among the largest
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
users of Safety products, the Army Signal Corps alone having used
between five and ten thousand miles of deep sea submarine cable, in-
cluded in which is over a thousand miles laid between Seattle and Sitka,
Alaska. A large percentage of the ships of the Navy are equipped en-
tirely with Safety Wire and cable. The cable used in submarine
mining operations, and for firing and controlling the guns and search-
lights in fortifications by the Coast Artillery, has also been largely the
product of the Company's plant at Bayonne. A notable achievement
of the company and one not heretofore attempted by any American
manufacturer, was the making and laying of a submarine cable six
hundred miles long for the Mexican Government which has now been
successfully operating for a period of many years.
SCHWARZENBACH-HUBER COMPANY SILK MILL
In the year 1902 the Schwarzenbach-Huber Company found the
West Hoboken Plant inadequate to cope with the increasing business
of their firm and were thus induced to entertain the establishment of
an auxiliary plant. Their eyes focused on the factory of the Under-
wood Typewriter Company in this city and after a five years' lease had
been effected, with the option to buy, the Schwarzenbach-Huber Com-
pany began operations on March 1st of the same year. Orginally the
company planned merely to utilize a part of the rented building for
their own purposes with a limited number of hands, and to rent out the
other part. But within a short time after opening the factory appli-
cations for work were so numerous that the company finally decided to
use the entire building for itself and thus the established winding plant
developed gradually into a thriving and complete weaving establish-
ment. Encouraged by this result the firm made use of the option after
the five years had expired and in the year 1909 decided upon a fur-
ther enlargement of the plant by a five-story annex, so that the factory
by 19 1 6 represented a complete unit of 600 looms. Much of the suc-
cess achieved by the company was due to the foresight and intelligent
handling of its affairs by the local superintendent, Mrs. G. Albach.
who opened the factory in 1902 and whose able managership guided
the same safely through every stage of development to its efficient
state. This company left town several years ago. The Maiden Form
Brassiere Co., Inc., now occupies the building.
DODGE & OLCOTT COMPANY
In 1904 Dodge & Olcott Company came to the city, the manufac-
turers of Essential Oils, Oleoresins, Aromatic Chemicals and Kindred
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Products. The plant occupies approximately four acres located at 69
Avenue A and the business has been going on for 141 years. Mr.
Charles A. Myers is an officer of the company.
THE BERGEN POINT IRON WORKS
The Bergen Point Iron Works was incorporated in the latter part
of 1906 by organizing the principal members of the staff of Augustus
Smith, Engineer and Contractor of New York into a company to
carry on the same general line of work in which Mr. Smith had been
engaged for the preceeding thirteen years. After investigating sites
all around New York, on the Hackensack Meadows, in Jersey City
along the Hudson, in Long Island, Brooklyn, Staten Island and along
the Kills in Bayonne, it was finally decided to locate at the foot of
West Fifth Street in Bayonne. The company began business in
February 1907, the first job being a small extension to the Narragan-
sett Bay Coal Depot. Another early job that created some local in
terest was the construction of a large Excavating Machine intended for
railway work in Africa.
The company has made several improvements in coal handling
machinery, especially in electrically operated coal excavating machines
for taking coal out of boats. Another department of the business is
the construction of sugar factory buildings and many thousands of
dollars worth of this class work has been exported. Mr. John Frolin
is an officer.
BAYONNE STEEL CASTING COMPANY
About 1906 Mr. William D. Sargent who for many years had
been identified with the large steel interests of the country and who
also had been a pioneer in the steel casting industry, conceived the idea
of establishing a steel foundry at some central point to supply manu-
facturers in the northeastern states, New York, New Jersey and
vicinity immediately tributary thereto with their requirements in the
way of high grade steel castings. All of the sites available for foun-
dry purposes were inspected and considered and Bayonne was selected
as it offered such desirable advantages regarding shipping facilities,
labor and location. Mr. Sargent and his associates then formed the
Bayonne Steel Casting Company of which he became president and
Mr. A. E. Williamson, general manager. Operations were commenced
immediately and the plant was accomplished in record time. Exactly
three months elapsed between the time it was decided to build in
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Bayonne and the day on which the first heat of steel was poured. The
foundry was so designated that raw materials were taken from the
company's own direct connection with the Central Railroad Company
of New Jersey and passed through the shop in progressive stages. The
company was so proud of its location on account of its ready access
to all the railroad and steamship lines and because of its motor truck
service to the Metropolitan district and other nearby points that for a
number of years it used the slogan "Note the Location."
SOME OF THE INDUSTRIES IN BAYONNE IN I906
Babcock & Wilcox who employed about 1,500 persons; Barnes
Lock & Foundry Co. employed 25 ; Bergen Point Chemical Works em-
ployed 150; Bernard Tucker & Co. (Manufacturers of shirts) em-
ployed 70; Blackman & Treeman, Cap Mfgrs. employed 10; Alfred
Booth & Bro. Mill Products employed 18; Bressler Bros. Mfgrs. of
Men's Coats employed 100; Brooks Bros. (Wrappers) employed 17;
James Brady, Cement & Plaster, employed 20; Columbia Oil, Re-
fineries of Oil, employed 60 ; William M. Clark, Iron & Brass Cast-
ings employed 12; Dodge & Olcott, Drugs, employed 60; Electric
Launch Works, Electric motorboats, employed 85 ; Electric Dynamic
Company employed 95; General Chemical Company employed 176;
Goubert Manufacturing Co. employed 22; Herman Bros. Mgfrs. of
Hats & Caps employed 35; Holland Torpedo Boat Co., Builders of
Submarines employed 25 ; Max Levin, Shirt Mfgrs. employed 25 ; Ox-
ford Copper, Refineries of Copper & Nickel, employed 650; Pacific
Coast Borax Co. employed 100; R. G. Packard & Co. employed 112;
Jos. Replan & Bros, employed 50; Safety Insulated Wire Cable Co.
employed 500; Schwarzenbach-Huber Co. employed 350; Standard
Oil Company employed 3,250; Tidewater Oil Co. employed 1,005;
William Wiggins employed 6.
The H. F. Taintor Manufacturing Company commenced business
around 1881 and came to Bayonne in 1908 and located at First Street
near Lexington Avenue where a modern and spacious plant was laid
out and a pier built, suitable for the accommodation of ocean vessels.
The latter brought chalk and cliffstone from England and discharged
their cargoes into the company's cars on the wharf, whence it was run
into the storage sheds and used in the manufacture of Whiting and
Paris White respectively, the chief products of the company, The Bay-
onne factory covered an area of over 100,000 square feet and was
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
located directly on the waterfront. They imported upward of 25,000
tons of chalk and cliff stone yearly from England by their own process
refined these raw materials. Their several brands of whiting and
paris white were well known throughout the United States and ex-
tensively used by manufacturers of many industries such as rubber,
linoleum, paints, pottery, china, etc. The company had an office on
Rector Street, New York City and agents in Detroit, Chicago, St.
Paul and Kansas City, also representatives in London, England. The
officers in 1916 were C. M. Tainter, President; Starr Tainter, Vice-
President and General Manager; Herbert T. Spooner, Secretary and
Treasurer; Oliver R. Strunck, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer; Walter
J. Garlick of Bayonne, Superintendent of the factory. This company
left Bayonne some years ago.
THE BAYONNE SUPPLY COMPANY
The Bayonne Supply Company which deals in plumbing, steam and
mill supplies as a jobber was formed in 1908 and its business grew
so rapidly that on January 1, 19 14 it became necessary to move into a
new brick building with a floor space of about 25,000 square feet.
Since then the company's machinery and other equipment have been
increased steadily. Twenty people are employed. The President is
Mr. W. F. Higgins and the Treasurer is G. E. Keenen.
THE TEXAS COMPANY
The Texas Company came to the city between the years 1909 and
1 9 10 and is located on Avenue A and First Street. This plant is the
largest of the deep water terminals operated by The Texas Company
on the Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Its growth, in common with the
company's growth in all directions has been amazing. Due to the
rapidly increasing demands from domestic and foreign oil users for
Texaco quality and service, the capacity has been increased con-
tinually to keep the facilities in line with the sale development.
The Texas Company finds it necessary to keep five refineries going
to supply the hundreds of distributing stations in this country and the
requirements of foreign organizations all over the world. Its service
has been extended into all fields. An aggressive lubrication organi-
zation has built up a business of great value and high standing in the
industrial world for Texaco service and the records of Texaco quality
is being maintained wherever oil is used.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
New vessels are being added to the fleet of boats required to supply
the export trade and conduct the necessary coastwise supply between
terminals. For years the oil products from Port Arthur reaching
Bayonne by its tank steamers have been received with the regularity
of an express service.
The Bayonne terminal is typical in its construction and operation
of the policy which has contributed so much to the success of The
Texas Company. Permanent concrete construction of buildings, fire-
proof warehouses, careful and efficient methods of handling and in-
spection, are in line with the manufacture of high grade petroleum
products which have made Texaco the mark of quality for oil. Mr.
E. O. Perkins is a popular officer in the company.
THE BAYONNE CASTING COMPANY
The Bayonne Casting Company was organized in 1909 by a group
of eight men all of them either residents or in business in Bayonne
for the express purposes of producing Monel Metal castings. After
six months of operation in an experimental plant at East 9th Street,
the present plant was built at Oak and East Tenth Streets.
Monel metal is a natural alloy of approximately six per cent nickel,
twenty-eight per cent copper and five per cent other metals and is
obtained from mines located in Canada owned and operated by the
Canadian Copper Company a subsidiary of the International Nickel
Company who is the sole refiner of Monel metal. The ore is reduced
to the form of matter at the Canadian smelter and is then shipped to
the Oxford Works of the International Nickel Company, Bayonne,
where it is refined. The metal is then ready for conversion into rods,
forgings, tubes, wire, strip stock, sheets, etc.
At the time the new plant of The Bayonne Casting Company was
built, two great Battleships, "Moreno" and "Rivadavia" were being
constructed in this country for the Argentine Republic and the first
few months the new plant was devoted principally to the production
of 12 one-piece propeller wheels of 16,000 lbs. each for these ships.
Since that time propellers have been cast for ships of the United States
Navy including the North Dakota and Florida also for a number of
the Torpedo Boat Destroyers. In addition to propeller wheels, shafts,
stern bushings, rudders, struts, etc., for marine service, the product of
The Bayonne Casting Company is used in various parts of the equip-
ment of battleships and other vessels, such as pump rods, valve seats,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
discs and stems for superheated and high pressure steam, turbine,
The industries to which the Bayonne Casting Company contribute
are too numerous and varied to be covered in this book. To illustrate
the variety of applications of Monel Metal, we might mention that
the vaults in the Morgan Bank Building are trimmed with Monel
Metal. This metal enters into the construction of many of the high
grade automobiles manufactured in this country. The transmission
supports at the Panama Canal are Monel Metal castings of which the
Bayonne Casting Company furnished upward of 100,000. The valve
stems in the high pressure fire hydrants in the city of Boston are
Monel Metal. Kitchens are now being equipped with Monel Metal.
THE J. EDWARD OGDEN CO.
The J. Edward Ogden Co. whose plant is located at Old Road and
Center Street with executive offices at 147-9 Cedar Street, New York
City, was established by its present president, Mr. J. Edward Ogden,
during the year 1893 and incorporated in New Jersey in 1909. Its
manufacture consists of freight handling specialties, electric winches,
power ramps, cargo doors, wharf drops, railroad transfer bridge
machinery, also equipment for car barns, transfer tables, wheel chang-
ing hoists, car hoists, turntables and mechanically operated doors.
Its products have been adopted by practically all of the large
steamship and transportation companies, by the municipalities of
New York, Baltimore, Philadelphia, Boston, Providence, Seattle, Los
Angeles, Montreal and other ports, also by the Panana Canal where
installations are being made having begun (1916) by the Ogden Com-
pany on Piers at Balboa and Culebra.
Sebco Products, consisting of Expansion Bolts, Toggle Bolts, Drills
and a general line of fastening devices handled by hardware stores
throughout the United States and Canada, are also manufactured in
its plant at Bayonne, of which Mr. J. C. West is an executive.
THE NUCOA BUTTER COMPANY
The Nucoa Butter Company originated from an agency estab-
lished in this country for the sale of vegetable butters manufactured
in London and sold under the trade names of "Nucoa Butter" and
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
The sale of these products in this country reached such a point as
to make it advantageous to manufacture them here and in 1903 the
Nucoa Butter Company was incorporated and acquired a plant at
Soho Park, Belleville, N. J. in which to manufacture the butters.
Nucoa Butter and Nucoline are vegetable butters made wholly
from the oil extracted from the cocoanut and highly refined. The re-
fining process produces the oil perfectly white, and removes from it all
taste and odor. The process employed is the most scientifically hygenic
possible, and the oil is naturally sterilized.
The business grew so rapidly that it soon outgrew the capacity of
the Soho Park factory, and in 19 10 the company acquired the property
in the Bergen Point section of Bayonne extending from Avenue A at
the foot of West 4th Street to Newark Bay. On this property, con-
sisting of 7J4 acres, a modern plant was erected comprising twenty
The demand for the product continued to increase and from time
to time improvements were made to cope with this demand, until today
the plant has a capacity exceeding by far that of any other similar
plant, and its appointments are the most up to date possible.
Late in 191 5 the company introduced into this country a new pro-
duct called "Nut Margarine." This class of goods is widely known and
has been highly appreciated for many years in Europe, but heretofore
was practically unknown in this country.
In 19 16 the name of the concern became The Best Foods, Inc., and
in its development absorbed the Fanning Bread and Butter Pickle
Company and The Hellmann Mayonnaise Company.
At the present time the plant is producing, in addition to the above
named products, Hellmann's Mustard, bulk shortening and refined
edible oils. Best Foods have additional plants in Chicago, San Fran-
cisco, Dallas, Norfolk and Toronto. The Bayonne plant has just
completed construction of a new $100,000 research and control
laboratory. The total personnel at the present time is 300 in Bayonne.
Officials at the Bayonne plant are : Mr. C. H. Haurand, Plant Mana-
ger; Mr. T. A. Marshall, Vice-President in charge of manufacturing
in all plants ; Dr. H. W. Vahlteich, Director of Research ; Mr. G. S.
Barker, Superintendent ; Mr. P. J. Dingwall, Superintendent ; Mr. F.
A. Parente, Superintendent; Mr. W. L. Schaub, Superintendent; G.
Rucker, Personnel Director.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
THE VACUUM OIL COMPANY
One of the largest industrial enterprises in the city is the Constable
Hook plant of the Vacuum Oil Company. This plant, which is for
the finishing of lubricating products, is one of the largest of its kind in
the country and is an important shipping point of the Vacuum Oil
Company, to foreign points. From Bayonne the Vacuum Oil Com-
pany's" fleet of steamers and other vessels transport Gargoyle Lubri-
cants to all corners of the globe.
The Bayonne plant was established in 191 1 and since then the
rapid growth of the company's plant has necessitated material increases
in the plant's capacity. It covers seven acres of ground and gives
employment to more than three hundred men. This company was
organized in 1866. From its beginning the Vacuum Oil Company has
specialized in the manufacture, sale and correct application of high
grade lubricants for all classes of machinery, which accounts for the
authoritative standing and unquestioned leadership of the company in
the field of lubrication.
To this cardinal principle also may be laid the world-wide sale of
their more than 350 products, of which the best are grouped under the
Gargoyle Brand, including such specialties as Gargoyle Mobiloils for
automobile lubrication, Gargoyle Cylinder Oil 600 W for steam cylinder
Wherever, throughout the world, lubrication is required, there
Gargoyle Products will be found.
THE SOUTHERN COTTON OIL COMPANY
The northern factory of the company, the main office of which is
at 24 Broad Street, New York City, is located at East 22nd Street on
the tracks of the East Jersey Railway & Terminal Company. The
Southern Cotton Oil Company is engaged in the business of refining
cotton seed oil and shipping annually, to all parts of the world about
a million barrels of edible oils and also other food products from cotton
Cotton is raised for two reasons — its fibre and seed. Very little
was ever done with the seed until about 1870, because few realized
how valuable it was. From then, on, new uses were discovered and
the seed became a valuable part of the cotton crop.
The first methods of extracting and refining the oil were very
crude and the product suffered accordingly. As the business grew,
fcAYONNE OLD AND NEW
however, better ways were discovered and in 1900 Dr. Wesson, after
experimenting for years, found a method of refining oil which re-
tained its valuable food qualities and yet gave to it a very delicate
flavor. The use of the products obtained from cotton seed is increas-
ing every year and today the making of these products is one of the
big industries of the United States. There are various grades of cot-
ton seed and consequently there are various grades of cotton seed
oil. Wesson Oil is the highest grade manufactured. It is refined
by a special process discovered by Dr. Wesson so that when it
has passed through the refining process it is an oil of such flavor that
it can be used for the finest salad dressings, the cooking of many foods
and other uses. For the convenience of those people who like a
solid shortening, a way has been discovered for hardening Wesson Oil.
This is known as "Snowdrift" the "Perfect Shortening."
THE PRINCIPAL MANUFACTURING ESTABLISHMENTS IN
OPERATION IN BAYONNE IN I915
Babcock & Wilcox Co. water tube steam boilers, etc. employ 1,400;
Barclay & Co. Soaps and Perfumes employ 55 ; Bayonne Bolt & Nut,
employ 150; The Bayonne Casting Co. Monel Metal, steel and bronze
casting employ 35 ; Bergen Point Iron Works, coal and ash handling
machinery, employ 50; John Boyle & Co., Inc., waterproof cloth can-
vass employ 18; Centaur Film Co. motion picture films, employ 75;
Clark's Iron & Brass Foundry, castings employ 12; Columbia Oil Co.
of N. Y., petroleum products employ 80; Crane Motor Co., auto-
mobile bodies employ 90; Cumberland Shirt Mfg. Co. employ 200;
Dodge & Olcott Co. chemicals employ 50; Edible Products Co., lard
substitute and refined cotton seed oil employ 600; The Elco Co.,
motor boats and marine engines employ 125; Elco Dynamic Co.,
motors and dynamos employ 164; General Chemical Co. employ 261 ;
Herman Bros., cloth and leather hats and caps employ 25 ; The Inter-
national Nickel Co. employ 1,000; Knickerbocker Metallic Bed Co.
employ 85; Leolastic, elastic webbing employ 200; The National Sul-
phur Co. employ 30; John J. Nealon & Co., elastic braided armbands
employ 25 ; Nucoa Butter Co. employ 80; Oil Seeds Co., vegetable oils
employ 50; Pacific Coast Borax Co. employ 307; R. G. Packard Co.,
dredging machinery employ 25 ; Reading Bayonne Steel Casting Co.
employ 175; Safety Insulated Wire & Cable Co. employ 600; The
Schwarzenbach-Huber Silk goods employ 600 ; Standard Chemical Co.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
employ 10; Standard Oil Company of New Jersey employ 5,400; H. F.
Taintor Mfg. Co. Whiting & Paris white employ 90; Tide Water Oil
Co. employ 1,500; Vacuum Oil Co. employ 275.
THE AMERICAN RADIATOR AND STANDARD SANITARY PLANT
This plant lies wedged in between the murk of New York Harbor
and the railroad that skirts the city. During the World War, 191 7,
19 1 8 and 1919 four-inch Naval Guns were made in this plant. The
plant came to Bayonne in 19 12. A new plant was opened in 1921.
Every week day morning approximately 575 men file into the plant to
begin another day's work. Unlike most radiator factories, which are
hand operated, this American Radiator and Standard Sanitary Plant
is highly mechanized. The Bayonne Plant has a capacity of more
than 80,000 square feet of radiation per 2-shift day (the average
radiator contains about 35 square feet), and today accounts for over
half the company's domestic radiator production.
The American Radiator and Standard Sanitary Plant, the world's
largest manufacturer of plumbing and heating equipment has sixteen
European plants — seven in France; three in Germany; two in Italy;
one each in Belgium, England, Spain and Switzerland.
Henry M. Reed is President and Chairman of the Board of this
enormous Company. He has three sons who are working their way up
in the Company. Mr. Gross is the manager of the Bayonne Plant.
THE BAKER CASTOR OIL COMPANY
The Baker Castor Oil Company originated in Jersey City where it
still operates. In an expansion program this Company bought the
Oil Seeds Company plant in Bayonne at 35 Avenue A in 1920. The
Company has recently completed construction of two new steel tanks
forty feet in diameter and seventy feet high, which will be used for
castor beans or oil storage. This Company had the distinction of being
the first local company to receive cargo at the Bayonne Port Terminal.
At the present time the company has approximately 125 employees.
Mr. A. M. Detrick, Jr. is the Bayonne Plant Superintendent.
THE BAYONNE BOLT AND NUT COMPANY
The Bayonne Bolt and Nut Company is located at Second Street
and Trask Avenue. The company employes about 90 people. The
Manager is Mr. Ackerson.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
INTERNATIONAL NICKEL COMPANY
The International Nickel Company has a foundry in Bayonne at
15 Oak Street. This company is a Canadian corporation. A small
fabricating plant was completed at the Bayonne laboratory for the cast-
ing, forging and rolling of steel, iron and non-ferous alloys. This
plant permits further study and confirmation on a semi-works scale of
laboratory developments and inventions. In addition to its foundry in
Bayonne, the company maintains a central research and technical
laboratory. It has one other such laboratory at Copper Cliff, Ontario,
Canada. Research and development effort on products and processes
continue through the year.
THE MAIDEN FORM BRASSIERE COMPANY, INC.
Alongside the tracks of the New Jersey Central, Reading and
B. & O. fifteen miles as the crow flies from the offices and sales rooms
at 200 Madison Avenue, New York City, is located The Maiden Form
Brassiere Company, Inc., the world's largest brassiere factory, where
Maiden Form creations are made and from which they are shipped to
all parts of the United States and to forty-five foreign countries.
This plant began in 1924 in a private house on Broadway near
Twenty-ninth Street with three machines. Due to the growing busi-
ness the company took over the factory building of Schwarzenbach-
Huber Company on Avenue E which covers three and one-half acres
of ground and contains 100,000 feet of floor space. Over 1,300
workers are steadily employed the year round, keeping pace with the
world-wide demand for these exclusive, sculptured-perfect foundation
garments, identified by the internationally famous trade mark which
appears in all advertisements. Mr. William Rosenthal is President,
Founder and Designer. While Mr. Rosenthal is not a resident, he has
Bayonne at heart and is a member of the Chamber of Commerce and
the Rotary Club. He donated "Camp Lewis" in Jersey for Boy Scouts.
Aside from his business activities he is a very fine sculptor. Mr. Moe
Rosenthal is the Bayonne Plant Manager.
THE MARGON COMPANY
The Margon Company has been in Bayonne since April 1936 and
is located at 717 Avenue A. They manufacture dolls eyes, brown
eyes, blue eyes, green eyes, eyes that sleep, big eyes, naughty eyes that
have a flirtatious roll — they're all the product of the Bayonne firm
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
and the result of the ingenuity of Samuel Marcus who originated the
idea thirty years ago.
Marcus, known to the personnel as "the father of the movable eye
industry" is the concern's secretary-treasurer. The firm also manu-
factures for shipment to all parts of the United States and Canada the
"mamma" "cry dolls", as well as the teeth and tongues of the toys.
The 'name Margon was coined from the names of the Secretary-
Treasurer and the President, Alexander Knoff. Before another com-
pany was added to the original plant, the business was known as the
Markon Company. To distinguish it, however, from the old one, when
the change was made, the "k" supplied by the first letter of the presi-
dent's surname was changed to "g." The first syllable furnished by
Knoff and Marcus also control the Conmar Products Company
located at the same address and housed in the same building. This
firm, the title of which was also coined from the names of the execu-
tives, manufactures zippers or slide fasteners. According to Herman
Blume, who is general manager of the two plants, the zipper field is
widening and prospects of increases to the list of workers are bright.
The Margon Corporation plant here is the only one maintained by
that firm, but its sister company has spread its branches to principal
cities of the country. Conmar offices may be found in Baltimore,
Chicago, Boston, Philadelphia and Los Angeles. The principal Con-
mar address, however, is in Bayonne.
The Bayonne address appears in its advertisements in the leading
magazines of the country in the intensive campaign, the firm is con-
ducting at present. According to Blume, the aid of Conmar is to
make the British Guard, the trade mark symbol of its slide fastener,
instantly recognizable throughout the country.
Normally, the Margon Corporation employs 300 and Conmar 600
GEIGY COMPANY, INC.
Geigy Company, Inc. located at 39 Avenue C, manufactures dye
stuffs for the entire world. The nucleus of the Geigy Company was
formed in Switzerland in 1764. In 1859 a branch was formed in
New York which in 1904 moved to Jersey City and finally came to
Bayonne in 1936 where the company is housed in a fine, new, fire-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
BAKERIES AND SUNDRY ENTERPRISES
In 1937 there were more bakeries operated in Bayonne than any
other single type of classified industry, it was learned from a report
by the United States Census Bureau.
The eighteen active Bayonne bakeries employed an average of one
hundred eleven wage earners during the year and paid them $155,339.
They turned out products valued at $672,500. and in manufacturing
these products increased their value by $282,047. Cost of materials
used in the bakeries was $390,513. during the year.
And here's how other industries in Bayonne stacked up according
to the Census Bureau.
Four manufactures of non-alcoholic beverages had products valued
at $82,276. adding $45,298. to that value in manufacture. Five job
printers and publishers of books and music had products valued at
$147,268. and added $98,169. to that value in manufactures. Seven
dress manufactures contract factories turned out products valued at
$361,269. enhancing this value $341,150 in manufacture.
THE ASIATIC PETROLEUM CORPORATION
The Asiatic Petroleum Corporation secured the plant of the So-
cony- Vacuum Company about 1938 as part of its plan to expand its
operations in the city and its first task was to raze several old build-
ings and clear the property. They are planning to build ten new steel
oil storage tanks at its refinery at the lower Hook. A permit to con-
struct the tanks at a cost of $200,000. was issued to Patrick J. O'Brien,
the Superintendent. Five of the tanks will have capacity of 80,000
barrels each, while the other five will be of 37,000 barrels capacity.
In 1938 Bayonne ranked fourth among the industrial cities of
New Jersey and the following industries are located in the city :
Ace Printing Co. employes 4; American Radiator Co., cast iron
radiators, employes 635; Arenofsky, Max, Men's and Boys' caps, em-
ployes 6 ; Associated Printing Co. employes 3 ; Atlas Repair Shop, re-
pair bowling balls, employes 2 ; Atlas Steel Barrel Corp., steel drums,
employes 196; Austrian Cleaners & Dyers Inc., employes 18; Babcock
& Wilcox Co., boiler superheaters, etc., employes 216; Baker Castor Co.
Castor oil employes 96; Bayonne Bolt Corp., bolt, nuts and rivets, spe-
cial forging employes 66; Bayonne Economy Laundry Co., Inc. em-
ployes 20; Bayonne Nipple Co., brass and iron pipe nipples, employes
17; Bayonne Printing Co. employes 4; Bayonne Quality Laundry Co.,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Inc. employes 30; Bayonne Sawclust Supply Co. employes 1 ; Bayonne
Silk Mill, broad silks, employes 7; Bayonne Welding Co., steel pro-
ducts employes 1 ; Bergen Neckwear Co. employes 42 ; Bergen Point
Brass Foundry, employes 60; Bergen Point Fur Dressing Co., Inc.,
employes 37; Bergen Point Iron Works, fabrication of light plate and
structural steel work, employes 83 ; Harry Bershadsky, children's
dresses,- employes 36; Best Foods, Inc., oleomargarine, cook, vegetable
and salad oils, employes 300; Bestmaid Dress Co., Inc., house dresses,
employes 30; Boyle, John & Co., Inc., cotton duck and awning mate-
rial, employes 16; Breger & Weiner, Inc., children's dresses, employes
97; Broadway Trim & Lumber Co., employes 4; Brooks, J. & Sons,
children's dresses, employes 146; Cadmus, E. H. Fire Escapes, em-
ployes 2; Capital Neckwear Co., neckties, employes 31 ; Carbo Oxygen
Co., Inc., oxygen and hydrocarbon, employes 20; Century Printing
Co., Inc., employes 1 ; Chonko Printing Co., employes 1 ; Clark Iron
Foundry, range castings, employes 5 ; Columbia Mattress Co., employes
5; Community Pride Laundry, Inc., employes 6; Consumers Lumber
Co., employes2 ; Country Club Beverages, Inc., employes 3 ; Dalack
Bros., embroideries, employes 6; De Vita, Edward O. & Sons, print-
ing, employes 3 ; De Waters & Hoffman Laundry, Inc., employes 35 ;
Dodge & Olcott, essential oils, oleoresins, perfumery, synthetics, em-
ployes 64; East Washing Fluid Co., employes 1 ; Eisenberg & Trotsky,
men's and boy's neckwear, employes 34; Electric Boat Co. (Elco
Works) motor boats, yachts, employes 78; Electric Boat Co. (Electro
Dynamic Works) electric motors and generators employes 198;'
Ershler & Krukin, Inc., kitchen and cafeteria equipment employes 56;
Evening Times Printing & Publishing Co., employes y^ ; Farhat, A.,
embroideries, employes 3 ; Fitch F. W. Co., shampoo and hair tonics
employes 75 ; Frank & Fisher, commercial auto bodies, employes 1 ;
Friedberg Beverages, employes 2; Geigy Co., Inc., dyes, employes
50; General Cable Corp., electric conductor cables, employes 269;
Globe Iron Works, Inc., fabricated structural steel, employes 4;
Goldberg Garment Co., Inc., ladies' garments, employes 2^ ; Greco,
Frank W. novelty jewelry, employes 2 ; Herman Bros., caps, em-
ployes 1 1 ; Herrick & Voight Chemical Co., testile oils, gums, starches,
employes 6; Hochman-Kramer Co., Inc., men's and boy's neck-
wear, employes 100; Holland Laundry, Inc., employes 223;
Huber, J. M. Inc., printing inks, employes 20; Hudson County Marble
Co., employes 2; Hudson Iron & Metal Co., iron supplies, etc., em-
ployes 8; Hudson Pants Co., trousers, employes 65; Hudson Pipe &
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Supply Co., employes n; Hyben Shirt Co., Inc., men's shirts, em-
ployes 24; I. & H Dress Co., ladies' dresses, employes 54; Interna-
tional Nickel Co., employes 155; Jersey Printing Co., Inc., employes
12; Joachim, L. Keys, employes 1; Kavanagh, Charles T., Building
materials, employes 4; Key City Bolt & Spike Works, employes 7;
Kitzis, Abe, cotton dresses, employes 17; Knickerbocker Ice Co., em-
ployes 3 ; Knickerbocker Laundry Inc., employes 45 ; L. & L. Dress
Co., employes 90; Latendorf Conveying Corp., employes 31; Law,
Wm. S. & Bros., printing, employes 4; Lillian Sportswear, Inc., ladies'
dresses, employes 42; Lummus Co., experimental laboratory work,
employes 18; Maiden Form Brassiere Co., Inc., employes 950; Margon
Corp., doll's eyes and doll supplies, employes 298; Miller Auto Gear &
Parts Co., Inc., employes 4; Mongiello Bros., Inc., employes 21; Na-
tional Bottling Works employes 6; National Sulphur Co., sulphur re-
fining grinding, employes 40; Novelty Neckwear Co., men's neck-
wear, employes 13; Ogden, J. Edward Co., employes 117; Palmer
Asphalt Co., roofing materials, employes 3; Penner, A., mattresses,
employes 1 ; Pharma Chemical Corp., dyes and intermediates, employes
71; Posnock M. Inc., lumber, millwork, mason material, employes 7;
Progress Printing Co., employes 5; Prospect Neckwear Co., men's
neckwear employes 18; Prospect Planing Mill Co., millwork, employes
5; Royal Laundry, employes 47; Ruby Mfg. Co., Inc., cotton dresses,
employes 36; S. & B. Dress Co., ladies' silk dresses, employes 29;
Schwartz, Adolph, men's neckwear, employes 15; Service Soda Mfg.
Co., employes 3; Schacter, B., men's neckwear, employes 19; Shalhoub
Bros., laces, scarfs, ladies' dresses and negligees, employes 25 ; Sharp
Bros., wood patterns, employes 2; Siegel Dress Co., employes 20;
Smart Maid Dress Co., employes 61 ; Solar Mfg. Corp., radio and elec-
trical condensers, employes 20; Southern Cotton Oil Co., edible oils,
salad and cooking oils and shortenings, employes 95 ; Standard Oil
Co. of N. J., employes 3,698; Starr Dress Co., employes 35; Sternad,
Wm. J. Electric Co., employes 1; Sunshine Laundry, employes J2\
Super Neckwear Co., men's neckwear, employes 34; Superior Printing
Co., employes 7; Taintor Co., whiting and paris white, employes 42;
Texas Co., petroleum and its products, employes 150; Tide Water As-
sociated Oil Co., petroleum and its products, employes 1,686, Tierney
Bottling Works, employes 5; United Tank Car Co., employes 54;
United Sheet Metal Co., employes 5; Van's Printing Service, employes
1 ; Wachsberg Pickle Works, pickle products, employes 3 ; Walker,
Charles P. Co., Venetian blinds, employes 5 ; Weld-Rite Co., acetylene
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
welding, employes i ; Well Made Frocks, ladies' dresses, employes 39 ;
Weller, F. A. Foundry Co., brass, bronze and aluminum castings, em-
ployes 6; White Rose Laundry, Inc., employes 36; Woodward Lumber
& Coal Co., employes 5.
(From N. J. State Chamber of Commerce) Industrial Directory
of N, J., 1938.
THE BAYONNE PORT TERMINAL
The Bayonne Port Terminal is one of the biggest undertakings
Bayonne has indulged in for many years. The terminal is a combina-
tion bulkhead and is filled with docks, railroad tracks and a motor
causeway which extends almost two miles into New York Bay. When
entirely completed, it will provide for rail and motor truck connections
with the docks, said to be large enough to handle eighteen vessels at
one time. The end of the terminal is practically even with the Statue
of Liberty and Constable Hook. Ocean liners could land here without
getting into any of the traffice of the North River coming directly in
from the ocean. This project was constructed with P.W.A. funds —
the city sharing in the cost of the construction.
The port terminal is the greatest constructive achievement of any
administration in the history of the city. It is the only one which has
ever brought a dollar into the city treasury. It has opened new hope
for the future by creating terminal and industrial facilities which will
be a magnet for the world's shipping. It is the city's surest prosperity
insurance, and it will bring a steady increase in municipal revenue, em-
ployment for workers and business for the merchants.
January 17, 1939 Bayonne's modern port terminal is a far cry
from the old docks along the Kill van Kull and other old-time shore
front shipping points and as such is beginning to offer a picture of the
shipping industry in modern dress. The distinction is especially no-
ticeable when some of the new modern whalers dock at the port ter-
minal. No full rigged sailing vessel is the S. S. Frango, as in the olden
days, one of the whaling ships operated by the American Whaling Co.
of New York laden with romance, and reeking with whale oil, but it is
rather a floating factory, replete with all the machinery required to
handle a job comparable only to that done by the packing house ashore.
Here is a ship that must not only be self-sufficient during an eight-
month voyage but in addition must be able to work night and day for
a period of three months. It is during this period that the whales are
killed, hauled aboard and converted into whale oil. In order to do
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
this the Frango is equipped with machinery of all kinds ranging frovi
winches able to drag a 50-ton whale aboard as easily as if it were
a minnow to cookers which convert the entire carcass into oil within an
hour. A typical whaling trip aboard the Frango, such as its last one
to west Australian waters, begins in April. Leaving the home port,
New York, the modern whaler heads for South Africa. On this leg
of the trip there are no whale hunters aboard, only an average crew
of seamen plus a crew of workmen whose task it is to turn the whales
into the tons of oil with which the ship is laden on the return voyage.
The Frango had, upon landing at the port, more than 7,000 tons of oil
aboard and the ship rides deep in the water with its heavy cargo. At
Cape Town, the Frango stops to pick up the hunters and a small
flotilla of steam launches used by the hunters in chasing and killing the
whales. Most of the hunters, like the crew of the Frango, are Nor-
wegians, for it is this race that has traditionally followed the whaling
industry. Despite many tales, whales only appear on the surface of
the water for about three seconds. This is when the telling shot must
be fired and the whaler of 1939 has no time for romantic cries of
"Thar she blows." It's a bustling, hustling business that turns the placid
waters of West Australia into a turmoil of activity. For, although,
on this Whaler, the crew is a hard working gang, the mate is the direct
anthithesis of the story-book type. Harry Songdahl, the mate, is a
quiet but capable ship's officer whose tastes run more to the Scriptures
than profanity. His father is a deacon of a Brooklyn church and he
himself was a Sunday School teacher for many years. His religion
does not interfere with his job, however, and his orders are backed by
a physique that commands the respect of all. He is honored and highly
respected as a man of integrity and dependability.
The Captain is very cordial to visitors aboard his ship and is al-
ways anxious to prove that his ship is more than a floating factory
equipped with machinery for sordid commercial enterprise. Captain
Smith showed a party, of which the writer was one, his quarters
just aft the bridge. Here there was a neat galley with shining pots
and pans, everything in place and as neat as the most meticulous
housewife could desire. One cabin serves as sleeping quarters and
another is used by him for an office. All are spic and span and com-
Quarters for the crew are below decks, fore and aft of the ship.
Naturally these are not as cheery as those provided for the officers,
nevertheless, they are clean and more habitable than one would expect
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
on a ship engaged in such an industry. Likewise, they are probably
far better than can be found on the average tramp steamer.
The first paying vessel to make use of the new $4,500,000 ship-
rail terminal at Bayonne, docked at Bayonne on February 14, 1939.
She was the freighter, Gunda, owned by A. B. Transmarine and is
a coal burning cargo vessel of 3,460 dead-weight tons. She is capable
of carrying 3,000 tons of cargo and her average speed is 7 knots per
hour. She arrived after a rough and stormy voyage from Swedish
ports and Rotterdam with a cargo of 2,600 tons of wood pulp. The
terminal provides for direct transfer of a ship's cargo to the freight
trains, the shipment from the Gunda was stored in the 1,000 foot long-
transit shed which has been designed as a warehouse for cargoes
which do not lend themselves to immediate transfer by rail. Captain
Robert H. Anderson, Master of the Gunda, was greeted at the port
by Harper Holt, President of Central District, Inc. operators of the
The first vessel to actually dock at the Port Terminal without the
use of tugs was the Swedish vessel, Facto, 259 feet in length, bringing
a cargo of Canadian wet wood pulp. Although ability to dock with-
out tugs is an important feature of the new terminal, the Facto was
the first ship which took advantage of the new facilities. John J.
Cunningham, Superintendent of the Terminal, pointed out that due
to "turning basin" and the quay type of piers, it is entirely feasible for
all ships to berth at the terminal without any assistance from tug
Ships of all nations have been moving in and out of the Terminal
in recent weeks with various kinds of cargo but the latest addition to
the Terminal is the Norwegian Liner "SS Oslofjord" a trans-Atlantic
luxury liner of the Norwegian-American Line which tied up at the
north side on January 8, 1940. It was said that the 20,000 ton vessel
would remain here for the duration of the war.
The new Port Terminal receives from all ports of the globe and
extends a welcome to all. But just now, April 1, 1940, "Big Joe",
and the Russian Pavillion of the 1939 World's Fair, a mass of fabri-
cated steel rests on a great barge ready to be taken away "to Red
Square" Moscow. The "Farewell" will meet with the approval of
multitudes of patriotic American citizens, who from Portland to Port-
land, prefer that it shall rest on Red Square in Moscow rather than in
the United States.
"Big Joe" was never popular in the United States and became a
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
matter of deep controversy and severe criticism. Even so the mass is
still a matter of speculation, curiosity and uncertainty . . . and no doubt
will be so until it clears from the Bayonne Port Terminal.
NEWEST ADDITION TO BAYONNE's INDUSTRIAL FAMILY
THE GENERAL CABLE CORPORATION
The General Cable Corporation maintains a Bayonne Plant on
West First Street, and is at the present time supplying the govern-
ment materials for rearmament programs and also in participating to
some degree in foreign business. The General Cable Corporation
owns thirteen acres of land at Kill van Kull and is planning to erect
a building, within the next few months, which will when completed be
the largest cable research and testing laboratory in the world. This
will not increase employment, however, as Mr. S. A. Smith, Jr., Plant
Manager has said, because the present laboratory staff in Perth Amboy
will be moved to Bayonne.
ORGANIZATIONS AND CLUBS LN BAYONNE
The Ancient Order of Hibernians
The oldest organization on record in Bayonne is The Ancient
Order of Hibernians which was organized in the early 1860's
with one hundred and twenty-five uniformed men. Other divi-
sions were Nos. 6, 9, 17 and 20. They met in Connelly's Hall on
Evergreen Street in the early days. No. 9 Division which is the only
division in existence today was organized in May 1903. The organiza-
tion now meets in the Knights of Columbus Building.
The present officers are : President, Michael Flannery ; Vice-Presi-
dent, Dennis O'Leary; Recording Secretary, Timothy Sullivan;
Financial Secretary, John Bruton; Treasurer, William F. Hogan
(which office he has held for twenty- five years) ; Marshal, Andrew
The Ancient Order of Hibernians, Women's Auxiliary Division
Xo. 17 is headed by Mrs. Julia Solomon, Division President.
ORGANIZATION OF THE MASONS
In the hall over Dr. Derby's store, the exterior of which still
stands at 211 Broadway on the west side and opposite Cottage Street,
Bayonne Lodge No. 99 Free and Accepted Masons the night of April
2, 1869, received its dispensation. Twenty men demitted from lodges
in New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and Illinois and formed
charter members, who gathered in the hall and witnessed, by oil lamp
light, the ceremonies of establishing a Masonic Order in Bayonne,
when Senior Grand Warden William F. Pine acting for the Grand
Master, delivered the dispensation, assisted by Grand Lecturer William
Mead. Judge John H. Besher, Master of the Lodge, received the
dispensation. Those members were :
George Taylor, Hiram No. 17; Frederick G. Payne, Crawford No.
234 ; Nathan Bartlett, Richmond No. 290, Pa. ; John W. Swope, Rich-
mond No. 290, Pa. ; John H. Besher, Long Island No. 382 ; John G.
Armour Atlas No. 316, New York; John Van Buskirk, Jr., Bergen
No. 47, New Jersey ; Hiram Van Buskirk, Bergen No. 47, New Jersey ;
William W. Gilbert, Astor No. 603, New York; Edward C. Atwood,
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Manhattan Xo. 62, New York; George F. Eveland, Mansfield No. 36,
New Jersey; Reese Hughes, Mountain No. 281, Pa.; William Smith,
Essex No. 49, New Jersey; Martin R. Cook, Valley No. 109, New
York; Joseph A. Haynes, Stewart No. 34, New Jersey; Leonard J.
Johnston, Caesarea No. 64, New Jersey ; George Marshall, Dundee
No. 190, Illinois; Edward C. Bramhall, No. 31, Varick, New Jersey;
Thomas Ibbotson, Dundee No. 190, Illinois; William C. Hamilton,
Varick No. 31, New Jersey.
The following month the lodge began initiating candidates who
were John Tewman and Chas. S. Roe. They were raised July 1, 1869 at
which time Bergen Lodge No. 47 of Jersey City paid its first visit.
For the first sweltering summer months the new lodge decided to
purchase three dozen palm leaf fans, six goblets and a table. No bill
for refreshments, however, is to be found until after the Washington
Lodge No. 33 of Elizabeth visited, the night of October 7, 1869. The
expenses amounted to $4.25. When the lodge received its warrant
from a member of the Washington Lodge on February 17, 1870, a
celebration was staged in an elaborate fashion. The wives of the
lodge members made aprons for the officers, the Reformed Church
loaned its organ and the Enterprise Society sang. The next wor-
shipful master was John H. Besher.
Before any "black balls" were purchased the lodge had been meet-
ing more than a year. Applicants were apparently being received for
May 4, 1 871 the Secretary was ordered to purchase "one dozen Black
balls." Modest furnishings for the first year for the lodge room cost
but $116.43. Snowstorms sometimes kept members from venturing
from their homes and the 83rd regular communication of January 26,
1 87 1 was not held owing to a snowstorm.
Negotiations began October 13, 1870 to move from Dr. Derby's
Hall to a building being planned by J. R. Schuyler. These came to
naught, however, it seems for he paid $250. six days later to release
all claims to the room.
Finally the lodge abandoned Dr. Derby's Hall for the meeting of
December 14, 1876 was held at their rooms in Masonic Hall, corner
of 16th Street and Avenue C (now 8th Street) the rooms being the
entire top floor of the building, as a matter of fact later formed the
vocational school. At that time the present 8th Street was 16th Street
due to reorganization of the streets later on.
When the 99th Mason was raised by the new lodge, Alex. Dallas
who received the 3rd dergee February 1, 1883, the members collected
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
$99. for a "collation." The collation actually cost $218.10 a generous
amount for 1883, to say the least.
The Masons bought Schuyler Hall from the Schuyler Estate execu-
tors on February 24, 1896 for $13,000 and six years later sold it to the
Mayor and Common Council for $14,500.
Sharing Schuyler Hall with the Masons was the Post Office and
the first building and loan association in Bayonne.
When Schuyler Hall was transferred to the City, the Masons went
to Woodruff's Hall, which was on the top floor of the grocery store
owned by Alfred D. Woodruff, son-in-law of James Coward, which
was located between 33rd and 34th Streets on Broadway. The Masons
continued to meet here until 191 2 when they moved to the new Odd
Fellow's Hall at 29th Street and Broadway. The first meeting was
held here May 9, 19 12 and the first member initiated was W. H.
Marion. One of the rarest distinctions came to Bayonne Lodge dur-
ing the meeting of the Grand Lodge in 1908 when Leslie A. Burritt
was made Junior Grand Warden. A reception was given by his fellow
lodgemen who presented him with a 33rd degree Jewel.
The cornerstone was laid for the new Masonic Temple on Avenue
C and 40th Street on May 22, 1926. After seventy years of dream-
ing by the Masons, they realized their ambition of having their own
A parade started down Avenue C and 30th Street, led by five
mounted patrolmen, followed by Police Captain William Keegan at the
head of two platoons of policemen commanded by Lieut. Saul Katcher
and Patrick J. Donovan. Mayor Robert Talbot and Commissioners
Hosford and Dr. Bert Daly reviewed the parade from the platform
where the ceremonies were performed. Jesse Service was Master of
the Bayonne Lodge at that time. The Most Worshipful Brother
William B. Mackey, Grand Master of Masons for the State of New
Jersey from Collingswood was present at the ceremonies for the
The present Worshipful Master of the Lodge is Mr. M. David
THE ARGONAUTA ROWING ASSOCIATION ORGANIZED APRIL 5, 187O
The Argonauta Rowing Association was organized April 5, 1870
and was located on First Street and Trask Avenue. They had a
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
boathouse and large, spacious grounds and it was considered a fine
club having many of the best people on its membership list.
The Argonauta Regatta, July 5, 1880, races started at 3 130 P. M.
The boats started from Chancellor Dock.
The first race was for 4-oared gigs and the crew was as follows :
White— G H. Davis, E. P. Allen, R. C. Annette, C. W. Trask,
Stroke, E. M. Benton, Cox.
R ED _W. Southard, S. L. Mackie, J. T. Gilchrist, Jr., N. H. Day,
Stroke, F. D. Voorhees, Cox.
The second race was for 4-oared shells and the crew was as fol-
White — W. Man, J. M. Duane, A. C. Humphreys, N. W. Trask,
Red — Ed. Smith, A. Duane, E. R. Peck, C. B. Greene, Stroke.
The Reds were the victors in this race.
The third race was for 4-oared gigs and the crew was as follows :
White — R. C. Annette, Ed. Vreedenburgh, A. C. Humphreys, S.
B. Trask, Stroke, Walter Man, Cox.
Red— J. T. Gilchrist, Jr., G. A. Fuller, J. A. Lowdwick, E. R. Craft.
Stroke, Ed. Smith, Cox.
The Reds won the third race also.
In the evening a dance was held at the La Tourette Hotel and
badges to the winners were presented by Col. Fuller.
In 1886 the Argonauta Rowing Association became the New Jersey
THE BAYONNE ROWING ASSOCIATION ORGANIZED 1872
The Bayonne Rowing Association came into existence in 1872
and had for its contemporaries the famous Argonauta Rowing Asso-
ciation, Bergen Point Athletic Club, Viking Rowing Association and
the Newark Bay Yacht Club. G. S. Boyce was the first President and
Joseph W. Elsworth was the first Captain. In 1886 the officers were:
President, E. H. Bennett; Vice-President, Joseph Elsworth, Jr.;
Treasurer George A. Squire; Secretary, J. A. Phillips; Captain, E. E.
Van Buskirk; Lieutenant C. O. Stillman; Board of Trustees were:
E. H. Bennett, Chairman; George A. Squire, E. E. Van Buskirk,
Ernest C. Webb, J. T. Field, I. A. Gard, W. C. Nicholson, W. H.
Jasper and J. H. Allaire.
In 1888 Bayonne Athletic Association with membership of one
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
hundred, consolidated with the Bayonne Rowing Association. The
property owned by the Athletic Association was disposed of and a new
site purchased on the shore. The building of the New Jersey Cen-
tral's new line in 1891 necessitated a change in the location of the
clubhouse. It was moved to the corner of East 32nd Street and
Prospect Avenue. Of all the oarsmen who have won honors for the
Bayonne Rowing Association, none stand out more prominently than
the four-oared crew which was kept together from 1889 to 1896. The
members were : Thomas Garrett, Charles Cook, Edward H. Scofleld
and E. A. Schumacher and the banners and cups they won, long
adorned the clubhouse. Social life in the clubhouse w T as as popular as
athletics and the bi-weekly dances of the eighties were popular with
New York as well as Bayonne Society.
Bayonne People's Regatta under the auspices of the Bayonne Row-
ing Association was held August 19, 19 16 on the Newark Bay Course.
The Regatta Committee was composed of : John McGilivary, Chair-
man; A. M. Young, Treasurer; Charles E. Jaeger, Secretary, others
were Jos. H. Boylan, Herbert Smith, Kenneth Mackenzie, Oscar
Gunther, Frank Brooks, Robert L. Mackenzie, Kenneth M. Reed,
Edw. Boorman, Edw. Staunton, Frank Johnson, F. F. Ockershausen,
Fred A. Mackenzie, Floyd Landon and John Kenna. In the evening
a dance at the La Tourette Hotel took place at which time, prizes were
INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS
The Independent Order of Odd Fellows was organized in Bayonne
October 28, 1873. Their meeting place was Schuyler Hall in the
Bergen Point Section. The Charter members were as follows : Wil-
liam B. Douglas, Noble Grand ; Thomas Moore, Vice Grand ; George
G. Lehman, Recording-Secretary; Henry Zimmerman, Financial
Secretary and Thomas Warren, Treasurer. The Odd Fellows were
very strong and prosperous and in the year 191 1 they erected a build-
ing on Broadway between 29th and 30th Streets. Appropriate cere-
monies marked the laying of the cornerstone of the new building-
October 15, 191 1 by Mt. Vernon Lodge, No. 176. A parade preceded
the cornerstone ceremonies in which were about 200 members and
guests. The Boys' Band of the German Odd Fellows Home of New
York headed the procession, led by William Thompson. The cere-
monies started with the playing of " Nearer My God to Thee." The
address of the occasion was delivered by Dr. Frank W. Crouthers of
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Perth Amboy, X. J. who was Past Grand Master of N. J. and Grand
Representative to the Sovereign Grand Lodge. He sketched the
objects of the Odd Fellows Organization which was started, he said,
in the United States in 1819.
INSTITUTION OF PALM REBEKAH LODGE NO. 34 I.O.O.F.
On February 26, 1901 at 15 East 21st Street in Odd Fellows Hall,
a group met for the purpose of instituting a Rebekah Lodge. The
first name suggested was Concord, but this was not met with approval.
Guiding Star was mentioned but this grand name was taken from an-
other lodge so was turned down. Finally the Grand Master sug-
gested the members giving names : Lady Goethe, Lyndhurst and Palm
were suggested and the Grand Master decided on Palm No. 34.
Grand officers present were : E. O. Bussing, Grand Master ; August
Grassmann, Grand Representative; Henry J. Melosh, Past Grand
Master ; Harry Pine, Dep. Grand Master ; President of Assembly Mary
Davis; Vice-President of Assembly, Charlotte Morris; Secretary of
Assembly, Mary Fullen ; District Dep. President Isabel Lawrence and
Staff of Hudson No. 1, also Staff of the Rebekah Lodge.
Meeting was called to order by Grand Master E. O. Bussing and
an application for a charter was received, accompanied by nine with-
drawal cards. They were as follows :
Annie Farber, Myrtle No. 10; Annie Koch, Myrtle No. 10; Mar-
garet Garbs, Myrtle No. 10; Annie Harris, Myrtle No. 10; Emma
Buell, Evergreen No. 3 ; Fanny Colin, Evergreen No. 3 ; Minna Lauer,
Evergreen No. 3 ; Pauline Schaub, Evergreen No. 3 ; Henry Harris,
Evergreen No. 3.
The following dismissal cards were received and then admitted :
Alice Evans, Selma Rasch, G. Colling from Myrtle No. 10, the lodge
was then instituted according to the laws and regulations of the order.
Since 1901 the order has lost and gained members and at present
is doing nicely. Many of the members daughters are joining. There
is a beautiful home in Briele, New Jersey for sisters of the order, also
a home in Newark for the orphans. At the present time there is only
one lodge in Bayonne but there are 97 lodges in the State of New
Jersey and five junior lodges. The juniors are from 12 years of age
to 18 at which time they are eligible to join the Rebekah Lodge.
Members and officers of Palm Rebekah Lodge No. 34 are:
Gertrude Johnson, Noble Grand ; Maude Barker; Vice Grand; Anna
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
L. Golding, Past District Deputy, present Secretary; Carrie Covert.
Past Noble Grand ; Gertrude B. Johnson, Past District Deputy, present
Treasurer; Chaplain, Adah J. Humphrey; Outside Guardian, Florence
Gallett ; Inside Guardian, Maude Ebenau ; Conductor, Elizabeth
Barth; Warden, Charlotte Freer; Right Supporter to Noble Grand,
Catherine Mervis; Left Supporter to Noble Grand, Elizabeth Detels;
Past Noble Grand and Past District Dep. President, Elizabeth
Schulze; Pianist, Selma Fimbel; Past President of Assembly, Minnie
M. Kugler, Brother Berger; Bro. and Sister John Boltz; Bro. and
Sister Manning; Mrs. Beck, Mrs. Eliz. J. Meyers, Bro. Detels; Bro.
Nelson Dunn, Miss Margaret Manning.
THE NEW JERSEY YACHT CLUB ORGANIZED IN 1879
The New Jersey Yacht Club was organized in 1879 with a club-
house on the shores of Communipaw section of Jersey City alongside
Pavonia. In 191 1 the club moved from Communipaw to West 30th
Street and Newark Bay. The building took fire in 19 14 and burned,
they then went to Schultz Park on West 27th Street. After that the
club was suspended. It was then reorganized, taking advantage of
the dispute among the members of the Newark Bay Yacht Club which
was then located at the foot of West 54th Street and Newark Bay. A
faction of those members belonging to the New Jersey Yacht Club
and who still had possession of the Charter, made arrangements for
the leasing of the quarters located there and succeeded in ousting the
Newark Bay Yacht Club and flung New Jersey's pennant to the
THE BAYONNE CLUB ORGANIZED l88o
The Bayonne Club was organized in the summer of 1880 by a
group of young business men. They leased what they called "The
Nine Row" consisting of nine houses situated on the east side of
Avenue A near 33rd Street. On the opposite side of Avenue A were
open fields and beyond a clean sandy beach, on the shore of Newark
Bathing was good and fishing plentiful. The leading spirit was
Ernest C. Webb, a young and prosperous lawyer who was elected
President. George Jewett was first Secretary-Treasurer, and others
were: J. A. Phillips, Henry Garretson, W. A. Holmes and E.
MacDonald and numerous others. In the summer of 1907 the Newark
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Bay Boat Club, as it was called at that time, opened their new home on
33rd Street and Newark Bay with a Regatta followed by a dinner.
This Club built the building which now is the home of the Elks for a
winter quarters but later on sold it to the Elks and the 33rd Street
club served as their only clubhouse. A few years ago the Club was
THE YOUNG MEN'S ASSOCIATION ORGANIZED 1887
The Young Men's Association, one of the oldest organizations
of its kind, social and athletic in Bayonne, was instituted in 1887 by
seven young men of the Bergen Point section, who considering the
idea of banding together into a society, met under the old railroad
bridge that spanned Avenue D at West 8th Street on the evening of
August 10, 1887 and organized the present Young Men's Associa-
tion. Of their charter members, three, Cornelius Reagon, Dennis
Hennessy and James J. Devlin have joined the society where the mo-
tion to adjourn is never in order while the others Thomas M. O'Brien,
Patrick Kenny, John J. Reilly and the late City Clerk William P. Lee
are respected and prominent citizens of the city.
Headquarters were established in the Telephone Exchange build-
ing on West 8th Street. The membership increased to such an extent
that the club moved to a more comfortable building, then the property
of the late Judge P. \V. Connelly. Here, within a year, the members
felt cramped for room and shelter was sought on the second floor or
24? Avenue D near 9th Street where they remained for two years,
when an entire building was rented on 9th Street, next door to the
Bayonne Herald, the former Bayonne paper. In 1897 the associa-
tion, its membership large and having prospered- by good manage-
ment, decided that the time had come when it should have a home of
its own. Accordingly, a committee was appointed to bring about this
happy result. How well they accomplished their mission may be
judged from the fact that inside of eight months property had been
bought on West 10th Street, funds obtained and an up-to-date club-
house erected. After eleven years of wandering from one home to
another the members enjoyed the facilities of a handsomely equipped
building and what good old times did follow these exciting bowling
matches which were frequently captured by the Y. M. A.
On February 9, 1908 the club suffered a severe loss. That
evening fire destroyed the building to such an extent that the next
morning nothing was left but the lot. This was a blow to the mem-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
bers, everything of value was destroyed, including numerous trophies
won by the baseball and bowling teams. The disaster was only an
impetus to greater efforts. A committee was at once put to work to
arrange for the rebuilding of the clubhouse. After careful consider-
ation the site on ioth Street was sold and a plot of ground on the
Boulevard near 14th Street was purchased and the building which now
stands on said plot was erected in less than a year. The success of
the Y. M. A. is due largely to the strict adherence to the laws laid
down by its founders and carried out by the officers who were at the
head of the organization from year to year. The association has had
many presidents including John J. Lynch, William F. Gray, Sr.,
Police Chief Cornelius J. O'Neill, Jere D. Lynch, Joseph P. Devine,
Daniel Sweeney, John A. Cook, William Hurley, James Flynn, George
Powers, Frank Hughes, Peter A. Donovan, Arthur Sullivan, James
E. Ellis, John Nix, William Shanaghan, Louis Lang, Arthur Flana-
gan, Michael Coughlin and Anthony Cashman.
THE POLITICAL STUDY CLUB ORGANIZED l888
The Political Study Club, which is the second oldest club in the
State of New Jersey, having been founded by Mrs. Alexander Christie
and organized in 1888, was started by a number of mothers in Cen-
tral Bayonne to object to school conditions in that vicinity and Mrs.
Alexander Christie was elected President. Later the club took up
women's suffrage movement and had a number of prominent speakers
on the ''New Woman Cause," among them Mrs. Elizabeth Cady
Stanton, author of "The Woman's Bible" ; Mrs. Antoinette Brown
Blackwell, the first woman ordained minister in the State ; Miss Mary
Philbrook, the first woman admitted to the Bar in New Jersey; Sen-
ator Helen Ring Robinson, sister of the late former President, Theo-
dore Roosevelt ; Mrs. Julia Goldzier, a member of the club, who started
the movement for police women and Mrs. Lillian Feickert, the state
suffrage leader who later became the first President of the Women's
State Republican Club and State Vice-Chairman of the Republican
The club joined the State'* Federation in 1894 when the Federation
was organized. At that time it was called "The Ladies' Social and
Political Advancement Society" but later changed to the Political
Study Club. The club has taken a part in almost every move-
ment in the progress toward better conditions in the city and state.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Members of this club were among the one hundred women who
stormed the offices of the County Park Board to demand a County
Park for Bayonne, which was successfully carried out later. They
assisted as a woman's auxiliary in helping to raise funds for a soldier's
monument in the County Park at a cost of $1,500. These pioneer
women, with banners flying, marched in every suffrage parade on
Fifth Avenue, New York. In 191 2 with three other Federated clubs,
this club joined in assisting for the movement for a community Christ-
mas tree and formed the Municipal Christmas Tree and Mrs. Santa
Claus Association. They did their part during the World War days
in the sale of Liberty Bonds and Red Cross Work.
In the beautifying of the Lincoln Highway of New Jersey, which
was conducted by the conservation department of the State Federa-
tion of which Mrs. William M. Wauters was Chairman, they planted
a tree at Camp Dix in memory of Major E. P. Reichhelm and at
Lincoln Park, Jersey City in honor of Mrs. Alexander Christie and in
an effort to have a national flower adopted, a member of the club was
on the committee which interviewed Mrs. Woodrow Wilson at the
White House, who spoke in favor of their chosen flower — the Laurel
— and also Admiral Dewey, who explained to the Committee how he
had been successful in having the National Anthem, "The Star-
Spangled Banner" adopted by the United States Navy.
They were also members of a committee that participated in a tree
planting on the Lincoln Highway at Princeton, April 25, 1916 when
President Woodrow Wilson planted a tree and a large shrub of flower-
ing Laurel in memory of Abraham Lincoln.
Many of the pioneer members have passed on but many of them
were made happy, when in 1920 the right to vote was granted the
women of America, following the World War. The club continues
its interest in civic affairs today and stands ready to further all bills
pertaining to civic improvements and better working conditions for
women. At its 50th Anniversary meeting Mrs. John Drucker was
elected President and Mrs. Charles Dell, a daughter of Mrs. Alexander
Christie, the founder, was elected Vice-President and Mrs. Claude
Day, daughter of the late Major E. P. Reichhelm, was elected Secre-
THE PENINSULA YACHT CLUB
The Peninsula Yacht Club was located at the foot of West 24th
Street and Newark Bay and was erected in the year 1889 by Chester
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
D. Ayers, who is still residing in the Point section, formerly occupied
by club located there until 1893 when it was succeeded by the Essex
Yacht Club of Newark as their Bayonne branch and the building be-
came the property of one Jacob Ackerman. In 1896 the property was
acquired by the Nelson family but the Essex Yacht Club still had
their quarters there until 1908 when they disbanded and the Bayonne
Yacht Club, which was located at Meyer & Dressig's foot of West
27th Street moved to the Nelson building where they worked until
19 14. They also disbanded and were succeeded by the Peninsula
Yacht Club, the present occupants of the clubhouse.
THE PASTIME ATHLETIC CLUB
The Pastime Athletic Club was in existence in the 8o's and was
located on Broadway and 46th Street. The building which later be-
came Wake's Hall was their clubhouse and it was the center of many
social gatherings as well as political meetings, dances, etc.
THE ELSWORTH BOAT CLUB
The Elsworth Boat Club was also in existence in the 8o's and this
club was located at the foot of East 37th Street and Newark Bay. A
group got together and built a clubhouse on what is still known as
Elsworth's Island, a pile of rocks about one hundred feet off the
shore. The club became famous in boat racing circles of those days as
the Elsworth's possessed small craft of every description and were
entered in all nearby regattas and brought home many trophies. Cap-
tain Joe Elsworth sailed the "Puritan" against the British Yacht
"Genesta" in 1889 in the International Yacht races and won. The
boathouse was destroyed by storm about 1893 an d the piles on which
the house stood are still seen on the Island.
THE ATHENA CLUB ORGANIZED IN 1892
The Athena Club, which is one of the oldest of the Woman's Clubs
in the city, was organized in 1892 by Mrs. M. Close- Sleesman, who
was also the first President. Mrs. S. I. Myers of Bayonne is the only
charter member who still holds her membership. This club is a
charter member of the State Federation, having affiliated with the Fed-
eration in 1894. Mrs. A. C. Smith is President.
THE WOMAN'S MUSICAL AND LITERARY STUDY CLUB ORGANIZED 1893
The Woman's Musical and Literary Study Club was organized by
Mrs. Mai Close-Sleesman in 1893. Some of the active members
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
later were : Mrs. W. W. Anderson, Mrs. E. B. Annett, Miss A. M.
Capitain, Miss Lillian Clemens, Miss Sara Du Bois, Mrs. H. S. Ger-
mond, Miss Josephine G. Duke, Mrs. Vitalis Himmer, Mrs. J. A. Rum-
rill, Mrs. S. V. Anderson, Mrs. Doris Whipple, Mrs. Messner, Mrs.
Lucy Houghton, Mrs. Welantz, Mrs. Plante, Mrs. C. A. Browne and
THE KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS ORGANIZED 1895
The Knights of Columbus was organized about 1895 when a group
of 43 men were initiated into the mysteries of an unknown and un-
heralded society that was regarded with suspicion by the clergy and
whose members trod a thorny path until the work of the organization
proved its worth to the community. The membership has swelled to
approximately 750 members. Star of the Sea Council, No. 371
Knights of Columbus is regarded as one of the foremost fraternal
Catholic organizations in the city.
They met for the first time in what was first known as Masonic
Hall, later Schuyler Hall, Vocational School and what is now an annex
of the Holy Family Academy on West 8th Street.
Heading the first roster of officers was the late William M. O'Neill,
brother of the late Rev. Geo. Doane O'Neill, for several years Chan-
cellor of the Newark Diocese and brother of the Rev. Fred O'Neill,
pastor of the Church of the Blessed Sacrament in Newark.
Not only did Grand Knight O'Neill expend his energies toward
the fulfillment of his duties as highest officer of the group, but when
the council had to be equipped with suitable paraphernalia, it was he
who advanced the money on a personal note at a local bank.
Others who were active in those first stages of the council's develop-
ment were former Mayor L. F. Donohoe, the late Judge Thos. F.
Noonan, William C. Devlin, Joseph B. Heraty, Thomas M. O'Brien,
William Mann and Joseph P. McCormack, for some years supervisor
of the State Prison at Trenton.
Before the council finally located at its present home which was
built in 1922 through loan shares bought by the members, meetings
were held in Woodruff's Hall, Odd Fellows' Hall, St. Mary's Hall
and the Knights of Columbus annex. The annex of the K. of C.
headquarters which faces Avenue C was purchased May 19 14 and was
was the former home of the Hocke family. It was the first permanent
home of the council after sixteen years of gypsying around the city in
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Due to the ever growing membership, however, the building became
inadequate and the new [Memorial Building was built at a cost of over
$140,000. This building was called the Victory Building in honor of
those who served in the World War, and is located on West 30th
Street. The recreational needs of the boys of this city were a large
consideration in the plans of the building committee with the result
that the K. of C. is able to pursue boys' work activities on its present
The K. of C. Boys Club for all boys of the city from ten to eighteen
years of age was organized by Francis K. Strohoefer who began the
center with volunteer leaders among whom were James McGeehan,
executive director and the Columbian Squires under Wm. K. O'Brien.
Besides accommodating boys of all religious faiths and races by
placing the building recreational equipment at their disposal, the
council also sends younger boys to Camp Columbus at Culver's Lake
during the summer months.
Mr. Joseph F. Nugent is the present Grand Knight and the Rev.
Joseph F. Dolan, pastor of St. Vincent de Paul's R. C. Church is
Although the council has no official women's auxiliary, there is a
group of women representatives of the various Catholic parishes who
cooperate in staging the council's yearly charity ball.
THE MUTUAL CULTURE CLUB
The prime organizer of this club was Charles H. Davis in 1895.
Early members were: John Eadie, Sr., William Eddy, Walter N. Gay,
Horance Roberson who was City Treasurer from 1894 to 1896;
Frederic E. Chamberlain, Dr. John W. Carr, Major Reichhelm, Dr. S.
I. Myers, S. J. Harwi and later down to the present time are : Chas.
S. Havens, Darnell Brittin, John L. Collins, Samuel Roberson, D. R.
Santomenna, D. H. Garrison, Aaron T. Gould, F. E. Cotter, Raymond
Filsinger, A. S. Westneat, R. Thornton, Joseph Brady, George J.
Becker, Vere S. Richards. Frank Hallberg is the President.
THE BAYONNE WHEELMEN, INC.
On September 30, 1896 a fine group of leading Bayonne citizens
met at the home of James H. Thomas. 122 West Twentv-second
Street to organize a Bayonne bicycle and pleasure club. The following
enterprising young men were present :
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
James H. Thomas, Dennis Maguire, William Douglas, Antone
Kratz, M. Gibbons, Joseph Herring, Edward T. Jones, Daniel Walrod,
Conrad Beltz, John J. Shaughnesay, Willis Thomson, John Barb, Gus
Eppson, Adolph Graf, Thomas Shaw, John Parker.
The name chosen for the club was "J AMES H. Thomas Bicycle
and Pleasure Club." The following officers were chosen:
James H. Thomas, President ; John Barb, Vice-President ; Edward
T. Jones, Financial Secretary; D. M. Maguire, Treasurer; Daniel
On May 3, 1898 the name of the Club was changed to "Bayonne
Edward T. Jones served as Secretary until October 10, 1936, the
date of his death.
The present officers of the Club are :
Joseph Minton, President ; Dennis McGee, Vice-President ; John
F. Foley, Financial and Recording Secretary; William B. Clarke,
Treasurer ; Stephen McCarthy, Sergeant-at-Arms.
John Minton has been President since January 4, 19 12. Dennis
McGee has been Vice-President since January 8, 1914. William B.
Clarke has been Treasurer since January 8, 1914. The present mem-
bership — 1940, A. D., is no. And the Charter is a closed instrument
and is only opened on rare and unusual occasions. The Club has its
own headquarters at 559 Boulevard (free and clear), with Bowling
Alleys, Pool room, Dance hall and Offices.
ELKS LODGE FOUNDED 1 898
In 1898 the Elks Lodge was founded by James W. Shannon,
George De Waters and Edward Griffin. The Lodge was instituted at
the Old Masonic Hall Avenue D and 8th Street. The installation rites
were directed by District Deputy Richard Fort of Camden who was
assisted by members of the Jersey City and Hoboken Lodges. Some
of the Charter members were :
Edw. Bryce, Dr. L. F. Donohoe, Thos. Magner, F. F. Martinez, Jr.,
Geo. Bradford, Chas. A. Wake, Louis O'Leary, Thos. Beattie, Emmett
Smith, Egbert Seymour, Fred E. Mettam, Thos. Fletcher, Wm. Tifft,
J. W. Empie, Richard C. Annette, Edw. A. Urner, Jas. T. Brady, Peter
Thomas F. Garrett was the first exalted ruler of Bayonne Lodge.
He served two years and was succeeded by George M. DeWaters.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
The new Elks Club Building was dedicated and taken possession
of on May 29, 1907 at which time there was a parade followed by a
dinner in the evening and Elks came from all over Jersey to be present
at the ceremonies. This building was formerly the quarters of the
Newark Bay Boat Club. John N. Fitzhenry is the present Exalted
BAYOXXE CHAPTER XO. 21, ORDER OF THE EASTERX STAR
ORGANIZED IN 1 898
Bayonne Chapter No. 21, Order of the Eastern Star was organized
in 1898. The charter members were :
Miss Elizabeth F. Allan, Mrs. Helen Bryce, Mrs. Jennie Bradford,
Mrs. Julia G. Clark, Miss Eugenie Clark, Mrs. Harriet Chambers,
Mrs. Eleanor Kenny, Miss Annie Meyer, Mrs. Elizabeth Meyer, Mrs.
Isabelle Morrison, Mrs. Martha J. Seamon, Mr. Horace Scull, Mrs.
Mary Wright, Miss Mildred Windas, Mrs. Cecil Wilson, Mrs. Ida
Deyo, Mrs. Sarah Fry, Mrs. Prudence Guy, Miss Mamie Guy, Mrs.
Elizabeth Greglett, Mrs. Delia Hicks Mrs. Lydia Lawder, Miss Isa-
belle Yates, Mrs. Rebecca Metam, Mrs. Emiline Paynton, Mrs. Wil-
li! ina Scull, Mrs. Johanna Vreeland, Miss Charlotte Wright, Mrs.
Cornelia Worden, Airs. Sarah Yates.
The only surviving members of the above are Airs. Mildred Windas
Osborne and Mrs. Elizabeth Meyer.
The first Matron of the Chapter was Mrs. Lydia Lawder.
The first Patron of the Chapter was Mr. Horace Scull.
The present Matron is Miss Gertrude Hallberg.
The present Patron is Mr. Albert Lindberg.
Mrs. Susan Connover and the late Jennie Bolton were the only
members from Bayonne to be Past Grand Matrons of the State.
THE ZONTA CLUB ORGANIZED IN I9OO
The Zonta Club was organized in 1900 as a business and profes-
sional club for women of the city. Mrs. Christine Doherty was the
first president. Charter members were Mrs. John Blanchard, Rose
Brady, Mrs. Edythe Broome, Miss Dema Chayes, Mrs. Sophie Dooley,
Miss Mary Driscoll, Katherine and Florence Gorman, Anna Herbert,
May Lanstree, Elizabeth Meehan, Fannie Morris, Mrs. Virginia
Richards, Mrs. Catherine Schroeter, Mrs. Samuel Cooper and Miss
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
THE BERGEN POINT LAWN TENNIS CLUB
The Bergen Point Lawn Tennis Club, between 9th and 10th
Streets on Avenue A was popular in the late 8o's and early logo's.
Their membership was composed of names like Days, Schuyler,
Browns, Meigs, Humphreys, Sidney Smith, Ida Voorhees, the Na-
tional Champion and later the Shaw family showed great skill on the
THE HARRIERS ATHLETIC CLUB
William Mann organized the Harriers Athletic Club, which was
first called St. Mary's Temperance and Athletic Club, in the year 1900.
About 1904 the Harriers became the Jersey Harriers Athletic Club.
The 4th of July of this year marked the 30th Anniversary of games
under the Harriers.
THE PAVONIA YACHT CLUB
The Pavonia Yacht Club, the second oldest yacht club in the
United States, was organized in 1869. By a special act of the State
Legislature approved March 6, 1873 the club was granted a charter
of incorporation. The charter provided the club be located in Jersey
City or some other convenient point in Hudson County. Originally
it was located at the foot of Pavonia Avenue, Jersey City, from which
it got its name, in what was then called "The Gut." In 1883 the club
moved to the beach at the foot of Jersey Avenue at Communipaw. It
was called the Catboat Club in those days because most of the boats
were rigged with centerboards and sandbag ballast.
In 1888 the Pavonias received official recognition from big yacht
clubs and this meant to participate in all regattas. At a regatta in
1892 they had the honor of receiving a salute of a hundred guns from
the various boats gathered and every craft in the harbor saluted the
Pavonia flag as they passed.
In 1890 the club secured property at Atlantic Highlands and in
1 89 1 ran off a regatta that had one hundred and two boats. Captain
Joe Elsworth won a prize. In 1892 on August 31st, there was an
awful storm. There were seventeen boats at their moorings and the
following day all but one was blown to shore and more or less damaged.
That one belonged to Ex-Commodore D. W. Kohn of New York who
had been at the head of the club for some fourteen years. Alex. Roe,
always kidded him about having enough rope and chain to anchor a
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
fleet, but in this case the storm showed his wisdom. Mr. Kohn said
he always believed in having a good mooring.
In the early icjoo's the club moved to Bayonne and located at the
foot of 41st Street and New York Bay in the old house owned by the
Combs estate which was said to be about 200 years old. The small
house to the left was the original house and the other part having been
added to it. In the original house there was a trap door whereby
during the time of slaves the slaves were put up in the attic by a ladder
and by the time the inspectors came, there was no sign of a slave. The
doors throughout the house were in two parts.
The club had a large membership from neighboring cities. Decora-
tion Day always marked the opening of the season and tables were
set under the trees and chowder served to everyone. The members of
the club took parties out sailing on the bay and in the evening fireworks
were displayed and dancing enjoyed. At this time some of the active
members were : former Commodores, David Kohn, William Throne,
Sheldon Decker, Anthony Sneider, William D. Salter who was Treas-
urer for some years, John F. Schmidt of the Bayonne Trust Company
who was Treasurer, the Harz Brothers (Carl and Claudius) Dave
Woodruff, Dr. George W. Mellor who served in many offices and
Frank Baker with whom Dr. Mellor sailed for years. In Baker's
boat "The Squaw" with Dr. Mellor at the wheel, they won ten prizes
in nine races, one prize being a time prize. At this time the club had
many fine yachts and motorboats.
The brick dock in front of the clubhouse was where the Shad fisher-
Some years later the club took up its present location at the foot of
nth Street and Newark Bay known as Pavonia Court.
The present site, which many years ago was one of the show places
of the Newark Bay shorefront was acquired June 25, 191 3 when
Anthony Schneider was commodore. It had been the residence of
Jacob R. Schuyler. Later years interest in the property finally went
to Schuyler Imbre and Angelica V. R. Haight, who were lineal des-
cendants of Jacob Schuyler and they conveyed the property to the
Pavonia Yacht Club. Prominent among its membership were Gov-
ernor Abbott and Senator McPherson. The club has only two life
members and they are Louis Mittelsdorf and Ex-Commodore D. W.
Kohn. There are four honorary members and they are Congressman
Eugene Kinkead, Gov. Leon Abbott, Dr. George W. Mellor and Hon.
Matthew T. Cronin, one time Mayor of Bayonne.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
THE COUNTY CORKMEN ORGANIZED IN I903
The County Corkmen, one of Bayonne's leading Irish Societies was
organized in 1903 and incorporated on January 3, 1905 by the late
Hudson County Common Pleas Judge Hyman Lazarus. It is affiliated
with the County Corkmen in New York, Boston, Philadelphia, San
Francisco and Richmond County, Staten Island. The Bayonne Cork-
men, organized as a non-sectarian and non-political society met at
Cornelius Murphy's Hall, Broadway at 19th Street; Lynch's Hall,
Broadway at 12th Street and at 298 Broadway before moving to their
present quarters at 710 Avenue C. Among the incorporators were
John Sullivan, Richard Walsh, James O'Leary, John Crowley, Thomas
M. O'Brien, Sr., Thomas O'Connor, Michael Henessey, John Mahoney,
Daniel Foley and Jeremiah O'Connor. John Sullivan, who served
eight terms was the group's first president. Today there are over 464
members and the Ladies' Auxiliary of which Mrs. Thomas O'Connor
was the first president, has about 247 members.
ROBBINS REEF YACHT CLUB ORGANIZED I903
The Robbins Reef Yacht Club was founded in 1903 by a
group of men who belonged to the Pavonia Yacht Club. The founders
of this club were Donald Mackenzie, Sr., Fred S. Muller, Louis Raich-
len, James Casey, Amos Harker, Albert Gottringer, Thomas J. Prior,
Fred Golding, J. Austin, Edward Walborn and David Allen, Jr.,
Donald Mackenzie, Sr. was the first Commodore. Others were John
Crowley, John P. Dunn, J. P. McDermott, W. F. Muller, J. Jacobus
and William Luebbers. The Commodore at the present time is Edward
Schuller who is serving his ninth term. The club now has 140 mem-
bers and 62 boats in its fleet.
Y. M. C. A.
The first thought and effort to bring the Y.M.C. A. to Bayonne was
at the turn of the century. On December 18, 1900 a group of eight
men met in the Sixth Street Methodist Church and organized as the
"Executive Committee of the Y.M.C. A. Project of the City of Bay-
onne." The group consisted of Pierre P. Garven, Chairman, H. Ber-
nard, F. Whitney, F. Oliver, J. Houghton, A. Gartley, T. Tyler and
S. B. Hoes, Secretary.
Others joined the group including Horace Roberson, who is still a
member of the Board of Trustees, Herman Kern and M. V. String-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
ham, who were hard and faithful workers until their deaths. The
meeting rooms were changed to the Republican Club which was then
located on Avenue D and Thirty-second Street.
The Knights of King Arthur, organized by John G. Eadie for the
boys of the First Reformed Sunday School in 1906 grew to such an
extent that they felt the need of a clubhouse.
On December 16, 1908 a group of fifty young men assembled to-
gether and called themselves the "Young Men's Federation." John
G. Edie was President of the group and John Munroe, Secretary and
Rolland Howell, Treasurer. A Dutch Reformed, A Presbyterian and
a Baptist to start — a good combination. They started in a small
wooden shack around 38th Street and Avenue B. At the end of the
first year, the membership list grew to 154.
The Board of Trustees for the first year was : R. G. Castleman,
Walter Hay, John Munroe, Rolland Howell, Kenneth Myers, William
Seeman, Clarence Capes, Hal D. Chapman, Douglas Couden, Carl
Hermon, E. R. Edie, J. G. Edie, George Titus, Willis Alexander,
Harry Drucker, Herman Kern. A woman's auxiliary was formed
June 14, 1909 with Mrs. James Munroe, President.
Money was made at Fairs and other social events given by the
Auxiliary and the boys gave an amateur circus at which time Charles
E. Geibel, Jr. who owned a small horse "Dandy" became a circus
rider to entertain the guests at the affair, donning tarleton skirts, blond
wig and grease paint.
The Federation News was set up by Royden Page Whitcomb which
later became the Association News and was continued until 1926.
In January 19 12 it was decided to incorporate the Federation as
the Young Men's Christian Association of Bayonne, to acquire prop-
erty for a building and to secure an executive secretary. The building
now owned by the organization on West Thirty-third Street was dedi-
cated March 19 16.
The present board consists of : President, Edwin Ogden ; Vice-
President, Arthur Evans ; Secretary, Dr. Stanley Woodruff ; Treasurer,
Walter Turnbull, John L. Collins, J. Munson Johnson, James Custer,
G. Waldron Hoick, William Welch, Warren Roy, Edwin Allaire.
Honorary members : D. Herbert Garrison, Dr. George Sexsmith.
MRS. HUGH C. COLVILLE ORGANIZED NEIGHBORHOOD CLUB IN I9IO,
LATER CALLED BETTERMENT CLUB
Mrs. Hugh C. Colville organized a club during the year 1910
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
which was called the Neighborhood Club of 33rd Street. This club
carried on for some time doing charity work and in 191 1 the name
was changed to the Betterment Club, due to the fact that there was an-
other neighborhood club in the Bergen Point section. The charter
members of the club were : Mrs. John M. Coward, Mrs. Frank A.
Beardsley, Mrs. William T. Ford, Mrs. Hyman Lazarus and the late
Mrs. T. N. Davey. Mrs. Colville was the first president and acted in
that capacity for eight or nine years after which Mrs. William M.
Wauters became president. The Betterment Club affiliated with the
Bayonne Woman's Club in 1924 but still remains as a Betterment
Department which does Welfare work. They try to find jobs for
worthy persons, if possible, and donate food, clothing, medicine, etc.
to the unfortunate of the city. They sell Red Cross Seals and at
Christmas time give a party in one of the local theatres and each
child receives an orange, toy and candy and moving pictures and other
entertainment are provided. The children are mostly patients of the
anti-tuberculosis clinic and special prizes are awarded the children who
carefully follow rules of the clinic during the year and who attend
regularly. The Betterment Club originated the Annual "Clean Up
Week" in the city which in the last few years has been taken up by the
THE BAYONNE CITY YACHT CLUB ORGANIZED I91O
The Bayonne City Yacht Club organized in January 19 10 had
quarters at the foot of West 27th Street, later taking the old quarters
of the New Jersey Yacht Club at the foot of 30th Street. The first
officers selected were : Henry F. Snarke, Commodore ; James B. Gib-
bons, Vice Commodore ; Phillip W. May, Secretary ; William Meyer-
holz, Treasurer ; Arthur Bender. Sergeant-at-Arms. Former City
Comptroller, J. J. Ryan was Commodore during the year 191 1 and he
presented a large silver cup to the club to be competed for by the
boats in races each Labor Day. Others who served as Commodore
were: Gus Ruh in 1912; H. F. Snarke in 1913; William Smalley in
1 9 14- 1 5-16 and Charles B. Waldron in 191 7.
THE MUNICIPAL CHRISTMAS TREE ASSOCIATION ORGANIZED
The four federated Bayonne Clubs for Women got together and
organized The Municipal Christmas Tree Assn. in December 19 12.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Mrs. William M. Wauters was one of the organizers and was elected
the first president and has been president until the present time.
THE WOMAN'S CLUB OF BAYONNE, N. J. ORGANIZED I915
The Woman's Club of Bayonne, N. J. was founded by Mrs.
Myers, wife of the late Dr. S. I. Myers in 191 5 and Mrs. William M.
Wauters was the organizing chairman. Mrs. Thomas Agnew was the
first President. The club was federated in 19 16 and incorporated in
19 18. The City Betterment Club consolidated with the Woman's
Club in 1924. The club colors are blue and gold and the club flower is
The object of the club is to establish in Bayonne a center for the
development of the member's responsibility to one another as citizens
and neighbors and to the community and to the country. The club
started with forty members of which some of the honorary members
are : Mrs. William Arbuckle, Mrs. Thomas N. Carey, Mrs. Hugh Col-
ville, Mrs. H. S. Eddy, Mrs. William H. Goodwin," Mrs. F. C. Gray,
Miss Clara Hathaway, Mrs. E. P. Jenkins, Mrs. D. F. Ramage, Mrs.
Christie Ricket, Airs. Harry Stevens, Mrs. Ralph Templeton, Mrs.
James L. Thomas, Mrs. Lee Toadvine, Mrs. John M. Coward and
Mrs. A. A. De Bonneville.
The organization is a departmental one covering literature, art,
music, drama, legislative, City Betterment and American Home.
The present officers are: Mrs. Louis Knecht, President; Mrs.
Robert H. Lindsley, First Vice-President ; Mrs. S. W. Hackett, Second
Vice-President; Mrs. Horace Roberson, Recording Secretary; Mrs. T.
F. O'Brien, Corresponding Secretary ; Mrs. Geo. Hayfield, Financial
Secretary; Mrs. Frank Hallberg, Treasurer; Mrs. John C. Gallagher,
Federation Secretary. Department Chairman ; Mrs. Louis Gehring,
American Home; Mrs. Wayne Sinclair, Art; Mrs. John Flockhart,
City Betterment; Mrs. A. M. Tozzi, Drama; Mrs. W. P. Stuart, Legis-
lative; Mrs. John Lemay, Literature; Mrs. David Kay, Music.
THE JUNIOR WOMAN'S CLUB
The Junior Woman's Club was organized in November 1929. Miss
Phyllis Brown served as the first President.
The 1940 officers are: Senior Advisor, Mrs. Mason Spofford;
President, Miss Gertrude Hackett ; Vice-President, Mrs. Walter
Thorn; Recording-Secretary, Miss Gladys Davis; Corresponding
Secretary, Miss Alma Hanover; Treasurer, Mrs. William Stuart.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
THE KROY WRENS
The Kroy Wrens was a popular group which participated in many
social affairs during its existence. The members of this club were :
John Erickson, President; Chester Thompson, Vice-President; Ethel
Guest, Secretary; Mathilda Toadvine, Treasurer and other members
were : Miss Gladys Ford, Mildred Anthony, Lillian Guest, Angela
Walsh, Ethel Davis, William Martin, Richard Guest and E. Vreeland.
On New Year's Eve of 1916 they gave a dance in Geibel's Hall and
at various times held dances in the La Tourette Hotel.
THE GIRL SCOUTS ORGANIZED IN 1917
The Girl Scouts were organized by Calvary Church in 191 7 with
about 15 members. On March 12, 1937 the Girl Scouts celebrated
their Silver Jubilee, having reached their 25th year in existence. At
that time there were about 250 registered Girl Scouts and 8 Troops.
The local troops held an exhibition in the Bayonne Public Library
which consisted of objects familiar to scouthood, basketry, weaving,
scrapbooks on birds, trees and animals dominated. An especially
interesting item was a knot board on which were tacked all the different
knots taught to Girl Scouts. Many pieces showed ingenuity in their
fashioning. An ash tray made of ribbon confetti paper, rolled, shel-
lacked and shaped when wet, engaged the interested attention of many
who inspected the articles. Girl Scout equipment was also on display.
In this category were included a compass, an axe in leather casing,
signal flags, girl scout whistles hung on lanyards made of pyratex
lacing, and jack knives.
THE BOY SCOUTS ORGANIZED I918
The Council of Boy Scouts was organized in the city by about a
score of men at the Bayonne Club, 33rd Street and Newark Bay in
March 19 18. Thomas Agnew, Principal of Horace Mann School, pre-
sided at the meeting. Others present were Samuel H. Edwards, H.
Hill, Erancis Brick, Recorder William J. Cain, J. T. R. Collins, Rev.
J. Haight, Harry Hall, flyman Lazarus, Walter Clarkson, District
Court Judge Peter St ill well, W. J. Davis, Max Levy, E. V. Dwyer,
Robert Ring, W. A. Meakin and E. Newham. The Tide Water Oil
Company subscribed $1,500 in a drive for the scouts.
Y.W.C.A. STARTED IN I918
The Y.W.C.A. started in Bayonne about 1918 in a very meager
way but it finally got growing to such an extent that by June 1, 1920
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
the group, leased the Stanton Home on Avenue C and 40th Street
where they held meetings for a while. The Industrial Department
was maintained at Broadway and 22nd Street with an additional In-
ternational center at 87 West 22nd Street.
The first board of directors were : Mrs. George H. Sexsmith,
Founder and first President; Mrs. J. E. Pinkney, Mrs. S. J. Harwi,
Mrs. S. I. Myers, Mrs. G. Crosby, Mrs. Preston H. Smith, Mrs.
Frederic E. Chamberlain, Mrs. Lee Toadvine, Mrs. George E. Van
Winkle, Mrs. T. W. Ellsworth, Mrs. Aaron Gould, Mrs. John M.
Coward, Miss Mary Peters, Miss Dora Budd, Miss Christie, Miss
Minnie Uske and Miss Emelia Huey.
Miss Alice Mahnken and her sister donated a new building for
the Y.W.C.A. in place of the old house standing on the property at
Thirty-second Street. The cornerstone for the new building was laid
September 28, 1925. The building is of English Colonial architecture,
of red brick structure with colonial pillars and trim of white stone.
The first floor is devoted to offices, administration rooms, reception
hall, while upstairs has two double rooms and seven single rooms for
permanent guests, also kitchenette, laundry, etc. for the convenience
of the girls.
The new building was dedicated March 16, 1926 with five hundred
guests present. At that time a Tablet was unveiled above the brick
fireplace in memory of John Herman Mahnken by his sisters.
Mr. W. C. Koehler, General Manager of the Standard Oil Com-
pany in a brief address eulogized the late Mr. Mahnken and on behalf
of Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, presented to the Y.W.C.A. a check for
Five Thousand Dollars to cancel the debt on the old building.
The trustees have chosen Mrs. Edward M. Roeder as their Presi-
dent for the year 1940. She succeeds Mrs. Horace B. Wait who was
President for the past four years and who has retired as a Trustee
after six years on the board. Mrs. John A. Hutchison was elected
Vice-President ; Mrs. John Flynn, Recording Secretary ; Miss Bessie
Swane and Mrs. Stanley Woodruff were re-elected Corresponding
Secretary and Treasurer respectively. Miss Margaret Duryee is the
Secretary of the Y.
THE ROTARY CLUB
The Bayonne Rotary Club received its charter June 14, 1920.
George E. Keenan was the first President.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
The officers at the present time are :
Boyd D. Henderson. President; Louis Gehring, Vice-President;
Charles Dell, Secretary; Herman Dittmar, Treasurer; Arthur L.
Hahn, Governor of 182nd Rotary District.
THE INDUSTRIAL Y.M.C.A.
The property for the Industrial Y.M.C.A. was deeded by Hudson
County Recorder's Office, October 17, 1922.
Land was worth $ 68,196.00
The money was contributed, in addition to Mr. J. D. Rockefeller,
Jr. and Sr. and fifteen different company's for mental, spiritual, physi-
cal and social development of employees of industry and their families.
1939 the organization was out of debt and has added camp site
for under-privileged boys of the city to its list of assets. The camp
runs four to five weeks in the summer with fifty boys on average in
The last report of the Secretary indicates approximately one
thousand a day participate in various activities.
The building stands out as the largest industrial building in the
country (Y.M.C.A.) requiring a staff of forty to fifty different people
to maintain its services.
The Dormitory capacity is 100 men.
The Restaurant and banquet serving hundreds.
The Committee Class and Club rooms serving scores.
The building is equipped with gymnasium, locker room shower
baths and swimming pool.
Many have developed physically as well as many. have learned to
swim under proper instructions.
The building is situated on Avenue E and runs from 22nd to
23rd Streets and is of four stories and basement.
The boys department accommodates 150 boys under 18 years of
age. This is entirely separate from senior department which serves
1,200 from 18 years of age and up. In its community programs it
serves approximately 1,500. Industrial men are entirely independent
of membership. Every baseball diamond in the city is used im-
mediately after working hours during spring, summer and fall to
- - ^
v v* p
P <l> -
w fc m
t-I ci co
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
accommodate the various soft ball leagues in which there is an en-
rollment of i ,000 players. The six bowling alleys are so popular for
leagues that it is difficult for unassigned players to get a period to
use them. The building serves as a community center in cooperation
with other organizations such as : Chamber of Commerce, Rotary
Club, Kiwanis, Zonta, Amis Club, Milos Club, Orreas Club, Standard
Oil Glee Club, Standard Oil Band, Boy Scouts, Salvation Army,
Bayonne Hospital, Red Cross, U. S. Life Saving Corps., Bayonne
Foreman's Club, Civic Council, etc.
Among the major company interests in the organization are:
Standard Oil Co. of N. J. ; Tide Water Associated Oil Co. ; In-
ternational Nickel Co. ; Babcock & Wilcox Co., The Texas Co.
FERN CHAPTER XO. 1 88 ORDER OF EASTERN STAR ORGANIZED 1 923
In May of (1923) Fern Chapter No. 188, Order of the Eastern
Star was organized. Mrs. Elizabeth Hussey got the members and
material together for the organization and Mrs. Emma Clay, who
was at that time the Grand Matron of the State of New Jersey, in-
stituted and initiated the members. Some of the charter members
were Mrs. Clifford Nelson, Mrs. Rena Mettam, Mrs. J. Laird, Mrs.
Hellinger, Mrs. Agnes Creswick.
The first matron of the chapter was Mrs. Bertha Swick and the
first patron was Mr. S. Melville Hussey. Mrs. Minnie Evans is the
present matron and the patron is Mr. Fred Morgan.
DAUGHTERS OF THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION ORGANIZED I924
The order of the Daughters of the American Revolution was
organized in Bayonne on April 8, 1924 by Mrs. Adelaide Sleesman
Syme who acted as the first Regent of the organization. Other officers
Vice Regent, Miss Estelle Brooke; Registrar, Mrs. Frank Ganong;
Recording Secretary, Mrs. LeRoy Burrows; Historian, Mrs. Chas.
Barnes; Corresponding Secretary, Miss Pearl Brooke; Treasurer,
Mrs. Arthur Floyd Norcross.
The organization started with seventeen members and today there
On the second birthday of the Daughters of the American Revolu-
tion, Dr. Bert J. Huntzelman presented the chapter with a book of
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Revolutionary prayers compiled by King George III of England pity-
ing the colonists for desiring their liberty.
BAYONNE KIWANIS CLUB ORGANIZED I924
The local Kiwanis Club was organized in February 1924 as the
result of a visit to the Chicago Kiwanis Club by James McNamara,
Vice-President of the Monel Metal Co. which is no longer in existence
here. With the receipt of its charter, the club started a program of
civic service. First officers were Percival G. Cruden, President; Wil-
liam A. Conway, Vice-President ; Louis N. Creighton, Treasurer and
I. J. Hatton, Secretary. The last three named are deceased. Serving
on the board of directors were McNamara, Carl A. Ruhlmann, the
late DeWitt Van Buskirk, Thos. M. O'Brien and the late Francis A.
Brick. Other old-time members were : Dr. Howard J. Gould, James
J. Donovan, Dr. James H. MacGregor, Stephen E. Evans, William
F. True, Alex. Seclow, Thomas J. Kernan, Michael V. Stringham,
Frank E. George, Wm. R. Arbuckle, Theodore C. Ballon, Richard
W. Baxter, William T. Cronin and John J. Heiser. The weekly
meetings of 1940 still find Horace Roberson, the white-haired former
District Judge and one of its oldest members, at the luncheon tables.
Present officers are : Francis K. Strohoefer, President ; Moe
Rosenthal, Vice-President ; Joseph Ferguson, Treasurer, and H.
Darnell Brittin, Secretary a position he has held for about 15 years.
MENORAH LODGE F. & A. M.
In 1925 Menorah Lodge F. & A. M. purchased the Sneddon man-
sion at Lincoln Parkway and Newark Bay for a Masonic Temple for
the sum of $25,000., which is said to be about one-fifth of the actual
ADELPHI LINK OF GOLDEN CHAIN
On October 10, 1929 Adelphi Link of Golden Chain formed in
Menorah Lyceum by Celia Goldstein, Matron and Irving Sachs,
Patron. About fifty joined the new organization which was formerly
the order of Eastern Star but since the ritual in the Eastern Star was
against the Jewish religion, they broke away and formed their own
THIRD WARD ROD AND GUN CLUB
The Club was officially organized in 1932 and became incorpor-
ated November ly, 1933. The first officers were:
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Axel Miller, President ; Samuel Roach, Vice-President ; Harry
Muller, Treasurer; Fred. J. Hunt, Financial Secretary; John W.
Cook, Recording Secretary; John A. Nicol, Sergeant-at-Arms.
The headquarters is 971 Broadway, the same building which
many years ago, was known as "The Mansion House." The purpose
of this organization is to promote and advance sportsmanship in
gunning and angling. The club is affiliated with the Hudson County
Federation of Sportsmen's Clubs. The organization has a large,
The officers for 1940 are:
Joseph Hackett, Sr., President; Charles McGee, First Vice-Presi-
dent ; Arthur Britt, Second Vice-President ; John A. Nichol, Third
Vice-President ; Harry Muller, Treasurer ; Fred J. Hunt, Financial
Secretary; William Geraghty, Recording Secretary; Jack White, Cor-
responding Secretary ; John McCabe, Sergeant-at-Arms ; Thomas
Dayon, Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms.
BAYONNE ESSO ASSOCIATION
The World War did many good things for America. During
the war the "Y" men visited industrial plants and indulged in what
was known as "Community sings." The Bayonne Esso Choral Club
grew out of that situation and in 1934 a permanent organization was
set up and the first rehearsal was held February 23, 1934. The officers
selected for what was to become one of Bayonne's fine groups were :
John O. Scott, President ; Stanley A. Wuchter, First Vice-Presi-
dent ; John Schaub, Second Vice-President ; Joseph Orlouski, Treas-
urer; Fred J. Schafer, Secretary; Fred Battleson, Jr., Librarian;
George Stuck, Director ; Paul Norman, Pianist.
A reorganization was perfected in the fall of 1934 and the Club
dedicated itself to serious work in the realm of music.
During the past few years many notable events have been given
under the leadership of the Association, among them being the appear-
ance of the singers at the World's Fair where they united with
the combined clubs Associated Glee Clubs of America with approxi-
mately four thousand voices participating. Other notable events of
the Association have been such as participation in American Legion
Americanization programs, Every Man's Bible Class, Newark, the
Bayonne Celebration of the 150th Anniversary of the United States
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
The Bayonne Esso Association has become one of the outstanding
and popular organizations of the city. The Federation is extensively
engaged in Welfare, Social Service, Baseball, Bowling, Softball,
Basketball, Plant Equipment, Golf and other activities.
The present officers are :
William O. Welch, President; Lawrence J. Cummings, First
Vice-President ; Fred B. Lauenstein, Second Vice-President ; Ernest
H. Hurtzig, Treasurer; Joseph F. Senec, Collector; William B.
THE BAYONNE HISTORICAL SOCIETY
Bayonne Historical Society was started as a result of the interest
engendered by the "Charter Day" celebration of March 19, 1935,
the aim of which is collecting, recording and preserving facts relative
to the "history" of Bayonne and its predecessors "Bergen Neck"
later, the villages of Saltersville (Pamrapo) Bayonne, Centerviile,
Constable Hook and Bergen Point.
The membership, at present, is a small but earnest coterie, seek-
ing to secure and authenticate information regarding original settlers,
noted citizens, churches, clubs (social, athletic and cultural) military
organizations, industries and all like factors influencing the progress
of the community from the time of the Dutch farmers to the present
It is the aim of the Society to ultimately put at the disposal of the
Educational Department of our city, a record of these investigations
to the end that the schools may have a reliable source of information
regarding our City's history, and the achievements of its citizens, that
cannot fail to stimulate an interest and pride in our "Home Town."
THE UNITED STATES VOLUNTEER LIFE SAVING CORPS
During the year 1938, the United States Volunteer Life Saving
Corps., of which Bayonne is the State Headquarters, answered four
calls from the Police Department to recover bodies. They rendered
assistance to eight persons in distress and aided three boats in need
Two thousand first aid cases were treated and in seventy-nine of
them the Corps sent the injured persons to the hospital. On two
occasions they removed wreckage from the water which might have
been a menace to navigation or the cause of injury to a swimmer.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
They also keep beaches regularly cleaned of glass and rubbish. There
was one rescue from drowning in 1938 and oddly enough, it was not
made by a member of the Corps, showing even with their splendid
record the volunteers do not have a monopoly on the good neighbor
On August 3, 1937 Joseph Halowenski, 41, of 95 West 45th
Street jumped, fully clothed, into Newark Bay to rescue a small boy
who had fallen in while crabbing. The name of the lad saved is un-
known because with small boy indifference, he ran away while his
rescuer was drying his clothes. The small boy had a close call, how-
ever, as he was already sinking when Halowenski got to him.
The U. S. Volunteer Life Saving Corps boasts of an able group
of men with traditions extending back through forty years — men
who are ready to serve day or night, winter or summer, without the
fanfare of glory or parades and without one cent of salary.
It is not every man who can become a member of the Corps, how-
ever, as its requirements are rigid. There is a little matter of swim-
ming one hundred yards with all of your clothes on, including shoes,
and picking up bottom in eight to ten feet of water, which is only
one of the tests an aspirant is required to pass. Other tests include
swimming a distance of two hundred yards in a swimming suit, the
ability to handle a boat and the breaking of three of the grips which
drowning men, who are not choosy as to whether they clutch at a
straw or at a would-be rescuer, are likely to clamp on the hero with
disastrous results to all concerned. So the candidates for the volun-
teer life saving corps must demonstrate his ability to break these grips
and bring his man back alive.
Commodore Fred Keller, acting state director of the corps, is a
fluiet, taciturn fellow, employed at the General Cable Corporation,
who, like his fellow corps members, spends most of his spare time
engaged in the splendid pursuit of saving lives and rendering assist-
ance to those in distress. He likes to talk about the corps or to show
a visitor the equipment in the headquarters located at City Park
Building at the foot of Sixteenth Street on Newark Bay. The head-
quarters office is an interesting place filled with musty records of the
organization and modern well-kept equipment used for rendering-
first aid to the injured, saving lives or recovering bodies. The equip-
ment includes a diving suit and helmet, an underwater lamp and an
air pump and hose. There are also grappling hooks and a motor
used when a motor boat is called for. Money for the gear is sup-
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
plied through an appropriation by the city. Beside Commodore
Keller, the corps has five other commodores including Joe Holloran,
Leo Kale, Otton Christerson, John Magara and Jack Cranpton. There
are four captains, each in charge of a station. Bob Haley heads the
City Park Station; Richard Keller is in charge of the station on Kill
van Kull ; Edward Flannagan is captain of Pavonia and Jack Kemple
runs the Bayview station.
Acme Club ; Adelphi Link No. 7 Order Golden Chain ; Alpha Club ;
Alpha Gamma Chi Sorority of St. Henry's Catholic Women's Assn. ;
Alpha "R" Club Chapter 97 of the Federated Russian Orthodox Clubs
of America. American Legion: Fred MacKenzie Post No. 165 and
Ladies Auxiliary, Peter E. Leddy Post, Bayonne Post No. 19; Ameri-
can Lithuanian Citizens Club; Ancient Order of Hibernians;
A.O.U.W. Lodge No. 109; Athena Club.
Babcock & Wilcox Employees Assn.; Bay Y Club (Girl Reserve
Dept. Y.W.C.A.) Bayonne Aerie No. 604 Eagles F.O.E., Bayonne Aid
Progressive Assn. ; Bayonne Bar Assn. ; Bayonne Battery Dealers
Assn. ; Bayonne Boy Scout Council ; Bayonne Boy Scout Council
(Woman's Auxiliary) ; Bayonne Boy's Club (Colored) ; Bayonne
Chamber of Commerce; Bayonne Democratic Club; Bayonne Republi-
can Club ; Bayonne Council for Preservation of Americanism ; Bay-
onne Council of Social Agencies ; Bayonne Dentist's Assn. ; Bayonne
Esso Choral Society ; Bayonne Girl Scouts Council ; Bayonne Grocers
Assn. ; Bayonne Hebrew Benovolent Assn. ; Bayonne Hospital Alumni ;
Bayonne Hospital and Dispensary ; Bayonne Hospital Board Wom-
en's Auxiliary - Bayonne Hospital Guild; Bayonne League of
Woman Voters ; Bayonne Liquor Dealers Assn. ; Bayonne Maen-
nerchor ; Bayonne Masonic Club ; Bayonne Medical Society : Bay-
onne Pharmaceutical Assn. ; Bayonne Real Estate Board ; Bayonne
Rentpayers & Taxpayers Assn. ; Bayonne Schoolmen's Club ; Bay-
onne Symphony Orchestra ; Bayonne Teacher's Assn. ; Bayonne
Wheelman Assn.; Bayonne Woman's Club; Bayonne Woman's Glee
Club; Bayonne Choral Society; Bayonne B.P.O.E. No. 434 (and
Ladies Guild); Bayonne B'nos. Sfard Free Loan Society; Bayonne
Board of Education ; Bayonne Braemar No. 36 Daughters of Scotia ;
Broadway Merchants Assn.; Business Girls Club (Y.W.C.A.).
Carpatho - Russian American Citizens Club; Carpenters Union
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Local No. 383 ; Catholic Daughters of America, Court of Isabella
No. 202 ; Catholic Nurses Assn. ; Citizens Patriotic Observance Com-
mittee; Civic Council of United Service Clubs; College Club; Com-
panions of the Forest, Star of Winfield Circle No. 880; Connaught-
men's Assn. - Ladies' Auxiliary; County Corkmen's B. P. & P. Assn.
Daughters of America, Loyalty Council No. 38; Daughters of
America, Star of Bayonne Council No. 26; Daughters of American
Revolution, Kill van Kill Chapter; Daughters of Isabella, Joan of Arc
Circle; Daughters of Israel; Day Nursery; Disabled American Vet-
erans Assn. Post. No. 5 ; Downtown Democratic Club ; Downtown
Ladies Democratic Club.
Employees Assn. Inc. (Tide Water Oil Co.).
Federation of Veterans Assn. ; First Ward Ladies' Democratic
Club; Foremen's Club; Foresters of America Winfield Court; F. &
A. M. Lodge No. 99; F. O. Eagles, Aerie No. 604; Free Public
George Metro Assn.; Girls Friendly Club; Good Cheer Circle;
G. A. R. Mansfield Post No. 22.
Hadassah Bayonne Chapter ; Happy Workers ; Hebrew Ladies'
Aid Society ; Holy Name Society of Assumption Church ; Holy Name
Society of St. Mary's R. C. Church ; Hudson County Tuberculosis
League, Bayonne Auxiliary (inactive).
I.O.O.F. Mt. Vernon Lodge No. 176; I.O.R.M. Pamrapaugh
Tribe No. 187; Independent Political Club; Italian American Dem-
Jewish War Veterans; Jewish Welfare Board; John J. O'Don-
nell Assn. ; Jos. Bailey Close Chapter - National Society Daughters
of Union 1861-1865; Joseph J. Topoleski Assn.; Joyce Herbert Post
No. 226 - (Auxiliary V.F.W. No. 226).
Veterans of Foreign Wars, Daughters Unit Joyce Herbert Auxi-
lary No. 226.
Judean Buds ; Junior Chamber of Commerce ; Jr. Debs of Girl
Reserves ; Jr. Hadassah ; Jr. League of Hebrew Orphans Home ; Jr.
League of Temple Emanuel ; Jr. O.U.A.M. Bayonne Council No.
119; Jr. O. U.A.M. Peninsula Council No. 251;' Jr. O.U.A.M. Kill
van Kull Council No. 170; Junior Woman's Club
Kiwanis Club; Knights of Columbus, Star of the Sea Council No.
371 ; Knights of Pythias, Arion Lodge No. 68.
Labor Lyceum ; Ladies' Aid Progressive Assn. ; Ladies' Auxiliary
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
of the Assn. of Exempt Firemen; Liederkranz Society; L.0.0. Moose
Lodge No. 572.
Menorah Lodge No. 249 F. & A. M. ; Men's Club (5th Street Re-
formed Church); Ministerial Assn.; Modern Priscillas; Mt. Carmel
Guild ; Mt. Carmel Lyceum ; Mt. Carmel Parent Teachers Assn. ;
Municipal Christmas Tree ; Mutual Culture Club.
National Assn. Letter Carriers Branch No. 22 ; National Council
Jewish Juniors No. 671 ; National Council Jewish Women, Bayonne
Odd Fellows Lodge No. 34; Ohab Sholem; Ohab Zedek; Order
of Amaranth Bayonne Court No. 26; Order of De Molay, Accolade
Chapter; O.E.S. Fern Chapter No. 188; O.E.S. Bayonne Chapter
No. 21 ; Faith Assembly No. 26 (Rainbow Girls) ; O.S.C. Clan Alac-
Kay No. 201.
Palm Rebekah Lodge No. 34; Parent Teachers Assn. (Horace
Mann School) (Washington School); P.O.S. of A. (Patriotic Sons)
Washington Camp No. 151; Patrolmen's Benevolent Assn.; Pelican
Athletic Club ; Pequona Craft No. 46 ; Pocahontas Pequonia Council
No. 115; Polish American Chamber of Commerce; Polish American
Citizens Club; Polish American Citizens Club, Ladies' Auxiliary;
Polish American Democratic Club ; Polish American Veterans Assn. ;
Polish American Women's League, Inc. ; Polish Women's Political
Club of the First Ward, Inc.
Red Cross ; Republican Veterans Assn. ; Rex. Political Club ;
Roosevelt Rep. Club; Rotary Club; Royal Arcanum No. 695.
St. Henry's Catholic Women's Assn. ; St. Henry's National Coun-
cil of Catholic Women; St. Joseph's Lyceum; St. Theresa Club; St.
Stephen, the King, Branch No. 36 of the First Catholic Slovak Union ;
Salvation Army; Second Ward Civic Club; Senior American Hun-
garian Welfare Club; Senior World Wide Guild; Sicilian Citizen's
Club; 16 D - 1 W Democratic Worker's Assn.; Slavish American
Political Club; Slovak Welfare & Political Club; Slowacky Club &
Echo Choir; Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Children; S. of B.
Star of Nativity; Sons of America, Camp No. 50; Sons of Veterans,
Phil Sheridan Camp No. 13; Spanish American City Club; Spanish
War Veterans, Geradin Camp.
Temple Emanuel ; Temple Emanuel Sisterhood ; Third Ward
Ladies' Democratic Club; Third Ward Polish American Citizen's
Club; Third Ward Regular Democratic Club; Third Ward Rod &
Gun Club, Inc. ; Thrift Shop.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Ukrainian Workingmen's Assn. Branch No. 167; United Hebrew
Congregation; United Sons of Erin: Uptown Business Men's Assn.
Uptown Cultural Club.
Veritas Club; Veritas Club, Ladies' Auxiliary; Visiting Nurse
Welfare Committee ; Woman's Musical and Literary Study Club ;
Woman's Political Study Club; Women's Alliance of America; W. C.
T. U. No. 1 Bayonne Branch ; W. C. T. U. No. 2 ; Woman's Club of
Garden Apartments; Woman's Home Missionary Society; Woman's
Hoover Club; Woman's New Deal Republican Club of Bayonne;
Woman's Republican League ; Women's Social of Bergen Point Bap-
tist Church ; Workmen's Circle, Branch No. 46 ; Workmen's Civil
Young Judea; Y.M.C.A. - 33rd Street, Industrial, (and Ladies
Aid); Y.M.H.A. ; Young People's Social (Bergen Point Baptist
Church); Y.W.C.A. ; Young Woman's Club of First Presbyterian
Zionist District, Zonta Club.
LOCAL PERSONALITIES WHO MADE GOOD
The Famous Firsts: Lighthouses: Landmarks, Old-Timers, The Governor
Parker Pen: Dr. George W. Mellor Sets Example for Patriotism: The Old
Safe in the City Hall: The Passing of the Hooper-Coopers: City Officials of
the City of Bayonne for 1940.
Dvora Nadworney : Formerly of 51st Street was under contract with the Chicago
Civic Opera Co. and sang over WEAF as guest artist with San Carlo Opera Co.
She also sang feature role of Azucena in "II Trovatore" for San Carlo Opera Co.
at Century Theatre. On September 15, 1921, she sang before Vice President Dawes
at the Radio Industry of America Banquet, grouped with Mary Lewis and Reinald
Florence Hendrickson : Of 31st Street, is among Bayonne singers who has
won renown in musical world. She possesses a splendid contralto voice and for
a number of years was soloist at 5th Avenue Brick Presbyterian Church in New
York City and also the Orange Presbyterian Church. She is a member of the
Public School Faculty.
Hans Barth : Lived on Willow Street at on time and played before the Athena
Club and some of the other musical clubs in the City. Today he is ranked among the
Virginia and Susanne Xoonan : Daughters of the late Thomas F. Noonan,
made fame in Hollywood in the movies as Sally O'Neill and Mollie O'Day. Sally
O'Neill is at present playing on Broadway in the cast of "When We are Married",
starring Alison Skipworth.
Alfred Brick : Who rode about town in a racing car, made fame by stunt flying
for Fox Brothers in Hollywood and today is an expert camera man. He formerly
lived on 38th Street.
Bill Bacher : With degrees of Dentist, Lawyer and Architect made great suc-
cess in Hollywod in radio programs.
Victor Herman : Had the honor of lecturing at Columbia University on Pup-
petry on Dec. 3, 1932. He is the youngest puppeteer in America and only boy to
pursue this unique hobby in Bayonne.
Louise Bave: January, 1926, the Bayonne Woman's Club presented a Concert
in the High School at which time music lovers had the rare opportunity of hearing
Miss Louise Bave, Coloratura Soprano of New York City and a former Bayonne
girl. Miss Bave studied abroad and had her debut in Milan, Italy, where she was
called the "American Nightingale."
Virginia Richards : In 1929 Mrs. Virginia Richards made her Metropolitan
Debut in Steinway Hall, accompanied at the piano by Myrtle Aldridge. The N. Y.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Times said, "The Singer showed substantial gifts of natural musicianship, a low voice,
rich and velvety in the mezzo register and skill in controlling its high tones." Her
selections were, "Addio" from "La Boheme" and "Debussys delightful "Beau Soir".
Margaret Brady: Of 94 West 35th Street organ pupil of Prof. James P. Dunn,
made her debut in February 1928 as a concert organist at the Wanamaker Auditorium
in N. Y. C. Her pleasing manner won her audience from the start and the applause
Helen M. Wakefield: Pianist, made her debut on Dec. 1, 1931 in a recital at
Steinway Hall in New York City. She appeared, not as an untried student, but as
a musician, who had taught in the New York University and the University of
Virginia, given lecture-recitals for the young and published original part songs for
women's voices. The audience was a large one and there were many friendly tributes
of flowers. Apart from good technical precision, Miss Wakefield, pleased her
crowded house, both through her gracious manner on the stage and a poise of ripe
musicianship in her playing, alike in melodious classic arrangements and in the tone
pictures of the realists of today.
Trusiana Marinella : Young local soprano and
Helen M. Wakefield: Concert pianist and instructor of music at Bayonne
Senior High School were heard March 1, 1940 in a program of Italian music at
the Anderson House in Washington, D. C. The concert was sponsored by the Italy-
America Society of Washington and was attended by members of the Italian Em-
bassy. Miss Marinella presented three groups of songs accompanied by Miss Wake-
field. Miss Wakefield was heard in two groups of piano selections.
Michael Bezzeg: Made his debut on April 21, 1936 at a classical concert spon-
sored by the German Society for Literature and Arts at the New York Turn Hall.
Assisting the violinist were Carlo Martinelli, lyric-tenor, formerly with Columbia
Broadcasting System and St. Michaels Monastery in Union City and Richard
Cameron, Concert Pianist of Washington, D. C. Mr. Bezzeg, who is the former
Assistant Concert Master of the Prague Symphony Orchestra and a former member
of the La Scala Opera Orchestra in Milan, opened his recital with Bach's Sarabande
in D and Caprice by Paganini, which were enthusiastically received.
Francis R. Pope: Of 20 East 38th Street has exhibited many of his paintings
at various places. His latest painting "Sunlight and Flowers" will be shown in the
Museum of the State House in Trenton in April 1940 and it was previously shown
in New York.
Ben Bern ie: Started life in Bayonne and today is one of the top notch band
leaders and entertainers in the country appearing on the stage, on the screen and on
Jacob J. Gains : Of 880 Boulevard has the distinction of exhibiting one of his
oil paintings in the 114th annual show of the National Academy at its galleries at
215 West 57th Street, New York City, in April 1940.
Howard W. Osbahr: While only nineteen years of age, has already made a
name for himself far beyond the limits of Bayonne. He is a member of the Lenz
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Club and has been honored for his production of "Why" which is 14 inches by 17
inches in size and has been displayed in the Pictorial Photographers of America
in the Museum of Modern History, New York City and also in Pittsburgh. He
expects to make Photography his life work.
Frank Currier : Who was an actor living in Bayonne, married Ada Dow who
trained Julia Marlowe, later went into movies and played with Nazimova and also
played the part of the Italian Organ Grinder in "The Poor Little Rich Girl."
Arthur Kallet : The author of many books, among them, "One Hundred Mil-
lion Guinea Pigs" lived in Bayonne and married Miss Boston.
Mrs. Mary Antoinette de Navarro : Now residing in England, who will be
remembered best as Mary Anderson the beautiful and artistic young American actress
ingenue interpreter of Wm. Shakespeare's girl characters and creator of similar roles,
against who no scandalous story was ever breathed, lived in Bayonne, while still a
girl, in the Third Ward east of the New Jersey Central Railroad tracks.
Julia Marlowe: Child of theatrical folk and born in England. She was
christened Sarah Frances Front but when performing in juvenile parts during her
early teens she was called Fanny B rough. She was brought to Bayonne by Ada
Dow, a well-known English actress who continuously tutored her in strenuous study
for several years while living here. And when the girl made her debut as "Parthena"
in "Ingomer" in the Bijou Theatre, New York City, the specially invited included
about a score of Bayonnites.
Rose Eytinge: Famous several decades ago as the creator of many parts and
an impersonator of Shakespeare's heroines, Pearl Eytinge whose beauty aided her
in establishing a reputation as an accomplished stage favorite and Belle Archer, an
English actress of fair repute, all resided in Bergen Point.
William Ferguson: A prominent leading man in numerous companies and
character role performer remembered as the originator of "Capt. Redfern, the
detective" in "Jim the Penman".
Fritz Nolan: A Bayonne boy, a first class variety or vaudeville actor.
Major Allen C. Redwood: Once an officer in the Confederate Army and artist
who made his home for a number of years on the Newark Bay shore at Bergen Point.
Archibald Gunn : A portrait and figure painter and popular newspaper car-
Geo. B. Lume: British born caricaturist for newspapers and periodicals.
Kirk Estey : Who was very clever with his pencil at cartoons and sketches.
Chas. W. Trembley : A sculptor resided at Bergen Point.
Sol Eytinge: Originator of many humorous sketches which had a constant sale
when produced as colored lithographs. He was for a long time a favorite artist
of the Harper Bros, publications.
John C. McRae: Native of Scotland accounted one of the most expert and
artistic engravers in America. His group pictures were especially admired.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
A. Cary Smith : Resident of the 3rd Ward noted as Marine artist and designer
of fast sailing yachts and other pleasure craft.
Patrick and Cornelius McGiehan : Modelers and builders of small boats of re-
Philip Elsworth : Recognized as an expert designer of yachts which won
hundreds of trophies at sailing regattas and in long distance races with his brother.
Joe Elsworth : Who, in 1885, piloted the Puritan with British Genesta in In-
ternational yachting prize the America's Challenge cup.
Margaret Winship Eytinge: Whose nom de plume was ''Madge Elliot", wife
of Sol Eytinge the artist. Her hundreds of stories and poems appeared in scores
of magazines and newspapers.
Mary Stuart Cutting: Wife of Chas. Weed Cutting and daughter of Brigadier-
Gen. U. Doubleday, her mother's maiden name having been Mary Stewart. The
Cutting-Doubleday families lived for a considerable period at Bergen Point. Mrs.
Cutting won her literary reputation with "Little Stories of Courtship" "Heart of
Sophie Bledsoe Herrick : Of Schuyler Place who for many years was editorial
writer for the Scribner and Century Co. publications.
Dorothy Ficken : The originator of "Sunny Jim" and similar novelties in ad-
vertising and designing.
Frank N. Barret: Editor of the American Grocer.
George W. Hatch : Editor of an insurance periodical.
Douglas Zabriskie Doty : Writer of short stories and fairly good poetry. Editor
of and reader of monthly magazines.
Edward Gardner, Sr. : Editor of Bayonne Times, who conducted during his
long editorial career various weekly papers in New Jersey and Xew York.
Henry C. Page : Of the Bayonne Herald with like experience.
Alex Crombie Humphries: While living in the first Ward served as school
trustee and who was for considerable period President of the faculty of Stevens
Institute of Technology in Hoboken.
William H. Jasper: Before being appointed to public school in Xew York
Col. Chas. W. FULLER: Soldier, lawyer, politician and post-prandial orator was
Xew Jersey Supt. of public instruction.
Prof. JAMES G. Monaghan: Was another educator and publicist who resided
in the Bergen Point Section.
Jack Dunn: A member of the Centerville Athletic Club which was a semi-pro
baseball club developed first rate players, later became the owner of the Baltimore
team from whose camp came the famous Babe Ruth.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Octavus Roy Cohen : The famous author of detective stories at one time lived
on West 32nd Street. From 1910 to 1912 he wrote for the Bayonne Times and
Newark Morning Star.
John and William Moody: The two brothers who compiled Moody Investors
Service Manuels so useful today in Bayonne. Zeta Abbott married William Moody.
Jacob Ginsberg: Was the first artist to exhibit at the Bayonne Library May
26, 1938. He was the winner of cash prizes and of a medal from the National
Academy of Design. His display was of oil paintings, etchings and portraits of
children. Member of N. Y. Artist's Union.
Maurice Abramson : Of 729 Avenue A was also a prize winner. He painted
a picture in the Public Library from James Trusloe Adams "Epic of America", cari-
caturist for New Theatre and Film Magazine of New York.
Paul J. Klopsch : Of 43 West 53rd Street has made many chemical discoveries
and is known throughout the chemical world. He invented synthetic marble from
which such products as book ends, etc. are made, cigarette trays, lamp bases, novelty
boxes and many other things which are sold under the trade name "Gemstone" art
Louis R. Ferraro: W 7 ho has won fame as an artist on the concert stage as a
nationally known violinist. For three successive years he carried off first prize of
$100. at Kneisel's Music Colony at Blue Hills, Vt. He has given concerts in
Aeolian Hall and is now second soloist in the Roxy Theatre orchestra and also
conducts a studio at 148 West 72nd Street, New York, where he now lives having
married Miss Mary Lubbock a contralto.
Samuel M. Crawford: Of this city invented a device claimed to prevent dis-
asters on submarines.
Harry Eddy : Is a well known artist of the day and at one time resided on
Avenue C and 36th Street. He gives annual exhibit of his works in New York at
various galleries and specializes in landscapes in oil
Dr. Gray : Who invented explosives used by the Russians in the World War,
lived on Avenue C.
Elsie Ferguson : Who became famous on the stage lived on the southeast cor-
ner of Linden Street near Avenue A. The house she occupied is still standing. At
that time her father, was the oldest surviving actor of the play "Our American
Cousins" which President Lincoln saw the night he was assassinated in Ford's
THE FAMOUS FIRSTS
Dr. William H. Mitchell was a canoe enthusiast and was the first
man to circumnavigate Bayonne in a canoe.
At the Old Shore House at the foot of the Boulevard on the Kills,
William Donnell was the chef and the first man in this country to
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Henry Meigs, Jr. who was interested in rifle shooting, which was
one of the sports of that day, produced the first cartridge which used
a center contact instead of the entire outside rim. It was the first
in the United States.
The Tide Water Oil Company, in the early days, had a chain
bucket conveyor with which to fight fires and it was supposed to be
the first chain bucket convey in the country.
Solon Humphreys originated the trunk line system which was
applied to railroads.
Mr. Welsbach on Eighth Street, experimented with and produced
the Welsbach gas light burner.
Dr. Parmely, was the first maker of enamel artificial teeth.
Abney Doubleday originated the game of baseball and the an-
nouncement of the invention came from and has always been claimed
by Cooperstown, New York, but Doubleday experimented with it
while ilving in Bayonne, before going Cooperstown. He also planned
the baseball "Diamond."
The Standard Oil Company brought in the first of the oil pipes
to pump large quantities of oil, rather than having it delivered by
rail or otherwise.
Henry Winterhalter was the first man to produce a mechanical,
automatic oil barrel filler. This had a trick trigger arrangement
which caused the oil to cease flowing when the barrel was full.
Monel metal was first produced in a small experimental shop in
William Donnelly and some others, who were playing football at
a time when the drop kick was the only kick that was known to foot-
ball, used the place kick before the football teams began to use it.
Captain Seabury of the United States Navy, who lived on West
Eighth Street, invented the Seabury Breech Block for guns.
Mr. William A. Eddy, whose residence was 32 East 3rd Street,
invented what is known as the box type of kite, the highest flight of
which was made in 1893, reaching an altitude of 5,595 feet for the
first time in the world's history. On December 5, 1895, a telephone
and telegraph message was sent by wires attached to his kites up in
1. Muller's Tavern, Broadway at 47th Street.
2. Hogan Home, 16 Silver Street.
3. Bronze Elk in yard of Strohoefer Home, 813 Avenue C.
4. Dr. George W, Mellor's Home, 899 Avenue C.
5. "Black Boy" hitching-post in front of Dr. Mellor's home.
6. The Diamond Home.
7. Captain Robert Fish's original home, !»S Fast -14th Street.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
the air. Because of this the U. S. Government (Military) com-
mandeered him and his kites as signalling medium.
Admiral S. F. duPont invented the repair ship at sea, which was
called "the floating machine shop.'
"Lighthouses are the altar lamps of Integrity, burning before
the sacrament of commerce," Captain Felix Reisenberg, noted Ameri-
can authority on shipping, declares in his book, "Standard Seamanship
for the Merchant Marine."
Danger shoals, prominent land marks on which the mariner can
take bearings, and jagged rocks on which a fog-bound vessel might
come to grief are marked with buoys, lightships and lighthouses. In
addition to welcome beams of light, stabbing through the dark of
night, the lightships and houses send regular radio signals and in
thick weather sound sirens or fog horns to warn the mariner of
On August 7, 1889, the first United States Congress in the Ninth
Act which it passed provided that lighthouses, etc., which had pre-
viously been erected and maintained by the various colonies, be hence-
forth supported by the Federal Government.
Bayonne, ideally situated to become a prominent seaport, will,
with the continued arrival of the world's water-born commerce, be-
come increasingly lighthouse minded.
Ships approaching this port from Europe will be likely to take
their first bearings from the Nantucket Shoals Lightship located about
194 miles east of Ambrose Light, which marks the entrance to New
York harbor. If bound for the Port Terminal they will pass Robbins
Reef Light before reaching their destination.
The Bergen Point Lighthouse in the Kills, now in its eighty-first
year of service, is another famed light which guides ships safely to
Bayonne's waterfront and is an invaluable aid to tankers arriving at
night or in foggy weather. This lighthouse is just 50 feet off the
New York-New Jersey line. Solid and trim Bergen Point Light
stands upon an historic rock ledge at the junction of Newark Bay
and Kill van Kull. The lighthouse keeper, Hans Beuthe and his wife,
Marie, suffer no loneliness at home in the Kills having lived there
since 192 1. Their domain is a perfect circle about 60 feet in dia-
meter with a 54 foot light tower made of concrete and a six room
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
frame house, two and a half stories high. Around the outer edge of
the circle is the lighthouse promenade, a four foot walk.
Their mail is delivered to Staten Island and they have to row to
shore for their groceries and supplies. They like this life because it
is quiet. Mr. Beuthe tells about a time when the bay was frozen and
he could walk to shore.
There is neither gas nor electricity in the house and their radio is
operated with a storage battery. They use kerosene lamps and drink
rain water caught in casks and pumped into the kitchen. Some years
ago a furnace and steam heat were installed. The same powerful
lamp with the same two powerful lenses, made in Paris, France, and
installed in 1858 still furnish the light, although in recent years an
innovation has been the substitution of an oil vapor system for kero-
sene lighting. The result is a 5,000 cafidlepower glow, brighter than
an electric globe, which alternates between five seconds of light and
five seconds of darkness. Beside the light is a huge bell which tolls
a mournful tune every 15 seconds in foggy weather — a tune that
doesn't disturb the sleep of the Beuthes.
Mr. Beuthe went to sea when a boy of 14 and in 1898 came to
this country from his native Germany. During his years on the sea
he visited every important port in the world on picturesque old square-
riggers like those that greeted old Bergen Point Light 80 years ago.
From these adventures, he moved to the more prosaic life aboard
pilot boats in New York harbor, then to lightships and finally to that
tiny speck of Bayonne that is so far away from and yet so much a
part of this peninsula.
Dennis McCashin was the last lighthouse keeper of the Lehigh
Valley Lighthouse in Newark Bay. Mr. McCashin was a veteran of
the Civil War and when he died in 1912 his wife, who was a second
cousin of President McKinley, and son ran it for a time but the gov-
ernment demolished the house and installed a light run by motor which
is there now.
LANDMARKS - OLD-TIMERS - THE GOVERNOR PARKER PEN
ONE LITTLE PICKANINNY CITY'S MOST PICTURESQUE LANDMARK
Grinning "Black Boy" has adorned his corner for many years. He
holds his place, unmoved an inch, and watches Bayonne's "Big
Parade" from his grand stand in front of the home of Dr. George W.
Mellor at 899 Avenue C and 41st Street.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Every winter during the past years he has stood there in his bare
feet, chest exposed through unbuttoned shirt, while the wind and
snow sends men and women scurrying past him to their homes.
Babies reach from their carriages to wave kisses to him, small boys
delight in spitting in his face and kicking him in the shins, the sun
beats down on his head, big boys play leap frog over him, men under
the influence of liquor have argued with him and cursed him — but
kissed and kicked, through winter and summer, "Black Boy" main-
tains his calm indifference.
"Black Boy" is undoubtedly the best known little statue in the
city. He is said to be the only hitching post left in Bayonne. There
is hardly a man, woman or child, who has lived in the uptown section,
who does not know him. Everyone is attracted by the cast iron
colored boy with his right arm extended in the air, by which he held
many a Dobbin and Bess in the days of horses and buggies.
One use which Black Boy serves, and to which he is just as
faithful as that of holding troublesome horses, is that of a direction
post. Many years ago when the Pavonia Yacht Club was located on
Forty-first Street and New York Bay and attracted many people from
all parts of the metropolitan district, the directions given to the new
comer always was, "get off the trolley car at "Black Boy." Everyone
in the neighborhood gives his friends the same direction. Some years
ago, when Dr. Mellor moved the statue to the side of his home, there
was a general wave of friendly protest, with the result that "Black
Boy" took up his old stand again.
Like all other famous land marks, he has had numerous interest-
ing experiences. About three o'clock, one morning several years ago,
Dr. Mellor was awakened by a noise in front of his home. Looking
out he saw three men desperately trying to get Black Boy into a cart
to carry him away. The doctor foiled the attempted theft and anyone
who would attempt to steal Black Boy now is advised to bring along
a derrick. It is cemented in the ground and weighs three hundred
pounds. Many times boys had attempted to break off the right arm
with baseball bats but the sting to the boys' hands is always more in-
jurious than that suffered by Black Boy. There may be other hitch-
ing posts in Bayonne that have seen the dirt roads become passe, and
likewise gas lamps but it is doubtful if there is one in the entire city
as well known and as well liked as "Black Boy."
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
DR. MELLOR SETS EXAMPLE FOR AMERICANS IN DISPLAYING FLAG ON
On October 21, 1939, The Bayonne Times acclaimed Dr. George
W. Mellor as public citizen No. 1, citing him for his patriotism. With
the word patriotism heard so frequently in these days of war, Ameri-
cans are thinking more about their country's history than ever before.
The Bayonne Times cited the prominent dentist as one of those
who never fails to unfurl the flag on the holidays. The dentist's
record is something outstanding, for he has been hoisting the banner in
front of his home at the northwest corner of Forty-first Street and
Avenue C since first coming to Bayonne, many years ago. Each
time that Dr. Mellor has brought out the red, white and blue bunting,
he has done so with a feeling of enthusiasm, for, in his own words, he
is a "great believer in civic pride."
THE BRONZE DEER
The bronze deer on the lawn of the late Dr. Field's home, which
is located on Avenue C and Thirty-sixth Street is indeed a land-
mark and the property is often referred to "as the house with the
deer in the yard." This well known house has stood for a long time
and the late Killeen Strohoefer lived in it for many years. It is now
occupied by one of his sons, Francis K. Strohoefer, Principal of
Henry E. Harris School.
OLD CHERRY TREE 75 YEARS OF AGE
Beauty always leaves a memento and, this time, it's an old cherry
tree standing in the grounds of a private home owner on Broadway
and Second Street where it once was skirted by parties of guests
bound for the old La Tourette Hotel. The tree is 75 years old and
still bears cherries. It is the only ghost of the old days, when Bay-
onne was a flourishing center of gayety and social life, known for miles
LAST OF BAYONNE'S VIRGIN OAK TREE FOREST
Between Tenth and Eleventh Streets on the Boulevard there is an
old oak tree, which is about 200 years old and represents the last of
Bayonne's virgin oak tree forest.
THE OLD DIAMOND HOME
Miss Jennie Diamond who is 84 years old, and her brother Frank,
71 years old, live in the house where they were born. This house
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
stands facing the Old Plank Road and the address is 90 West Forty-
eighth Street. It was built by their father, 85 years ago, is of archi-
tectural design of that period, brown shingled and weather beaten.
Their radio runs on batteries because there is no electricity in the
house and the old couple think electricity unnecessary. Oil lamps are
used throughout the house which has low ceilings and small windows
and originally comprised only one floor. But about 60 years ago the
house was enlarged so that there are now four rooms downstairs and
three upstairs. One goes outside to get into the cellar, and a stove
still stands in the living room. The house stands on what was once
known as Salter's Farm and Miss Diamond says, that when she was
a little girl, Bayonne was nothing but a little village called Saltersville,
later called Pamrapo. There were two other villages at that time,
Centerville and Bergen Point. The Hook belonged to the Van
In the early days the stage coaches passed the house going from
Jersey City to Bergen Point, and all the surrounding country was
woods. Mullaney's post office was nearby.
Miss Diamond is never lonesome because she is surrounded by
books and she enjoys sewing. She just finished making a patchwork
quilt, no two pieces of which are alike. It is composed of more than
500 pieces. The quilt is a "double- wedding ring." Frank does all the
heavy work, repairing the house, makes the fires, carries off the ashes,
chops wood and, in the summer time, does the gardening. Both are
extremely agile at handicraft work.
Miss Diamond went to the little red schoolhouse, which had as its
teacher the father of Counsellor R. Lewis Kennedy, but she never
went to high school as they didn't have any in those days. She joined
reading classes and majored in history and later earned a degree in
history from the Chautauqua Society of which she was a member. For
forty years she taught Sunday School in the Forty-sixth Street Meth-
odist Church where she has held membership since the first church
was built. She was president for a time of the Ladies' Aid Society.
Their father, James Diamond, was a wheelwright and blacksmith
and, at one time, had a shop on the old Plank Road near the old house
but later moved to Fortieth Street and Broadway.
THE HOGAN HOME
The Hogan home, which was built in 1866 at 16 Silver Street, was
constructed by Sam Mowry for Matthew Hogan when he returned
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
from the Civil War, where he was connected with the 88th Irish
Brigade in the Union Army. The house looks just the same today
from the front as when it was built but there have been several addi-
tions on the back and improvements have been made inside.
William Hogan, former Freeholder for Hudson County, was born
in this house three years after it was built and he still lives in it with
his eleven children who were also born there. Members of three gen-
erations live in the old homestead. The trees that used to line the
sidewalks thickly are gone and asphalt has replaced the dirt road in
front. The country area west of Broadway has grown into a district
alive with people, houses and stores.
THE OLD SAFE IN THE CITY HALL
A safe, built almost a century ago, is still in use in the City Hall,
although it is hardly as important an adjunct today as it was when
first purchased by the city.
Built of iron, the safe is about five feet high and a little more
than four feet wide and occupies an inconspicuous corner in the huge
vault, built a number of years ago in order to safeguard the many
volumes of valuable city records which the City Clerk has in his
There is no record as to just how long the city has owned the safe,
but it probably was in use long before Bayonne was incorporated as a
city in 1869. City Treasurer, John Ryan, veteran city official, is of
the opinion that it was used by all the city clerks, starting with F. I.
Smith, the first township clerk; William C. Hamilton, who filled the
office of city clerk for more than 40 years; the late William P. Lee
who served about 20 years; Police Chief C. J. O'Neill, who resigned
as city clerk to assume his present position, down to the present in-
cumbent. No combination is needed to open this safe, as it is opened
by inserting a key in a very narrow slot in one of the doors. The
safe was patented in 1823, but according to the lettering on the two
picturesque panels on the two doors, it was built in 1842. Each
panel shows a clerk in a high silk hat and the formal office attire of the
day standing alongside the safe, while another clerk kneels before the
open safe, with a heavy chain connecting it to a stanchion. A small
boy sits idly by holding a hoople, while a laborer is seen at work
nearby and in the right hand corner two firemen are pictured battling
a blaze in a building.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
"Patent, Salamander Safe, New York 1842 Rich & Co.'s. Im-
proved, A. S. Marvin, Agent, 138^2 Water Street, New York," reads
the lettering on the panels, which have been gilted. The safe, origin-
ally black, has been painted a maroon color.
There are two knobs on the doors, with a bar that can be bolted
to further protect the contents of the safe. On each side is a handle
bar to make it easier to shift the safe.
Inside is a small strong box, which is opened with a key. Flower
designs are painted on the inside of the two heavy doors and are be-
lieved to be the original designs placed there when the safe was built.
Probably, in the early days of the city, it was large enough to hold
all the official papers and any monies that were collected, but with the
growth of the city, it plays a very insignificant role alongside the huge
safes and vault now in use in the City Hall.
Safes were a trifle more ornate in the days when this one was
made, and as the years have rolled by, office equipment and articles
that really are needed to give service, have become very plain and
THE PASSING OF THE OLD "HOOPER-COOPERS"
The days of the "hooper-coopers" rough, rollicking days when
men sang songs of brawn and drank their beer in pails-full are now
thrown further into the limbo of the past, as the landmark of the
Standard Oil Company plant in Constable Hook was closed in Febru-
ary 1939. It was the old factory where wooden barrels were made
and, full of oil, were stored in full-rigged ships that came from all
parts of the world and stood in long rows at the Hook piers.
Use of the wooden barrels began to dwindle in the early i90o's
with the entry of steel barrels, and drums and tanker ships, but the
Standard Oil Company continued to manufacture them and also sold
them to other firms. However, the company was unable to keep the
factory in operation principally because of competition from other
barrel firms where lower wage scales prevail. The job of eliminating
the factory was completed in April of 1939.
The old barrel factory filled an important niche in the building of
the great oil plant in the Hook and some of the men who worked
there in the early days, and today are retired or at work in other jobs,
will tell you that muscle counted in that job.
Trie factory, a two story brick building, was erected in the early
i88o's with John Wiggans as first superintendent and sometimes there
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
were as many as 500 or more men at work there. The daily output of
the barrels, which were of 50 gallon capacity, usually ran over 5,000
and they were put up in high stacks to await use.
The wood for the barrels came from the West and was dried in a
large kiln at the factory. It was then passed on to joiners who made
the staves and next the staves were placed on barrel moulders and
held in shape by iron hoops. The barrels were then turned over fires
for further drying and to prevent leakage and, after glueing and rivet-
ing, were ready for the headers who fitted the tops and bottoms on
them. Finishing touches were put on the barrels by the "hooper-
coopers" who knocked off the preliminary hoops and replaced them with
special iron hoops. In the beginning, the workers drove on the hoops
with sledge hammers but this method was later discarded in favor of
machine drivers. The "hooper-coopers" were principally Hungarian
and Slavic workers who possessed a special knack for the business.
In the early days they were paid thirteen cents each for every barrel
they turned out. Boys were often hired to help them. These men
were a hardy lot and they liked their beer, which in those days, sold
for seven cents a pint. There's a favorite story told that some of the
"hooper-coopers" used to trade their barrels at a nickel apiece to Old
Pat Gannon, a popular worker at the factory. Thus, the coopers
were able to get their beer without waiting for their pay, while Gannon
made a neat profit on the deals.
They once staged a "Strike" at a saloon near the plant where the
owner raised the price of the beer to ten cents. To show how they
felt about it, the barrel workers rowed over to Staten Island, where
the price was still low, and brought their "suds" back to the Bayonne
shore. It is also said that about the time of the "strike" they decided
they had been spending too much of their money in taverns so they
pooled their cash and bought a saloon of their own.
One of the old-timers who worked in the barrel factory and who
remembered the days vividly, was Thomas Warnock, who was retired
as fire chief from the Standard in 1938. Deputy Chiefs Win. F.
Garrity and Thos. E. Fitzmaurice of the city fire department also
spent their early days in the Hook with Warnock.
And some of the men, recalling those days, tell that former Mayor
L. F. Donohoe was a cracekrjack at piling barrels at the factory. Supt.
John J. Rigney of the police department's bureau of identification
also showed "steam" in handling the barrels, so the story goes.
There were lots of others well known at the factory in former
BAYONNE old and new
years. Among them were the Miller boys, Jess, Pete and Ray;
Charles Agel, Sam Levine, Dave Grossman, Tommy Halpern, John
Norgent, Tim Barrett and Fred Schaefer. They, and the others, all
made up a grand lot ; you can take it from the old-timers, because they
THE GOVERNOR PARKER PEN
John J. Ryan, City Treasurer, has a pen in his possession which
was used by Governor Parker in signing the Revised Charter of the
City of Bayonne in March 1872. This pen was presented to the city
by Mr. David C. Halstead.
SOME OLDTIMERS - I94O
Born in Bayonne: John O'Dell, 84 years old; Jennie Diamond, 84
years old, lives in the house where she was born, 90 West Forty-
eighth Street; William Hogan, 71 years old, lives in the house where
he was born, 16 Silver Street.
Others are : William Hunter, 88 years old ; Henry McCabe, 87 years
old ; Cornelius Haggerty, 85 years old ; William Gogelein, 85 years old ;
Robert Scott, 85 years old ; Edward Griffin, 85 years old ; Truman W.
Lilly, 85 years old; George Wake, 84 years old; Sylvestor Long, 82
years old ; Ed. Mullaney, 82 years old ; Al. Sayles, 82 years old ; Judge
Horace Roberson, 82 years old; Alfred Davis, Ex-Chief, 80 years
old. Mrs. Catherine Donovan has lived at 53 East Thirty-third Street
for 67 years.
CITY OFFICIALS OF THE CITY OF BAYONNE FOR I94O
James J. Donovan, Mayor and Director of Public Safety
John J. Heiser, Deputy
James A. Mullanaphy, Director of Public Works
Dennis Coughlin, Deputy
Henry W. Murphy, Director of Public Affairs
J. J. O'Leary, Deputy
Horace K. Roberson, Director of Revenue and Finance
George J. Prenderville, Deputy
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
Joseph J. Topoleski, Director of Parks and Public Property
Edward Poplawski, Deputy
John F. Lee, City Clerk T. F. McCarthy, Collector of Revenue
John J. Ryan, City Treasurer Wm. Keating, Tax Assessor
Wm. F. Connors, City Comptroller
Amos. Harker, Supt. Water Department
Maurice A. Cohen, City Attorney
James L. Sweeney, Recorder Jos. A. O'Brien, Clerk to Recorder
Cornelius J. O'Neill, Chief of Police
James J. Hogan, Chief of Fire Department
Mary G. Peters, Librarian
Dr. Charles J. Larkey, Health Officer
Lloyd B. Palmer, Registrar of Vital Statistics
Walter Flynn, Supt. of Weights and Measures
Kathryn V. Welcher, Overseer of Poor
Irving Meyers, City Prosecutor
Aaron A. Melniker, District Court Judge
Joseph A. Sklenar, Secretary, Board of Education
Morris L. Brodman, Secretary of Board of Health
Henry Winterhalter, Sanitary Inspector
Harry Jaeger, City Engineer
Dr. Ben Lipschitz, City Physician
Joseph Geiger, Supt. of Police and Fire Alarm System
Louis Giordano, Street Commissioner
James P. Magner, M. D. Police Surgeon
Stanley R. Woodruff, President; Richard C. Walsh, Charles J.
Larkey, James J. McGrath, James J. Murphy, Thomas Beirne, John
Dzubeck, Edgar F. Snell, Caesar F. Ciaburri.
BAYONNE OLD AND NEW
The Pension Board of the Police and Fire Department consisting
of 5 members, two of which represent Police, two firemen and I
civilian, are as follows : Randolph Sluter, President ; Mayor Donovan,
Horace K. Roberson, Lieut. Masterson, John Bauer.
£=*.« 2 g* t -^jii. ^^\\;
• - "J =■'-:= =J-^^T "
\ toe V